Just another WordPress.com site

Illusions of Beauty


Last night as I was checking out a Canadian news web page I came across an article on a series of commercials that have been put out by Dove. These commercials are very well done and speak to the illusion that the fashion and beauty industry has tried to hoist on us for many years, especially upon young girls and women. The media is fixated on beauty and appearance and it tells young women that they can be just as beautiful as the women in the commercials if only they use certain products. They are also led to believe that thin is the only acceptable way to look. Is it any wonder that eating disorders among young women and girls is at an all time high and continuing to rise. Models and actresses are shown without having any blemishes. A girl who may be less than perfect is dealt a blow to their esteem simply because they don’t or can’t match what this world says is normal. Even boys look at girls differently. They look for those girls who match what they see on the television. Relationships are now built more upon looks than upon personality and because looks don’t last neither does the relationship. From my own experience many women who have the look (not all) are shallow and use their looks to get the things they want. Many may be beautiful on the outside, but inside they are full of self. What’s on the inside is ugly.

Dove – Evolution

Beauty, true beauty, comes from the inside. Most of the time outward beauty does not work itself to the inside. Proverbs 31:30 say; "Charm is deceitful and beauty is passing, But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised."

Here are some other scriptures that relate to appearance;

Do not let your adornment be merely outward—arranging the hair, wearing gold, or putting on fine apparel— 4 rather let it be the hidden person of the heart, with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God. 1Peter 3:3-4

There is no one as beautiful or as attractive as a man or woman who has submitted themselves to God completely and has His joy shining through their lives.

But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not look at his appearance or at his physical stature, because I have refused him. For the LORD does not see as man sees; for man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7

Even so you also outwardly appear righteous to men, but inside you are full of hypocrisy and lawlessness. Matthew 23:28

According to Isaiah, our Lord was not known for looks. He would have been a rugged man, being a carpenter. People were drawn to Him because the beauty of God’s Spirit, not because He was a good looking man.

For He shall grow up before Him as a tender plant,
      And as a root out of dry ground.
      He has no form or comeliness;
      And when we see Him,
There is no beauty that we should desire Him
. Isaiah 44:2

With the world telling us who is and who is not beautiful, who can we trust? The Lord. He sees us, His children, as beautiful. We have been clothed in the righteousness of Christ and are His people. The work of His hands. When He created man He declared all things good. Adam and Eve were naked and unashamed of the way that God had created them. It was only after they sinned that they realized they were naked and thus began man’s decent into who we are today. Everyone of us is flawed and pale to the beauty God had originally created in us. We are flawed vessels fit for the fire. Sin is that imperfection and flaw. It is sin makes us ugly and separates us from God. It is only in coming to Christ that some of what we lost is restored and it won’t be until we arrive in glory that the true beauty will be seen. But know this, God loves you! No matter what you look like or where you have been or what you have done. He loves you!

Meditate on this Psalm and ask God to reveal His heart to you.

Psalm 139
For the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David.

1 O LORD, You have searched me and known me.
2 You know my sitting down and my rising up;
         You understand my thought afar off.
3 You comprehend my path and my lying down,
         And are acquainted with all my ways.
4 For there is not a word on my tongue,
But behold, O LORD, You know it altogether.
5 You have hedged me behind and before,
         And laid Your hand upon me.
6 Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
         It is high, I cannot attain it.
7 Where can I go from Your Spirit?
         Or where can I flee from Your presence?
8 If I ascend into heaven, You are there;
         If I make my bed in hell, behold, You are there.
9 If I take the wings of the morning,
And dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,
10 Even there Your hand shall lead me,
         And Your right hand shall hold me.
11 If I say, “Surely the darkness shall fall on me,”
         Even the night shall be light about me;
12 Indeed, the darkness shall not hide from You,
         But the night shines as the day;
         The darkness and the light are both alike to You.
13 For You formed my inward parts;
         You covered me in my mother’s womb.
14 I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
         Marvelous are Your works,
         And that my soul knows very well.
15 My frame was not hidden from You,
         When I was made in secret,
And skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed.
         And in Your book they all were written,
         The days fashioned for me,
         When as yet there were none of them.
17 How precious also are Your thoughts to me, O God!
         How great is the sum of them!
18 If I should count them, they would be more in number than the sand;
         When I awake, I am still with You.
19 Oh, that You would slay the wicked, O God!
         Depart from me, therefore, you bloodthirsty men.
20 For they speak against You wickedly;
         Your enemies take Your name in vain.

21 Do I not hate them, O LORD, who hate You?
         And do I not loathe those who rise up against You?
22 I hate them with perfect hatred;
         I count them my enemies.
23 Search me, O God, and know my heart;
         Try me, and know my anxieties;
24 And see if there is any wicked way in me,
         And lead me in the way everlasting.

Know His heart today. No matter who you are, you are beautiful to Him and in the end, He is the only one that matters.

Leave a Reply

