Just another WordPress.com site

Just Plain Weird


But God has chosen the foolish things of the world to shame the wise, and God has chosen the weak things of the world to shame the things which are strong. 1 Corinthians 1:27

I’ve never fit in. I guess you can call me a non-conformist according to the ways of this world. My heart and mind always beat in a different direction to my friends growing up. I was the quiet one. The thinking one. The last one to try drugs. The last one to use alcohol and the last one to have a girlfriend. Not that I didn’t want to have one, I was just too shy. Deep within me I always wanted to do what was right. Because of that I was labelled very early as being weird. I took it to heart and it bothered me quite a bit. So much so that in my late teens and early twenties I tried to prove them otherwise. But in doing so I felt like a fish out of water. No matter how I tried I didn’t fit in. Even some of the girls that I went out with remarked that they didn’t know what I was looking for, but it was something that they couldn’t fill. Many relationships came crashing down because of this.

Before I formed you in the womb I knew [and] approved of you [as My chosen instrument], and before you were born I separated and set you apart. Jeremiah 1:5a (Amp) God was always there in my mind. I couldn’t shake thoughts of Him. Even when I was doing things that were out of my character, I knew I was loved by Him and because of Him I was different. I was called and I couldn’t escape it. It wasn’t until I was 25 that I finally embraced Christ. All my friends left me at this point as I was just too weird for them. Those words from Jeremiah were confirmed to me through the Prophet Eugene May years later.

The same goes for all that have come to Christ. You always knew you were different. That you didn’t fit in You knew from the beginning you were searching for something. When Christ found you, you knew you’d finally found what you were looking for. Don’t try and get the world to accept you. It never will.

"If the world hates you, you know that it has hated Me before it hated you. If you were of the world, the world would love its own; but because you are not of the world, but I chose you out of the world, because of this the world hates you. Remember the word that I said to you, A slave is not greater than his master ‘ If they persecuted Me, they will also persecute you; if they kept My word, they will keep yours also." John 15:18-20 (NAS)

Face it my brothers and sisters, you are fools in this world’s sight. Just plain weird!  Rejoice in it. Dance and sing for the joy of it. Revel in your weirdness always giving glory to our God and Saviour who has chosen us and set us apart.

Thanks to my daughter Melodie-Joy for the inspiration on this blog.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "Just Plain Weird" (18)

  1. Yup… Christ seems to draw in the outcasts and the misfits…. it\’s totally AWESOME. I\’ve never fit in either. I used to have an X Files T Shirt that simply printed on the back said: "WE" "ARE" " AMONG" "YOU"And it always made think of this passage from Hebrews chapter 11:"All these people were still living by faith when they died. They did not receive the things promised; they only saw them and welcomed them from a distance. And they admitted that they were aliens and strangers on earth. People who say such things show that they are looking for a country of their own. If they had been thinking of the country they had left, they would have had opportunity to return. Instead, they were longing for a better country—a heavenly one. Therefore God is not ashamed to be called their God, for he has prepared a city for them."We ARE aliens and strangers on this Earth… and we ARE among the people of the Earth. We are here for a purpose, to wake up the sleepers to give sight to the blind and to proclaim freedom for the captive in the name of Jesus.Blessings from your fellow alien in ChristNick

  2. Good afternoon to you Gerry. I understand what you mean in your blog. I\’m somewhat the same way. I\’m 18 and I\’ve only had one girlfriend thus far in my life. I\’m also relatively new to the Christian faith. Although I never stopped believing in God, I kind of stopped caring for a long time after my first communion. Then I realized one day that I needed God in my life (that was in the summer of 2003). Although I\’ve got a long way to go, I\’m hoping that my relationship with Christ will only strengthen as I grow older. Feel free to drop by my space and leave a comment! God bless you!

  3. Hi Gerry!Great blog and it brings to mind the banner \’Take A Stand For Jesus\’ and "Go Public\’. It seems such an easy thing to do, but as you said it seems in this day in age it\’s the oddball thing to do, which to me is a scary thing and shows how far from God our world has become. It reminds me of a friend my hubby has from his high school days. This guy set up his own window washing business and turned his van into the Jesus-Mobile. The sign on it is neon and people look at him like he\’s nuts LOL! I think it\’s great to show your love/loyalty towards your faith like that.I\’ve learned through the years that it\’s better to be who you are than someone you\’re not. I tried a couple times straying from who I really am and it didn\’t last as I knew I wasn\’t being true to myself and God. Now if someone can\’t accept me the way I am I accept it and move on. I think it\’s a maturity thing. You\’re right though many out there look at us who believe as nutty and out of the ordinary and I\’m happy being the minority 🙂

  4. This Dr.Phil quote kinda ties in with this blog….\’Solid values and morality seem to have stopped being a way of life and have simply become a punch line for the jokes of fast-laners.\’…so true!

