Just another WordPress.com site

Worship Costs


Jesus said; "A time will come, however, indeed it is already here, when the true (genuine) worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth (reality); for the Father is seeking just such people as these as His worshipers." John 4:23 (AMP)
 
Many of us would like to think that we do worship in spirit and truth. But do we really worship the way He has asked us to? Think about it. Is the only time you worship the Lord when you attend church? Does it begin and end with your Sunday service or whenever you attend a church service? If so you are not a true worshipper. Worship for the believer is a complete lifestyle. To worship in spirit and truth requires all you have and everything you are. It is not just singing songs at a service or during personal devotions. It is everything you do. No matter how big or small. It is a lifestyle that requires boldness and it costs, sometimes even your very life. Christ paid a very high price for us and yet as in the words of Keith Green "You can’t even get out of bed." We serve him half-heartedly. The best of our passion we give to other things. Listen to what God said to the priests in Malachi
 
“ A son honors his father,
      And a servant his master.
      If then I am the Father,
      Where is My honor?
      And if I am a Master,
      Where is My reverence?
      Says the LORD of hosts
      To you priests who despise My name.
      Yet you say, ‘In what way have we despised Your name?’
       7 “ You offer defiled food on My altar,
      But say,

      ‘ In what way have we defiled You?’
      By saying,

      ‘ The table of the LORD is contemptible.’
       8 And when you offer the blind as a sacrifice,
      Is it not evil?
      And when you offer the lame and sick,
      Is it not evil?
      Offer it then to your governor!
      Would he be pleased with you?
      Would he accept you favorably?”
      Says the LORD of hosts.
       9 “ But now entreat God’s favor,
      That He may be gracious to us.
      Whilethis is being done by your hands,
      Will He accept you favorably?”
      Says the LORD of hosts.
       10 “ Who is there even among you who would shut the doors,
      So that you would not kindle fire on My altar in vain?
      I have no pleasure in you,”
      Says the LORD of hosts,

      “ Nor will I accept an offering from your hands.
       11 For from the rising of the sun, even to its going down,
      My name shall be great among the Gentiles;
      In every place incense shall be offered to My name,
      And a pure offering;
      For My name shall be great among the nations,”
      Says the LORD of hosts.
       12 “ But you profane it,
      In that you say,

      ‘ The table of the LORD is defiled;
      And its fruit, its food, is contemptible.’
       13 You also say,

      ‘ Oh, what a weariness!’
      And you sneer at it,”
      Says the LORD of hosts.

      “ And you bring the stolen, the lame, and the sick;
      Thus you bring an offering!
      Should I accept this from your hand?”
      Says the LORD.
       14 “ But cursed be the deceiver
      Who has in his flock a male,
      And takes a vow,
      But sacrifices to the Lord what is blemished—
      For I am a great King,”
      Says the LORD of hosts,

      “ And My name is to be feared among the nations. Malachi 1:8-14 (NKJV)

 
They were giving their second best to God and God rejected it. In the same way God will not except worship that is anything less then your best.
 
David after he had taken a census wanted to buy a threshing floor from Ornan so he could build an alter and sacrifice to the Lord in order that the plague that had been caused by his disobedience may be stopped.
 
But Ornan said to David, “Take it to yourself, and let my lord the king do what is good in his eyes. Look, I also give you the oxen for burnt offerings, the threshing implements for wood, and the wheat for the grain offering; I give it all.”
24 Then King David said to Ornan, “No, but I will surely buy it for the full price, for I will not take what is yours for the LORD, nor offer burnt offerings with that which costs me nothing.” 25 So David gave Ornan six hundred shekels of gold by weight for the place. 1 Chronicles 21:23-25 (NKJV)
 
David would not give to the Lord sacrifice and worship unless it cost him. He would not give a lukewarm sacrifice.
 
One man who went all the way and was willing to do anything to prove his worship to God was Abraham. Abraham had stood on God’s promise for an heir for many years and finnaly in his twilight years, Abraham had seen God’s promise fulfilled in the birth of his son Isaac. But then God asked Abraham for his son back in the form of a sacrifice. In Genesis 22:2 God says to him; “Take now your son, your only son Isaac, whom you love, and go to the land of Moriah, and offer him there as a burnt offering on one of the mountains of which I shall tell you.”
 
Abraham loved his son, but he loved God so much more. Here was a friend of God, a man who walked with God on His way to destroy Sodom and persuaded Him to stay His hand if there was a certain number of believers in that city. God was asking for Abraham’s best. What did Abraham do? Even though he didn’t understand, he obeyed and in Hebrews 11:17-19 it is said of him; By faith Abraham, when he was tested, offered up Isaac, and he who had received the promises offered up his only begotten son, 18 of whom it was said, “In Isaac your seed shall be called,”19 concluding that God was able to raise him up, even from the dead, from which he also received him in a figurative sense.
 
