Just another WordPress.com site

What Have I Accomplished?


Well it happened! I turned 50 last year. A half a century old and closer now to eternity than I’ve ever been before. For the last few years I have been asking a lot of questions of myself. What have I really accomplished with my life? Did I make the right decisions with the choices I was given? Has my life counted? How will I be remembered when I am gone? For a man it is called the mid-life crisis. As you get closer to passing out of this world you find yourself being confronted by these questions. It was in this state that I believe Solomon found himself in when he wrote the book of Ecclesiastes. He looked back over his life and realized that all he done had been meaningless. A chasing after the wind. He had started out well but at the end of his life he was a man far from God. His conclusion of the whole matter is found in chapter 12:13-14

Now all has been heard;
here is the conclusion of the matter:
Fear God and keep his commandments,
for this is the whole duty of man.

For God will bring every deed into judgment,
including every hidden thing,
whether it is good or evil.

See Solomon was right when He said that all men do is vain and meaningless. The only thing that matters in life is did we do what God asked us to do? Did we live for Him or did we live for ourselves? You could be a great scholar or amassed great wealth but when it comes down to it, those things won’t matter. You could have achieved great feats or been someone whom the nations looked up to. You could be a celebrity seen on television and in magazines. You could even be a head of a great ministry reaching out to millions and yet if have not done what God asked of you, you’re life has been a waste. If you have not made your foundation Christ, everything you have ever accomplished will burn up before your eyes.

For no one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ. If any man builds on this foundation using gold, silver, costly stones, wood, hay or straw, his work will be shown for what it is, because the Day will bring it to light. It will be revealed with fire, and the fire will test the quality of each man’s work. If what he has built survives, he will receive his reward. If it is burned up, he will suffer loss; he himself will be saved, but only as one escaping through the flames. 1 Cor. 3:11-15

Understand that I am talking to those who know the Lord and yet have done other than what He has asked them to do. For those who don’t know Him not only will everything they have done been in vain but even their soul will be lost.

Each of us everyday needs to be asking that question of ourselves; "Have I done or am I doing what God has asked me to do?" not just when we come to a mid-life crisis, but every single day of our lives. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to wind up like Solomon. I want to hear the my Lord say; "Well done, good and faithful servant; you have been faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord.’’ Matthew 25:23

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "What Have I Accomplished?" (16)

  1. Ciao Gerry,How are you?I read your blog and loved it, it was a great reading for me this evening. I too want to hear the Lord say this to me — "Well done, good and faithful servant; you have been faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord." Please contunue to pray for us, I feel that the answer is soon to arrive…Keep believing in faith with us.I also will continue to pray for you as well. I hope that you will have a blessed New Year.Say Hi to Pastor Paul for us also. God Bless You and Your Family,LoveShelleyxXx

  2. livewire_8770 said:

    Praise the Lord!!! awsome site we pray Gods blessings upon you and yours in JESUS name

  3. Ambassador for the Lord said:

    Hi…I am sending this comment from china….would love to chat with you sometime on msn…I guess you can guess why……I am a Canadian now in china with my family…I I can say it is my home now….I use to live in Montreal also in Toronto ,Calgary and Vancouver originally I am from Toronto there is a 12 hr. differents from Montreal and china……BTW love your blog I haven’t found many blogs with Christian content chat soon ….Billmy blog is set on private cus I had a Sscurity prob.bot if you want to have a look….just let me know…and send you man email

  4. Hi Gerry!When it\’s your birthday, after you turn 20 I guess, there is that little voice in your heart that keeps asking: am I where I should be? Is this what God really wants for me? I\’m sure it\’s a good thing to wonder about those things and spend time with God to make sure it\’s all ok…I\’m turning 25 in a few months and my friends are already reminding me that I\’ll be that famous \’quart de siècle\’… Growing up is so strange, yet so beautiful when it\’s closer to the Lord that we do…God bless you my brother!!Cath 🙂

  5. Hey Gerry, one thing I always kleep meaning to ask… how do you manage to get so many visitors? Is it a geographical thing? Something like because you are in a much bigger country that when you update…. more people see it?I try really hard to reach out to people… leaving comments on new peoples sites, but I rarely get return visits… or many regulars. I just don\’t like the feeling that I type a lot of the stuff out, yet seemingly there isn\’t much of a harvest. You reckon I\’m goin wrong anywhere?Trust god is blessing you.N

