Just another WordPress.com site

God’s Pursuit


God is in pursuit of us. He has been romancing us since Adam and Eve. His love is so deep that to truly understand it and the depths of it is beyond any mortal. We only see a mere shadow of that love contained in His word. But we are so un-faithful. We find it so easy to ignore Him and pursue other things. His love is a mystery that has escaped so many. Oh but what a love! For the next little while I want to spend time talking about this love in my blog because God has been teaching me.

One of the greatest pictures of His love is found in the book of Hosea. God had chosen the Jews as His means of bringing salvation to the world. But they continually played the harlot with other gods and nations.

Hosea was a prophet to Judah during the reigns of Uzziah, Jotham, Ahaz and Hezekiah. Hosea 1:2-3 says: When the LORD began to speak through Hosea, the LORD said to him, "Go, take to yourself an adulterous wife and children of unfaithfulness, because the land is guilty of the vilest adultery in departing from the LORD." So he married Gomer daughter of Diblaim, and she conceived and bore him a son.

Gomar continued to prostitute herself with others even though she was married to Hosea snd yet God told Hosea to go and get her. The LORD said to me, "Go, show your love to your wife again, though she is loved by another and is an adulteress. Love her as the LORD loves the Israelites, though they turn to other gods and love the sacred raisin cakes." Hosea 3:1

Hosea is really about God’s pursuit of an unfaithful wife, Israel. Though they scorned Him and turned their backs on Him time and time again, He loved them with an everlasting love. God did everything to show them He cared and that included chastising them for their turning away. God had made a covenant with them through Abraham. He promised them that they would always be His people, even if the were stiff-necked and hardhearted. In Hosea chapter 2 we see the promise of her restoration. Listen to the promises he has made to them found in Jeremiah 31

3 The LORD appeared to us in the past, saying:
"I have loved you with an everlasting love;
I have drawn you with loving-kindness.

4 I will build you up again
and you will be rebuilt, O Virgin Israel.
Again you will take up your tambourines
and go out to dance with the joyful.

5 Again you will plant vineyards
on the hills of Samaria;
the farmers will plant them
and enjoy their fruit.

6 There will be a day when watchmen cry out
on the hills of Ephraim,

‘Come, let us go up to Zion,
to the LORD our God.’ "

7 This is what the LORD says:
"Sing with joy for Jacob;
shout for the foremost of the nations.
Make your praises heard, and say,
‘O LORD, save your people,
the remnant of Israel.’

8 See, I will bring them from the land of the north
and gather them from the ends of the earth.
Among them will be the blind and the lame,
expectant mothers and women in labour;
a great throng will return.

9 They will come with weeping;
they will pray as I bring them back.
I will lead them beside streams of water
on a level path where they will not stumble,
because I am Israel’s father,
and Ephraim is my firstborn son.

10 "Hear the word of the LORD, O nations;
proclaim it in distant coast lands:
‘He who scattered Israel will gather them
and will watch over his flock like a shepherd.’

11 For the LORD will ransom Jacob
and redeem them from the hand of those stronger than they.

12 They will come and shout for joy on the heights of Zion;
they will rejoice in the bounty of the LORD——
the grain, the new wine and the oil,
the young of the flocks and herds.
They will be like a well-watered garden,
and they will sorrow no more.

13 Then maidens will dance and be glad,
young men and old as well.
I will turn their mourning into gladness;
I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow.

14 I will satisfy the priests with abundance,
and my people will be filled with my bounty,"
declares the LORD.

God has never given up on the Jews even though they missed His coming to earth as a man. His love for them is still as strong as the day He first made the promise to Abraham. They have been written on the back of His hand. He has called them the apple of His eye. He will always defend them and care for them and one day they will come to recognize Him who they pierced.

I have read the many comments by the Palestinians and the President of Iran. What fools they are. They will never have Jerusalem and they will never push Israel into the sea. I laugh at their boasts as I know God’s plan and us mere human beings will never be able to thwart it. God is standing by Israel even though they don’t recognize Him at the moment. Every single time they have been attacked since their nation was reborn in 1948, God has fought on their behalf. They have always gained more than they lost. There is coming a day when many nations will rise up against Israel and attack her once more. But on that day she won’t have to lift a hand in her defence for God Himself will go to battle for her. He loves her with an everlasting love.

1 This is the word of the LORD concerning Israel. The LORD, who stretches out the heavens, who lays the foundation of the earth, and who forms the spirit of man within him, declares: 2 "I am going to make Jerusalem a cup that sends all the surrounding peoples reeling. Judah will be besieged as well as Jerusalem. 3 On that day, when all the nations of the earth are gathered against her, I will make Jerusalem an immovable rock for all the nations. All who try to move it will injure themselves. 4 On that day I will strike every horse with panic and its rider with madness," declares the LORD. "I will keep a watchful eye over the house of Judah, but I will blind all the horses of the nations. 5 Then the leaders of Judah will say in their hearts, ‘The people of Jerusalem are strong, because the LORD Almighty is their God.’

