Just another WordPress.com site


"Truly, truly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do, he will do also; and greater works than these he will do; because I go to the Father.  13"Whatever you ask in My name, that will I do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  John 14:12-13 (NAS)

Where are they? Where are the greater works in the western church today? We see them happening in other areas of the world. The dead are raised, the blind see, the lame are made whole and most of all souls are rescued everyday in the thousands. Why not  here? Could it be we are missing it? Are we so centered on us as individuals that we have forgotten who we are truly meant to be as a church? We care too much on what is going on in the world and not enough time learning to be like Jesus. Instead the church in the west has become a political movement where we try to dictate to the world how they should live and yet our own lives and our churches are a mess. We have become in many ways the new Pharisees. Do as we say and not as we do. We try to dictate to the world how it should live when it is only God that can change a person’s heart. We are a very self-righteous lot and many of the names the church and Christians are called in the west we deserve. You cannot legislate righteousness.  

I have put all my music on my computer at home and there are literally thousands of songs on there which I play at random, but lately this one song from Hillsongs keeps coming up called Believe. It has caused me to think.

I say on Sunday
How much I want revival
But then by Monday
I can’t even find my Bible
Where’s the pow’r
The pow’r of the cross
In my life

I’m sick of playin’
The game of religion
I’m tired of losing
My reason for livin’
Where’s the pow’r
The pow’r of the cross
In my life

I’m not satisfied
Doin’ it my own way
I’m not satisfied
To do church and walk away
I’m not satisfied
There’s no love in my life but You
I’m not satisfied
Livin’ in yesterday’s hour
I’m not satisfied to have the form
But not the pow’r
I’m not satisfied
Oh Lord I am crucified in You
In You

We believe in You
We believe in the pow’r
Of Your word and its truth
We believe in You
So we lay down our cause
That our cross might be found in You

CCLI Song #2938550
© 1999 City Bible Music
Donna Lasit
For use solely with the SongSelect Terms of Use. All rights Reserved. http://www.ccli.com
CCLI License #2722256

It seems we come into church every Sunday, have our little service and walk away without even being changed. How many of you can even remember what your pastor’s sermon was about or what songs were sung in worship? It’s like playing house. When we were kids we would pretend, but it wasn’t the real thing and I’m afraid that is what is going on in the church today. We pretend. We have the form but no substance. No power. Many never even take up the bible to study and many spend less than 5 minutes a day in prayer, if even that. How can we stand in judgement or condemn others when we don’t even do the things Jesus asked of us? We hide sin in our hearts and yet we want to tell others how to live?

When Christ was here on earth, those who were politically minded tried to pull Jesus into the politics of the time and he refused. He had come to set men free, not to condemn them. He came to give the world hope and through His sacrifice on the cross He opened the way for all men to come to God. A homosexual is not going to come to Jesus because you tell Him he is condemned to hell for his lifestyle, but He may come to Jesus if He is shown Christ’s love and His power in setting someone free. Only God can change a sinner’s heart. We can’t and anytime we try, we risk losing that person.

The only way things will change is if we start getting serious.  The church in the west needs to repent. We have tried to play God and made ourselves the judge and jury of many and because of that have sent many to Hell. It is only the Word and the Spirit that convicts men’s souls. When you try to force things upon people they tend to go in the opposite direction and you will find that you have started a rebellion. We need to get on our faces and start asking God for the greater works. Revival in our nations will only happen in this way.

Peter and John one day were on the way to the temple when they saw a man who was lame begging at the gates. They had compassion on the man and healed him in front of the crowds. This opened the door for them to preach salvation to those who were there and many were saved. Acts chapter 3. It was the power the people saw that opened the way for the gospel to be presented. When is the last time you have seen that happen outside a church?

When will we start living like we are supposed to live and walk as we are to walk? The world needs the church, the bride of Christ with all the love and compassion of her risen Lord shining through her. We will have to let go of a lot to get there. Many of our traditions and prejudices will have to fall. We have to stop trying to build little kingdoms and start trying to add to the kingdom of heaven and that means crossing denominational barriers as well. It can happen but we must be willing vessels and then and only then will the power that we are lacking return to the church in the west.