  6. i feel for the sheep, for that is what you are. Why should you give your one life to Christ? We only get one shot at this, and it amazes me how many people are willing to give that one shot over to an unprovable being. Oh i feel him in my heart. BULL! That is nothing more than an excuse to not have to accept the brutal truths in life. If he loved you so much, then why would he give you the ability to ask for him, but refuse to show himself, especially when he seems to be needed most?Are you going to be angry, or feel silly or taken for a ride, when you come to pass and find that there really is nothing after? I\’m not trying to hurt you or offend you, for i am aware that my words appear harsh, but i print them in hopes of helping people.i do not look down on people who worship, as i am also aware that there must be creator. I know that i exist, therefore something put me here. but why should a man devote his life to something he will never meet? It just baffles me.I\’ve heard pepople say that following the bible makes you lead a good life. It helps you to be good to your fellow man. My question is, why do i need a 2000 year old book to tell me how to do that? i dont think we need the lord to show us how to be good. we should be able to do that on our own. I have thought about this on many an occasion and i think that if there truly is a god, or some kind of supreme being, i may have figured out how to find him. this is not a joke. For if he exists, he is provable and i think i know how to prove him.If you are interested in what i have to say, please email me at bukschacht@hotmail.com.good dayjonah

  7. "Oh i feel him in my heart. BULL! That is nothing more than an excuse to not have to accept the brutal truths in life."God is not a form of escape from reality. God is reality. Serving Him is one of the harshest existences one could hope to endeavor on. If anything a christian subjects themselves to more brutal truth than one who denies His existence.While we\’re on the subject. Could it be that He is alive and well, and you are in denial? Or is your mind locked down so tight on the subject that you\’re not open to this "brutal truth"."If he loved you so much, then why would he give you the ability to ask for him, but refuse to show himself, especially when he seems to be needed most?"To serve God without experiencing Him is a miserable existence. If you have not experienced Him, don\’t bother serving Him. It\’s like claiming to no someone, but not actually knowing them. It\’s taking His name in vain.The real question is: What would you do if you *DID* have an experience with Him. I\’m sure you and Him know the answer already to that.Jonah — (I LOVE your name), We were created for a purpose. And that purpose is to worship God. If we choose to not worship Him, it is OUR choice and OURS alone. We cannot blame the fact that we denied Him on our parents. We can\’t blame it on our bad experiences in the church. We can\’t even blame it on the fact that we gave it an "honest" go, and came up empty.God will not resist an honest heart — Hot or Cold. But He purposely remains elusive to the lying heart. He\’s no dummy.Jason

  8. Hero_of_Nineveh – JonahYou are right, we only get one shot at this. Just as man is destined to die once, and after that to face judgment. Hebrews 9:27 So if is the case we better get it right.Jesus said very clearly that He is the Way, the Truth and the Life. No one comes to the Father but by Him. There is no other way to get to the Father and it is the Holy Spirit that draws us. Knowing Christ has nothing to do with feelings, although feelings do occur it is not the basis of our relationship with Him. To know Him is to love Him and to love Him is to know Him. It\’s all about relationship and a relationship with a real person. Jesus is indeed very real my friend. I have met Him and I walk and talk with Him everyday. I am not a believer because I follow a set of rules as religion teaches you to. I am a believer because I know that there is not a singlr thing that I could do to attain salvation. Jesus did it all and paid the price and it is because He did this it is from an overflow of love that I serve Him. Not out a sense of duty. Let me tell you this also, that when I have needed Him, not just when I needed Him most, but even in the small problems, He has always been there. He is faithful to every one of His promises and has never failed me. Tell me of anyone in this world that you can say that of.And you my friend, how will you feel when you stand before Christ. The Creator and Sustainer of all things. I know that you will have to bow your knee to Him and confess Him as Lord. It will happen and as much as you say it won\’t, I can promise you it will. It\’s much better to know His love, grace, and mercy in this life than to have to face His judgement in the next.That 200 year old book, as you call it, has withstood the test of time. It is a living word. There are more manuscripts that confirm the validity of the bible than there are of all the other anciient manuscripts put together. That includes the works of Plato and others.As far as being good. Our righteousness is as filthy rags to God. The bible also says that the human heart is more desperatly wicked above anything else. Our own hearts decieve us and that is why we need a Jesus. Without His sacrifice on the cross we would be seperated from God forever. Come out from the lie you are under. Look into Jesus and see if He truly is everything He claimed to be. Millions of others have and they have come to the conclusion that He the Living God.Take care Gerry

