Just another WordPress.com site

Why Me?


1 O LORD, do not rebuke me in Your anger,
         Nor chasten me in Your hot displeasure.
 2 Have mercy on me, O LORD, for I am weak;
         O LORD, heal me, for my bones are troubled.
 3 My soul also is greatly troubled;
         But You, O LORD—how long?
         
 4 Return, O LORD, deliver me!
         Oh, save me for Your mercies’ sake!
 5 For in death there is no remembrance of You;
         In the grave who will give You thanks?
         
 6 I am weary with my groaning;
         All night I make my bed swim;
         I drench my couch with my tears.
 7 My eye wastes away because of grief;
         It grows old because of all my enemies.
         
 8 Depart from me, all you workers of iniquity;
         For the LORD has heard the voice of my weeping.
 9 The LORD has heard my supplication;
         The LORD will receive my prayer.
 10 Let all my enemies be ashamed and greatly troubled;
         Let them turn back and be ashamed suddenly. Psalm 6 (NKJV)

 

For many like me who suffer through chronic illness many questions arise like "Why me?" Lord, if you can create an entire universe and can do what ever you please, why can’t you make me completely whole again? Why must I suffer and groan on my bed every night without seeming relief? At times I feel so tired and the desire to go home is so great. It just seems that in my life I have suffered one great tragedy or illness after an other and yet so many seem to have it so easy. Many times in the midst of these trials God seems so far away and that I have been abandoned. Why can’t I get a break in life? Why me? My flesh wants to live a normal life. But then……

9But He said to me, My grace (My favor and loving-kindness and mercy) is enough for you [sufficient against any danger and enables you to bear the trouble manfully]; for My strength and power are made perfect (fulfilled and completed) and show themselves most effective in [your] weakness. Therefore, I will all the more gladly glory in my weaknesses and infirmities, that the strength and power of Christ (the Messiah) may rest (yes, may pitch a tent over and dwell) upon me!

10So for the sake of Christ, I am well pleased and take pleasure in infirmities, insults, hardships, persecutions, perplexities and distresses; for when I am weak [in human strength], then am I [truly] strong (able, powerful in divine strength). 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 (AMP)

How many times have I heard the Spirit whisper that to me me just when I needed to hear it?

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose. Romans 8:28 (NKJV)

All things work together for good. Yes even the bad things like illness and tragedy. With out suffering there is no growth.

"Jesus didn’t save you so you could cruise to heaven in a luxury liner. He wants you to be useful in His kingdom! The moment you got saved, He enrolled you in His school the school of suffering and affliction." – David Wilkerson

I have very big problems with those who say that as believers we should not be poor or sick. That everything should be rosy in our lives. Those who preach such things are preaching a false gospel. Many that are lost are turned of by such a message. Name me one apostle that did not suffer in some way because of his faith. I have even heard it preached that if Paul knew the things we do today, that he would not have had to suffer??? What makes us better than Paul or any of the apostles? If Christ suffered, we will suffer with Him because if the world hated Him it will hate us also.  

For you have been granted [the privilege] for Christ’s sake not only to believe in (adhere to, rely on, and trust in) Him, but also to suffer in His behalf. Philippians 1:29 (AMP)

Wow! We have been granted the privilege to suffer for Him. How many of those "God wants you rich" preachers quote this? This world will never give us the comfort that we can only find in Christ. My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus’ blood and righteousness, I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly lean on Jesus name. On Christ the solid rock I stand, All other ground is sinking sand.

Imagine the poor souls that are told that they don’t have to suffer and then when suffering comes, because of the false hope they have been given, they fall away. Prosperity preachers will have a lot to answer for.

You see, even though I am tired and weary of the suffering and may because of my flesh complain now and then, I know that through it God is working out a marvellous plan. Many watch me and say; "How can this man still put his hope in Christ with all He has been through?" "How can He still worship and have joy and peace?" I know the world is watching me and others who face severe trials to see how we face them. This is the witness that brings people to Christ. It is the joy and peace in the midst of suffering that they see. A joy and peace that they can’t even find even in their prosperity. It is a joy and peace that this world can never offer them. It is only found in Christ and through the Spirit.