If My people who are called by My name will humble themselves, and pray and seek My face, and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin and heal their land. 2Chr 7:14 (NKJV)

Comments on: "It’s Time to Move On to the Greater Works" (9)

  1. Ciao Gerry,
    Wow, many changes here I see, all for the good and I love them all.
    Your song playing is wonderful. I love this song, I think it is my all time favorite song ever…..
    I also have enjoyed your post here too, and so so true.
    Your display photo changed…. looking good Gerry, ha ha, I really like all the nice things you did here.
    Keep up the great work for the Lord….you truly are one of a kind…
    Wishing you a fantastic Sunday In The Lord…
    God Bless You
    _________*___*___*__*_______******__________*___*__*________**::::::::**______________*__*_______**::::::::::**_______________*__*_____**:::::::::::**________________*__*___*:::::::::::::**_________________*_*__*::::::::::::::**_____**********____##*::::::::::::**___**:::::::::::::::::::* ^^*::::****::::**__**:::::::::::::::::::::*^^^**:::::::::::::**___**:::::::::::::::::****^^^*:::::::::::::**_____**:::::::::::**:::::::*^^*:::::::::::**__________****:::::::::::::*^*********____________**:::::::::::**___________________**::::::::**_________________________******_____________________________________________________(¯`v´¯)____________________________________`*.¸.*´____________________________________¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)___________________________________(¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•___________________________________________________Hugs & Kisses_______________________________________________________Love_____________________________________________________Shelley_______________________________________________________xXx

  2. Hey Gerry,Sorry I havent been around in ages… I can tell you why but doing so over a comment box just doesn\’t seem very right.I totally agree with you and what has happened with the Church here in the West.  Absolutely and completely.  What we have done is menimized him into a human form (because, dontcha know, we were the ones that found him, so we\’ve studied every aspect and know him like the back of our hand… God has no secrets..right?) So, because of that, we have stopped believing in Jehovah Jirah, Lion of Judah, Holy of Holies.  What we believe in, when we get down to it, is a watered version of God.People across seas and some in the villages here in America though the REAL Alpha and Omega is all they can grasp.  Is the only way they can hope for another 15 seconds… and so they let him reign.  In this life, in their life, in everything.  THAT is why they see the miracles and we stand back and wonder.  We have to wake up… but first we have tolet God teach us anew of who He is.  We\’ve messed that up in the past.Talk to you laterCassP.S I love that song!!

  3. Where are all those grand words and thoughts now? It\’s been over 27,000 days for me come and gone into the wind. But what is everlasting belongs to HIM. He has never, ever laft me or forsaken me and has been there with me each and every day. "Teach us to count our days." "To number our days." What is it "Give us this day" from His "Daily Bread" that I need? "His mercies and compassion are new every morning."

  4. Shelley said:

    Ciao Gerry,
    Just thought that I would stop in today and wish you a great Sunday in the Lord…
    Keep shinning for the Lord Gerry, your blog is always so awesome….and full of truth.
    God Bless You
     
    ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ aithful…¶¶¶¶¶¶ (¯`v´¯) `*.¸.*  ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ espectful…¶¶¶_¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶ (¯`v´¯) `*.¸.*  ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ ntelligent…¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ (¯`v´¯) `*.¸.*  ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ verlasting or loyal…¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ (¯`v´¯) `*.¸.*  ¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶¶_¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶ ice…and…¶¶¶_¶¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶ (¯`v´¯) `*.¸.*  ¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶¶___¶¶¶earest of all…¶¶¶__¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶
    (¯`v´¯)`*.¸.*´¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)(¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•                  Hugs & Kisses                      Love                     Shelley                       xXx

  5. Meranna said:

    Thank you so much for writing about this. It\’s so refreshing to hear another Christian talk about how silly and, stupid, the politics are that so often get attached to the church and her message. The issue isn\’t that someone is gay, or an alcoholic, or a drug user. Because in the eyes of God, the proud, the self-righteous, and the liars are just as bad, if not worse. The issue is that they are sinners just like everyone else, but God loves them anyway. It makes me so mad to see fellow Christians, and oftentimes friends treat someone poorly because they don\’t agree with their lifestyle choices. How is that showing someone the love of God? How is that going to make someone want to even listen to the message we should be humbly proclaiming? This is something too many "Christians" these days don\’t even consider. They are so wrapped up in proving to others how righteous they are, and too busy judging how carnal they think other believers are compared to themselves. It\’s as if as long as they can find someone worse then themselves, or if they can\’t find anyone better, then it must mean that God is happy with them. People seem to forget that we live our Christian lives the same we were saved. By grace through faith. Just like how God didn\’t compare us to other sinners when we were unsaved, he doesn\’t measure our "spirituality" by comparing us to other believers. There\’s no grading curve when it comes to fellowship.I\’ve been pulling away from my hometown church the last few months for this very reason. The teaching is still good and sound, and I still have a great love and respect for my spiritual leaders, but I\’m sick of having my spiritual well-being judged and measured based on how often I come out to church. Like the song you quoted, too many people "play the game of religion," and they don\’t really know or realize the "power of the cross." But it\’s not only that I don\’t think. People put too much emphasis on the appearance of being a Christian, and not enough emphasis on their personal walk with Jesus Christ. It\’s like people forget that we have the Holy Spirit within us. The pastors and leaders of the local church are important, because God has entrusted them with the spiritual guidance of his flock. But that doesn\’t mean we can forget the chief shepherd, Jesus Christ. God didn\’t give us pastors and spiritual leaders to be like tubes that we catch a glimpse of JC through. All believers are priests and priestesses [according to the order of Melchizadek,] and our only limit of how fully we see our Savior is how much we limit ourselves.I fear that too often people too much weight on what someone else can teach them, because no one is perfect, and they gloss over the importance of personal study into the word of God. We have God\’s Word for a reason, we are so fortunate to live in an age where we have the Bible so readily and easily available to us, not to mention all the commentaries and books and Bible companions. Why is that King David, who only had the 5 Books of Moses, was a man after God\’s own heart, and we, who have 66 books need to beat ourselves to pick it up any day except Sunday, and personal study is almost unheard of? There is a great sickness of mediocrity and self-righteousness in the church today, and it saddens me greatly. Thank you again for touching on it, I always enjoy your posts. It\’s so encouraging to read of your love for our Saviour. Love from a sister in Christ ~ Meranna

