Just another WordPress.com site

I’m Too Tired!


O Ephraim, what shall I do to you?
O Judah, what shall I do to you?
For your faithfulness is like a morning cloud,
And like the early dew it goes away. Hosea 6:4

In this verse God was speaking to Israel and Judah. There were times that they would repent turn from their sins and serve God faithfully. But their faithfulness was like the morning cloud and dew that burns off with the heat of the sun. They were lukewarm in their service toward God. Sure when the heat was on they would be zealous and do all they needed to do to get out of the trouble they were in, but once the trouble was past they lost their fervour and went back to their old ways. They served God when it suited them. Kind of like many in the church today don’t you think?

The other night because of the pain in my back. I got up at about 3:30 AM and spent the rest of the night in my office chair with a heating pad. My body has had to face so much pain in the last 2 to 3 years and I wondered how much longer I could take it. My desire and passion has always been to worship the Lord with everything that is within me. With all my body, soul, and strength. I love serving Him and it has become increasingly difficult. Fear began to rise up within me. The thought came to me "What if I become completely disabled and can no longer serve the Lord? What if I can never get out to church again?" Whenever I miss a day from working at our school or church, I feel so guilty. I can’t stand being in a place where I am unable to help or take part in service to my King. To not be able to do anything would be like dying to me. This is not a boast. It is the way God made me.

Just to show you I’m not perfect there is also another side of me that would love to just relax and take it easy, I can be a time waster and sit down at my computer and play games for hours. If I am not careful I can get to involved in them and forget about everything else including my responsibilities as a minister.

Our church is struggling right now. Last night it was just the pastor and myself who were at prayer meeting. To the pastor and I, prayer meeting is the most important service of the week. Without prayer a church cannot stand. Christ is our foundation, but prayer along with Holy Spirit is the mortar that holds us, the living stones, together. The prayer meeting is where most of the work is done. It upsets me when I hear people make excuses for not attending. Some just can’t be bothered. I live with pain everyday and yet I make it a point to be there so it irks me to no end when I hear the excuses people make.

Our example as Christians is and should always be Christ. His passion for us is unrelenting. Philippians 2:5-8 in the Amplified Bible says of Him;

Let this same attitude and purpose and [humble] mind be in you which was in Christ Jesus: [Let Him be your example in humility:]

Who, although being essentially one with God and in the form of God [possessing the fullness of the attributes which make God], did not think this equality with God was a thing to be eagerly grasped or retained,

But stripped Himself [of all privileges and rightful dignity], so as to assume the guise of a servant (slave), in that He became like men and was born a human being.

And after He had appeared in human form, He abased and humbled Himself [still further] and carried His obedience to the extreme of death, even the death of the cross!

For us He gave up His rights of being equal with God to become our servant (slave). Think about it. He became obedient even to the point of death on the cross. He came to serve, not to be served. So many of us sit in our pews Sunday after Sunday doing nothing except soaking it in. We can’t even get out of bed early to spend one hour with Him and His word. Many make so many excuses as to why they can’t teach Sunday School, take care of the nursery, usher or get out to prayer meeting. Christ never tried to excuse Himself from His purpose. The King of heaven died a criminals death for us. The pain and suffering He went through on the cross for us, none of us could bare and yet we complain because we are tired or have aches or pains, therefore we can’t do the things He has asked us to do. Shame on us! We love our comfort too much. As Christ is consumed with us we should be consumed with Him. Our every thought and deed and desire should be with the thought of pleasing Him and not ourselves.

And to the angel (messenger) of the assembly (church) in Laodicea write: These are the words of the Amen, the trusty and faithful and true Witness, the Origin and Beginning and Author of God’s creation:

I know your [record of] works and what you are doing; you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were cold or hot!

So, because you are lukewarm and neither cold nor hot, I will spew you out of My mouth!

Revelation 3:14-16 

To spew means to vomit out violently something from the inside and in order for Christ to do that means you had to be in Him. He is talking to us Christians, not unbelievers. This life is so short and eternity is so long and yet we love the comfort of this world too much to give it up and become a servant as He did. We have become like Israel and Judah and are faithful only when faced with trails. Once they are gone we go back to our lukewarmness. Our faithfulness burns up in the like the morning dew. Consider your heart today. Wake-up before He returns and finds you idle. It’s not a place I nor should you want to be.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

    

Comments on: "I’m Too Tired!" (10)

