Just another WordPress.com site

Are You a Survivor?


I remember watching a television show called Survivor. They took 16 people out of thousands that had applied to be on the show and stranded them on a deserted island in the South China Sea where a camera crew would film their every move. Every three days one of the castaways would be voted off the island by their peers. The last one left would win a million dollars. Viewers got to see lying, backstabbing and betrayal as they each vied to be the winner. Those with any scruples were voted of early and the one who was the most conniving of the bunch went on to win. The winner was a homosexual who liked to run around in the nude. It was a microcosm of what is really driving the world today. It’s the now the norm to step on others to make it to the top. Paul talks about these people in Romans chapter 1.

What does the Bible have to say about surviving? Anyone who uses this world’s methods to survive will not. They are destined for judgment and hell. They will be tried and found wanting

Then I saw a great white throne and him who was seated on it. Earth and sky fled from his presence, and there was no place for them. And I saw the dead, great and small, standing before the throne, and books were opened. Another book was opened, which is the book of life. The dead were judged according to what they had done as recorded in the books. The sea gave up the dead that were in it, and death and Hades gave up the dead that were in them, and each person was judged according to what he had done. Then death and Hades were thrown into the lake of fire. The lake of fire is the second death. If anyone’s name was not found written in the book of life, he was thrown into the lake of fire. Rev. 20:11-15.

Who are the real survivors? 1 John 5:3-5 says: This is love for God: to obey his commands. And his commands are not burdensome, for everyone born of God overcomes the world. This is the victory that has overcome the world, even our faith. Who is it that overcomes the world? Only he who believes that Jesus is the Son of God. They are those who have been washed in His blood and been made holy. Those who have been persecuted by this world and have stood firm in their faith. What are these survivors rewards?

Listen to what Jesus says in Revelation:

He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. To him who overcomes, I will give some of the hidden manna. I will also give him a white stone with a new name written on it, known only to him who receives it. Rev. 2:17

To him who overcomes and does my will to the end, I will give authority over the nations—— ‘He will rule them with an iron sceptre; he will dash them to pieces like pottery’ – just as I have received authority from my Father. I will also give him the morning star. Rev. 2:26-28

He who overcomes will, like them, be dressed in white. I will never blot out his name from the book of life, but will acknowledge his name before my Father and his angels. Rev 3:5

Him who overcomes I will make a pillar in the temple of my God. Never again will he leave it. I will write on him the name of my God and the name of the city of my God, the new Jerusalem, which is coming down out of heaven from my God; and I will also write on him my new name. Rev 3:12

To him who overcomes, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on his throne. Rev 3:21.

But best of all the promises is found in Rev 21:1-7:

Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, "Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away."

He who was seated on the throne said, "I am making everything new!" Then he said, "Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true."

He said to me: "It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To him who is thirsty I will give to drink without cost from the spring of the water of life. 7He who overcomes will inherit all this, and I will be his God and he will be my son.

Verse 7 says, He who overcomes shall inherit all things, and I will be His God and He shall be my child. To me this is a much greater reward than what a game show can offer.

Are you one who has been able to overcome all obstacles through Christ or do you feel like life is one big competition and you’ve been on the losing side for too long? Jesus loves you and His desire is for you to overcome. Can I promise you that thingos in your life will get better once you have accepted Him as Lord? No I can’t, they may get worse. But at least you will have a hope. A hope that this world can not take away. Promises that are true and a friend that will stick closer to you than anyone you have ever known. That friend, Jesus, will teach you how to overcome the world as He overcame it.

Will you turn to Him today? Life is so short. If you were to die tonight, do you know what would happen to your soul? There is only one of 2 places you can go: heaven or hell. Hell is not a place you want to go. It was made for the devil and his demons. The bible says that we all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. Romans 3:23. There is none righteous no not even one. Romans 3:10. Come to Jesus and ask His forgiveness, believe in Him and confess Him as Lord and Saviour. Salvation that comes from trusting Christ–which is the message we preach–is already within easy reach. In fact, the Scriptures say, "The message is close at hand; it is on your lips and in your heart."For if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved. Romans 10:8-10

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "Are You a Survivor?" (22)

  1. Good word Gerry !!! It is so true that there are no promises that if a person does except the Lord that life will be easy, cause truthfully,my life was hard right from the word "go" but it was for a reason, and that reason is because the Lord taught me to OVERCOME,Glory!!! trials and hardships is what forms our character, if we let it.It says in Hebrews 5:8,Though he were a Son yet he learned obediance by the things which he suffered;and being made perfect ,he became the author of eternal salvation unto all them that obey him….. It is the Overcomers that will walk in His glory and be the leaders in the end time!!! I would not change anything I went through in my life ,cause I would not Know Him the way I do now!!! Godbless you brother!! michele

  2. God bless you Gerry .. thanks again for sharing.Lori 🙂

  3. God bless you GerryAMEN,AMEN,AMEN…AMEN.. Glory to God. Thanks for your visit Gerry, I have such appreciation and respect for you. Your heart beats with the Lord\’s. it was through pain, that true worship was birthed in me. it was also through pain that I am STILL being changed from my own selfishness. Excellent word. Jesus is our true Brother and friend. Truly he does FILL all in all.

  4. Food for the hungry, Gerry! Thank you and God bless!A Mom in America

  5. Hey, this is an awesome space! I like to come here all the time so I can learn about the Lord. Could you tell me how you get windows media player on to a space? If you feel like telling me, could you please send it by e-mail? Thanks.

