Just another WordPress.com site

Please Pray!


 
As of November 21st I have no news as yet, But I am looking for updates on the situation and will post them as soon as I have anything.
 
– Gerry
 
Radicals threaten to burn Christians to death
Warn of consequences if they don’t reconvert to Hinduism by Sunday

Posted: November 17, 2005
1:00 a.m. Eastern


© 2005 WorldNetDaily.com

More than 60 Christian coverts in northern India will be burned to death if they refuse to return to Hinduism by Sunday, a group of extremists has warned.

The radical Hindus severely beat the converts’ pastor, Feroz Masih, in a Nov. 4 attack in the state of Himachal Pradesh, accusing him of "forcibly converting" Hindus, reported Compass Direct, a news service that monitors persecution of Christians.

Masih sustained internal injuries requiring medical treatment and still is recovering.

The pastor’s son, Ramesh, told Compass Direct the estimated 10 attackers were members of the World Hindu Council and its youth wing Bajrang Dal, which has been blamed for waves of attacks against Christians and other religious minorities since the rise of the Hindu nationalist party BJP in the late 1990s.

The attackers forced Masih, 62, to sign a document stating his willingness to participate in a ceremony Sunday in which all of the Christians would convert back to Hinduism, Ramesh said.

If the pastor or church members refuse to participate, they will be burned to death, the radicals warned.

Masih and his son lead a local congregation related to Believer’s Church in India that meets in their home in the town of Baijnath.

The radical Hindus said they would come to the house Sunday to read from the Gita, the Hindu scripture, and convert the Christians back to Hinduism.

The two church leaders sent a letter of complaint to officials at the local police station in Baijnath and the National Commission for Minorities, Compass Direct said.

The letter included the names of six of the attackers: Harbans Lal, Madan Lal, Santosh Kumar, Ravi Kumar, Jitender Kumar, and Bablu Kumar.

But Compass said the police regarded the beating as a "minor incident."

"An official complaint [regarding the attack] has not been registered, and no one has been arrested," said Constable Rakesh Kumar.

According to Kumar, the VHP attacked Masih based on the complaint of a local resident, Prakash Chand, who alleged Masih forcibly converted his wife two years ago. Kumar said police believe Masih did not use force.

Masih’s son, however, said the beating was inspired by local media reports that claimed his father was forcibly converting Hindus.

"We simply preach the message of peace and joy as given in the Bible. All the believers who attend the worship … have embraced Christianity out of their own will," he said.

The Masihs, who are connected to K.P. Yohannan’s Gospel for Asia missionary group, say they still are waiting for a police response to the death threats.

Yohannan said it’s not clear that the police will take any action, noting the area is dominated by a large temple to the Hindu god Shiva, which draws thousands of pilgrims.

The threat, he said, is reminiscent of the brutal murder of Australian missionary Graham Staines and his two children in 1999 by Hindu radicals in the state of Orissa, who vowed to burn alive anyone who did not renounce their new faith.

"What is most important now is that we pray for this situation," said Yohannan. "These brothers and sisters have chosen by their own free will to follow Christ. I urge you to pray for their protection, and that God will surround them with His angels and turn back any violence. Please also pray for their attackers, that their hearts will be softened and that God will work a miracle in their lives."

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "Please Pray!" (31)

  1. Thanks for the alert — I am praying for these saints.Jason

  2. Me too!!

  3. Keep up the good work. It\’s nice to see a man who still love the Lord as much as you do. I used to live in Montreal with my parents as a child. My father is a pentecostal minister. I hope some day to go back to Quebec and help bring in the harvest.Thank you again!God Bless you to a hundred fold!

  4. That wouldn\’t make them believe… What kind of religion do they have?♥NaileDuncan.

  5. Good day dear brother!God our Heavenly Father answers your prayers in the following way:Thus says the God and Father of your Lord Jesus Christ:SAY the following exactly as written for yourself several times a day, and your freedom from oppression will manifest swiftly!"Blessed be the God and Father of my Lord Jesus Christ and In the name of Jesus, He hears the voice of my supplications.In the name of Jesus, God my Heavenly Father is my Strength and my [impenetrable] Shieldand In the name of Jesus, my heart trusts in, relies on, and confidently leans on Him,and I am helped! Therefore, in the name of Jesus, my heart greatly rejoices, and with my song do I praise My Heavenly Father.In the name of Jesus, God my Heavenly Father is my [unyielding] Strength, and He is the Stonghold of salvation to me His anointed child in Christ Jesus."[Adapted from Psalm 28 AMPLIFIED version]Now "thank" Your Heavenly Father for each statement of truth as follows:(Say it exactly as written – the verb tenses determine whether or not it is spoken in faith)I thank you Heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus, that you hear the voice of my supplications.I thank you Heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus, that you are my Strength and my [impenetrable] Shield and that my hearttrusts in, relies on, and confidently leans on You and I am helped.I thank you Heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus,that my heart greatly rejoices and that with my song I praise You.I thank you Heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus,that you are my [unyielding] Strength and the Stronghold of salvation to me Your anointed in Christ Jesus.I thank you Heavenly Father, in the name of Jesus,that I am your anointed child in Christ Jesus.