  1. Bonjour! Je voulais te remercier pour tes encouragements lors de ta visite sur mon blog.Malheureusement j\’avais effacé,par erreur ,ton commentaire et ton adress.`C\’ est sur le blog de ma fille Cathy que j\’ai pu le retrouvé.Je regrette de ne pas pouvoir parler et comprendre d\’avantage l\’anglais.Mais ça viendra…..Je reprend mes étude! J\’aime b.c la chanson de ton blog ,J\’ai pris en note l.artiste et je vais me procurer le C.D.  Soit béni !  Diane

  2. Rosemary said:

    OUCH!!  very passionate blog Gerry…very eye opening, especially since I just quit doing our Girls club at church (its my last year) I have been doing it for sooo many years..I thought it was time for fresh blood, but after that sermon…I\’m still not gonna do it, but I will do something else in the church…don\’t want to get stale for the Lord!  Hope your back feels better , and be careful when sneezing…lol

  3. Klein011 said:

    great blog for today. we can never forget what Christ has done for us.
     
    thx for stopping by my space. we have checked out 2 churches so far but havent found one that fits just yet. there are alot of churches up here but without a car they are difficult to get to by the local bus.
     
    Erika

  4. Hey Gerry great blog, I see the Lord is speaking a long the same line, but you know the reason the church is lukewarm is because we were not meant to be institutionalized, we were called to be relational!! You know in Hebrews 3:13 it says exhort one another daily, while it is called Today; lest any of you be hardened through the decietfulness of sin. The church needs to build relationship continully so that we can speak into each others lives and stirr one another up, not go and look at our neighbours back of their head and see them once a week on bible study where no one really opens up or does not feel save to,Jesus was and is all about relationship, that is why the church has no need to be a part of each other lives because they and we have been institutionlized, so we lack the idea of building on relationship, or we do not want to let any one into our lives, but that is about to change in the body of Christ it is not a new work but it was in operation since Christ walked the earth, I am very passionate about this, this has been at work in my heart for over 20 years and it is now that the Lord is releasing it into my life, to see the fruit of it, where we are accountable one to another, John 17 ,Jesus prayer(read it, I am sure you have ) but notice in verse 21-23 That they may be one as we are one…verse 23 that they may be perfect(mature) Gerry the church needs to mature and be nurtured by each other, we can fuction the way the Lord wants us to throught the institute of man!! Hey i could keep on going, but I better stop , please pray for us we are starting tohave home fellowship in June , Godbless michele

  5. pilgrimJ said:

    Yippee!!  Good to see you back online.. 🙂  Yes I agree… so sad when the church is not fervent in attending prayer meetings … sigh… same struggle in my church… we gotta get HOT … not cold or lukewarm… God bless!

  6. Soldier of The Cross said:

    i would like you to please go to my msn space so you can see the true version of the Bible and i would like you to tell your friends thank you and God Bless You.

  7. This is a petition which I support that will help stop the Communists propaganda from being beamed into Canada through the CRTC.  These are the very same party controlled media that are used as tools for persecution and tyranny and brainwashing of the Chinese people not to mention the rest of the world if they stupidly read or print XInhua articles or mistakenly take the CCP at face value when the world should dig deeper and find out WHY THEY STRICTLY CONTROL ALL THE MEDIA IN CHINA?  HELLO! tehyre hiding lots of stuff that if told would lead to their collapse since they are a Illigitimate terrorist organization/mafia.
     
    http://gopetition.com/online/8465.html

  8. Soldier of The Cross
    I get a bit suspicious when someone makes a statement like yours. If you are going to say it\’s the Authorized King James Version, you are wrong. The most accurate version of the original the Hebrew, Greek and Aramaic is the New American Standard, but I prefer the Amplified which gives the broader view of the Greek meanings.
     

  9. Hi Gerry!! Thanks for passing by and letting me know that you\’re back!! I used to have aweful back pains, to the point where I needed help to get up from the couch and had trouble even walking!! It got from bad to worst but last sunday, God healed me!! Someone prayed for me and I believed I was healed and God just healed me! I know He\’ll do it for you too, just because He loves you and is forever faithful…and because His word says so!! Be healed in the name of Jesus dear brother!! Be blessed and talk to you very soon!!
     
    Cath 🙂

  10. Teresa Dawn said:

    Hi Gerry 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.  I haven\’t read your post yet, but I intend to in just a few moments.  But I just had a question for you.  You mentioned in my Reader\’s Response in my site that you liked the song How Great is Our God by Christ Tomlin (I think… hope I got the name wrong, the computer is running too slow to go back and check again).  Anyways, is this the song that goes
     
    "How Great is our God, sing with meHow Great is our God, and all will see
    How Great, how Great is our God"
     
    I am wondering because I love this song, but I wasn\’t sure who it was by.  If it is a different one, do you know this one that I just said, or who is it by?
     
    God Bless,
    Teresa Dawn

Leave a Reply

