Just another WordPress.com site

Worship – Abandonment


PRAISE THE Lord! Praise God in His sanctuary; praise Him in the heavens of His power!

Praise Him for His mighty acts; praise Him according to the abundance of His greatness!

Praise Him with trumpet sound; praise Him with lute and harp!

Praise Him with tambourine and [single or group] dance; praise Him with stringed and wind instruments or flutes!

Praise Him with resounding cymbals; praise Him with loud clashing cymbals!

Let everything that has breath and every breath of life praise the Lord! Praise the Lord!

(Hallelujah!) Psalm 150 (AMP)

Many of us have our preconceived notions about worship. Many of us have been taught that this is how it needs to be. Three hymns and three choruses and keep it no longer than twenty to twenty-five minutes. Much of the way we worship comes from tradition and not from the Spirit. Oh, in the beginning it may have been, but it became more form than substance. Many churches have lost the excitement that God wants us to have in worship. It is not supposed to be something that is mundane or repetitive.

Matt Redman, in his book The Unquenchable Worshipper tells us how one of the Hebrew words for praise is hallal. It means to be clamorously foolish or mad before the Lord. It is the root of the word hallelujah. He says that; " In a reasons to be passionate competition, the church of God should come first; yet too often we find ourselves lagging way behind in this area. Isn’t it time we saw a bit more holy mayhem in our worship?"

During the recent world cup soccer event we saw just how passionate people can get about things. People got painted up and wave all kinds of banners on behalf of their national teams. The Italians are still driving around in this city with flags and banners on their vehicles. And yet put these same people in a church if they are Christians they have a real problem with having any kind of excitement in worship.

Matt goes on to say; "I’m pretty guilty of this myself, to be honest, I could blame it on my personality, but deep down I know that isn’t the whole story. Now and again comes a glimpse of a greater freedom in worship. One night when I was 15 years old’ we were having our normal Friday night youth meeting. But during the songs of worship God really got of my heart in a fresh way, and I felt I could explode with love for Him. I was desperate to somehow let this worship out. But singing didn’t feel like enough, and I’ve never really got on with dancing, so it really didn’t occur to me that dancing was a viable option either! Becoming frantic for a way to release my worship, I hurried out of church, forgetting to put on my shoes on, and ran around the parking lot for ten minutes. I must have looked like an idiot. But at that time I couldn’t have cared less. I wasn’t bothered who saw me or how weird it all looked. I was before God – and God alone. As Oswald Chambers says’ "The consequence of abandonment never enters into our outlook, because our lives are so taken up with Him"

We get so caught up with Him in love and wonder that we forget what others might think and we throw ourselves into God’s pleasure. I long for more of those times – seasons where my heart is so consumed with Jesus that abandoned worship floods out in extreme ways."

I have come to realize that in truth, I am not the worship leader and neither is the pastor. It is the Holy Spirit and Him alone that needs to have control. He needs to be the leader and conductor of everything we do in worship. I am just His instrument and He can do with me what He wills.

In our church’s abandonment to the Holy Spirit in our church, things have changed. To some it may shock. To others God will lead you to worship in a different way. Our worship has taken on color and beauty. We get excited about coming into it on Sunday mornings. We move the chairs out of the way, take out banners and sing, dance, jump, twirl and shout and there is an awesome sense of God’s glory that enters into our midst. The worship can last from up to an hour. We want to come to that place of total abandonment in all things relating to our King. If He wants to lead us to worship until there is no longer any strength in our bodies, then so be it. He is worth it.

Get excited in worshipping Jesus. He is the greatest person who has ever walked the face of the earth and He done things that no other could. He conquered death and the grave and He purchased us with His blood. What could be more exciting than that. If we can cheer sports teams and athletes for their accomplishments and act like fools when they win, how much more for Christ. Let’s worship with that wild abandonment we find in hallal.

HALLELUJAH!!!! THE LORD HE REIGNS!!!!

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "Worship – Abandonment" (8)

  1. Hi Gerry!
     
    Got your message and wrote you now!! God bless you and great entry by the way…
     
    Cathy 🙂

  2. Bang on the money Gerry!
     
    I\’ve ALWAYS made the argument that worshippers should be more like football crowds.  A man may say "I can\’t sing" and be quiet in church… but in a stadium his heart is filled with passion and he is caught up in the moment in the euphoria of the occasion and regardless of physical talent he just blurts it out as loud as he can.  It\’s not about talent it\’s about heart.
     
    I often moan about "Songs of Praise" on the BBC because its over rehearsed, over professional and a lot of the people singing on it focus on portraying themselves in a certain way…. be it pious, gleeful or serious looking…. they should just ditch it and get down with God.  It\’s when the BBC covers live events that the good shows tend to be.
     
    I tend not to buy studio recorded Christian music because it all sounds too perfect, a lot of the singers sound like Cliff Richard clones and I hate it… but the same singers when they are live are completely transformed because you can really sense the Spirit of worship in what they do.
     
    I find it amazing in the old testament you get people so full of praise for God that they strip down to their undergarments and dance feverishly… or fall to the ground in unabashed abandonment.  why do we have to hold back.  I\’m not saying we should be running around praising God in our underpants…. but we should not be so concerned with people\’s perceptions of what we are doing.  If we "can\’t sing" but want to praise God by trying to, then tone deaf or not… people should be free to do that!
     
    blessings
     
    nick

  3. kïrstin said:

    it never fails! i always hear \’the word for today\’ when i come to your site.
    i am so blessded by this post.
    s. lizard

  4. Bonjour Gerry!Je m\’ appelle Pierrette et je suis chez mon amie Diane , elle m\’ a montré ton blog et j\’ ai bien aimé. Je m\’ excuse mais mon anglais n\’ est pas assez sûr pour  t\’ écrire, par contre je le comprend assez bien.Je suis chantre à mon église et je suis une fervante de Dieu. J\’ ai 46 ans j\’ aime la musique et le chant et moi aussi je compose des chants  d\’ adoration que le Seigneur me donne.Je vie seule depuis 5 ans et j\’ai 3 enfants et je demeure à Granby.J\’ ai vu que tu avais composé un C.D est-ce que je peux me le procurer en magasin? J\’ aimerais aussi savoir où se situe l\’église où tu va ? Tu peux me répondre sur le blog de Diane(Touché de Dieu) Que Dieu te bénisse.

  5. MERHABA FROM TURKEY

  6. michele said:

    Hey Gerry , how are you? Worship is such a lifestyle, I remember the first time I was set free to worshipp him publically, I did not care either what any one thought of me I took off around the church,and I have never been the same , my freedom is for God ,I alway said if the people at football games can act stupid then why can\’nt I,at least the God i dance to and shout to is worthy of it !! Godbless Gerry, Michele

  7. Oh you speak my heart. I just love to sing and worship the Lord. I can\’t carry a tune, but that is when I feel the closest is when we are in song to Him. I wish our church wouldn\’t limit worhip, but they do. Gotta get out in under 60 minutes, including sermon! But yes, I agree, I wish more churches would just allow the Holy Spirit to guide worship and not the clock!
    Blessings,
    Jennifer

  8. Phil - personal acct said:

    Great message. It is so true that worship, true worship needs to be more than singing a song or the band playing, but truly people looking to get into the presence of God. I am glad to hear your message and look forward to many more.
     
    God Bless you my brother in Jesus\’ name. Amen.
    Phil

Leave a Reply

