Just another WordPress.com site


1 Save me, O God!
         For the waters have come up to my neck.
2 I sink in deep mire,
         Where there is no standing;
         I have come into deep waters,
         Where the floods overflow me.
3 I am weary with my crying;
         My throat is dry;
         My eyes fail while I wait for my God.
4 Those who hate me without a cause
         Are more than the hairs of my head;
         They are mighty who would destroy me,
Being my enemies wrongfully;
         Though I have stolen nothing,
         I still must restore it.

5 O God, You know my foolishness;
         And my sins are not hidden from You.
6 Let not those who wait for You, O Lord GOD of hosts, be ashamed because of me;
         Let not those who seek You be confounded because of me, O God of Israel.
7 Because for Your sake I have borne reproach;
         Shame has covered my face.
8 I have become a stranger to my brothers,
         And an alien to my mother’s children;
9 Because zeal for Your house has eaten me up,
         And the reproaches of those who reproach You have fallen on me.
10 When I wept and chastened my soul with fasting,
         That became my reproach.
11 I also made sackcloth my garment;
         I became a byword to them.
12 Those who sit in the gate speak against me,
         And I am the song of the drunkards.
13 But as for me, my prayer is to You,
         O LORD, in the acceptable time;
         O God, in the multitude of Your mercy,
         Hear me in the truth of Your salvation.
14 Deliver me out of the mire,
         And let me not sink;
         Let me be delivered from those who hate me,
         And out of the deep waters.
15 Let not the floodwater overflow me,
         Nor let the deep swallow me up;
         And let not the pit shut its mouth on me.
16 Hear me, O LORD, for Your lovingkindness is good;
         Turn to me according to the multitude of Your tender mercies.
17 And do not hide Your face from Your servant,
         For I am in trouble;
         Hear me speedily.
18 Draw near to my soul, and redeem it;
         Deliver me because of my enemies. Psalm 69:1-18 (NKJV)

 

The new pastor at my church started bringing in changes quickly. The first was that he took over the married couples group started was teaching psychology. Speaking in tongues or prophesying in the morning service became a no no because it was feared we may scare off a potential new convert and yet in the early church the people didn’t care who was watching them. Even at Azuza Street it was the manifestation of the Spirit and His various gifts that won many to Christ. There were many other changes that were brought in that disturbed my spirit. At the same time Elaine and I started having marital problems and turned to him for counselling. Again there was very little in the way of biblical counselling instead we were given a battery of compatibility and psychological tests. We were given tapes to listen to at night with new age music mixed with scripture readings.

During this time Elaine met a girl from the Caribbean who was being kicked out of her apartment and needed a place to stay. She seemed like a nice enough girl so Elaine and I took her into our home.  Within a few days we began to notice what a big mistake that was. She wouldn’t eat with us. She would eat only food that she prepared. (We found out the reason was that she feared us poisoning her.) She also wouldn’t drink the water in our house because she believed there was something in it that was changing her skin colour. She began saying some very strange things around Elaine and the children. One night I woke up with a start and felt like an electrical crackle in the air. The hair on my arms was standing on it’s end. I knew it was a demonic presence. I then noticed that it was around 3 AM and aside from our bedroom, all the lights in the apartment were on. I found the woman sitting in the living room with the TV on talking to herself. She had a wild look in her eyes and I began to rebuke her and the demonic presence. I told her that this was my house and that she had no right to do what she wanted. She argued with me and I feared she would become violent. The next day we asked her to leave. She refused. We even had some friends come over and try and convince her to go but still she refused. Eventually we had to call the police and have her removed from our home and even then she tried to force her way back in. There is no doubt in my mind that this woman was possessed by a demon or demons. I thank God that she didn’t have any effect on my children, but the effect on Elaine would show up later. 

One night after we had made this woman leave, Melodie woke up in the middle of the night. She kept crying over and over, "Jesus please help me!" We couldn’t seem to consol her at first and it took us quite a while before we get her to calm down. I often wonder if at that young age she had seen in her spirit what was ahead for us as a family.

We began to feel isolated in the church. More so Elaine than I. I know that it wasn’t her imagination because many people that used to talk to us acted as if we weren’t there. I had become the scapegoat for the church’s problems they were taking it out on my family as well.

One evening we had a board meeting scheduled with many important things that needed to be discussed. It was the first official meeting with the new pastor since his election. His first statement when he walked in the room was that we only had about 30 to 45 minutes for the meetings as he wanted to get home so  he could watch the hockey playoffs. This disturbed me. There was so much business that needed to be covered and yet his concern was that he be home in time to watch hockey. I went home and prayed and then decided that I couldn’t consciously support this man as pastor. I wrote a lengthy letter of resignation as a deacon pointing out my reasons for resigning. Within a few days I received a photocopy of my letter in the mail with a one sentence comment at the bottom. It said; "Sorry to see you go, Hope we can work with us again one day."  No phone call, no trying to talk me out of it, just a one sentence note on a photocopy of my letter. Elaine and I decided it was time to leave. I was broken hearted. This was the only church I had ever known. I had received Christ as my my Lord at 8 years old when it was located in Verdun. I had been baptized, married and dedicated my children there. I had learned to sing and worship and had been taught by 2 of the best pastors that Canada has ever known. It was a huge part of my life. I was leaving home and I had felt so alone.

Comments on: "A Shelter In the Midst Of a Storm – My Testimony – Part 3" (2)

  1. Ciao Gerry,
    Just thought that I would pop in and say Hi.
    Wishing you a wonderful and joyful holiday season this year.
    Merry Christmas Gerry,
    _______Z_Z_______Z__ZZ_______Z____ZZZZZZZZ______ZZ___________ZZ____ZZZ____________Z__ZZ______________ZZZ_______________ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ______________ZZZ_________ZZZZZ___ZZZ____________ZZZZZZ__________ZZZZ______ZZ___________Z____ZZ____________ZZ_______Z_____ZZZ____Z_____ZZZ____________ZZ_______Z___ZZ___ZZZZZ________ZZ____________ZZ_______Z__Z____________________ZZ___________ZZ_______ZZZ_______________________ZZ___________ZZ__________________________________ZZ____________ZZ___________________________________ZZ_____________Z____________________________________ZZ___________Z_____________________________________ZZ_________Z______________________________________ZZ_______Z_______________________________________ZZ_____Z________________________________________ZZ___Z________________________________________ZZ__Z_________________________________________Z_Z__________________________________________ZZ_______________________________________(¯`v´¯)_______________________________________`*.¸.*´_______________________________________¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)______________________________________(¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•______________________________________________________Hugs & Kisses__________________________________________________________Love________________________________________________________Shelley__________________________________________________________xXx______________MERRY CHRISTMAS MY DEAR FRIEND________________

  2. Hi there.  I have enjoyed reading the installments of your testimony.  Psalm 62 has ministered to my many a time!  Looking forward to reading more. 
    Have a blessed Christmas.

Leave a Reply

