Just another WordPress.com site

Lesson About Pride


For the last 3 weeks I have been suffering with a tremendous amount of pain. Pain to the point that I have trouble even walking. God healed me of rheumatoid arthritis but I still suffer from another type of arthritis which causes me intense pain. This January has been one of the mildest and wettest in 100 years and the temperature has gone up and down every day. One day it can be -16 Celsius and the next day plus 6 Celsius and raining. My body has had a very hard time adjusting to it. I know those of you who suffer with pain like that can sympathize. I have been trying very hard to keep discouragement from creeping in. I haven’t always been successful.

God is teaching me through this. I have pride in an area and it needs to be broken. I have trouble letting people know I have a need or when I need prayer. I would rather suffer in silence then let people know my weaknesses. Shame on me. The other night I actually thought I was dying the pain was so intense and yet instead of picking up the phone and calling for prayer I just rode it through. I was chastised by my pastor for it a few days later. I’ve grown up with the mistaken belief that I should never be a burden to anybody and it has cost me a lot. What else is the body of Christ for but to carry each others burdens?

So I am asking for your prayers. My body is extremely tired and I am anxious to be rid of it but not until it is the Lord’s time. I trust God and where ever He leads me I will follow. I just want to be His servant and yours.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "Lesson About Pride" (16)

  1. Gerry,
     
    As always, my Quebec brother, I\’ve got your back.
     
    To know that you are in so much pain really breaks me heart.  It amazes me the physical attacks that come to His faithful ones.
     
    I am praying for you, and have waged war on the enemy on your behalf.  Today is a day for the enemy to be pitied, for not only has he already lost, but he\’s going down with my foot up his… <ahem>.  Forgive me. 😉
     
    I consider this an honorable appointment, I\’m sure as will others, to pray you.
     
    In the meantime, here are some words of encouragement from the Bible. 😉
     
    1 Peter 5:8
       8Be well balanced (temperate, sober of mind), be vigilant and cautious at all times; for that enemy of yours, the devil, roams around like a lion roaring in fierce hunger], seeking someone to seize upon and devour.
        9Withstand him; be firm in faith [against his onset–rooted, established, strong, immovable, and determined], knowing that the same identical) sufferings are appointed to your brotherhood (the whole body of Christians) throughout the world.
        10And after you have suffered a little while, the God of all grace [Who imparts all blessing and favor], Who has called you to His [own] eternal glory in Christ Jesus, will Himself complete and make you what you ought to be, establish and ground you securely, and strengthen, and settle you.
        11To Him be the dominion (power, authority, rule) forever and ever. Amen (so be it).
     
    Take care and much love to you big man! 
    Please keep us advised, even if we have to pray everyday for the rest of our lives.
     
    Jason
     
    PS:  I know you\’ve probably already done this, but have ALL of the elders corporately annointed you with oil and laid hands on you and believed for your healing?
    James 5:14
    14Is anyone among you sick? He should call in the church elders (the spiritual guides). And they should pray over him, anointing him with oil in the Lord\’s name.

  2. Hi Gerry
    1 Corinthians 12:26,27:
    "If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it. Now you are the body of Christ, and each one of you is a part of it."
     
    I once heard a story of a Korean Soldier who had a vision of heaven and hell.  God took him to see Hell.  There before him was a great banquet with food aplenty.  The guests were seated  in their respective places…. but something was wrong.  They all had impossibly long chopsticks chained to them… with which to eat their food.  The men and women looked starving and miserably as they tried repeatedly without success to eat the wonderful dishes set before them.
     
    Then God took the soldier to Heaven and the soldier was astounded because nothing looked different there at all.  Banquet… chopsticks… chains.  Confused the soldier told God he didn\’t understand.  God told the soldier to look a little closer.  It was then that he saw the faces of the guests.  They were full of joy.  Why was this?  In hell everyone tried to feed themselves… in Heaven the guests fed one another.
     
    You do so much here Gerry, it\’s eveident from the comments you get… please make sure you get yourself fed.  You can only give out as many apples as you receive in your cart.
    I\’ve noticed a lot of christians are starting to get worn out and malnourished lately.  I pray that God fills your cup to overflowing and gives you a renewed sense of having received life in abundance.
     
    God bless
     
    N

  3. Hi Gerry!
    Sorry to hear you\’ve been struggling with pain. I\’ll pray that it eases up for you. You\’re right we need to ask for prayer in our hour of need. God bless and hugz

  4. You have my prayers, keep in contact, my e-mail is cute_churchmouse@hotmail.com if you wanna add me.  Before we pray for anything, we must cast out all doubt.  "I approach the throne of grace with confidence"….for your need, and our heavenly father will answer according to his will and time.
     