17And if we are [His] children, then we are [His] heirs also: heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ [sharing His inheritance with Him]; only we must share His suffering if we are to share His glory.

18[But what of that?] For I consider that the sufferings of this present time (this present life) are not worth being compared with the glory that is about to be revealed to us and in us and for us and conferred on us! Romans 8:17-18 (AMP)

3Moreover [let us also be full of joy now!] let us exult and triumph in our troubles and rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that pressure and affliction and hardship produce patient and unswerving endurance.

4And endurance (fortitude) develops maturity of character (approved faith and tried integrity). And character [of this sort] produces [the habit of] joyful and confident hope of eternal salvation.

5Such hope never disappoints or deludes or shames us, for God’s love has been poured out in our hearts through the Holy Spirit Who has been given to us. Romans 5:3-5 (AMP)

Why me or you? Because we have been chosen to show this world that through it all our hope is not in this world. It is not in people or things or even in our own health. Our hope is in Christ alone. There is coming a day very soon where every tear and all sickness will be done away with. A day where will be in our Lord’s presence forever. Yes for now it may be hard, but always remember what He said to Paul He says to you; “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.”

And finally, this great promise from Romans;

35Who shall ever separate us from Christ’s love? Shall suffering and affliction and tribulation? Or calamity and distress? Or persecution or hunger or destitution or peril or sword?

36Even as it is written, For Thy sake we are put to death all the day long; we are regarded and counted as sheep for the slaughter.

37Yet amid all these things we are more than conquerors and gain a surpassing victory through Him Who loved us.

38For I am persuaded beyond doubt (am sure) that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities, nor things impending and threatening nor things to come, nor powers,

39Nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:35-39 (AMP) 

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

    

Comments on: "Why Me?" (9)

  1. Good morning Gerry;
    This message is just what I needed right now! I recieved some bad news about my grandmother and that she\’s in the hospital struggling for her life right now. She was diagnosed with lung cancer just before Christmas and given 4 months to live. This lady is no stranger to pain and has already dealt with cancer once and has fought addiction most of her life. I am told she is in quite a bit of pain. This upsets me alot and just needed to hear \’why\’ these things happen to good people. After reading your blog I feel a sense of peace and a purpose to \’why\’ and \’why good people\’. I pray for her right now that she rely on her once closeness to God and that it helps her to get through, which more than likely is her last days. I\’m also torn as I feel I should be on a plane to see her, but can\’t leave my kids as they are too young. I hope she knows how much she is loved and cared about.
    If people on here could mention her in your prayers I\’d be so grateful.
    God bless and hugz

  2. Also I hope your pain subsides soon Gerry and you\’re right you are an example to many others!

  3. Hi Gerry… I do not know if this will be of any encouragement, but I\’ve recently been re-reading Max Lucado\’s "When God Whisper\’s Your Name."  Early in the book, Max looked at the call of Moses.  Moses in his youth is not the man called.  God called the eldelry Moses who had seen what the wilderness could do, who had seen the ravages of the desert.  He may have seemed more charismatic as a young man… but all his days as a shepherd in the wild lands, taught him the practical lessons he needed to lead the people of Israel on the long journey ahead.
     
    I pray God see\’s you through this soon, so that whatever good things he has planned to work through you… will become evident to you and that you will be ready for a harvest for God\’s glory.
     
    May God bless you in the days to come.
     
    N

  4. Hi Gerry it\’s me again. I just wanted to let you know I\’ve nominated you for this week\’s \’blog of the week award\’ on my space. Congrats and thx!

