Just another WordPress.com site

Let Your Fire Fall


I am hungry for the fire. We need it to fall here in Quebec so desperately. My children just attended a youth conference held annually her in Montreal, They were blessed with concerts by the Newsboys, Sanctus Real, and Starfield. The speaker for the weekend was Monty Hip, one of the top youth ministers from the U.S. This year 1,500 youth attended the event compared to last year’s where 1,800 attended. They had expected much more this year. What happened? As usual in Quebec some churches couldn’t agree with others and the event was not even promoted in those places.

The big problem here is independence and it has infected the church. Many churches want to go it alone and there a few who will work together. Jealousy and envy are rampant between churches. The last crusade this province has seen was Leighton Ford in the late eighties. Since then one other evangelist tried to have a crusade in th Olympic Stadium but had to cancel it after the province’s largest protestant denomination told it’s members not to participate or promote it.

I weep over the church in Quebec. It is in a very sad state indeed. We need a miracle. We need the fire of God. This province is the least evangelised area in all of the Americas. It is deepest dark Africa. The enemy has such a strong hold over this province that can only be broken if men and women of God become bold enough to put aside their differences to work together. The church has to come together and get on their knees and fast and pray.

There has to be a great awakening in this city and province that will shake the church and awaken those who are asleep. I am hungry for it. All other desires are fading away.

Lord send Your fire and cleanse Your church. God do what you must to destroy te things that keep Your body apart. We need each other so desperately and yet many can’t see it. They can’t see beyond their four walls. They are so busy building their own little kingdoms. Send Your fire Lord! Burn it all up.

Recently we lost our last keyboard player because her husband believed he needed to go to the largest church in Quebec. The worship has suffered greatly because of it. We have had to sing with cd’s or accapella and because of this another family said they didn’t like the style of worship any longer and left. I weep because I feel so frustrated that I cannot lead worship in a way that allows freedom. I feel tied to the music on the cd’s. There are so many musicians in these big churches that are just sitting there hoping that they may get a chance to play or sing in the worship team and yet there are little churches like ours that suffer because we can’t find someone to play piano. Can you imagine a church that would actually send out their members to help in other churches across the province and city? Now that’s radical. That is the way the church should be. We have lost so much. So the bigger churches get bigger and the small ones suffer. We see in the book of Acts how the church when it is working togther can be so effective.

And they continued steadfastly in the apostles’ doctrine and fellowship, in the breaking of bread, and in prayers. Then fear came upon every soul, and many wonders and signs were done through the apostles. Now all who believed were together, and had all things in common, and sold their possessions and goods, and divided them among all, as anyone had need. So continuing daily with one accord in the temple, and breaking bread from house to house, they ate their food with gladness and simplicity of heart, praising God and having favour with all the people. And the Lord added to the church daily those who were being saved. Acts 2:42-47 (NKJV)

God help Your church here in Quebec! Open up our eyes to see Your truth.

I do not pray for these alone, but also for those who will believe in Me through their word; that they all may be one, as You, Father, are in Me, and I in You; that they also may be one in Us, that the world may believe that You sent Me. And the glory which You gave Me I have given them, that they may be one just as We are one: I in them, and You in Me; that they may be made perfect in one, and that the world may know that You have sent Me, and have loved them as You have loved Me. John 17:20-23 (NKJV)

We have failed here in Quebec Lord. The world doesn’t see us as one. We fight and quarrel amongst ourselves and the world laughs. We build our kingdoms but neglect Your kingdom and the people in this province head for hell. Wake us up! Shake us up! Revive us! Let Your fire fall and burn up all the chaff.

Restore us, O God of our salvation,
And cause Your anger toward us to cease.
Will You be angry with us forever?
Will You prolong Your anger to all generations?
Will You not revive us again,
That Your people may rejoice in You?
Show us Your mercy, LORD,
And grant us Your salvation.
I will hear what God the LORD will speak,
For He will speak peace
To His people and to His saints;
But let them not turn back to folly.
Surely His salvation is near to those who fear Him,
That glory may dwell in our land. Psalm 85:4-9 (NKJV)

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

    

Comments on: "Let Your Fire Fall" (8)

  1. Unknown said:

    Hiya Gerry. Praying hard for you here, for you and your church. God bless – Benny

  2. Rosemary said:

    We always hire pianists from other churchs to play, at least 2 times out tof the month…our church is small too.  Bless you and your church..

  3. Hi Gerry.  The first thing that sprang to mind reading your blog was the parable of the Vine and the danger of growing apart from God in order to promote growth without his authority… and we know where that ends.
     
    I\’m not a fan of church hopping. My church is a relatively quiet rural one, but I remain because I believe that is where God wants me… I believe he has a plan for the place and i get fed there.  It really bothers me when people jump from church to church because they see the next "big thing" on the horizon, when people do this they become spiritual experience junkies.  I\’m not judging people who feel they need to move because God has called them in another direction or who know they aren\’t getting fed, my concern regards tumbleweed Christians who don\’t ever put their roots down… they just feed off the  blessing on a church like locusts and move on whenever God tests or convicts the environment they are in… it is not a mature way of walking in my opinion.  I\’m not angry with them… I\’m concerned for them… because they deprive themselves of the awesomeness of God.
     