  6. little folk said:

    hello, i dont really think that our age differences are simular im 11 and you are 50 if u say …. and i would just like to say its awful making people convert to religions that they dont want too… and hinduism is one of the worst religions ( i think) and although i am not even christian it is no good worshipping still non living idols or statues…to me it deosnt make any sense… may god bless you and everyone

  7. thanks for sharing this, its awful, they shall be in my prayers, we have it so good 😐 God bless you Gerry xxx

  8. fundamentalists = (for lack of a better word) nutbars.persecuting anyone for their religion is stupid.we\’re all human, we all bleed, we all feel, we all hurt.

  9. The-Country-Cowboy said:

    Let me guess, the law will not step in and do anything. In a country dominated by bribes I\’m sure that they are on the attacker’s pay roll. Nutbars indeed!Is there anything our government, or we can do (besides pray?)Thanks for the heads up Gerry.

  10. That\’s so sad. They will be in my prayers. God Bless.

  11. From reading this, it just prouves that there are way to many fanatical religious monsters out.In my opinion, in a free world, everyone should be entitled to their own beliefs & customs.Have a good nite.SuperDave

  12. I have a friend serving in the tank regiment, who as a teenager took a year out in India and helped give aid to persecuted christians. He was shot at on one occasion and on another he saw a girl get posessed by a spirit pertaining to be the goddess Kali. She was delivered in prayer, but the whole thing was quitye scary.Bad stuff goes on in India… it\’s in the Top 50 world watch list for Christian persecution.

  13. jocelyn_† said:

    yeah i\’ll be praying too

  14. Hi Gerry, You know more and more, especially over the past few weeks, I\’m thinking that the world really is in a war of principalities right now. This stuff goes so far beyond politics, beyond reason, that I have a really difficult time understanding it! I really do believe that it is the prayers of the faithful that will be what determines the outcome. Keep praying, and know that I am too! God bless!A Mom in America

  15. I would just like to point out what a bunch of hypocrites you all are. You claim that Arabs and Hindus are extremist fundamentalist radicals, but here you are, analyzing every portion of Christian religious texts. You yourselves are Christian right-wing radicals. You will probably delete this comment, which is symbolic of cover-ups that have taken place in the Christian world for the last 2000 years.

  16. Gerry,In the same way that you celebrated Thanksgiving a few weeks back, so we are here in the US. But Thanksgiving day doesn\’t carry a lot of wait without an understanding not only of what we have, but what we do not have. For example, we do not have this type of outright barbarism in our midst. We have more verbal oppression from the free thinkers in our midst, such as Stevie G. Compassion seems easy to bestow on those who only know how to use words as weapons. A recent contact within Promise Keepers encouraged me to give thanks for all of my problems, but it seems that this would be a lot easier to do for most of us, compared to those who live in radical Hindu or Moslem cultures. My heart goes out to both groups, knowing that one may endure pain for a short time, while the other will endure pain for eternity unless they repent from their sins, receive the free gift of life, relent from spirits of oppression, and rejoice in the work of the Spirit. However, this recipe for Christian living isn\’t meant just for those in non-Christian cultures, but for all those who perceive the need to apply it. In other words, it applies to many purportedly Christian westerners as well. I encourage you to leave Stevie G.\’s opinions on your site, so it can be understood that not all fit his extremist description of Christians. Just in case he reads this comment, I would like to add for his benefit that even though many have become Christians, not as many, sadly, have become Christ-like. I think if he found one who had, he would not be as harsh.Philo

  17. Stevie G.So can you explain what those coverups are Stevie? Since you seem to know these things please let us know. Have you ever read the bible? Do you you know what the words of Christ are? I highly doubt it. You have bought into the lie that so many others have. Why do people hate Christianity so much? Because it\’s the truth and satan who is your father knows this. He will do all he can to keep you in the dark because he knows that if you know the truth, the truth will set you free. Jesus loves you Stevie. He knows your heart and will never force you to come to Him. I suggest you look further into what real believers in Christ are all about.

