Just another WordPress.com site

God’s Valentine to You


Valentine’s Day. Twenty-five years ago I sat on the edge of my bed in tears and recommitted my life to Christ. I gave Him my heart and He became my valentine. He wrote His on my heart. My whole life changed that day. I remember taking down my grand-fathers old bible out of my closet and reading it. The words jumped out at me. God was speaking to me. He was telling me how much He loved me. He was telling me that He loved me even before I was in my mother’s womb Me, Gerry Desjardins who had trouble believing that anyone could ever love me.

The Bible tells us that "God is Love" (1 John 4:8). But how can we even begin to understand that truth? There are many passages in the Bible that give us God’s definition of love. The most well known verse is John 3:16, "For God so greatly loved and dearly prized the world that He [even] gave up His only begotten (unique) Son, so that whoever believes in (trusts in, clings to, relies on) Him shall not perish (come to destruction, be lost) but have eternal (everlasting) life." So one way God defines love is in the act of giving. However, what God gave (or should we say, "who" God gave) was not a mere gift-wrapped present; God sacrificed His only Son so that we, who put our faith in His Son, will not spend eternity separated from Him. This is an amazing love, because we are the ones who choose to be separated from God through our own sin, yet it’s God who mends the separation through His intense personal sacrifice, and all we have to do is accept His gift.

Another great verse about God’s love is found in Romans 5:8, "But God shows and clearly proves His [own] love for us by the fact that while we were still sinners, Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One) died for us." In this verse and in John 3:16, we find no conditions placed on God’s love for us. God doesn’t say, "as soon as you clean up your act, I’ll love you; " nor does He say, "I’ll sacrifice my Son if you promise to love Me." In fact, in Romans 5:8, we find just the opposite. God wants us to know that His love is unconditional, so He sent His Son, Jesus Christ, to die for us while we were still unlovable sinners. We didn’t have to get clean, and we didn’t have to make any promises to God before we could experience His love. His love for us has always existed, and because of that, He did all the giving and sacrificing long before we were even aware that we needed His love.

God is Love, and His love is very different from human love. God’s love is unconditional, and it’s not based on feelings or emotions. He doesn’t love us because we’re lovable or because we make Him feel good; He loves us because He is love. He created us to have a loving relationship with Him, and He sacrificed His own Son (who also willingly died for us) to restore that relationship.

When the Scriptures say, "God is love," they aren’t telling us that God is some nebulous, warm fuzzy feeling of love. The writers who penned the scriptures weren’t saying that in our limited form of human love we will find God. Not at all. In fact, when we read that God is love in the Bible, this means that God defines love. And when we say that God defines love, we don’t mean that He defines it like Webster might define something, we mean that God is the very definition of love itself. There is no such thing as love without God. As hard as we might try, we cannot define love outside of knowing God. This essentially means that our human definition of love, the God kind of love, is false.

God is the Creator of all things, and by His very nature, He is love. God says love is unconditional and sacrificial, and it’s not based on feelings; therefore, love is not an "intense affection based on familial or personal ties". To understand what true love is and to be able to truly love others, we must know God, and we can do this through a close personal relationship with Him. We can have that close relationship with God by putting our faith in Jesus Christ, who was God’s sacrifice of love for us.

God is Love! As such, true love, God’s love, can be summed up in this passage of scripture: "Beloved, let us love one another, for love is (springs) from God; and he who loves [his fellow men] is begotten (born) of God and is coming [progressively] to know and understand God [to perceive and recognize and get a better and clearer knowledge of Him].

8He who does not love has not become acquainted with God [does not and never did know Him], for God is love.

9In this the love of God was made manifest (displayed) where we are concerned: in that God sent His Son, the only begotten or unique [Son], into the world so that we might live through Him.

10In this is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His Son to be the propitiation (the atoning sacrifice) for our sins.

11Beloved, if God loved us so [very much], we also ought to love one another.

(1 John 4:7-11) (AMP)

If you want to know this love, true love, get to know God. He is ready to pour out His love on you, and He wants to teach you how to love others as He loves you.

Why not on the day that represents love, give your heart to the one who loves you more than you can ever comprehend. Jesus loves you. His heart is calling out to you. "Let Me be your Valentine."

 

 "For God so loVed the world,
        That He gAve
             His onL
            BegottEn  
                  SoN
                      That whosoever
        Believeth In Him
           Should Not perish,
        But have Everlasting life."

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "God’s Valentine to You" (11)

  1. Good morning Gerry/everyone;
    What a great message! I\’ve on many occasion felt God\’s love through prayer. Sometimes through answer to prayer and spmetimes just through prayer and knowing he\’s there something that\’s not easy to explain, but experianced.
    I know what you mean about experiancing God\’s love through our own actions towards others. I had this happen where I loved people unconditionally, some who were very \’unlovable\’ and was rewarded in the end knowing I had made a difference in their lives. Maybe God feels this way as well when we come back to him, but as the bible states he doesn\’t love us for any type of gain just he is love.
    Anyways hope your Valentine\’s Day was a good one and keep those wonderful messages coming!
    God bless and hugz
    ps Hope you\’re feeling better.

  2. Teresa Dawn said:

    Hello Gerry 🙂 Long time no talk to 🙂 I hope you are keeping well 🙂  Happy Valentine\’s to you (A day late I know ) What a wonderful post, thank-you  🙂 I like the music you have on here now.
     
    God Bless,
    Teresa Dawn

  3. What an awesome God we have…
    Also…These are exciting times in which we live.
    Blessings, Health, and Prosperity…Greg

  4. Thanks for the comment on my poetry. A lot of that is speculation since I don\’t remember it (being so young). It was an amazing experience to spend time writing about a moment like that.
    <>< God Bless
    Karen

  5. God bless you Gerry
    I LOVE THIS POST. God\’s love, my favorite topic. His love all present and all giving. I remeber once the lord spoke to my spirit. he said.." In order for me to love others through you, you must first be free from them". I understood it to mean this. God is trustworthy even in the midst of painful situations and I am a tent for Him to live in. Nothing more. Any influence outside of God\’s love is not real freedom. GLORY!!!

  6. Hello Mr Desjardins! thank you for the comment on my space! i really like that song too, it\’s one of my favourites.. well, it was until i got the new Planet Shakers CD, there\’s some really really good one\’s on that! i got it from the conference in Janurary! anyway, i best be off as i have a youth group meeting to get too! cya later! tell MJ i say hey!
     
    God Bless,
    Matt

  7. Thanks for the message Gerry.  Hope you are doing well.  God bless you continually.
     
    N

  8. Actually Gerry, I thought I\’d better check because it\’s been a while since you last posted and you are normally pretty regular.  Hope you haven\’t come down with one of those nasty bugs that are rampantly sweeping across the planet at the moment.  Lots of people here in the UK are coming down with flu\’s and heavy colds.
    God\’s peace and blessings to you
     
    N

  9. Great Gerry…
     
    I haven\’t been online much lately, but I am very glad to have this site which can always give me and many others strength.
     
    Bro A

  10. Just stopping by to say hello,
    I’d stay to chat, but I must go.
    I leave with you this simple phrase:
    To God be the glory and all our praise.
    May He bless you every possible way,
    May you bask in His love on this glorious day.

    …Thanks for stopping by my space the other day and leaving a note. 🙂 As per your comment, apart from the novel(s) I\’ve written, I actually have thought about putting together a devotional of sorts. I\’ll see where the Lord leads. 😉

  11. That valentine thing is awesome!!!!!
     
    Many blessings!

Leave a Reply

