Just another WordPress.com site


1 He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
       will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.

 2 I will say of the LORD, "He is my refuge and my fortress,
       my God, in whom I trust."

 3 Surely he will save you from the fowler’s snare
       and from the deadly pestilence.

 4 He will cover you with his feathers,
       and under his wings you will find refuge;
       his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.

 5 You will not fear the terror of night,
       nor the arrow that flies by day,

 6 nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness,
       nor the plague that destroys at midday.

 7 A thousand may fall at your side,
       ten thousand at your right hand,
       but it will not come near you.

 8 You will only observe with your eyes
       and see the punishment of the wicked.

 9 If you make the Most High your dwelling—
       even the LORD, who is my refuge-

 10 then no harm will befall you,
       no disaster will come near your tent.

 11 For he will command his angels concerning you
       to guard you in all your ways;

 12 they will lift you up in their hands,
       so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.

 13 You will tread upon the lion and the cobra;
       you will trample the great lion and the serpent.

 14 "Because he loves me," says the LORD, "I will rescue him;
       I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.

 15 He will call upon me, and I will answer him;
       I will be with him in trouble,
       I will deliver him and honor him. 

 16 With long life will I satisfy him
       and show him my salvation."
Psalm 91 (NIV)

When I was a young child, I had so many fears. Many a night I would imagine there was a monster under my bed who was waiting to get me as soon as I put a foot to the floor. I would hide under my blankets and fear would paralyse me. I would try to call out to my parents but I couldn’t get my voice above a whisper. We also had a closet in our bedroom which because it wouldn’t latch properly would sometimes creak open in the middle of the night and terrify my brothers and I. Children have very active imaginations. With my kids it wasn’t monsters, but thunderstorms and being left alone. The only monster that ever frightened one of them was a muppet call Monster from the Muppet Movie. When I was 19 I used to have panic attacks where fear would grip me to the point I thought it was actually going to kill me, that I would drop dead from a heart attack or a brain seizure at any moment.

Everyone is afraid of something. With me it’s a fear of flying. It doesn’t make sense because flying is one of the safest modes of travel there is. It seems that there is a whole book load of names that have been given to the different types of fears people have. They are called phobias. Many of the fears are imaginary and irrational, but the feeling of fear is real and can cripple us from being who God has meant us to be.

The greatest of all fears is death. What is going to happen to me when I die? For the Christian there should be no fear of death at all. Christ conquered death and the grave through His victory on the cross. Death for us means going home. It is a graduation. It means no more sickness or pain or sorrow. It means being present with our Lord. Eternal joy. For those who don’t know Christ or have rejected Him they have a very real reason to fear death. They face hell which is eternal separation from God and as much as they deny it or try to push that fear away it will one day catch up with them, unless they come to the place of repentance with God.

Psalm 91 is a great reminder of God’s care and love for us. He has promised to see us through each and every situation. Are you afraid of something? Pray that psalm. You don’t even have to fear the devil. There is the story of a missionary to Africa who one night heard some noises at the end of his bed. He looked up and saw satan standing there looking menacing. He said to the devil: "Oh it’s you!" turned around and went right back to sleep. That should be our attitude as well towards fear. God is in control and He never once loses it. Trust Him. He’s much bigger than the boogie man.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

 

Comments on: "God is Bigger Than the Boogie Man" (14)

  1. Trusting in God isnt easy. If you\’ve had to fight for your survival in life, it is hard to trust God with stuff.It\’s a process i think.Erika

  2. HeyI just wanted to say that I love the song you chose for windows media player…I LOVE that song! Just wanted to let you know…teeheeMarcus

  3. All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to Him,of course including the authority of life.He promised me and never broke His word,so..i can do anything and be in any situation without fear,for He said he will protect me and be with me.I commit my spirit and my life into His hand,for I trust Him.

  4. Out of one list of phobias I read, some of my personal favourites are:Hippopotomonstrosesquippedaliophobia – the fear of long words, Homilophobia- Fear of sermons, Nomatophobia- Fear of names, Nostophobia- Fear of returning home, Pentheraphobia- Fear of mother-in-law, Arachibutyrophobia- Fear of peanut butter sticking to the roof of the mouth.Yet Jesus can set you free from all of these!