    God bless,
    Sonia

  5. † a reason to believe † said:

    I\’m definitely going to pray for you.  I hope you begin to feel better with everyones prayers and im going to talk to my mom and ask her to pray too.  (sorry for the run on sentence) 
     
    Feel better & God Bless
    Lauren

  6. A VOICE IN THE DESERT said:

    Dear Big Bro:
    Hope you and your family are well….
    When I\’m down,I find hope in your blog…
    and in Christ!!!!
    love….Fatima

  7. Good morning Gerry!
    Thx so much for stopping by my space it\’ always puts a smile on my face to see comments from friends. I hope you\’re feeling better and I have been praying lots for you the past couple days. It\’s amazing how God answers prayers. Without going into details he\’s answered my prayers numerous times and once minutes after I\’d just prayed for something! It really does fill your heart to know he listens. On the related topic of arthritis my grandfather had it quite bad and started to see a doctor somewhere in Mexico once a yr. for medicine that did wonders for him. I wish I knew who it was or what the medicine was called. The only down side is he had to travel down there every yr to pick it up, but well worth it seeing as before he was on it he could barely even stand.
    We do have twins and they are the love of our lives and yes tons of work, but I\’d never compare them to raising a child and being a single parent because that really is a handfull! At least we have help from others and each other. I have alot of respect for single parents like yourself. Not an easy task, but well worth it. Loved the blog about your daughter that really showed how much she means to you! Anyways I better get a move on. Have a great day. God bless and hugz

  8. hello again my brother and thankyou for the website links! i shall have a good read of them – i am very thankfull for this and humbled that you took time to send me the links.many blessings and thanks again LOL God bless abundantly HUGS (brotherly love of course) 😛 God bless
     
    adam

  9. Jeff Wiersma said:

    Hi Gerry,
     
    Funny comment about all the good women being taken.  You know that I am now compelled to say that I took the last good one.
     
    The women\’s movement keeps promising women that they can feel more liberated, more happy by looking inside themselves for meaning.  Yet, women don\’t seem to be getting happier.  The promise seems to be an empty one.
     
    The women that I know who are the most happy keep saying that contentment cannot be found within themselves.  It is found in a partnership with their Lord, with their families, with thier brothers and sisters in the Lord.

  10. Jeff Wiersma said:

    Greetings Gerry,
     
    Not funny about the pain.  I\’m so sorry to hear that the arthritis is giving you a great deal of discomfort for the past several weeks.
     
    You\’re right about the weather change not being good for that condition.  Cold and dry is better, I believe, when I listen to my mother-in-law who suffers from RA very badly.
     
    You\’re also right about the pride thing too.  It is part of our human nature to want to appear strong.  Sometimes, it is a desire not to impose on friends.  Many people share your "I\’ll get through it by myself" conviction.
     
    But Gerry, there are so many of us that benefit from the messages on your site.  Thank you for writing this latest blog and asking us to pray for you.  You are a dear brother in Christ and we want only to bring you before the Lord.  It is our honour to do so.  God bless you.
     
    Merciful God and Father,
    All things are in your power in a manner that neither health nor sickness, good nor evil, life nor death can befall us without your will.  Gracious Father, we ask you to grant Gerry everything that he requires during this trial of his health.  Grant him relief from pain and discomfort so that he may continue to work and rest.  Grant him mobility again so that he may continue serving you with all his gifts.  Grant him the assurance that you are ever present with him so that he may meet every challenge and every blessing with his eyes firmly fixed on you.  Strengthen his hands and mind so that he may continue to minister to his family, friends and readers.  We trust completely in you, Lord Jesus,  because you are the great healer and physician.  We pray that your will ma be done in his life and ours.  Amen

  11. Will be praying for you.
     
     

  12. Hi Gerry,
    Sorry it has been so long since I have dropped by. I have no excuses to offer…just seem to be busy these days. I am so sorry to hear of your pain…and I too will lift you up and agree with all these others that God heal you and renew your strength. I declare God\’s favor on you Gerry.
     
    Hope all else is good with you and your family. Blessings to you all,
    ~Val

  13. You and I have a similar issue! Just the other night I had a problem and I couldnt deal with it with my own inner resources. And i was frustrated with myself that I couldnt do it on my own act of faith.
     
    Then it hit me. Just ASK. sometimes we feel silly or even sinful for asking God for something we desperately need.
     
    The amazing part is that as soon as I acknowledged this need, God gave me the grace and peace! God answered me!
    Sometimes we need to just ask. I know I need to more often. I guess i pray for others and for myself, but never about the true needs on my heart.
     
    I will remember you in prayer Gerry!
     
    **Hugs**
     
    Erika

  14. This is my first visit to your site. I\’ve been blessed! Many thanks for an awesome space so full of life and encouragement. I was parched and dry and have found a stream in the desert.  I shall return.
    I\’ll also be praying for God to give you insight into why He\’s allowing you to experience this pain. I pray it\’s only for a season so His love can be manifest through you to others experiencing similar pain.
    I\’ve learned that God loves us three dimentionaly, with depth and perspective. He sees the whole picture. We only see the part of the picture that we are in. Be encouraged and know that there is always a reason for our adversity and God will always be glorified in the victory.
    Mary

  15. Blessings, my father sufria of arthritis and reumatismo but God in his sabiduria proveyo natural medicine for my father "the BITES OF BEES". its treatment: towards itching in the area where sentia the pains reumatismo 1º day a bee, 2º two bees 3º three bees up to 7 DAYS, if there is inflammation to stop and lowered the inflammation to begin again, when arriving at 7º day to begin to one by one diminish the bites until arriving at an east bite treatment him volume months. my father this healthy one has not returned now to never feel but that pains in his wrist nor in the knees. I animate it to that aqui in Peru in Cusco proves east treatment especificamente him Hospital Antonio Lorena does combined treatments of medician natural and conventional. go and you capture bees that God used them to remedy its ailments with my Pope made BENDICIONESSS

  16. hei kjempe fin side . stå på for Gud

Leave a Reply