  18. I wish I was there. Does that sound odd? I\’m young, but I love Christ and I don\’t know, something in me yearns to be with those around the world who are taking a stand for Jesus. Here, in Canada, and around the world. I know that there are several ways to stand with these people, I can literally be there, or I can stand with them in a spiritual sense and pray.I will pray.Thank you for bringing this to my attention.Sparrow

  19. Is there any further word yet Gerry?

  20. Thanks for the post. Even worse is the fact that this incident is so common now in many parts of the world. Make no mistake, Christians ARE under attack! Let\’s keep the prayers going. Thanks Pastor Gerry for your efforts.

  21. any news ? ? ?

  22. Today (Sunday) is International Day of Prayer for the persecuted church…we prayed about this in church today and our sermon was on it, then at devotions today after supper we read Math 6:25-34…I have always had trouble with this particular part of the bible…I was wondering Gerry if you could en-lighten me..being a christian who has studied the bible all her life…if God says don\’t worry about tomorrow (planning tomorrow is diff) then why all the suffering, if he feeds the flowers and trees, why do so many people suffer…I know, I know…God suffers when his children do, but I just don\’t understand these verses. I know all that about wanting more and seeking first his righteousness means to turn to GOd first for his help…but the verses just seem so blatent..don\’t worry about food, God will feed you…when half the world is in hunger and all these persectued christians die because they are baptised…shall I not worry about what my children will have in their lunches?? well thats silly cus I can feed them..does a mother who can\’t feed her children not worry, of course she does..please explain this to me if you can..I know I am rambling…sorry..but this chapter has had me wondering for years..thanks and God blessgo to http://www.idop.org for more on the persecuted church if your interested.

  23. why do the arabs hate us so much?why do they want to kill us?

  24. learn of the world outside religion and you will find your answer.

  25. GlancingSusan There is no doubt that our God is a good God and everything He does works together for our good. As a believer I can personally testify that I have never gone without and that Mat 6:24-35 is as Jesus said. I can also say like David in Psalm 37:25 that I have never seen the righteous forsaken. But there is one thing that God uses to cause us to grow and to build His church and that is suffering. Without suffering we would not rely upon our King. It is the tool He uses to shape and mold us into the image of His Son. When we all first came to Christ we were dirty like a lump of coal. But if you know science, that lump of coal after time, heat, and pressure becomes a diamond. The most precious of all gems. We are being shaped into His precious jewels. Paul told us we are to rejoice in our sufferings Romans 5:3 and also did Peter in ! Peter 4:13. This life is short and it is our training ground for eternal life. Whenever the Church has been persecuted it has grown. That\’s the mystery that makes up the church. Others see the way that believers face death and other types of persecution and they come to realize that Gid is real and that Jesus does exist. Many of those that persecute become believers themselves simply because of the boldness, courage and love with which those they persecuted faced them.

  26. backasore They hate us because they are of their father the devil. Because we hold the truth as Christians and have a freedom that they could never attain unless they come to a saving knowledge of Jesus Christ as thier Lord and Saviour.

  27. Kind of reminds me of the Christian aid workers refusing international victims of natural disasters medicine and food for not converting to Christianity. None of it is right.

  28. Hydrovitae Please give me an example of some Christians doing that? If they were withholding aid in that way, then either there was circumstances that the media hasn\’t mentioned or they were not true followers of the way. God always gives people a choice and never forces another against his or her will.

  29. wow i was on a mission to find christian spaces and it looks like i\’ve found the jackpot!

  30. I am very impressed that my post got so much attention. Cover-ups and contradictions you ask for? As a lawyer this makes it fun. First of all, let us start by the refusal of the "Pope" to acknowledge that sexual abuse actually took place in the Church. As devoted Christians, I would like to hope that you all go to Church! The cover-ups include the refusal of countless bishops to actually confirm that they covered up for their priests, despite the horror that happened to countless innocent children. Let\’s go back in time! Around the time of Renaissance, countless scientists and freemasons were persecuted for practising science, and basically creating theories that went against natural law. The Church realized that their grip on society was faltering! Who would dare to challenge their authority? Similar to how George Bush considers all Arabs "terrorists" the Church considered all scientists "heretics", mainly because something they believed was being challenged. How about the countless people that were murdered in the Inquisition for displaying "witchlike qualities"? Does that ring a bell? Or the refusal of the Pope to confrim that he made a deal with Hitler to save Catholics, but kill Jews? This is just a tidbit of "cover-up."Cheers

  31. Stevie G.Everything you are dealing with has to do with the catholic church which was at times run by some very corrupt men who had no relationship with Jesus Christ. I am not a catholic and have never been. I am a believer and follower of Jesus Christ. Get your facts straight my friend true Christianity is not represented by the catholic church and it is not a religion. It is a relationship with a real and living person who loves each and everyone of us including you.

Leave a Reply

