Just another WordPress.com site


Psalm 62

1 My soul finds rest in God alone;
       my salvation comes from him.

2 He alone is my rock and my salvation;
       he is my fortress, I will never be shaken.

3 How long will you assault a man?
       Would all of you throw him down—
       this leaning wall, this tottering fence?

4 They fully intend to topple him
       from his lofty place;
       they take delight in lies.
       With their mouths they bless,
       but in their hearts they curse.
       Selah

I had a pretty good job where I worked. I was in charge of payroll for management for a large Canadian retail chain. The department I worked in consisted of mostly non-Christians. I was very outspoken about my beliefs and many resented it. Being a Christian and working in a non-Christian environment is never easy. The people are always looking for a way to slip you up or prove you are less than what you profess to be. The moment you slip up they are very quick to point it out.  A couple of years earlier I was working late on my own time. They were having a Halloween party downstairs in the cafeteria. A young girl who worked in my department came upstairs and wanted to no why I wouldn’t attend the party. I explained to her that because of my Christian beliefs I didn’t feel comfortable attending something like that. We got into a conversation about God and she seemed to be very moved by the things I was telling her. Finally she asked me point blank; "What will happen to me if I don’t accept Christ? Will I go to Hell?" I told that God doesn’t mean for any of us to go there but it is our sin that sends us there. Without recognizing the sacrifice that Jesus made for us we are lost. She left and returned to the party and I had hoped that some truth had gotten through to her.

The next day my supervisor called me out into the middle of our office where the department staff had gathered. She started yelling at me in front of the others saying, "How dare you scare a young girl in telling her she is going to hell and do it on company property and time!" I told her that it was on my own time and that I had been asked a question by the girl. She said a reprimand would god into my file. I just prayed as I knew I did nothing wrong. Within a week that supervisor was fired and the following month I was awarded employee of the month. Unfortunately many in my department developed a dislike for me because of my stand.

Two years later, just before the events in part 1, Something went wrong with our tax payments to the government. The formula had been tampered with. Only 3 people had access to the program, The department manager, the lead clerk, and myself. The other 2 denied doing anything to the program which left me. Because I was lower ranking the blame was put on me. I had never changed anything in the program and no matter how much I proclaimed my innocence I wasn’t believed. Because it was a serious error I was put on probation and once you were put on probation it took up to 3 years to clear your name and be eligible for any kind of advancement. Many in my department were smug. The Christian had finally been put in his place. Much of my responsibilities were taken away from me and I began to feel that it was time to leave. My wife and I prayed about it and we decided that I would go back to school to get some training in computers. Was it the right thing to do? Should I have stuck it out? I don’t know. I had worked there for 9 years. What kind of an impact my witness had on my fellow employees I may not know until I get to heaven. All I know is that 3 years after I left the head office closed it’s doors in Montreal and moved to Toronto, so I would have been out of a job anyway. 

Comments on: "A Shelter In the Midst Of a Storm – My Testimony Of How I Made It Out Alive – Part 2" (1)

  1. How beautiful are these words and how true…really touched my heart.
    May God bless you this Christmas..you and your family.
    Happy Christmas my friend and a very bles-sed new year…
    Alison x
     

Leave a Reply

