Just another WordPress.com site

Fathers


There is no other member of the traditional family that is maligned more today than the father. In society today we are told that fathers are a throw back to the old patriarchal system. On television shows and commercials, they are portrayed as being a not so bright klutz. Mom and the kids have more of a clue than he does. Even the gay characters are presented as being stronger role models than these poor guys.

Why does the media want to destroy the image of a father so much? First of all, God is the Father. He is our Creator and our perfect role model. In the last few years I have seen Him portrayed as a senile and forgetful old man, with little interest in what’’s going on here on earth. Nothing could be further from the truth.

A perfect example of God’s father’s heart is found in the story of the prodigal son in Luke

Jesus continued: "There was a man who had two sons. The younger one said to his father, ‘Father, give me my share of the estate.’ So he divided his property between them.

"Not long after that, the younger son got together all he had, set off for a distant country and there squandered his wealth in wild living. After he had spent everything, there was a severe famine in that whole country, and he began to be in need. So he went and hired himself out to a citizen of that country, who sent him to his fields to feed pigs. He longed to fill his stomach with the pods that the pigs were eating, but no one gave him anything.

"When he came to his senses, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired men have food to spare, and here I am starving to death! I will set out and go back to my father and say to him: Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son; make me like one of your hired men.’ So he got up and went to his father. 
"But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him and kissed him.

"The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’

    "But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick! Bring the best robe and put it on him. Put a ring on his finger and sandals on his feet. Bring the fattened calf and kill it. Let’s have a feast and celebrate. For this son of mine was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ So they began to celebrate.

"Meanwhile, the older son was in the field. When he came near the house, he heard music and dancing. So he called one of the servants and asked him what was going on. ‘Your brother has come,’ he replied, ‘and your father has killed the fattened calf because he has him back safe and sound.’

"The older brother became angry and refused to go in. So his father went out and pleaded with him. But he answered his father, ‘Look! All these years I’ve been slaving for you and never disobeyed your orders. Yet you never gave me even a young goat so I could celebrate with my friends. But when this son of yours who has squandered your property with prostitutes comes home, you kill the fattened calf for him!’

" ‘My son,’ the father said, ‘you are always with me, and everything I have is yours. But we had to celebrate and be glad, because this brother of yours was dead and is alive again; he was lost and is found.’ "

Children need strong role models and when they can’t find it in a father, they look elsewhere. A lot of the times the role models they find lead them on a path of destruction. This is why satan and the media are so intent on destroying the image of a strong and faithful father.

The Word of God emphasizes the role model fathers are to be in Ephesians 6:4; "And you, fathers, do not provoke your children to wrath, but bring them up in the training and admonition of the Lord."

My pastor, Paul Van Buren writes a daily devotional on the web each day. He wrote that even though not much is written about Joseph he had more of an impact on Jesus’’s life than any other human being. If you read the passages about him in the beginning of Matthew and Luke you will find a man of character. A man with a strong faith and conviction as well as a great devotion to God. In all things God asked him to do concerning his family he obeyed. He must have been quite a man for God to entrust His Son to him. A strong role model.

I grew up in a home where I was robbed from having a dad because of his alcohol addiction. I had no role model that I could look up to and when I got married and was to become a father myself, I despaired. How could I be a father? I never learned how. I remember going into Pastor Ken Bomby’s office and asking for his prayers and advise. What he told me was so simple and yet it changed my life forever. He told me that to be a father all I had to do was look to The Father and ask Him to teach about His fathers heart. Studying the Word changed  me and when my daughter was born and I held her in my arms for the first time, I knew I would never worry about being a father again. God had become my role model and because of that I have become a model for my children to follow as well. I have been a single father now for the last eleven years and don’t regret a single moment.

If you want to see God’s father’s heart fllow this link;

http://www.fathersloveletter.com/

Comments on: "Fathers" (2)

  1. I, too, suffered the fate of having an alcoholic father- in addition he had psychological problems that compounded the problems at home. Thank God my Mother found a way- she led our family through Christ. My father , although divorced from my mother, was led to Christ this year by my oldest brother who was dying. He converted my father on his deathbed. This was the result of my Mother\’s and my prayers as well.
        I thank God that Mom took us to church every Sunday, no matter what kind of confusion was going on in our lives. It gave us a base that no one can take away. God had to be my father and he\’s been great one. BTW, I always loved my Dad anyway and it has made such a difference in our relationship in the past ten years. Our recovery has been phenomenal.
                                                Thanks for sharing! God bless!
     
                                                                                     Evelyn, The Castle Lady

  2. Shelley said:

    Ciao Gerry,
    Just dropping into say Hi,
    and to Wish you a very special Fathers Day.
    Your post is somewhat like my post last week…. ha ha
    Wishing you the best day ever.
    God Bless You My Dear Friend.
    ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ aithful…¶¶¶¶¶¶ (¯`v´¯) `*.¸.*  ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ espectful…¶¶¶_¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶ (¯`v´¯) `*.¸.*  ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ ntelligent…¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ (¯`v´¯) `*.¸.*  ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ verlasting or loyal…¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ (¯`v´¯) `*.¸.*  ¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶¶_¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ ice…and…¶¶¶_¶¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶ (¯`v´¯) `*.¸.*  ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶¶___¶¶¶earest of all…¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    (¯`v´¯)`*.¸.*´¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)(¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•                  Hugs & Kisses                      Love                     Shelley                       xXx

Leave a Reply