  5. Hi Gerry,
    I haven\’t posted a response in a while, and thought since this one spoke to me I should.  Last night I held my second ladies night out and our speaker was one of our own, who just last year suffered a stroke.  She was only 29 at the time, she had just given birth to a beautiful baby girl the week before and just like that she had a stroke.  The doctors said that it was a miracle that she had had a c-section, because if she had delivered naturally she would have died, and most likely the baby too.  She spoke last night about how things are in God\’s timing and that in that timing His voice will come either in a still small voice or like for her, a massive bill board with big bold lettering on it.  She has recovered pretty much 75 to 80% or more in just 1 year.  And in this time of recovery she has taken this time to reflect on Him and not to blame Him.  She is now hoping to help the Heart and Stroke foundation of Canada by being a person who will go out to others or their families and share with them and help them, through her experience, find ways to deal with what is going on and how to make it a positive thing and not a bitter tragedy.  
    Peter and I are going to a group at our church called People Helpers.  Last week our topic was on grief and loss.  The biggest idea that we learned is to empathize and to listen to the people who are hurting.  But, it is also much easier to help and listen and empathize with those people if you yourself have also gone through the same type of situation.  An example of that is that the person leading it lost her husband 3 years ago after many years of marriage and she is still grieving in her own way, but now she has the means and heart knowledge to go on and support someone who losses their spouse.  Where as I would not be able to help or support them in the same way since I still have my spouse. 
    Thank you for this post, it is one that most people just don\’t understand that suffering wasn\’t meant to be taken away from us, but now being a child of God we are to take on those times and Glorify Him with them.
    Blessings,
    Bethany.

  6. GERRY,
    I CAME FROM ADDY\’S (CORRIE CONNECTION) YOUR POST IS A BLESSING. THANKS FOR YOUR WONDERFUL WORDS. CAT

  7. Gerry, wonderful post, as always. I remember when I first begin my journey in Christianity, I prayed for healing, and wealth, material things. Though there is nothing wrong with that, and I am not saying that you cant recieve those things if you ask, I have just learned, I also will recieve nothing if it isnt His will.. So that it what I pray for now, His will, not my own. I have several health problems, and now suffer from chronic pain from these problems. I was born with spinal birth defects, scoliosis, and birth defects of my shoulder and rib cage, that has caused me problems and surgerys all my life, and has caused me to have other health issues, such as spinal arthritis bulging disks etc etc.. When I first started attending Church, I was told I could be healed from these birth defects, I almost felt insulted when she said this. I know Jesus has the ability to heal with a miracle like I have never seen, and many others have never seen  too, but I also know, he formed me in my Mothers womb, and for whatever reason he has given me this cross to bear. I pray for his Will, if its his will to heal he will heal, if its His will to make me strong, he will give me strength.. I have full confidence that God knows what he is doing, I will put my trust in Him.
    As for the comment at my site about John 17 and all the different denominations, that have chosen to seperate themselves from other believers. I wasnt raised Christian, and have no denomination, I am affiliated with. My biggest confusion with Christianity is peoples frustration with me when confronted with the are u religous question and if so what are u? Saying you are just a Christian, is the worse thing you can say.. "no what ARE you? baptist, catholic, pentacost???" I am a Christian, whats wrong with that..?? I have had trouble finding a Church for this reason, I dont want to be associated with just one denomination, I am a Christian, and like it that way.. I have been attending a non denominational church, off and on for about 5 years, it is the first and only church I have attended, I still after all these years do not feel as if this is the church God wants me to be at, I dont have that I LOVE THIS CHURCH feeling, I can dissapear and no one bothers to see if I am alive, sooo i figure its time to move on But it is so hard to find a Church that doesnt have some kind of denomination even the churches that are claiming no denomination, have a territorial attitude too. The pastor of the church I attend, was raised pentecostal and he seems to complain about there beliefs ( and other churches beliefs too ) alot during his sermons, can you ever escape this? I just hope one day I will find the right church, I miss going so bad, I love God so much, and I know he wants me involved in a good church, I know he will lead me to the right one, eventually.. Geez, I have been babbling, I am sorry… catch you later, and God Bless

  8. please if u can help email me some info and  locations of info on target audiences of each gospel. claire

  9. hi Gerry. 
    I am so sorry you are tired and suffering with pain.  I have sucha hard time with the people who  make it worse when they act like  you are a heathen criminal to be afflicted and God forbid if it chronic.  Very few christiains can stick things out fo r the long haul…they like the quick fixes..less demands on them. people with ongoging problems slow down the "production" line so to speak.
    Well, I need to get going but I wanted tostop by and say hello and hope you have had some interludes of painfree moments and gotten a little "rest".
    Your sister in Christ,
    Nan

Leave a Reply