  5. Hey that\’s kinda like me too, like doing absolutely nothing that everybody else does :P. Although for me, my friends haven\’t really left me and they say its because they found something that they found was very rare in me, that it made them think about Christ even though they are non-Christians… so if you\’re not conforming to society that could be a good thing as well!And for all the Planet Shakers 06 pplz out there… God uses unusual heroes with unusual weapons, fighting unusual enemies =DDDGod Bless!Ernest

  6. Jeff Wiersma said:

    Being weird is relative. The Christian life makes sense. It is the most balanced, the most healthy, the most productive way to live. That is not to say that Christians are without faults or hardships, but I certain that believers overall enjoy a life of fullfillment and contentment.I recently heard a stat that said couples who live together before marriage are twice as likely to be divorced than couples who only move in together after marriage. This makes sense to me. Those who are willing to commit to a partner under the vow of marriage will be much more dependable over someone who is acting on inpulse.The "rules" of the Christian life create a foundation for happiness and security. I realize that we are broken. And I am not suggesting that God rewards us because of our good works. However, the Christian life, although weird in the eyes of the world, is the best way to live.Gerry, I think I need you to help me put those thoughts into better words.

  7. Hi Gerry!!Thanks for stopping by my space and saying hello!! I think it\’s cool to be seen as \’kind of a weirdo\’ by people around me because I have different beliefs and values than theirs. It\’s nice to know that we weren\’t created to \’fit the mold\’ but rather, to be different and unique, as God made us…God bless you Gerry!!

  8. I love how you preach on this man! Keep it up!

  9. I think as Christains we are set apart. We don\’t think as the world thinks and my own brother said I was a fool to believe in God.Jesus said that we must take up our cross and follow Him.He said the world hated me and so will hate us, because the world lives in darkness and hates the truth and light.But i think a big mistake to make, is to *preach to the choir*. It\’s easy to be around other christains. It\’s harder to be a witness to others and an example of Christ\’s love to others who are not saved. This is where we need to do the most work. Love thy neighbor as thyself. Jesus said it\’s easy to love those you like, but harder to love those we dont.Even though we are people of God, we shouldn\’t forget the task God has set out for us. To give honor and glory to God in all our dealings. There is no room for excuses. I try to remember often that I am a *citizen of heaven* and to not get attached to the things of this world. It is a persons soul God is concerned about.Great blog!Erika

  10. I think there is room for both "in" preaching and "out" preaching, as they achieve different objectives. As Christians it is our duty to evangelise to people… but it is also important to build and encourage one another up.They are different and complementary gifts and both have their place. Churches need to move together. If we charge ahead and focus solely on winning new converts, we risk doing so at the expense of weaker brothers and sisters. On the other hand if we focus solely on building up one another and not reaching out to the lost… we deny people the opportunity of hearing the Gospel.In my honest opinion, the right thing to do is not to worry too much about which of these should be our focus. If we instead concentrate our attention on God, we can trust him to direct our paths and make the best of every opportunity in expanding and consolidating the Church Body.

  11. Not being up on Canadian politics Gerry (and anyone else who feels like letting me know), I was wondering what your thoughts are on your recent election. I\’ve come across a couple of Christian blogs that before last night\’s election looked at the current state of Canada\’s political status as very negative.I just wondered what you guys felt about it so Icould get a bigger picture.BlessingsN

  12. Wowsers Gerry, that sounds like a really restrictive law. We don\’t have anything like that in the UK. We do unfortunately have a rule that says that all Church of England bishops (and above) have to be appointed by the Prime Minister (as the Queen\’s representative). I think this is wrong. Other denominations aren\’t bound by this… and I feel that Anglican bishops are bound by obligations to the State. This stops them from speaking out on certain issues… because they have to appear to be speaking for everyone… even people who don\’t follow Christ. I also think that because Government has too much say in the appointment of bishops, that the secular authority is slowly bending the CofE into a position that suits it\’s own agenda and not God\’s.I think it will come to a head if/when Charles comes to the throne. He has openly said that he wants to be "Defender of Faith" not "Defender of the Faith". If he pushes forward on a multifaith state religion, then I can see the Church of England insisting on being released from a lot of the chains that appear to bind it now.

  13. Gerry, I read this entry and I had to laugh. Both my husband and I have felt this all of our lives. Neither one of us fit in socially with our peers and we just never knew why, but like you said God has called certain ones out to humble the rest. We don\’t think that is our purpose, but it may come as an off shoot of what we have been called for. This however, our "weirdness" has become a little more troublesome though now that we are wanting to become ministers, past rumours and impressions of us are ruling the deciding thoughts of who we are now. Blessings,Bethany.

  14. Hello again Mr. Desjardins! wow, every time i come here there is always such amazing stuff here, but i particularly like this entry! as a teenager, at my high school i am not just weird, but i STRIVE to be ths way! i find that going along with the crowd, can not only lead you into wrong things at times.. but it can also be rather boring! lol.I liked the way you used the same sort of thing MJ was talking about.. only you put it in alot more words! lol. no offense to either of you there! hehe.God Bless,Matt

  15. I\’ll never fit in…I am just too weird and confused…

  16. Hi!Gerry.My name is Yves.I\’m a bilingual christian from Montreal also.I\’m 51.I play drumsat my church.Been saved for 14years.I\’m interested in your project to reach more christianson the net.I\’m single also,it might be a good opportunity to find the one God put aside for me.Here.s my e-mail adress:ymaher@sympatico.ca.Keep in touch.God bless you!

  17. Gerry,Just wanted to let you know that I linked you. Have an AWESOME day.Jason

  18. It\’s so great to know that we as Christians don\’t have to try to fit in with the people around us. We are Christ\’s body and therefore can act accordingly.
    "I don\’t need excuses when I am your hands and feet" – Hands and Feet by Audio Adreneline
    <><
    Karen

Leave a Reply

