Just another WordPress.com site

Fruit In Due Season


1 Blessed is the man
who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked
or stand in the way of sinners
or sit in the seat of mockers.

2 But his delight is in the law of the LORD,
and on his law he meditates day and night.

3 He is like a tree planted by streams of water,
which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither.
Whatever he does prospers.

Have you ever felt like the wheels of your life are spinning in the sand. You know that God has called you to ministry or given you a promise and yet everywhere you turn the road is blocked and you can’t move forward. To many it becomes frustrating and they give up, never coming into that place that God is leading them to or else they try to find another route to bring about that fulfilment themselves. They decide to try and help God out a bit. That is what Abraham and his wife Sarah tried to do. God had given them the promise of a son. The promise was given to him in Genesis 12:1-2 and then again in Genesis 15:1-6. But Abraham and his wife looked at their circumstances and decided that maybe they better help God out a little and in Genesis 16 we see Sarah offering her maidservant Hagar to Abraham that his heir might be found through her. Hagar gave birth to Ishmael and that act of disobedience has been costing the world ever since. God told Hagar in 16:12, that he would be a wild man, that his hand would be against every man and every man’s hand would be against him. How prophetic that has proved to be. Just look at what has been going on outside of Paris for the last week and you’ll see what I mean. The majority of terrorist acts in the world today are carried out by his decendents. But God was faithful to Abraham and Isaac was born to Sarah. Through the line of Isaac came the promise of salvation through Christ.

I have seen so many try to run ahead of God’s promises and wind up frustrated and cold. I saw friends who were on fire for the Lord go to bible collage before they were ready and come back empty shells. I have seen couples that were told to wait, rush into marriage and then wind up divorced a few years later. I have seen churches try to build in the flesh instead of waiting on the promise God gave them and wind up a shadow of what God had really called them to be. All because they chose to try and fulfill what God had promised them through the flesh instead of waiting on Him.

From the day I gave my heart over to Jesus, I knew I was called. For over twenty years that promise was not fulfilled. There were many times I wanted to turn back and just sit in my pew like the majority of believers do today. But His Spirit would not let me and throughout the years when I grew discouraged He would come to me and encourage me. One Sunday after an evangelistic crusade at my church, I sat anguishing in my soul about the calling that I knew I had upon my life and yet seeing no way that it could be fulfilled. I prayed in my heart and asked to God to confirm the calling through somebody else. I said "God it says in your Word that it is always confirmed through the mouths of two or three witnesses. Lord I need to know is this from me or is it from You?" No one heard what I said except God and no one knew what was in my heart because I hadn’t been speaking to anyone about it except the Lord. No sooner had I prayed that then my pastor came up behind me and laid his hand on my shoulder and said: "The Lord, says to you, it is now confirmed in the mouths of two or three witnesses." I nearly fell out of my seat. God answered so directly. There have been many times like that since then. Just like he encouraged Abraham concerning the promise He gave him, He has come to encourage me as well. I am now in that place that He was preparing for me. I now know that if I had tried to come to this place before I was ready, I would have failed as I was not ready for it.

I was reading a small devotion by Darlene Zschech of Hillsongs on Psalm 1. She was talking about the tree by the water and how that tree would produce fruit. But if you tried to harvest that fruit before it was ready it would be bitter, bland and colourless. It would also be hard to pick. But if you waited until the time was right then that fruit would just fall of the branch into your hand and it will be sweet, juicy and colourful.

If you have a promise from God, don’t try to push it. Let God bring you to that place. If He has promised it, He will do it. His word is truth. His promises sure. Don’t give up. Don’t get discouraged. He is preparing the way. Wait on Him. Feast on His Word and when the time is right the fruit will be there and it will be sweeter than anything you’ve known before.

Have you never heard or understood? Don’t you know that the LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of all the earth? He never grows faint or weary. No one can measure the depths of his understanding. He gives power to those who are tired and worn out; he offers strength to the weak. Even youths will become exhausted, and young men will give up. But those who wait on the LORD will find new strength. They will fly high on wings like eagles. They will run and not grow weary. They will walk and not faint. Isaiah 40:28-31 (NLT)

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "Fruit In Due Season" (18)

  1. Wow! God has just answered to one of my heart\’s cries! I know I have to wait on God but I felt torn lately, between waiting patiently on Him and \’take a step in faith\’. Guess that\’s my answer: keep praying and waiting for a confirmation about what to do when…Thank you Jesus! And thanks Gerry for the inspiration!!CathGod bless!

