Just another WordPress.com site

Shadowlands


Sometimes what God is doing in our lives is not always clear. The way is clouded by shadows and deep valleys. Things happen to us that just don’t seem to fit in with what we believe is God’s plan for us. Why would He allow us to go through these times of hurt and indecision seemingly alone?

C.S. Lewis was one of the greatest Christian writers of our time. He was a bachelor until late in his life when he met Joy Davidman. They married and 3 years later she died of cancer. Watching her die was one of the darkest periods of his life. These events were portrayed in the movie "Shadowlands" He wrote afterwards the book "A Grief Observed" in which he talks about the pain of suffering. In this journal, he documents first the overwhelming sensations of his grief, then his rage and confusion at God. As time passes, he chronicles his return to Christ and his acceptance of a new life, forever shadowed by his wife’s death, but still whole.

Satan is frightened by those who go through such pain and suffering and not knowing the reason why, they continue to serve God. In another book written by C S. Lewis called "The Screwtape Letters" He gives a fictional account of a series of letters written between a junior demon (Wormwood) and his superior (Screwtape). The junior demon had been given the assignment of keeping a man from coming to Christ and was experiencing difficulties. In response to a problem this demon was having the superior wrote back to him the following; "Do not be deceived, Wormwood. Our cause is never more in danger than when a human, no longer desiring, but still intending, to do our Enemy’s will, looks round upon a universe from which every trace of God seems to have vanished, and asks why he has been forsaken, and yet still obeys."

Sometimes in grief and pain we can’t find our Lord, but that doesn’t mean He isn’t there. He is just saying in times of silence. "Trust me" Psalm 23:4 says "Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me." David knew the Lord was there and would guide him no matter what. Proverbs 3:5-6 says; "Trust in the LORD with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths." God has not forsaken you. He is still there. Trust Him!

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

    

Comments on: "Shadowlands" (14)

  1. Ciao Jerry,
    WOW your posting today was such a blessing for me. I am very happy that I stopped in here to read your entry, I am sure that it was meant for me. Thanks for sharing this with me.
    As you know, Ps. is one of my fav. books in the Bible, although there are many books and I love them all, but the one that read the most and get the most from is Ps. and when I read Ps. 23:4 here, I could hear my Dad reading this to me. Thanks for this.
    I hope that you are having a great week and I pray that God will Bless you and your family well.
    God Bless You
    Love
    Shelley
    xXx

  2. Hi Gerry… weirdly enough that\’s similar in many respects to something I am posting tonight… that is sitting dormant as a draft at the moment.
     
    Cool
     
    Gods bless
     
    N

  3. thanks for visiting my site. thats how i got to ur site. and wow! ur site is awesome. lots to read and learn about. i will take time to read them when able. OK? That u r from Quebec got my attention bec yesterday we prayed for the Quebecois. 3 of our students are from Canada and they led the intercession for these people group. Are u an English speaking or French speaking Canadian?
    Lorena

  4. I have the little book \’paved with good intentions\’ by C.S. Lewis. Very good!!
    God bless you Gery, nice entry!!
     
    Cath 🙂

  5. My husband is a big C.S. Lewis fan, he has yet to read the Screwtape Letters, but is going to get around to it eventually.  I have to tell you, even now as Peter and I prepare to head off to college it still amazes me as to how many times we have been in a hole and felt like there was no way out.  This journey for us started 9 years ago, we made our intentions for college known even before we were married to our pastor at that time.  Due to our young ages, I was only 19 at the time, they didn\’t think that we were ready, so on went the process.  We got hurt by some christians and left the first church we were at, going to another to start the process all over again.  At this point it look really promising for us but somewhere in there something happened again and we were hurt by some of the church members there too, and we moved once more to another church.  And yes, we did have to start our process all over again.  This time it didn\’t feel as important and we kinda let things go a bit.  But nothing fires you up like a good friend who is fired up himself, telling you you are trying to convince yourself that this isn\’t the way to go when it is.  And now, here we are, 9 years later, following in His will, trusting in Him for whatever is to come our way.  God is so Good He will take care of you even when the "bad" things happen.  Peter eluded the other night to a song by Mercy Me – Bring the Rain – the chorus says
    Bring me joy, bring me peace bring the chance to be free Bring me anything that brings You glory And I konw there\’ll be days When this life brings me pain But if that\’s what it takes to praise You, Jeses bring the rain. 
    I know I want to give Jesus glory and praise and I pray that I can do that through even the worst of times in my life.  Thank you Gerry for your words.
    Blessings,
    Bethany.

  6. hope that you have a great long weekend…
    just out blog surfing and thought i\’d leave a comment so that you would know i was here….pop by my space if you have some free time….
    :o) smiles are free… :o) and contagious… :o) so pass them on… :o) to people you love… :o) and even to those you don\’t… :o)

  7. Christina said:

    pray that i hav the strength to pray for myself

  8. Hi Gerry!! The signing is going okay for now…I still need to find that \’perle rare\’ teacher but I do sing at church from time to time (even though it makes me very nervous!!). So how are you doing Gerry?? God bless you!!
     
    Cath 🙂

  9. Shelley said:

    Ciao Gerry,
    I was just out visiting some friends this evening and wanted to stop in here and say Hi.
    I hope that all is well with you and your family.
    May God Bless You and Keep you a blessing in all that you do.
    Love
    Shelley
    xXx

  10. God is good to those who seek Him & stay with Him through troubled times
    *blessings*

  11. † a reason to believe † said:

    Hi.
     
    I was wondering if maybe you could help me out with something.  I know that your church has a youth group (you had written about it a while back) and my church is beginning to create a youth group of our own.  I was wondering if maybe you could give us some advice or pointers on what makes a great youth group and how yours got started.  If you could leave a comment on my space, i would be really greatful 🙂  Thanks so much.
     
    Love,
    Lauren

  12. Sergio Gabriel said:

    I feel alone, wtih God but without a human who is with me……..
    and in this time tht psalm is powerfull  for me.
     
    so thnks x publish tht
     
    GodBless
     

  13. A VOICE IN THE DESERT said:

    Dear Big Bro:
    The Lord has been showing me the POWER OF INTERCESORY-PRAYER…..Whether a group of teenagers praying for a friend in need….or a group of mothers praying for their husbands and children…or a group of Arabs praying for the moslems and the jews\’s salvation….This intercesory-praying works sooo fast,I\’ve seen prayers answered the same day,that\’s how fast!!!!
    Anyways,I miss you and wanted touch base with you.
    love….fatima(Bint Alrab Yesuah)
     

  14. Thanks that\’s a blessing. I haven\’t been here in a while.

Leave a Reply

