Just another WordPress.com site

Desperate


One of the definitions given for desperate in Merriam-Webster’s online dictionary is as follows;

involving or employing extreme measures in an attempt to escape defeat or frustration <made a desperate leap for the rope>

At many times in the Psalms we see either David or one of the other writers expressing how desperate they were for the Lord to act in their lives.  At times David was surrounded on all sides by enemies. His only source of comfort was the Lord. He knew only God could help him in his situation. He desperate to see the Lord act. 

My God, My God, why have You forsaken Me?
Why are You so far from helping Me,
And from the words of My groaning?
O My God, I cry in the daytime, but You do not hear;
And in the night season, and am not silent. Psalm 22:1-2

Understand that God has promised His children that He would never forsake us (Deut. 4:31, Heb 13:5). He is with us at all times, but there are times when it feels as if he has. David was going through one of those times. His heart was desperate to see God act. He cried to God day and night for an answer.

How many of us have felt like this at one time or another? Our world seems to be falling apart and God is so silent. Like Job we sit in an ash heap scraping our sores with a pot shard. If you are believer in Christ you will have or will face a situation something like this, but it is for your benefit, not your destruction. It’s that desperate cry of the heart that pushes us to Jesus. It’s a time of coming to realize that you are nothing without Him and He is all that matters.

At 37 I was content with life. I was happily married to a beuatiful young wife and had 2 young children. I had a good job and was a leader in my church. With in the space of a year it all came crashing down. In that year, I lost my health and required 3 major surgeries to replace two knees and a hip. Then my wife developed mental illness and as a result we separated and I lost my family. I also lost my job due to stress and finally, due to problems in choosing a new pastor for our church, I became a scapegoat and wound up leaving the only church I had ever known. I guess you could say I became quite desperate. My whole world now consisted of a small room at my mom’s house and the mattress I was lying on became my ash heap. In my desperation I called out to God as I had never done before. The Psalms became my most cherished book, because I saw that even though the psalmists were in desperate situations they knew the end of it all. That God was faithful no matter what they were facing. They knew God would not let them down. In each of those the Psalms where they cried out in desperation by the end of it they were singing a different song. They had hope. In their desperation they drew near to Him and He drew near to them. For all I went through, God used it for His glory and He changed me for the better. In my desperation I found a newer and deeper relationship with my King and it was shortly after that the calling came for me to go into full time ministry. He has restored much to me and more. You say but Gerry, you’re divorced! God will take care of that one day. It’s in His hands.

There is something that I want you to realize and it is this, God doesn’t only want us to be desperate for Him when we are facing desperate situations. He wants us to be desperate for Him at all times. He longs for hearts full of fire who long for nothing but him. He wants us to be desperate for Him in the good and the bad times. He wants our lives to be filled up with Him. The Psalmist says,

As the deer pants for the water brooks,So pants my soul for You, O God. Psalm 42:1

The Church is lacking that today. We have forgotten what it is like to be desperate. We fill up our lives with so many things and those things replace our relationship with the One who has created us. We are not thirsting and hungering after the Lord the way our forefathers used to. The church is not as it should be and God is about to change that. There is a time of persecution coming like no church in North America has ever known. It is only just starting and we sees glimpses of it now and then. There is one thing that persecution does, it separates the wheat from the chaff and makes those left desperate. This is a good thing because through it the church will grow once again and become whom she should be before our Lord returns.

Let’s get desperate now. Let’s not wait for that to happen. Desperation has to be our hearts cry not only for our relationships with Christ but for a lost and dying world that is perishing not knowing the love that Christ has for them.

Oh Lord we are desperate for you, make us even more desperate.

33 Teach me, O LORD, the way of Your statutes,
         And I shall keep it to the end.
34 Give me understanding, and I shall keep Your law;
         Indeed, I shall observe it with my whole heart.
35 Make me walk in the path of Your commandments,
         For I delight in it.
36 Incline my heart to Your testimonies,
         And not to covetousness.
37 Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things,
         And revive me in Your way.
38 Establish Your word to Your servant,
         Who is devoted to fearing You.
39 Turn away my reproach which I dread,
         For Your judgments are good.
40 Behold, I long for Your precepts;
         Revive me in Your righteousness. Psalm 119

Comments on: "Desperate" (11)

  1. Dear Brothers and Sisters,
    I am running a little late, but wanted to wish you all a happy new years.
    I pray that each and everyone of you are blessed and that your cross dose not get any heavier as you pick it up and follow Jesus Christ! (Matthew 16:24Then Jesus said to His disciples, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow Me!).
    I have a new group that I just started. It is The Plain and Simple Truth Ministries and the address is: http://groups.msn.com/PlainandSimpleTruthMinistries.
    You are invited to join and share your testimonies and whatever the Lord lays on your hearts.
    I love each and everyone of you, your brother in <Christ><
    Pastor Winston

