Just another WordPress.com site

Creation Calls


I originally wrote this for our church’s bulletin in the Fall of 2004 and since we are in the midst of Fall again I thought it would be good to post it once more.

 

The heavens tell of the glory of God.

The skies display his marvellous craftsmanship.

Day after day they continue to speak;

night after night they make him known.

They speak without a sound or a word;

their voice is silent in the skies;

yet their message has gone out to all the earth,

and their words to all the world. Psalm 19:1-4a (NLT)

For ever since the creation of the world His invisible nature and attributes, that is, His eternal power and divinity, have been made intelligible and clearly discernible in and through the things that have been made (His handiworks). So [men] are without excuse [altogether without any defence or justification] Romans 1:20 (AMP)

This morning as I was waiting for my lift to go to work my eyes were captured by a beautiful sunrise. The rays of the sun were streaming through the clouds making them shine gold. Below them flew seagulls their wings also tinted with gold. I found myself saying, God you painted all this for me this morning, oh how great and marvellous is your love towards me.

This fall 2004 has been one of the most beautiful I can remember. The colours have been absolutely gorgeous. Spring happens to be my favourite season with it’’s bright colours and beautiful smells, especially lilac, my favourite. But this fall has taken my breath away. The reds, the golds, the oranges and the yellows are so vibrant. No painter, no photograph could truly capture this beauty that God has created. It is amazing that from things dying can come such beauty as this. It reminds you that from Christ’’s death came the beauty of the resurrection.

There is a song written by Brian Doerksen called Creation Calls. The lyrics are beautiful.

I have felt the wind blow

whispering Your name

I have seen Your tears fall

when I watch the rain

 

How could I say there is no God

When all around creation calls

A singing bird, a mighty tree

The vast expanse of open sea

 

Gazing at a bird in flight

soaring through the air

Lying down beneath the stars

I feel Your presence there

 

I love to stand at ocean’’s shore

And feel the thundering breakers roar

To walk through golden fields of grain

‘‘Neath endless blue, horizon’’s frame

 

Listening to a river run

watering the earth

Fragrance of a rose in bloom

a new-born’’s cry at birth

 

I believe . . . I believe . . . . I believe . . .

1994 Mercy/Vineyard Publishing

CCLI Song No. 1346834

God created all this for us. All the beauty we see, the mountains, the seas, and the stars. He painted it all for us. His signature is found in every single one. So wondrous are His works. Man is without excuse as Paul said in Romans. Man can try and say all this just happened but he is deceiving himself. For these things all to have happened on their own would be like a tornado going into a junk yard and producing a fully functional 747 Jumbo jet. Man denies it because then that would mean that all his actions would be accountable to a higher power. He likes to believe that he controls his own destiny. But to deny God exists doesn’t mean you will escape judgement. You can say over and over again a thousand times I don’’t believe. It won’’t change a thing. You will still have to face Him one day.

Revelation 12:11-15 says; Then I saw a great white throne and him who was seated on it. Earth and sky fled from his presence, and there was no place for them. And I saw the dead, great and small, standing before the throne, and books were opened. Another book was opened, which is the book of life. The dead were judged according to what they had done as recorded in the books. The sea gave up the dead that were in it, and death and Hades gave up the dead that were in them, and each person was judged according to what he had done. Then death and Hades were thrown into the lake of fire. The lake of fire is the second death. If anyone’s name was not found written in the book of life, he was thrown into the lake of fire. This judgement is not for Christians and they have nothing to fear. It is for non-believers. Just to believe in God is not enough. You have to accept the fact that His son Jesus died for your sins, turn from them and invite Him to be Lord of your life. God loves you and has never intended this place for you. It is your choice.

Oh Lord we praise You for all Your marvellous works. There is none so wonderful. None so beautiful and loving as You are God. Thank-you for your creation, for in it we see Your love and care for us.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "Creation Calls" (8)

  1. hey man your space intregues me, im very curiouse as to know if you have any music recorded that you could send me, i love to hear new worship songs and from seeing what you listen to you seem very tasteful in your praise and worship.

  2. I like my new space too.. haha. See speaking to my pastors won\’t work. I live with them, they are my \’parents\’ and they like him. haha… They think marriage is totally an option.I talked to dad last night (he is the pastor at our church) and he said the same thing, that maybe we should just pray for his salvation and things like that. Ijust talked to him last night. Things are quite complicated though, because once I am 18, I no longer am a \’government child\’ and I could move back with him, but I am not so sure I want to anymore, because I that would mean sharing his bed… so I have a feeling that I would choose to not move back with him, until we are married, but I do not want to be a burden on the Sims for too long either, especially with a baby on the way. The only way I will move in is if we are married, but what if he was to propose and he has not received Christ yet? I don\’t want to say no, because I love him and I want to be with him…but I don\’t want to say yes and he won\’t ever come to Christ!! It is is so frustrating… thanks for your prayer though… it will be a help I\’m sure. Anyway the kids are all home from school so I have to get off the computer. I hope to hear from you soon!!!

  3. Greensboro NC Christian said:

    Gerry,I had you on my heart so I thought I stop in and say hello. I hope things are going well for you guys. I\’d like to know how you do that music thing as the site pops up. That\’s cool. Of course with my weird music tastes you might get something strange so maybe I shouldn\’t know how! Hey, I am preaching on worship the next two Sundays. All prayers appreciated. Please pass greetings along to your pastor – Paul right? Hope he\’s doing well. Peace and love in Christ. Joel in NC.

  4. Amen. Thanks for your words of wisdom. I hope many hear them that their eyes may be opened. I\’ve started a list of blogs on my own space, and I\’ve listed yours. I hope this is okay. If not, let me know.

  5. Hi, got ur blog link from Lawson\’s space… Awesome BlogGreeting to you and wish you have a blessing week ahead. meanwhile I will like to invite you to visit my space and drop a comment on my "Just a little though I feel like sharing today…" hope your encourage word could let divorced woman gain back confident, Thank you and God bless in Jesus name, Amen.P/S – Request to add your link to my list, share HIS word with all who need love from above!Angel from Singapore

  6. God bless you GerryThis is so beautiful. The song I do remember it. very powerful to God\’s beauty and creation. It makes me cry ,cry with thanksgiving. We can see, taste,and smell, and shout and hear our God. Blessings.

  7. ……….>………….> F R O M…………….> Forward>Now on msnSpaces……..>>You have a wonderful site here. Just surfing through Christian msnSpaces and I found you. I encourage you to stop by my website, Forward>Now on msnSpaces. When you do stop by and visit, I hope that my site is a blessing and an encouragement to you. God Bless.Yours in Kingdom Advancement,Joseph CherryForward>Now on msnSpaces Website Manager

Leave a Reply