    I wanted to encourage you Gerry with regard to revval.  I\’ve mentioned it a couple of times in my blog in the past.  I really believe revival is a divinely breathed gift.  It is not something we can kindle through our efforts.  Though it has been some time, all the great revivals in Britain occurred when the people of God (sometimes it came to a mere three people on a church floor), came with compassion for the lost around them.  They knelt down and asked forgiveness for themselves repenting of acting on their own initiative and poower instead of God\’s benevolent grace and sovereign authority.  It was those times that started people weeping in the streets and seeking the Lord… it didn\’t come as an act of response to preaching, the preaching came as a response to what God was doing.
     
    It has been a long time Gerry, the last revival in this nation of that spiritual magnitude was the Orkney revival around the turn of the century.  Very few – if any of that generation in  those isles can be alive today.
     
    As barren as Quebec may be, Alcester surely is.  Men of God have passed God\’s judgement down on my town in the ancient past and it is a stronghold.  I do believe God in his sovereignty will completely turn that on it\’s head.  There are people in my area now who do not bow the knee to idols, but they still do not rely on God.
     
    2 Chronicles 7:13-16 says:
     13 "When I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or command locusts to devour the land or send a plague among my people, 14 if my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land. 15 Now my eyes will be open and my ears attentive to the prayers offered in this place. 16 I have chosen and consecrated this temple so that my Name may be there forever. My eyes and my heart will always be there.
     
    Take heart Gerry aqnd be encouraged.
     
    God bless
     
    N

  4. On another issue, God keeps speaking to me through Acts 10 and 11.  The incident where God leads Peter to preach to Cornelius and his household.  At first it was merely laid on my heart… but this time, Acts 11 came up on the radar at church.  I am convinced God is trying to tell me something through it… my gut says it\’s for me but there is always the possibility it is for the church too.  God has a habit of using me as a microcosm for what he is doing in the church.
     
    Your prayers or even better, insights would be most welcome.
     
    N

  5. Hey Gerry! I replied to your comment on my blog, thanks for passing by! Don\’t worry about a piano player, I\’m sure God will send someone great your way to help. It\’s true that the church has a hard time in Québec, people don\’t believe much in God anymore because of what religion has done in the past and if we can\’t even become united as the body of Christ, who will want to take exemple on us and follow Jesus?? We need God to restore true faith and love in us, to dig out what was burried a long time ago so it may shine in the sun…That we may live because of Him…

  6. Hi Gerry!! Thanks for the great advice on my blog entry and thanks a lot for showing the video Faithful by The Kry, I never saw it before and it\’s a beautiful powerful and deep message that is spoken through it. The sacrificial love og Christ for all of us…How great, how deep, how long and wide is His love? The Kry\’s music really speaks loud in my heart, there is always a longing, a thirst for the Lord that gets stronger when I listen to their worship…Such an anointing!! Thank you Gerry and let us know when you get your piano player!!

  7. michele said:

    Hey Gerry Bless your heart, you know the Lord said "If he had one person to stand in the gap he would move, be that one man Gerry, the church is in a mess but praise God He does love her!! And he will go to great lengths to tear her down and build her back up,she cannot go on in this mess,man has established HIS kingdom, and God will not tolerate it any longer,as you probably know through reading some of my entries, I have not been in the system for a while, at the same time I have such a love for the bride,always have, that is my mandate I believe to to married to the church through prayer and intercession,my heart is to disciple the church to intamacy with the Father, they have had there eyes on the system and not on the Father!! That is why she is in such a mess.Last thursday I came home from work,sat on the couch to talk with my husband and all of a sudden the fire of God fell on me,I wept uncontrolably and then laughed,back and forth, shaking like a jack hammer,this went on for three days off and on,the Lord had told me to start journeling again,with all that the message he has laid on my heart (once again) is repentance, without repentance Gerry we will see nothing!!! the church NEEDS TO REPENT!! We need to cry out with everything in our hearts to the ONE TRUE GOD, and confess our sin, so that times of refreshing will come, we cannot have rivival first, that is the false message out there, revival first,signs and wonders, but Gods word tell me tha first we repent then we will see revival,Gerry stand strong I sense your heart is the heartbeat of the Father, I will pray for you to stand strong cause he is gonna reveal some secrets to you concerning His bride,he is gathering a remenant and that remnant will take up there cross and follow him not man!! Bless you my brother, In Christ , Michele

  8. Joe Graham said:

    Hi Gerry,
     
    I just found your site I left a comment in your guestlist.
     
    I pray God would send you musicians like he\’s provided for me. I also can send you stuff if you want to learn how to play guitar or piano for worship. Free if you want it.
     
    Joe
    http://www.windsorchurches.com/worship24

Leave a Reply