  6. Gerry You gave me the article: http://www.themarriagebed.com/pages/bible/app/naturism.shtmlI read that article in the spring and read a few times. Very well done. I believe in balancing things out here. Here is a response from someone who has been practising social nudism for 17 years. http://www.figleafforum.com/resources_critics_mbed.htmlI appreciate you GerryLori

  7. Hello again, my brother! I wish to bless you today in this way: "Grace (favor) to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ, who gave Himself for our sins so that He might rescue us from this present evil world, according to the will of our God and Father, to whom be the glory forevermore. Amen.

  8. Awesome space! God bless you and your family. Take care! 😉

  9. Good word Gerry!

  10. that was really good! its so true, and the division between the two camps is getting clearer and more prominent all the time. i rather trust Jesus than anything else. s. lizard

  11. he wasnt gay. In any case, would god have made a mistake in making homosexuals? and since so much of our being is shaped by factors out of our control, then how can we do evil? God does not play dice. He would not condemn things of his own doing. You spit in the face of reality.

  12. we all came from the same, first throbbing of life on earth. We ALL came from it. plants, animals, microbes, all of us. We are all one. Do not degradate what is no different from you. I hate nothing, as there is nothing to which i am not linked, which is not a part of me. I seek only to bring joy to as many as possible. allah be praised

  13. El Guya CommentoBetter get your facts straight. Richard Harch is a self-confessed homosexual. God did\’t make a mistake in creating anybody. It is man that chooses to sin and homosexuality is a sin. The bible says that the human heart is despretly wicked. Evil does exist. Are you telling me that a man that would pose as a clown during the day and lure young teenage boys to his house at night and then slaughter them is not driven by evil? God gave us a free will and we are the ones who choose between doing what is right and what is wriong. He doesn\’t want to condemn anybody, we condemn ourselves.

  14. hear me out… We all came from God, but we are not all one. There is a very big difference. God gaves the plants and animals to serve us. For food and clothing. I have heard this before. Lol, in a movie called Star Wars. It said we are all one with the force. It\’s also called eastern mysticism. Time to wake up and smell the roses. Man is unique, He is made in God\’s image. Plants and animals are not.

  15. Wow – awesome read!Praise The Lord for worshippers and brothers as thou!Blessings!

  16. God bless."At the great heart of humanity there is a deep…homesickness that never has been and never can be satisfied with anything less than a clear, vivid consciousness of the indwelling presence of God." H.Emilie Cady.It is such a privilege to have the Spirit of God within us wherever we may go. KNowing this, we can all experience an inner peace which nourishes our soul. We have the spiritual strenght that empowers us to face any situation with calm resolve.

  17. Gerry, that was one of the best posts I\’ve ever read, period."hear me out" I respect your beliefs but I don\’t think anyone here can condone Allah for you because there is only way to heaven and that is through Jesus. I was raised in a pentecostal church, so for example, what is the difference for me between Catholics and Muslims? Well catholics are my brothers and sisters, because the accept Jesus as the truth, the way, and the life, and they will go to heaven. Muslims don\’t, unfortunately. But I\’m glad to see you here, you can\’t have found a better website 🙂

  18. Hi Gerry,Havent stopped by for a while. Work is just completely taking over my life 😦 I got this job, and they expect alot from you……I hope you are well, I love Third Day, good choice!Blessing \’N Hugs,Launa

  19. Hey Gerry!Keep spreading the word of God.May he bless you more.Petth\’o!

  20. ´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶´´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶´´¶´´´¶¶´´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶´¶¶´¶¶´´´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶´´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´´´´¶¶´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶¶´´´´´¶¶´´´´´´´´¶¶´´´´´´´´´´¶¶´´´¶¶´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶¶´´¶¶´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶¶´´¶´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶´¶´¶´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶´¶´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶´´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶´¶´´´´´´´´´´´´¶¶´¶´´´´´´´´´´´¶´´´¶´¶´´´´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶´´´´¶´¶´´´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´´´¶¶´´¶´´´´¶´´¶´´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶´¶´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´¶´´¶¶´´´´´´´¶´´´´´¶´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´¶¶´´´¶¶´´´´´´¶´´´´¶´´´´¶¶¶¶´´´´´¶´´´´¶´´´´´´¶´´´¶´´´´´¶´´´´´´´¶´´´´¶´´´´´´¶¶¶¶´´´´´´´´´¶´´¶¶´´´´¶¶´´´´´´´´´´´´´´´¶¶¶´´¶´´´´´¶¶¶´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶´´´´´´¶´´´´´´´´¶¶¶´´´´´¶¶´´´´´´´¶¶´´´´´´´´´´´´¶¶´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´´´´´´´´¶¶´´´´´´¶¶´¶´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶´´´´´´´´¶´¶¶´´´´´´´´´¶´´¶¶´´´´´¶´´´¶´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶´¶´´´´´´´¶´´¶´´´¶¶´´´¶¶¶¶´¶´´´´´´¶´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´¶¶´´´´´´¶¶¶¶´´´´´¶´¶¶´´´´´¶¶´´¶´´´´´´´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´´´´´´´¶´´´¶¶´´´´´´´´´¶´´´¶´´´´´´´´´´¶´´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶´´´¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶¶Luke 12:24"Consider the ravens, for they neither sow nor reap; they have no storeroom nor barn, and yet God feeds them; how much more valuable you are than the birds!

  21. Hi,Gerry,thanks for ur message in my space,surely,i will keep praying for my mom,shes losing herself now,evil things around her right now,i must help her,and i know that God must help me,hope God can find her,and save her,she needs to be saved.God Bless!Amen!Nancy

  22. what an awesome msn space it really touched me.I am from the sault ste marie area

Leave a Reply