6 "On that day I will make the leaders of Judah like a firepot in a woodpile, like a flaming torch among sheaves. They will consume right and left all the surrounding peoples, but Jerusalem will remain intact in her place.

7 "The LORD will save the dwellings of Judah first, so that the honour of the house of David and of Jerusalem’s inhabitants may not be greater than that of Judah. 8 On that day the LORD will shield those who live in Jerusalem, so that the feeblest among them will be like David, and the house of David will be like God, like the Angel of the LORD going before them. 9 On that day I will set out to destroy all the nations that attack Jerusalem.

10 "And I will pour out on the house of David and the inhabitants of Jerusalem a spirit of grace and supplication. They will look on me, the one they have pierced, and they will mourn for him as one mourns for an only child, and grieve bitterly for him as one grieves for a firstborn son. 11 On that day the weeping in Jerusalem will be great, like the weeping of Hadad Rimmon in the plain of Megiddo. 12 The land will mourn, each clan by itself, with their wives by themselves: the clan of the house of David and their wives, the clan of the house of Nathan and their wives, 13 the clan of the house of Levi and their wives, the clan of Shimei and their wives, 14 and all the rest of the clans and their wives. Zechariah 12

The adulterous wife will finally recognize her Husband and the Jews will find the salvation that they have always been looking for.

Later this week I want to look at another adulterous woman God pursues. The church. 

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "God’s Pursuit" (10)

  1. Thank you, this is such and improtant lesson, that no matter how many times we disobey God that He is right there to welcome us back with loving and forgiving arms. As far as I know the call to Isarlies to go home has already started, many that have gone to other nations have made or started to make preperations and the journey back to Isreal. It is a good sign.Blessings.Bethany.

  2. hey gerry,in one of my personal quiet bible study times I was led to this same passage concernng Hosea and the same theme.Thanks for the reminder…I am going to go find that journal book and reread what the Holy Spirit said to me exactly. On another note… still need prayer…have had some positive things happen and then turn around and not so positive. I guess feeling very alone and very overwhelmed with so much going on here. We are proceeding with prosecution for the acquaintance rape and the whole situation is overwhelming for me.. no one to really understand all I am feeling and dealing with in trying to be strong for what my daughter needs… many facets to our family\’s issues…thank you for your prayers….some moments i feel like I am going to totally break and then I get an occassionaly hope-lifter…God bless you and thank you.

  3. Just wondering, have you heard the song \’All for Love\’ before? I find this is incapsulated in the pre-chorus very well:How many times have I broken Your heart?But still You forgive if only I ask.God will never forsake us or the Jews… I think its an important lesson that many people miss, when they start talking about things like the church replacing the Jews as God\’s chosen people. God bless!Ernest

  4. "if we are faithless, he will remain faithful, for he cannot disown himself."

  5. -Catholic Encyclical X, 195

  6. BrotherToNoneThis is the quote you were refering to;We [Catholics] are also under an obligation to keep secrets faithfully. And sometimes the easiest way to fulfill that duty is to say what is false, or to tell a lie. [Catholic Encyclical X, 195]First of all, I am not of the Catholic religion and as a matter of fact I don\’t subscribe to religion at all. Christ is all about relationship, not religion. Lying is a sin and for anyone to push religion based upon a lie is wrong. Jesus said you shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free. Jesus is the Truth. Are you so afraid to face the truth my friend that you have to make accusations to hide your own guilt. I have seen your space and it\’s not very pretty. You are lost and the simple truth is that only Jesus can help you find your way.

  7. Hey, my friend gave me this site and its very good! I love how the Father calls Isreal a virgin. It shows so much just in that statement of His unconditional, undying love for her! So many times we are like Isreal.. we prostitute ourselves with other gods like TV, our looks, our grades, our sports, money…. but the one true God still loves us, still LONGS to be with us! Its something that we don\’t fully understand and have revlation on and i pray that we would all keep growing in it! Be blessed, Dawn

  8. Good and true word,thanks Gerry for the reminder of God\’s perfect plan.

  9. Jeff Wiersma said:

    From my youth, I was taught that God loves His children so much. The problem, although I didn\’t know it at the time, was the children were in fact a small group of chosen few. More recently, I have seen through scripture that God\’s love is much greater than I first had been taught. His love is for all. He wants all to come to know Him. He sent His Son for the worst of sinners… me.It is exciting to know that this love – this salvation is available to anyone who simply confesses, repents, and trusts solely in Him.Yet, it grieves me to see friends, acquaintences, and family members who don\’t respond to His love letters.It is truely a frightening idea that God\’s love is there to receive, but that our ability to reject and deny it is also there.Please continue to share these beautiful blogs so that Christ\’s Church can continue to grow. When the number is complete, the bridegroom will return.

  10. Hi GerryHappy Blessed New Year!! To you and your family.Thank you for your prayers and encouragement. I hope that you had a wonderful Christmas full of His love. It never fails to fill me with joy when I think of how we get the chance to celebrate Jesus\’ coming into the world.You are in my prayersGod blessNess

Leave a Reply

