Just another WordPress.com site

I Will Rise


Video

There’s a peace I’ve come to know
Though my heart and flesh may fail
There’s an anchor for my soul
I can say "It is well"

Jesus has overcome
And the grave is overwhelmed
The victory is won
He is risen from the dead

And I will rise when He calls my name
No more sorrow, no more pain
I will rise on eagles’ wings
Before my God fall on my knees
And rise
I will rise

There’s a day that’s drawing near
When this darkness breaks to light
And the shadows disappear
And my faith shall be my eyes

Jesus has overcome
And the grave is overwhelmed
The victory is won
He is risen from the dead

And I will rise when He calls my name
No more sorrow, no more pain
I will rise on eagles’ wings
Before my God fall on my knees
And rise
I will rise

And I hear the voice of many angels sing,
"Worthy is the Lamb"
And I hear the cry of every longing heart,
"Worthy is the Lamb"
And I hear the voice of many angels sing,
"Worthy is the Lamb"
And I hear the cry of every longing heart,
"Worthy is the Lamb"

And I will rise when He calls my name
No more sorrow, no more pain
I will rise on eagles’ wings
Before my God fall on my knees
And rise
I will rise

Chris Tomlin 2008

 Life can be very hard for those who have made the decision to go all the way with Christ.

But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellence of the power may be of God and not of us. We are hard-pressed on every side, yet not crushed; we are perplexed, but not in despair;  persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed— always carrying about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body. For we who live are always delivered to death for Jesus’ sake, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh. So then death is working in us, but life in you. 2 Corinthians 4:7-12 (NKJV)

It is a choice we have made. If we want to be true worshipers we have to die and it sometimes costs us dearly. We have to let go of all our desires, passions and possessions.

Most assuredly, I say to you, unless a grain of wheat falls into the ground and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it produces much grain. 25 He who loves his life will lose it, and he who hates his life in this world will keep it for eternal life. John 12:24-25 (NKJV)

Yet indeed I also count all things loss for the excellence of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them as rubbish, that I may gain Christ. Philippians 3:8 (NKJV)

We will be persecuted by this world and even hated by members of our own families. Sometimes even with those we think are our brothers and sisters in Christ.

If the world hates you, you know that it hated Me before it hated you. If you were of the world, the world would love its own. Yet because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, therefore the world hates you. John 15:18-19 (NKJV)

Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake,
For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

“Blessed are you when they revile and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against you falsely for My sake. Rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for great is your reward in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you. Matthew 5:10-12 (NKJV)

If we suffer in life it is so that Christ may be glorified through our suffering. 

Now as Jesus passed by, He saw a man who was blind from birth. And His disciples asked Him, saying, “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind?” Jesus answered, “Neither this man nor his parents sinned, but that the works of God should be revealed in him. John 9:1-3 (NKJV)

God has promised us that He would see us through our suffering.

But now, thus says the LORD, who created you, O Jacob,
      And He who formed you, O Israel:
      “ Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
      I have called you by your name;
      You are Mine.
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
      And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you.
      When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned,
      Nor shall the flame scorch you. Isaiah 43:1-2 (NKJV)

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (NKJV)

He has promised to be our refuge and our strength

The name of the LORD is a strong tower;
      The righteous run to it and are safe. Proverbs 18:10 (NKJV)

Oh, love the LORD, all you His saints!
For the LORD preserves the faithful,
         And fully repays the proud person.
Be of good courage,
         And He shall strengthen your heart,
         All you who hope in the LORD. Psalm 31:23-24 (NKJV)

Even the youths shall faint and be weary,
      And the young men shall utterly fall,
But those who wait on the LORD
      Shall renew their strength;
      They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
      They shall run and not be weary,
      They shall walk and not faint. Isaiah 40:30-31 (NKJV)

We have an enemy but Christ has overcome him. Also know that you are not alone in your suffering.

Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world. But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you. 1 Peter 5:8-10 (NKJV)

As the verse says above, suffering is but for a moment.

Sing praise to the LORD, you saints of His,
         And give thanks at the remembrance of His holy name.
For His anger is but for a moment,
         His favour is for life;
         Weeping may endure for a night,
         But joy comes in the morning. Psalm 30:4-5 (NKJV)

The time is coming very soon when we will be free from this world. Rejoice

Now I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away. Also there was no more sea. Then I, John, saw the holy city, New Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride adorned for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from heaven saying, “Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and He will dwell with them, and they shall be His people. God Himself will be with them and be their God. And God will wipe away every tear from their eyes; there shall be no more death, nor sorrow, nor crying. There shall be no more pain, for the former things have passed away.”
Then He who sat on the throne said, “Behold, I make all things new.” And He said to me, “Write, for these words are true and faithful.”
And He said to me, “It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. I will give of the fountain of the water of life freely to him who thirsts. He who overcomes shall inherit all things, and I will be his God and he shall be My son. Revelation 21:1-7 (NKJV)

It’s coming very soon that we will rise on eagles wings. I sense it everyday that Christ is drawing nearer. I physically can’t kneel because of damage done to me knees by arthritis. But when I rise and stand before his throne I won’t have any problem in kneeling. How I long for that day. No more suffering. No more pain. All thinks new. I can’t wait to look upon the face of the one who gave His life for me. I will rise….. I will rise.

Leave a Reply