  2. it never amazes me how each time i come here your post speaks to me. i dont come every day, my blog hopping is sporatic, but when i do come here i get fresh water.
    im not in desparate times right now. but i still get desparate for God. prosperity has always seemed a bigger test of ones mettal than adversity. its easy to cry out for God when you need him to save you. but will you cry out for Him when you dont need for anything? i have to have Him. life if barren without Him. rather live in the bleakest desert with God, than to live in the lushest forest alone.
    let us follow hard after God, like hounds.
    s. lizard♫

  3. Hi Gerry, I hope you are well.  Haven\’t been around here for a bit.
     
    I am creating a new Christian Community blog and I wondered if you or anyone reading this would want to take part.  I was inspired by the film Dead Poets society (my current blog goes into more detail).  The idea is that people share scriptures that are special to them or on their heart at the moment for whatever reason (the idea being that people can see the bible is not just literature, it is a book of passion… God\’s passion for humanity and we can build one another up with it).  If anybody wants to be an author, email or comment me and I\’ll get it sorted.

  4. Hi. I am a backslidden Christian but I love the Lord with all my heart. How can someone backslidden love the Lord? I don\’t know but I know that I cannot imagine my life without Him. I feel guilty because I\’m not as desperate for Him as I once was and want to go back to fellowshipping. I guess I\’ve been disappointed in the church and when I needed help the most, nobody was there to help me or understand my pain.  But our Father is all that you say He is and more. He is a wonderful God. He is faithful even when we\’re not. Your blog encouraged me and will be reading your blog regularly. Thank you.

  5. Ciao Gerry,
    Just passing through to wish you a great week.
    I pray that God will guide and bless you in all you do for Him.
    God Bless You My Brother In Christ.
    (¯`v´¯)`*.¸.*´¸.•´¸.•*¨) ¸.•*¨)(¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´ ¸¸.•¨¯`•                  Hugs & Kisses                      Love                     Shelley                       xXx

  6. -Sunflower- said:

    Thanks for stopping by and thank you for your encouraging words.

  7. greeings my friend in jesus name i was just getting used to surfing on my msn messenger and it must have been god that directed me to your site.It was such a blessing your music is so soothing and your words is somthing i needed very badly. its such a blessing to hear the word were you dont expect it.im not a preacer or a musician but i do love the lord and i try to shine for him whenever i can, and like you IN 2006 i felt like i was sinking! my house had a fire and mySON tottally destroyed my car it put me in financial ruinFOR A SEASON, but what the devil ment for evil jesus turned around for goood!!!!!!!! PRAISE HIS PRECIOUS NAME!!!!i igot a much cheaper place to live and i couldnt get a new car right away but by using alternate transportation (no car or ins. payments for a while we have come totally out of dept )THANK YOU FATHER)GOD is so merciful so keep up the good work and GOD bless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. What a great entry, and so very true!Have a great day!God bless 🙂

  9. Hello….I really agree with your last entry and being desperate for God all the time….what a great entry.
    Havnt been able to comment for a while…travelling around i cant always get access to email….
    Hope all is well with you and your family…My husband  and I have been thinking we\’d like to come to Canada
    some time in the future..however for him to work as a doctor there he has to apply and sit a few exams…te he.
    but eventually i,m sure we will get there…have heard its very beautiful.
    May Gods hand touch you my friend and may his may his blessings continue to fall upon you! your family and those of your flock.

  10. Graciously said:

    In my pain and desperation I too cried out to our God and He heard my cry and took me deeper into a place of pain that I had not known existed…the pain of my past that I had pushed away unknowingly and out of survival at the time of the traumatic events that took place.  He has given much grace to stand up, to go through and to continue on the journey that I have been on all my life, albiet unknowingly and if it is indeed your desire to become \’desperate\’ for Him…recognize that there will be an insurmountable portion of grace for you to get where you need to be…the cry of desperation does not always, firstly produce joy or peace or pleasurable fruit but if one persists and is tenacious in their quest to know more of Him then the journey will indeed take you there.
     
    Thank you dear brother for your thoughts…
     
    Blessings Graciously
     
     

  11. A VOICE IN THE DESERT said:

    Dear Big Bro:
    I miss you!!!!!
    Thanks for your encouraging words,Yes,I\’ve been turning
    to the Psalms during desperate times and found peace and
    it helped me not to freak-out in the middle of a problem
    no matter how big it was,BUT to trust in Christ who is right there
    beside us(literally) at ALL times.
    I hope your family and mine meet soon!!!
    God Bless You!
    love….Fatima

Leave a Reply