  9. Gerry, how can you ask if you have accomplished anything in your life?? are you mad? or was it a retorical question? look at those 2 beautiful children who seem to love the Lord.(I don\’t know them or have not seen their blogs) that is the most important job yet!!!..look at how many people you reach thru this blog and your other ministries…funny we just had a sermon on this Sunday..whatever you do, you do it for the Lord, be it fixing shoes or finding a cure for cancer…when you come to Him he will say..you are my faithful servant…I think you do not need to worry Gerry, you will hear those words one day. I just feel sorry for poor Jonah…*sighs*

  10. Great!!! Thanks for your prayers and for letting me know about CJYC, I just can\’t wait to be there again, I need a boost!! Happy new year to you too and may it be filled with many great surprises for you and your family!!Cath 🙂

  11. God bless GerryHey, I\’ve been pondering the very same things this last while also. Whatever i build, whatever I say, whatever I do, it must be for Christ and Christ alone. It always comes back to Jesus. His voice is the one that moves me. His voice is the loudest and the most tender and most authoritive. Praise His name.

  12. http://spaces.msn.com/members/chrishicks7spaz/PersonalSpace.aspx?owner=1please pray for this kid, he is sooo lost, and he\’s mine

  13. would you please be able to answer this question?i\’m really interested in weather, and i would like to study up at university and become a full time meteorologist (weatherperson). do you reckon it would be wrong for a christian to be a weatherman? trying to predict what weather God will pull on us next? or do u think it would be ok? thanks, erd

  14. Personally I don\’t think there is anything wrong with trying to predict the weather using scientific method. There is nothing arcane about it and you aren\’t trying to influence a person\’s direction in life by doing it. You are merely trying to predict a logical outcome based on available physical data. At the end of the day, meteorologists know that they can be wrong.Did you know that Jesus used a form of wheather prediction in one of his teachings?"The Pharisees and Sadducees came to Jesus and tested him by asking him to show them a sign from heaven. He replied, "When evening comes, you say, \’It will be fair weather, for the sky is red,\’ and in the morning, \’Today it will be stormy, for the sky is red and overcast.\’ You know how to interpret the appearance of the sky, but you cannot interpret the signs of the times. A wicked and adulterous generation looks for a miraculous sign, but none will be given it except the sign of Jonah." Jesus then left them and went away." Matthew 16:1-4Jesus acknowledges that man has the ability to predict certain forms of weather based on things that he sees in the world around him. What concerns him more, is man\’s desire for signs or omens that predict his destiny, which is different.The reason other forms of prediction (such as astrology, spiritism, palmistry, tarot and the occult in general) are wrong is because they seek to divert attention away from God when it comes to making decisions that affect our personal lives and destiny. When God is not the source, you can be sure that the sign is designed to send us down a path other than the one God desires for us.This is why Jesus rebukes the pharisees. They are blind because they rely to heavily on signs and not the person who gives them. God himself does use signs…. but we are not to become focussed on them. We are to be focussed on HIM… for otherwise how can we recognise the signs for what they are and interpret them correctly?God has recently laid a scripture on my heart and I want to share it with you:"I tell you the truth, the man who does not enter the sheep pen by the gate, but climbs in by some other way, is a thief and a robber. The man who enters by the gate is the shepherd of his sheep. The watchman opens the gate for him, and the sheep listen to his voice. He calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes on ahead of them, and his sheep follow him because they know his voice. But they will never follow a stranger; in fact, they will run away from him because they do not recognize a stranger\’s voice." John 10:1-5The occult is the stranger\’s voice. Jesus is the shepherd… it i by furthering our experience and relationship with him, that we grow into our destiny… not by chasing after mystic signs. Just because astrology has an ology on the end of it…. that doesn\’t make it a science… it is not based on predicting a physical outcome or effect from a physical cause (astronomy does that). All it does is say that because X & Y planets are in this position, your life will be so much better. That is not science, that is pure mysticism.Science in itself does not lead a man away from God, in fact many of the early great scientists like Newton used their work to further their understanding of God. Meteorology is hard science and not occult mysticism. It is about predicting a likely physical reaction based on earlier physical events. It does not concern anything spiritual or mystic… it is purely facts and logical deduction. I think as long as you remember God is sovereign it won\’t be a problem, as you know he can still throw in the odd wildcard in now and then.That\’s just my two penneth worth, I wonder what Gerry will say.

  15. hey Gerry… i am back… will finish putting my space up after my class tonight… just thought i would drop a hello down your waypeace love and prayers brother

Leave a Reply