Understand that God never would have accepted a human sacrifice, but He wanted to test Abraham’s heart. Was he a true worshipper? Would he go all the way? He did. Read the rest of what happened.
 
3 So Abraham rose early in the morning and saddled his donkey, and took two of his young men with him, and Isaac his son; and he split the wood for the burnt offering, and arose and went to the place of which God had told him. 4 Then on the third day Abraham lifted his eyes and saw the place afar off. 5 And Abraham said to his young men, “Stay here with the donkey; the lad and I will go yonder and worship, and we will come back to you.”
6 So Abraham took the wood of the burnt offering and laid it on Isaac his son; and he took the fire in his hand, and a knife, and the two of them went together. 7 But Isaac spoke to Abraham his father and said, “My father!”
And he said, “Here I am, my son.”
Then he said, “Look, the fire and the wood, but where is the lamb for a burnt offering?”
8 And Abraham said, “My son, God will provide for Himself the lamb for a burnt offering.” So the two of them went together.
9 Then they came to the place of which God had told him. And Abraham built an altar there and placed the wood in order; and he bound Isaac his son and laid him on the altar, upon the wood. 10 And Abraham stretched out his hand and took the knife to slay his son.
11 But the Angel of the LORD called to him from heaven and said, “Abraham, Abraham!”
So he said, “Here I am.”
12 And He said, “Do not lay your hand on the lad, or do anything to him; for now I know that you fear God, since you have not withheld your son, your only son, from Me.”
13 Then Abraham lifted his eyes and looked, and there behind him was a ram caught in a thicket by its horns. So Abraham went and took the ram, and offered it up for a burnt offering instead of his son. 14 And Abraham called the name of the place, The-LORD-Will-Provide; as it is said to this day, “In the Mount of the LORD it shall be provided.”
15 Then the Angel of the LORD called to Abraham a second time out of heaven, 16 and said: “By Myself I have sworn, says the LORD, because you have done this thing, and have not withheld your son, your only son— 17 blessing I will bless you, and multiplying I will multiply your descendants as the stars of the heaven and as the sand which is on the seashore; and your descendants shall possess the gate of their enemies. 18 In your seed all the nations of the earth shall be blessed, because you have obeyed My voice.” 19 So Abraham returned to his young men, and they rose and went together to Beersheba; and Abraham dwelt at Beersheba. Genesis 22:3-19 (NKJV)
 
Because Abraham gave his best and was willing to do anything to please God, God blessed Him. Abraham did not hold back in his worship. He was a true lover of God. He was a true worshipper who knew how to worship in spirit and truth.
 
Today give your best to God in everything you do. God may test your heart from time to time. He may ask for things that are very dear to you. You can’t compimise in this. His great blessings come only in obedience and sacrifice. Give God your best in worship even if it costs you everything.
 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

    

  

 
 
 
Comments on: "Worship Costs" (3)

  1. Ciao Gerry,
    How are you this morning?
    Your site is beautiful, I love the colours here.
    Your song is new, and very nice as well, and I also have enjoyed your blog, it is a good teaching for me this morning.
    God Bless You My brother.
    P.S. My Sister finally had her baby on the 4th, another little girl, a sister for Amelia-Mae, she is a sweetie…:)
    Hugs & Kisses
    Love
    Shelley
    xXx

  2. Hey!
     
    I was just wondering where you host your audio/ video files…if you could let me know that would be great!

  3. Hi gerry.
     
    I am reminded of this very time last year when God tested me.  I was at the same SU camp I recently got back from and was very fond of one of the female leaders.  I knew it would be wrong to make any moves because I believe when you attend something like that, your heart should be focussed on serving God and not really wandering into other areas.  God completely tested me.  A friend was unbeknownst to me, dating another leader (from before camp) and I mistakenly thought he was cracking on to her during the week… which would have been wrong.  Given the information I had and the stance I was taking I had a tough choice – do what I knew was right, or do what I wanted.  It was very tough and it was a cumbersome cross to bear.  It was very painful to see what I thought I could gain being played out, while withholding from it myself.  I was utterly drained at the end of the week and it brought a harvest of tears on my part.  That is how close to the limit God\’s testing taught me.
     
    I\’d appreciate prayers on the matter because I still have a soft spot for the same girl even now.  It\’s not inappropriate to act now, but there aren\’t really any opportunities or open doors.  I don\’t really want to push forward in that area without God giving the nod first anyway. I promised him I\’d wait and I\’ve broken that promise too many times already.

Leave a Reply

