Just another WordPress.com site

God’s Protection


I praise and worship God for the way He protected my daughter this past Saturday. Both her brother and she have volunteered to work the Christmas kettles for the Salvation Army this year. She was placed on Saturday in front of the Bay, one of Montreal’s largest department stores downtown. That day there also happened to be a huge demonstration against global warming so there was quite a few people there.

Near the end of the afternoon she was startled by what she thought was very large fire crackers going off. She turned and saw a man firing a gun in her direction five feet away. He fired the gun seven times and she saw another man fall. Then the man who did the shooting ran away laughing hysterically. She said many people were running and screaming and she herself ran behind a building. When she came back out from behind the building she saw that the man who was shot was moving and talking on his cell phone. She called me on her cell phone. She was very shaken by what she had just witnessed. I prayed with her and told her to call the man in charge of the kettles to send someone to get her. As I was talking to her the police and ambulance arrived. It turned out the man had just been shot in the leg.

As she was waiting for the pick-up, she called the wife of our senior pastor. She also prayed with her and one the things the pastor’s wife prayed was that God would wrap His arms around her and give Melodie a hug. No sooner had she prayed that then a woman was a Mel’s side asking her if she needed a hug. She accepted it and the woman suggested Mel talk to the police. The police came over and took her statement. They said they have several witnesses and have a pretty good description of the man who did the shooting. Afterwards the woman and another man helped her carry the kettle down some stairs to where her lift would be arriving. As Mel was leaving the woman said I’m glad that both you and the man are ok and then added "God is so good" to which Mel replied: "Yes, He is so very good." Mel turned to leave and then turned back to say goodbye but the woman had disappeared. I told Mel when she got home that if she didn’t want to help with the kettles anymore she didn’t have to and no one was going to look down on her if she quit. She told me she doesn’t want to quit and she is determined to see it through.

Several questions beg to be asked. There were seven bullets fired and one hit a man in the leg. What happened to the other six? The sidewalk was crowded with Christmas shoppers and yet the bullets missed everyone else. Angels? Was the woman who stepped up to my daughter to give her a hug at the very moment there was a prayer asking for one an angel? Or was it simply a believer who happened to be in the right place at the right time? I don’t know. All I do know is that God protected my little girl and I am so very, very thankful and like Melodie I also say God is so very good.

You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. Psalm 32:7

But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble. Psalm 59:16

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public. 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "God’s Protection" (17)

  1. "Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it."Brilliant to see God at work, hoping and praying Melodie has inner peace restored after that. Must have been very traumatic.N

  2. Cool spaceGod bless yaSteve

  3. The-Country-Cowboy said:

    Hebrews 13:2 – Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some have unwittingly entertained angels. (NKJV)Glad she\’s ok. Thank God.

  4. Awesome testimony! MJ told me to come read it. Must\’ve been really hard on her, i couldn\’t imagine seeing someone get shot… and i\’m the same age!anyway, God Bless!Matt

  5. Wow…

  6. evencastles said:

    A Shanghai blog featuring news and views of great interest

  7. Praise the Lord…Let him bless you and keep you as he already has…

  8. Are you for real???

  9. God is certainly good! Either way with the woman that hugged your daughter, it was divine intervention at that point. I have stood on kettles plenty of times before, being from the Salvation Army church and also being an Officers kid, I have been there and done that. Although never has anything like that happened to me. God is good ALL the time.thank you for sharing such an event with us.Blessings,Bethany.

  10. † a reason to believe † said:

    that is absolutely amazing. I am so glad your daughter is okay and i definately agree, God is good. That was very inspirational and thought provoking. I am going to send a link to my mom to view. :)take care,Lauren

  11. Glad to hear everything turned out ok!

  12. ღ.•´¸.•*Just A Friendly HELLO !.•´¸.•* ღ (¸.•´¸.•´¨) ¸.•*¨)*´¨) (¸.•´¸.•´¨) ¸.•*¨)ღ pop by,, and say Hi!ღ (¸.•´¸.•´¨) ¸.•*¨)*´¨) Its so sad that Kids have to carry guns and knives. We had 35 murders in Edmonton this year,,,so far. 😦 I pray everyday that my kids are OK and safe from all this craziness in this City. I put them in God\’s Hands,, but It still leaves me nervous that our City has become so wicked.(¸.•(¸.•´ .•´¸¸.•´ღ (¯`v´¯) `•.¸.•´ ¸.•´¸.•´¨) ¸.•*¨) (¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´¸¸.•´Love Shnev

  13. Wow, what an amazing story.Im glad your daughter is okay.Take care 🙂

  14. I don\’t believe in God or religion, but I still look at your space once in awhile. There\’s too much knowledge out there for me to actually believe religion was created for anything more than population control, a reason to conquer nations and to instill ones belief on others. I\’ve had too many bad experiences with those who say they are Catholic follower but do not practice what they preach.

  15. I am an old man of 70 and have for most of my life tried to understand why so many people become so involved in religion and other beliefs no matter what they are called. From a practical point of view I can not accept there being a devine creature out there some place that has controle of all that happens. Surely people from suposedly educated nations would realise that all these beliefs are creations of man to controle man. As a group there has to be rules to live by so those that have the will and drive to be the leaders have to find a way to get others to obey what they want them to do. Superstition and so called faith are the most common ways and all nations have employed this method since man was able to comunicate ideas. Readers of this site will probably want to send me to hell for what I have to say but that is not possable as there is no such place. If there is eaither heaven or hell it is here on this planet and ww all have the choice of living in one or the other every day. I keep hearing those that claim to be giving the word of god saying he is all loving and then do most of their teaching bassed on fear. What could be more violent than the bible? Surely an all loving god would allow the kind of violence man does to man. Also why is man so much more special than any other animal of even a tree or plant. Wverything is at least 80 percent related and most even more than that. Every living thing is made up of other living things that have joined together for survival and protection. All living things are mad up of cells and a nearly set order in whitch they are assembled to create a tree, plant, dog, and even us. Why do so many people need something from outside of them selves to make their lives have any meaning? Why not take the time to know yourselves and understand just who and what you are? In the name of christ, in the name of alla and many other excuses used to justify actions. When people as individuala finally understand that the most important person on this planer it themselves then there may be some real progress in peace. After all if you do not take care of yourself first then what good are you to others. Think about what I have said I do not claim to be all wise and know the answers. This the way I look at this aspect of life and so far I have found nothing to change this thought. If it is out there then i surely would like to know what it is. Kelly

  16. JwkktYour a very misguided old man who knows nothing and is about to meet your Creator. Your in for a very big surprise. Come to know God\’s love before it\’s too late.

  17. Just another prayer request… I am going to doctor\’s today and I am hoping and praying I will get the help I need. One thing, I don\’t have medical coverage for meds… I need him to listen to me today otherwise it will be fruitless for me. It\’s a cold day out there; I am bussing it and will have to walk.No word on my daughter\’s electric chair repairs…Thanks for praying. Su

Leave a Reply

