Just another WordPress.com site


Potter The word which came to Jeremiah from the LORD, saying: "Arise and go down to the potter’s house, and there I will cause you to hear My words." Then I went down to the potter’s house, and there he was, making something at the wheel. And the vessel that he made of clay was marred in the hand of the potter; so he made it again into another vessel, as it seemed good to the potter to make. Then the word of the LORD came to me, saying: "O house of Israel, can I not do with you as this potter?" says the LORD. "Look, as the clay is in the potter’s hand, so are you in My hand, O house of Israel! Jeremiah 18:1-6 (NKJV)

Before we came to Christ we were all imperfect. We were all created in God’s image and yet we were marred by sin. We used the vessels He gave us (our bodies) for dishonour. Many of us felt empty and used by others. There was no purpose to our lives. Created by God and yet marred and broken. When we come to Jesus He begins to remake us into His image. It is a process that sometimes takes our whole lives. It sometimes can be quite painful. Many of us still walk around with scars that have been left over from hurts we have suffered in this life and so we blame God and try to tell Him He is not moulding us correctly. He doesn’t know what He is doing. Oh really? Listen to what God said through His prophet Isaiah. I like it in the New Living Translation because it is direct. 

"How stupid can you be? He is the Potter, and He is certainly greater than you. You are only the jars He makes! Should the thing that was created say to the One who made it, "He didn’t make us"? Does a jar ever say, "The Potter who made me is stupid"? Isaiah 29:16 (NLT)

David was in awe of how God had created him. Each one of us is unique and put together by God.

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
      and knit me together in my mother’s womb.

Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
      Your workmanship is marvellous—how well I know it.
You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
      as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.
You saw me before I was born.
      Every day of my life was recorded in your book.
   Every moment was laid outfather-and-child-in-arms
      before a single day had passed.

How precious are your thoughts about me, O God.
      They cannot be numbered!
I can’t even count them;
      they outnumber the grains of sand!
   And when I wake up,
      you are still with me! Psalm 139:13-18 (NLT)

Did you know you are God’s pride and joy, the jewel of all creation? You are on his mind constantly.

Sometimes pain simply comes because we didn’t obey His word or we have done the things that we wanted to do instead of what He had planned for us. As with Israel in the passage from Jeremiah, you are in His hand. He desires the best for you. He loves you and it is with love He fashions you. Isn’t it better to submit to Him and let Him finish the work He has begun in you. Job declared in the midst of His trials; "He knows the way I take and when He has tried me I shall come forth as gold." Job 23:10. We know that when Job came through, God doubly blessed him. As a true worshipper of Christ it will should always be your desire to let the Lord work in your life in whatever way He chooses. He asks for nothing less than our total surrender. Let Him do in you the things He wants to today. Don’t be afraid of the changes He will try to bring about. He knows better than you and can see the end from the beginning.

Today will you declare this to God. "LORD, you are my Father. I am the clay, and You are the Potter. I submit to You and Your will for my life. Lord I want to shine forth as gold to a world that is lost. I want to be a testimony of what the Potter can do to a pot that was broken and marred. Take me, mould me, use me for Your glory." Ephesians 2:10 says; "For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so that we can do the good things he planned for us long ago."

Beautiful Lord, wonderful saviour
I know for sure, all of my days are held in Your hands
Crafted into Your perfect plan

You gently call me, into Your presence
Guiding me by, Your Holy Spirit
Teach me dear Lord
To live all of my life through Your eyes

I'm captured by, Your Holy calling
Set me apart
I know You're drawing me to Yourself
Lead me Lord I pray

Take me, Mould me
Use me, Fill me
I give my life to the Potter's hands
Hold me, Guide me
Lead me, Walk beside me
I give my life to the Potter's hand
The Potter’s Hand – Darlene Zschech

Comments on: "You Are the Potter’s Masterpiece" (5)

  1. Thanks for this. It has really blessed me. xxx

  2. Michelle said:

    Awesome!!!Grace to youShell

  3. While on a different site, I stumbled across your blog, and I’m glad I did. Great post! My most recent post is on the same topic. God has a way of using us uniquely, to bring about a different perspective on a similar topic.

    I like the name of your blog. I too, am a true worshiper, and there is no other place I would rather be, than in the presence of Almighty God! I will visit your blog again. God bless.

  4. I’ve just finished my 6th book called, “Under Siege”, and while writing it taught on the Potter and Clay and wrote a song called, “He Is The Potter”, which I decided to include in the book. I’d love to include a small picture of a potter and his hands, and found yours and your site.
    Would it be possible to have your permission to use your picture, and of course whatever you’d want said about it’s artist. We’re a small ministry (though world-wide), don’t charge for our publications, just accepting donations and God wondrously supplies. However, we’re unable to pay royalty fees.
    Thank you for listening, and I hope you will be in touch.
    Because of Calvary,
    Jeanne M. Mohr, director, Living Praise Ministries

Leave a Reply

