Just another WordPress.com site

How Long Oh Lord?


"How Long Oh Lord? Will You forget me forever? How long will You hide Your face from me? How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and every day have sorrow in my heart? How long will my enemy triumph over me? Look on me and answer, O LORD my God. Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death; my enemy will say, "I have overcome him," and my foes will rejoice when I fall." (13:1-4)

I can picture David writing this psalm with tears running down his face. Because of circumstances in his life, he felt as though God had left him. It is a cry of despair from a broken heart. A heart that longs for the fellowship he once had with God. He was on the verge of falling into a depression and all he could see was defeat.

All believers at one time or another pass through a dark tunnel where there seems to be no hope. God feels far away as we pass through it. Even Jesus when He was on the cross faced that despair. Sometimes it is brought on by rebellion. The bible tells us that sin separates us from the Father (Isaiah 59:1-2) and the only way back is to repent and turn back to God again. (1 John 1:9). Sometimes it is to build character and bring us to our knees. To discipline us in areas of our lives that need changing. (Hebrews 12:6-7) Sometimes it is brought on by tragedy and we question how God could of let it happen. If you don’t know God’s promises found in His word you can find yourself falling deeper and deeper into despair until it leads to depression.

At the end of the Psalm David turned his thoughts around. He remembered God’s promises and he begins to worship. He says in verses 5 and 6; But I trust in your unfailing love; "My heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing to the LORD, for he has been good to me."

The greatest promise that we have as Christians is this, no matter how dark it seems, no matter how far we feel God is, we can rest upon the promise that He gave us in Hebrews 13:5. I like the description in the Amplified version. "

Let your character or moral disposition be free from love of money [including greed, avarice, lust, and craving for earthly possessions] and be satisfied with your present [circumstances and with what you have]; for He [God] Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]"

Wow! All I can say is GLORY! Like David we need to trust the Lord’s unfailing love. He has never broken a promise.

Joshua 23:14 says; "And you know in all your hearts and in all your souls that not one thing has failed of all the good things which the LORD your God spoke concerning you. All have come to pass for you; not one word of them has failed.

Take courage turn your thoughts around today. Look up and worship. God cares and He is always there no matter how you feel.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

    

Comments on: "How Long Oh Lord?" (7)

  1. Hi Gerry, hope you are doing OK… things seem to be going quiet on Spaces again.  It\’s good to see you still going strong though!
     
    God bless
     
    N

  2. Shelley said:

    Ciao Jerry,
    Thanks for your visit and comment.
     
    I love the song that you have put in your blog. I had to stay for a long time to listen to the words. The words of the song are so touching, it has touched my heart.
     
    I enjoyed your blog reading tonight as well, Psalms is my fav. book in the Bible, although there are other books that are wonderful, and all are of God, but Psalms is my fav.
     
    I can remember as a child, living with my Mom & Dad. My Dad used to gather all us together in the evening before bedtime, and read us a chapter from the Bible. There was no way out of it, ha ha, but every night he read the word of God to all his children, and he read a lot from the book of Psalms and of David. Sometimes I wish that I could be that child again and listen to him read the Bible. It\’s a wonderful memory of growing up at home.
     
    I pray that God will guide and bless you in all that you do.
    Your site is a real blessing to me.
     
    Keep up the wonderful work for the Lord Jerry.
    God Bless You
    Love
    Shelley
    xXx

  3. Sure know what that feels like but now I know that the Lord is ALWAYS with me, it\’s a promise in His word!! Things are going great for me now and I\’m sure glad that Go is with me to help with every little thing that comes my way! I know I can trust Him at all times so everything is just so much easier! I\’m sure you got to go to the CJYC, I couldn\’t because I didn\’t get permission to miss work from my boss (ah well, next year…) so tell me how was it???
     
    Cath 🙂 God bless!!

  4. Rosemary said:

    Good blog today, I missed church because we were at the cottage, so I came here for my \’sermon\’  I have never felt that God has left me…or felt far from Him…when I am in trouble I always go to him in prayer…even when my dad was dying I always felt He was with me…I pray that I will never feel distant from Him…
    Happy Victoria Day!!! yaaa long weekend!

  5. Hello Mr Desjardins! I dont know if you remember me, it\’s been a while since i\’ve commented, but i still talk to MJ online a little.. when the time difference will allow it! anyway, i was just coming to ask you a favour.. see, I\’m in this band at my school where we\’re just a group of students who love to serve God, so we put on a small worship service every wednesday lunchtime so the other student can come along and praise Him aswell. Well, we\’ve decided to make a space for our group so that others who are not from our school can also hear the words spoken at these services, and I was wondering if i could get your support in getting this link around?
    http://spaces.msn.com/unclonedinchrist.com
    When you first go to the site i suggest you click the link to our introdustion entry, which is in a list module just under all the banners!
    Thankyou, and God Bless!
    Matt

  6. The unfailing love our Lord Jesus.  Who can love as perfectly, completely, and deeply as Him?  Who can grow and fashion us into the perfect creation for His purposes and Will?
     
    1 Peter 5:10
    10And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace [Who imparts all blessing and favor], Who has called you to His [own] eternal glory in Christ Jesus, will Himself complete and make you what you ought to be, establish and ground you securely, and strengthen, and settle you.
     
    Philippians 1:6
    6being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.
     
    There have been many times when I doubted, questioned, felt abandoned in my walk with Him.  And everytime I questioned Him, everytime I brought my case to Him, He has always answered me.  Either through His Presence, a sign or His Word. 
     
    God is so faithful.  He hasn\’t ever, and will never give up on any of us.
     
    Jason
     
    PS:  It\’s nice to be back 🙂

  7. Sorry to hear of the loss of your keyboard player.  Another opportunity for God to step in and send you who you need.  It is a shame that people leave the church just because the worship isn\’t quite as they would like it isn\’t it?
     
    I have endured 3 years at our local very traditional Church of England church (Anglican) where they play obscure hymns more often than popular ones.  They have also read the same liturgy and responses since June 2004 EVERY Sunday.  However recently I have been attending another church where they have facilities for teenagers as neither of my children could cope with the liturgy and ancientness of our local church.  I wanted them to have Christian friends and they have found them at this church.  The only trouble is it isn\’t in our local village.  I am still committed to our local housegroup, it has been so wonderful finding a church where they appear to be in the 21st Century too!  We live in a very rural area and for 3 years my children have had no friends who also have any faith.
     
    Like you I LOVE to worship and personally I do like contemporary music as well as the classic hymns that have stood the test of time but at the end of the day it is our choice to worship God and it CAN be done even in a very dry traditional service if you set your will to Praise HIM!!

Leave a Reply