  2. God bless you GerryThanks for this post. I was once taught that fruit, some fruit grows in the shade or dark. The best place for growth is in the shade or the valley. Truly our walks can testify to this truth. It\’s who God is molding us to be LIKE. You know, I had Don Fransicos album many years ago. Listening to it brought back so many good memories. It is a song from Gods heart. Gerry, your a blessing brother, again thanks.

  3. Ciao Gerry,I am some happy that I stopped at your site today, I have been visiting all the Christian Blogs and reading them, looking for something, you know what I mean, "something from the Lord" and I have found my answer here.Quote……If you have a promise from God, don’t try to push it. Let God bring you to that place. If He has promised it, He will do it. His word is truth. His promises sure. Don’t give up. Don’t get discouraged. He is preparing the way. Wait on Him. Feast on His Word and when the time is right the fruit will be there and it will be sweeter than anything you’ve known before.I was so touched by this. I have been going through some really hard times lately, and have been feeling quite left out by everyone, and not knowing what to do, or where to turn….but this was my answer to prayer.Thanks Gerry for being such a Blessing on me today.God Bless You My Brother In The Lord.Have A Great Weekend.LoveShelleyxXxI hope that this will post, there is a lot of errors happening here when I post this, so God Bless it this time….

  4. well, a friend of mine, she wants to know, "If God loves everyone, then why does he send them to hell?"I\’m finiding it hard to explain. Can you help?

  5. Gerry,Below I have pasted a request that many people should be aware of, both for the sake of prayer for the troubled youth, and for awareness of our need to protect our families as much as possible. I hope you won\’t mind that I left it here for our fellowship worldwide to be aware of it.Philo "Permafried""This is an actual prayer request. It is not edited, only the name is removed for privacy.My prayer request is for my 15 year old son, ***********.Approximately 4 months ago, he gave into peer pressure at school and smoked weed with some friends. The experience was not a good one for him. He didn\’t enjoy the high at all, and the come down for him has been even worse. The day he smoked it he said that he almost immediately became paranoid about almost everything. I picked him up from school and brought him home where he went to sleep. When he woke up he complained that he was still high, that it hadn\’t gone away. He had slept for several hours. The high was still with him thenext day…and for the next two weeks. He began to believe that he had "permafried" his brain, givinghimself permanent brain damage somehow, and a fear of dying seemed to set in him like an obsession.Two weeks into this he said that he felt like he was "living in a bubble, that everything felt like it was a dream and not real." He felt like he may be the only real thing / person there was and everything else was imagined in some way. This has gone on for almost 4 months now.I took him to a children\’s psychiatrist last week, thinking that if I made the appointment that would be enough to snap him out of whatever mental state he had put himself in. My son was the happiest I had seen him recently when I told him where we were going. He spoke with the doctor for just over an hour, opening up to him and telling him everything he has felt over the last 4 months. I don\’t think he held anything back. The doctor told me at the end that this is real, what he is feeling, and it\’s called "derealization." It\’s a fear that is so strong that youdisassociate yourself with your environment. Essentially, you scare yourself out of living. He said that sufferers usually feel like they are living behind a glass wall,watching life from behind it (my son says he\’s in a bubble). I have been to several web sights to look this up, and each site scares me more than the last.The doctor said that it is fixable, and I will take my son tosee him as much as it takes to fix this. If I could take it onmyself to deal with instead of his having to, I would. But Ican\’t. I have prayed myself to God that He bring my son back to reality; that he be given the courage to come out from wherever it is he has put himself, and to give him faith that all will be alright. Please help me to pray for my son. Please help me to ask God to bring him back.Thank you.Name withheld by MountainWings for the sake of privacy.~A MountainWings Original~"

  6. Greetings from Vancouver Canada, Just dropping by and wanted to say hello and put a vote in for your site. Hope this day finds you and your children well. I am well and my children too. PTL!!! Your Blog today, Fruit in Due Season is awesome. I understand about waiting on God for the areas of ministry God has called you for. When I came to know Jesus as my Savior in 1977 I knew I was called to be a Missionary and to be someone who would serve. However the ministry I was called to do did not happen over night. Over a course of many years God has taken me through a life of moulding and shaping, teaching preparing me for the things He has called me to do. God has also blessed me with the gift of hospitality too. It is there that God has used my home as a training ground for my life as a Missionary sharing the Good News of Jesus Christ. I enjoy having my home open to serve my friends and to share Jesus. The ministries I am now blessed with didn\’t happen over night. God moulded me and shaped me into the woman I am today. He is still moulding me. I thank God for the doors that are opening for me to walk through. My Christian msn space is another area of ministry to proclaim the Message of Jesus that is fulfilling my calling. I am so glad I waited on God and didn\’t go ahead of Him. If I had done that I would of missed out on God\’s Blessings. The bottom line is I desire to be a vessel that God can use for His Glory. My brother I thank God for you and for the ministry He has given you to share with us who come by and read your Blogs. Indeed the teachings and the sharing are a blessing and are faith building. God Bless you, Your Sister in Christ, Judith

