Just another WordPress.com site

How Long Oh Lord?


"How Long Oh Lord? Will You forget me forever? How long will You hide Your face from me? How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and every day have sorrow in my heart? How long will my enemy triumph over me? Look on me and answer, O LORD my God. Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death; my enemy will say, "I have overcome him," and my foes will rejoice when I fall." (13:1-4)

I can picture David writing this psalm with tears running down his face. Because of circumstances in his life, he felt as though God had left him. It is a cry of despair from a broken heart. A heart that longs for the fellowship he once had with God. He was on the verge of falling into a depression and all he could see was defeat.

All believers at one time or another pass through a dark tunnel where there seems to be no hope. God feels far away as we pass through it. Even Jesus when He was on the cross faced that despair. Sometimes it is brought on by rebellion. The bible tells us that sin separates us from the Father (Isaiah 59:1-2) and the only way back is to repent and turn back to God again. (1 John 1:9). Sometimes it is to build character and bring us to our knees. To discipline us in areas of our lives that need changing. (Hebrews 12:6-7) Sometimes it is brought on by tragedy and we question how God could of let it happen. If you don’t know God’s promises found in His word you can find yourself falling deeper and deeper into despair until it leads to depression.

At the end of the Psalm David turned his thoughts around. He remembered God’s promises and he begins to worship. He says in verses 5 and 6; But I trust in your unfailing love; "My heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing to the LORD, for he has been good to me."

The greatest promise that we have as Christians is this, no matter how dark it seems, no matter how far we feel God is, we can rest upon the promise that He gave us in Hebrews 13:5. I like the description in the Amplified version. "Let your character or moral disposition be free from love of money [including greed, avarice, lust, and craving for earthly possessions] and be satisfied with your present [circumstances and with what you have]; for He [God] Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]" Wow! All I can say is GLORY! Like David we need to trust the Lord’s unfailing love. He has never broken a promise. Joshua 23:14 says; "And you know in all your hearts and in all your souls that not one thing has failed of all the good things which the LORD your God spoke concerning you. All have come to pass for you; not one word of them has failed. Take courage turn your thoughts around today. Look up and worship. God cares and He is always there no matter how you feel.

Could this year be the year of His return? I don’t know. No one knows except the Father. Keep your eyes on Christ always and watch and wait for Him.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

 

Comments on: "How Long Oh Lord?" (15)

  1. Happy New Year Gerry! I love the Psalms, I believe they have a lot to teach us about prayer… and holding a dialogue with God. David is always frank about the way he is feeling, even if his faith is at a low point and everything in his life seems pants. It\’s actually through getting it off his chest and pouring out his spirit to God, that things get turned around. I\’ve always felt it\’s important to keep talking to God… even if I have "issues" with him. I think the mistake a lot of people make when they encounter problems on their walk is to either reason it through without God\’s help… or in a worse case scenario, turn their back on Him.The Psalm you quoted today and your post is especially poignant for me. God knows I\’m in a place where I\’m uncomfortable. However he has promised to deliver me at some point. He has also brought to my attention the life of Isaac. Isaac was a man who waited for everything. He didn\’t search for a wife, one was found for him. He didn\’t go off to Egypt to find prosperity, he stayed where God told him to wait and was blessed through that patience.Isaac\’s story in the Bible is a short one, but no less poignant for it.God bless you in 2006N

  2. Happy New year to you Gerry,I was up all night long with our youth group so I am still a little groggy today, but surviving. My husband came across a new listing for a tv series coming out called "the book of daniel" it is about a minister who talks to Jesus (literally) and has a son who is homosexual and a daughter who sells pot, and everything is A O K. there is a review of it on Focus on the Family\’s "plugged in" section. I have to say that with one of the topics you wrote on a little while ago you had the comment of things that are good turning bad and things that are bad will become good, and with this tv show it is pretty aparent that is exactly what is happening. God bless Gerry,Bethany.

  3. Happy New Year Gerry and all who read this..I pray this new year will bring blessings to all and answered prayers…I am happy to note my \’son\’ Chris is still off pot, and is actually ushering in our church…thank you to all who prayed for him..God is good!! Now you can also pray for my other son, who is in the same situation..Colin..he loves his hooch…please pray that he will also give it up and see the gifts God has given him..which are tons..and the parents that love him to death..please I beg you to pray for him as well…he is so beautiful and so blessed with family and parents that love him..and its killing me…

  4. there is no such this as jesus or god..and your a loser

  5. »¤»ï•LøvË•bøñ•jÕv«Jessica, you\’re the one one who is losing in life. God is very real and He came to earth in the person of Jesus Christ. I\’ve met Him and talk with Him everyday. He loves you more than you could ever know or understand. I pray that He makes Himself real to you as He has millions throughout the world.

  6. Thanks for the encouragement. I just happened to come across this blog and God used your words to encourage me. I\’m serving right now in Uganda so if you would like to know more about my experiences, visit mejneels.blogspot.com.God Bless,Mike

  7. Thank you for your comment on my site with the link.Also thank you for a very wonderful blog that is an inspiration, even to me on this very day.aak

  8. I\’m a little surprised Jessica is so opposed to the Gospel. John Bon Jovi has Catholic roots, and several of his songs have featured at least a basic grasp of a belief in God.In fact… in the words of Bon Jovi and more or less 2 Timothy 4:7… Gerry "Keep the Faith" 🙂

  9. Thank you for writing this blog. It touches me very deeply and serves to remind us all to keep our eyes on Jesus.I have been suffering for a very long time. and even though i am filled with grief and and frustration, I still see God\’s hand in my life. I can sense that He is with me and that He cares for my struggles and even more that He is protecting and supporting me. I know the difference of suffering all alone and suffering with God. I am trying to take refuge and comfort in Him. If you have faced trauma and darkness for many years, it is hard to let go and let God in. The very cornerstone of faith is believing when all signs say there is no point.Right now, in my darkest moments, I am trying to hold on to hope, hold on to faith in God. that He will give us the victory.Sometimes we have to remember also, that if our visions are great, how much more awesome God\’s plans are.when youre suffering it\’s hard to believe you will ever come out of it ok. I would rather walk in pain with Him than turn my back on Him. Just keep singing praises to God. Erika

  10. Your site is great…inspirational. Thank you for that. Strange question for you. I would like to somehow get my playlists to play – but I\’m unsure of how to get the Windows MediaPlayer to play it. Would you be able to help me out? Thanks!Jen

  11. (ˇ柨鮭鮭≈ ) said:

    Hello~Happy New Year~Come to my space when u have time!

  12. Wishing you and yours a blessed new year. May God breathe new life in in!

  13. thank you Gerry for this blog today. I don\’t have words to share anything right now.. my heart reaches out to receive and hear the Spirit of God speak hope and encouragment. Please keep us in prayer…I wish i could say more but afraid once i got started I would write a novel. just simply… thank you…..for now will have to do…..ok?

  14. Strengthening… thanks Gerry.

  15. God bless you GerryAWESOME. The Lord never ceases to amaze me. Thanks Gerry for this word is timely for me also. Blessings to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