  5. Hooray for the Veggies! but seriously, God is bigger than anything. For example: I was praying at lunchtime at my workplace and someone started to tell me a lot of bad things because I was doing it at a point that other people were defending me and I was "whoa, that person hate God". Later that day I had to work next to that person and God told me to ask why he was so angry after Him. I wrestle with the idea for a while but then I said "ok God, I don\’t know what is Your point but I trust you and if that person outburst I won\’t be responsible". So I ask the guy why he was so angry after God and he told me gently his story and I talked to him about God and in the end he asked me if I could give him my e-mail adress because he wanted me to get in touch with his boy who had some problems. I was amaze to see how he turned from angry to happy just because I talked to him and told him about my relation, and not religion. So I learned that often when we are afraid it\’s the devil that wants us to stop and keep us from doing the right thing. God bless you all and specially you Gerry for your site.

  6. You\’re so right Gerry. My fear of being alone is keeping me back from becoming the person God wants me to be. Thanks for this post. God bless.

  7. Ciao Gerry,Stopped in to say Hi. I love your song that you have here, it is really awesome, and your blog is wonderful as well.Hope that all is well with you and your family.God Bless YouLoveShelleyxXx

  8. I have fought many times with things that I know God wanted me to do, such as go and talk to someone or just go up to that person in the corner and say hi, or give someone a hug just because. I have struggled with that for a very long time, also I always feel like I am making a fool out of myself by saying something or doing something, because no one else will understand it. I told my pastor one day that I knew that if she didn\’t go and see a dr about her back soon that she would end up in a wheel chair because of it. I had no reason for saying it, but I was prompted more then any other time to say it, so I did. She chuckled and walked away. It was a little while later and she asked me why I had said it, she thought I had seen her limping or struggling up a flight of stairs in the church. But I told her frankly that I was prompted to tell her and that there was a wheel chair waiting for her if she didn\’t get it look after. Her face went a little pale, and then she told me that when she was a teen she had fallen while ice skating and ever since then has had back problems. I was speechless, I didn\’t know what else to say, and I think she was waiting on me for something else, but I didn\’t have anything. To this day I don\’t know if she took my advise or not. But from that, I have learned that I need to obey that voice, that promting, otherwise, someone is missing the message that God gave me to give to them. And just because Satan wants nothing more then to see my fear of looking foolish to over come God\’s desire for His word to be spread, that alone should fuel me to do what God wants and not to give in to my own fears of looking foolish.Bethany.

  9. Hi Gerry, Thank you for sharing Psalm 91 and your comments on fear. Psalm 91 has always ministered to me, it is one of many favorites. It surely is comforting knowing we have the Lord who is constanly watching over us keeping us safe. Yes, I can identify with you about flying, I was so afraid of flying that I wouldn\’t even get on a plane, one day a few years ago I needed to go somewhere and flying was the only way of getting there in a hurry, With heaps of prayer and the support of my friends prayers God gave me what I needed and I was able to actually board that plane. It wasn\’t easy, but I did it. I got to my destination and was able to travel back home via air. That was a great accomplishment for me as I would in the past find every other possible means of transportation to avoid flying. That is how bad my fear of flying was. I still have a certain amount of fear but I have come to a place of being able to tolerate flying and that is only come because of prayer and having God\’s Strength. Thanks for sharing Gerry, hope all is well with you and the children, God Bless, Judith

  10. Very intersting site… I LOVE IT. may I create a link to your site?

  11. I found a verse that is very familiar and speaks volumes to my, i KNOW u know it; romans 12:12. i have tattoos, and to many that in itself is a sin, but i had"Be joyful in hopepatient in afflictionfaithful in prayerromans 12:12" tattoo\’d on my ribs.. and to me, thats like wearing my cross, only i can\’t take it off! and unfortuantely, some people don\’t like it. it personally fills me with joy. i wake up and stretch each morning only to find a piece of God physically with me every morning. And when i\’m having a rough moment, i think of the pain i went through to put those beautiful words on my body. and let me tell you… i am a 19 girl, and when my friends who are boys each had THEIR ribs tattoo\’d.. they cried.. and our artist didn\’t want to touch me.. but i did it. i didnt flinch! i thought about what Jesus suffered through to obslove my sin.. and i overcame any and all pain. The boys were amazed to say the least!ps: thousand foot krutch, pillar,& kids in the way are great christian punk and rock bands to check out!!

  12. Great I\’m glad that someone put God into the blogs.Because the sooner these people find the lord the sooner we all can go home…Amen. I hope the lord blesses you and gives you the words to inspire the young. P.S. I couldn\’t get your media player to work?Your friend in ChristNeal

  13. What is captcha code?, pls offer me captcha code codes or plugin, Thanks ahead of time.

Leave a Reply