  6. Hey…
    Wow I haven\’t been around for a long time, probably a year or so lol.
     
    I think to respond to this… I\’d have to say take it back to the cross. There are places around the world where miraculous signs are occuring, but are we to say if they don\’t happen in the Western world then God is not working? Perhaps He is, perhaps not. But remember that its not about the miracles or wonders that are performed that bring people to Christ – its the work of the Holy Spirit in convicting the world with regard to righteousness, sin, and judgement. While I do agree that sometimes people in the Church are just hearers and not doers, I\’m not sure that\’s the reason why miraculous signs are not being done.
     
    Think about what Paul reflects on in 1 Corinthians 1. He said that Jews demanded miraculous signs and Greeks demanded wisdom – but he preached Christ crucified – a stumbling block to Jews and foolisheness to the Greeks. He later said that God used the foolish things of this world to shame the wise. So really our focus should not be on what people want. It should be what people need – they need Christ – the Way, the Truth and the Life.
     
    Paul also continues in 1 Corinthians 3 and talks about the growth of the Church – saying that he planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God made it grow. Ultimately its God who brings the grwoth – we just serve and witness. Of course the point you were probably trying to make is that people aren\’t serving and witnessing today, and unfortunately… in many cases I\’d have to agree. But I don\’t think miraculous signs and wonders should be our measure that we\’re doing well – in the end God\’s the measure – I think also in 1 Corinthians 3 Paul talks about the work of the builder being tested with fire. Are we building the Church with materials that will last?
     
    God bless,
    Ernest

  7. praying that all who confess Christ as Saviour will stop\’ pretending\’ and pray for revival to start with us .
     
    peace and joy be yours this Eastertime in believing in a risen Saviour
     
    sandra

  8. I must say you have a gr8 msn space, the kind I will have very soon. Mine is in dire need of an update. I was drawn to your msn space somehow so I must keep in touch and maybe visit your church. But you must tell me where in mtl you are situated. My family lives there and I don\’t live too too far(in vaudreuil-dorion—right off the island). You seem to have a gr8 church too and if it wan\’t so late right now I would go through all of your teachings with absolute delight. I am very tired because I have been staying up really late these past few days, working at finding good info on mormonism and witnessing to them. These missionaries rang my doorbell a few weeks ago and we have had these meetings ever since—maybe they stuck around because they knew I used to be one. Well praise the Lord I asked them earlier today if they would like to accompagny me to the friday morning church service and they said yes. These 2 young men(plus a friend) about mid twenties max will go to an evangelical pentacostal church friday morning! I\’m sorry I\’m estatic about this(I only been a christian for about 2 years now) I tell everybody about what the Lord is doing. God loves all of us and does not want any of us to perish. It is through that love that the seed is planted; the good works that I am fully and completly certain God will complete in us. I believe that if I had let the mormon\’s beliefs about God having been a man, having a wife and so forth OFFEND me, thus creating a sin in me, that perfect unconditional love that God wants me to give to the world could not shine through. And, without that love, reading to the mormons passages of the bible, would become as effective as reading them a dictionnary and expecting them to grow in understanding and wisdom. Greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world——the Holy Spirit will guide that love and convict their hearts and soul. Jesus is for them too. It don\’t matter what they\’ve done; He already paid the price in full. God bless you.

  9. Margaret said:

    Hi Gerry. I really admire your righteous anger at the spiritual lethargy within the western church.  We rely far too much on our strength and not enough on God\’s weakness.  We pursue wisdomand neglect God\’s foolishness.  He must increase and we must decrease.Because of your constantly thought provoking output, I nominated your blog for a thinking blogger award.  You can find details over at my blog on Thursday\’s entry.

Leave a Reply