  7. ……………………wow your space is cool…………………………………………..wow

  8. (¯`v´¯) `•.¸.•´ ¸.•´¸.•´¨) ¸.•*¨) (¸.•´ (¸.•´ .•´¸¸.•´just out space surfingthought I\’d stop to say hiLove ShnevPS: really enjoyed your writings today,,, and the song that played while I was reading. Gerry, Pls pray for my father in law. He has just been told he has cancer. He\’s not a Christian,,, but I keep praying!!!:) Bev

  9. Gerry, This psalm has always been a good contact point for me to review my progress.The sequence of each part is clear: he who walks down a particular path will certainly eventually stand in what lies at the end of the path, and when he has developed a secure interest in what he experiences there, he will sit down. This is true for the wayward soul who seeks the Prodigal\’s path, and also true for the one who seeks a closer relationship with Jesus. God grant us the grace to seek that path that ends up with us sitting at the feet of Jesus.The sequence of steps is clearWalk in His presence;Walk in fellowship with HimStand in awe of him;Stand on His promises;Sit at His feet, listening;Sit down on the inside, not just on the outside;Delight in de "light"\’Meditate on His principles;Bear fruit;Give thanks;Repeat often.Philo

  10. hey,I love your space!just awesome :)your such an inspiration…thank you for letting God use youGod Bless!

  11. Great Gerry. Happy to hear of the miracles that happened to you. I think you have received so much confirmation for this online ministry also. God has really blessed this site.

  12. Awsome Space GerryI never thought of using it this way! I am also a believer, and its awsome to read your stories and about the things you have done. Great JobGarganchua

  13. The-Country-Cowboy said:

    Gerry!Don Francisco is great! I have some of the original vinyl records of his!!!

  14. nice space!spread the word online,what a great idea!keep up the good work!check out my lighter side pics, you might like them.thnxback

  15. Dear Pastor Gerry,I was having a problem with negativity in my comments a while back and therefore disabled all of my links and took most off so that they would not get hit by this. As more soldiers and there families are linking to my site now and the problem with "attacking" is now abated, thank God, I would like to re-link you guys. There are many soldiers and their families, who for one reason or another are very hungry for the word and are not getting fed. Rather than allowing The Word to be used as political ammunition by posting it on my site, I am putting your link back up so that these people can come here and rest in Jesus when they need to. I have not been shy about my Christianity, but I also will not let my faith become a battleground which is why I am deferring this to you. Please keep me posted if a problem arrises so that I can remove the link if necessary. I don\’t think it will, but I don\’t want what you have here to be attacked either. Thank you for the work you are doing here for the Lord!Your sister in Christ,A Mom in America

  16. Thank you and God bless!A Mom in America

  17. Pastor, you truly are a servant of God!I would never had heard your comforting words, had it not been the Will of God providing you with this mode of communication, and for His wish for me to read them. God has blessed you, my friend, and I thank him for it ! A Christian

  18. That\’s pretty encouraging Gerry, thanks. Sometimes it\’s hard to hold out for God… but then you have to get in perspective just how long he holds out for us.Something that occurred to me a while ago is that God "remembers" people in the Bible. It doesn\’t mean that he ever forgot them… it just means that he comes back to them after leaving them in a certain set of circumstances until the time was right… but when he "remembers", it means he thinks about that person with special compassion.In my "Every Day With Jesus" notes at the moment, the theme is strength in the broken places. It too talks about frustrated promises and plans, how God changes our circumstances so we can find the true fulfillment of his plan by going his way.Finally I recently purchased a CD by Katherine Jenkings… one of the tracks is "Amazing Grace" and a verse from that has been lodged in my mind of late:"The LORD has promised good to me, His Word my hope secures. He will my shield and armour be, As long as life endures."

Leave a Reply

