Just another WordPress.com site

Did God Really Say?


Now the serpent was more subtle and crafty than any living creature of the field which the Lord God had made. And he [Satan] said to the woman, Can it really be that God has said, You shall not eat from every tree of the garden? Genesis 3:1 (AMP)

It’s no surprise to me that satan’s tactics have not changed down through the ages. He still says to those who are the Lord’s: "Are you sure God really said that?" or "Are you sure that the bible is really God’s word? After all there is so many good things in other religions. Open up your eyes and see that maybe the bible doesn’t have all the truth after all?" Every time I hear those words I hear the hiss of the snake.

Those who are satan’s would tell you that some things that are called sin in the bible are not really a sin. It means something else. It has been misinterpreted. How could things that feel so good and bring such pleasure be a sin? "Eve, Adam, Look at the fruit and see how nice and tasty it looks." Like them many give in and are lost forever.

For every living soul belongs to me, the father as well as the son——both alike belong to me. The soul who sins is the one who will die. Ezekiel 18:4

For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 6:23

We have whole churches that teach things contrary to God and have thrown out the bible all together because they listened to a lie. Denominations that were once great moves of God have fallen to great depths because they followed the path of the flesh instead of the Spirit. They listened to those who thought they knew better than God and had a better way. Those churches are now like empty tombs full of empty pews with only the dead attending. If only they had heeded the warning Paul had given.

I urge you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and put obstacles in your way that are contrary to the teaching you have learned. Keep away from them. 18For such people are not serving our Lord Christ, but their own appetites. By smooth talk and flattery they deceive the minds of naive people. Romans 16:17-18 (NIV)

You need to keep your eyes open for people like this. People who will say they used to be a believer thinking that they have found a greater truth but in reality followed after a false teaching and have begun teaching it themselves. They heard a lie and believed it. Peter says of them:

But there were also false prophets among the people, just as there will be false teachers among you. They will secretly introduce destructive heresies, even denying the sovereign Lord who bought them——bringing swift destruction on themselves. 2Many will follow their shameful ways and will bring the way of truth into disrepute. 3In their greed these teachers will exploit you with stories they have made up. Their condemnation has long been hanging over them, and their destruction has not been sleeping.

11Bold and arrogant, these men are not afraid to slander celestial beings; 11yet even angels, although they are stronger and more powerful, do not bring slanderous accusations against such beings in the presence of the Lord. 12But these men blaspheme in matters they do not understand. They are like brute beasts, creatures of instinct, born only to be caught and destroyed, and like beasts they too will perish.

13They will be paid back with harm for the harm they have done. Their idea of pleasure is to carouse in broad daylight. They are blots and blemishes, revelling in their pleasures while they feast with you. 14With eyes full of adultery, they never stop sinning; they seduce the unstable; they are experts in greed——an accursed brood! 15They have left the straight way and wandered off to follow the way of Balaam son of Beor, who loved the wages of wickedness. 16But he was rebuked for his wrongdoing by a donkey——a beast without speech——who spoke with a man’s voice and restrained the prophet’s madness.

17These men are springs without water and mists driven by a storm. Blackest darkness is reserved for them. 18For they mouth empty, boastful words and, by appealing to the lustful desires of sinful human nature, they entice people who are just escaping from those who live in error. 19They promise them freedom, while they themselves are slaves of depravity——for a man is a slave to whatever has mastered him. 20If they have escaped the corruption of the world by knowing our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ and are again entangled in it and overcome, they are worse off at the end than they were at the beginning. 21It would have been better for them not to have known the way of righteousness, than to have known it and then to turn their backs on the sacred command that was passed on to them. 22Of them the proverbs are true: "A dog returns to its vomit,"and, "A sow that is washed goes back to her wallowing in the mud." 2 Peter 2:1-3, 11-22 (NIV)

For 25 years I was blind and believed that maybe there was other ways to God. That is until I had a personal encounter with Jesus Christ. When I met Him a light turned on and what I believed was just fairy tales and written by men, became real and alive. God’s Spirit reached into my heart and spirit and my heart was changed. There is not a thing that anyone could say or do that could change the course that God has put me on. There is not a thing or any other religion that will give you the answers you are looking for. All others are just copycats of the real thing.

God’s word never changes. What was sin yesterday is still sin today. You can’t rationalize it away. You can’t philosophize it to suit your own needs. To those that are perishing, it will always be a closed book. They will always be looking for ways to discredit it. God’s word has stood the test of time and many down through the ages have tried to destroy it and have failed. Many have foolishly challenged God, the creator of this entire universe and thought that they knew better then Him or the words that He has given to man to their shame.

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever. Hebrews 13:8

Heaven and earth will pass away, but my words will never pass away. Matthew 24:25

Watch out for these men and women who will change the word of God into a lie. Watch out for their smooth and flattering words. Satan is the father of lies and has been a liar since the beginning. Don’t believe a word he or those that unknowingly or knowingly follow him say. They will tell you to speak plainly to them without using God’s word and yet that is always how Jesus confronted the devil. With the Word.

Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the desert to be tempted by the devil. 2After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry. 3The tempter came to him and said, "If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread."

4Jesus answered, "It is written: ‘Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’"

5Then the devil took him to the holy city and had him stand on the highest point of the temple.

6"If you are the Son of God," he said, "throw yourself down. For it is written: " ‘He will command his angels concerning you, and they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.’"

7Jesus answered him, "It is also written: ‘Do not put the Lord your God to the test.’"

8Again, the devil took him to a very high mountain and showed him all the kingdoms of the world and their splendour. 9"All this I will give you," he said, "if you will bow down and worship me."

10Jesus said to him, "Away from me, Satan! For it is written: ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve him only.’"

11Then the devil left him, and angels came and attended him. Matthew 4:4-11 (NIV)

If God’s word was good enough for Jesus, then it is good enough for me. Lik Paul said, have nothing to do with these people who teach things other than what you have learned. When God says something He means it. His word is true and alive. Every single word.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "Did God Really Say?" (23)

  1. i\’m at work and dont have much time to read all of your last post, but thats a good realization in your first paragraph. i\’ll hae to read the rest latermatty

  2. Mr MaloneYou have had your say and you will not use this space as a platform for your veiws. I here the hiss of the snake in every word you say.

  3. MrMaloneThe thing that I feel sorry for Ryles is that you left the truth for a lie. See before I was a believer I investigated a lot of things. I looked into Christianity. I looked into the bible. The devil has put a lot of misinformation out there and you fell into one of his traps. I am almost 50 years old and I have seen so much of God\’s hand and how much cares for and loves those that are His. The truth really does set you free, but you have to want it. Your anology of the blind man was good except that you have it the wrong way around. I do pray you find your way back. Until then I cannot and will not allow you to infect those that are young in the faith. A lot of which visit my space on a daily basis.

  4. Hi Mr. Desjardins! You came on my space and asked if you could put my space\’s link here and I would be really glad if you did! Thank you very much for visiting my space!Cath 🙂

  5. I truly recommend u to read Decipher by Stel Pavlou. n also for the good ppl goto heaven dispute, if god only allow worshippers to enter heaven, then id say id rather goto Hell fer all true geniuses, patriots, etc etc. will wind up in Hell fer one, le majority of humanity does not believe in god wutever they claim otherwise. two, the Bible strictly claims tat all idolaters (letz say scientists who worship science), sexualli immoral (which is abundant in all the land of God), fortune-tellers (psychic, theorists), murderers (military), dogs (bulk of normal civilians), and any1 of false speech n false life (advanced science, archaeology, wutever..) will all wind up in Hell which makes the Devil a very rich, resourceful, and wise \’evil one\’ n thus marking Hell as the long sought Utopia. if god conjures up another stream of speech stating tat Einstein, Alexander le Great, n all celebrities may enter…then ill be damned. Truly, i regard god as a scavenger.

  6. RioHell is not a place that God wants any of us to go. It was not created for us but for the devil and his demons. It is not a place where you will be able to have any kind friendship or fun. It is a place of eternal suffering alone. God loves you and you need to understand He sent His only DSon for you that you could find a way out.Not all the people who work at the things that you mentioned are non believers. Many are Christians and have to be because of their study in these areas. They have come to realize that there has to be a God.And your stats are wrong. More people believe in God now than at any time during the history of the earth. The gospel is now going to the four corners and every single nation has now been reached.

  7. Rio,God gives everyone a great chance at getting in His kingdom, so great a chance, that He sent His only begotten Son, Jesus, to die and rise up from the dead so that we could be saved from hell and live free from sin! The peace that comes with salvation is something that no yoga, religion or drug can buy. The freedom that comes with it just makes your heart leap with joy in everything you do, all the time! The hope that lasts even in the darkest hours is something that the human mind cannot make up, it only comes from knowing the Lord. Someone said that all religions are the same and it\’s true! Religion is man trying to climb his way up to God. The truth is God reaching His hand down to us, HE made the move, so all we have to do is grab His hand and live close to His heart, accept Jesus for who He is and live in the freedom He gives…the freedom to love Him, ourself and others…Cath (hope this helps) xox

  8. Hey,I was just roaming around in *space*and I clicked on your site…Doing a wonderful job,keep it up!God Bless you~Matty P.

  9. ~ Pauline ~ said:

    Hi,You talk about false prophets and teachers amongst the church. My questions areHow can one spot the real prophets and or teachers over the false ones? How can we expose them when they are in our churhes?Saten is the father of all lies and the biggest deciever.New christians can fall into that trap, I\’m sure some teachers themselves have fallen to satans traps. Thank you for your time

  10. In Need of AnswersTo best guard yourself against falsehood, know the truth. To spot a counterfeit, study the real thing. Any believer who, “rightly dividing the word of truth” (2 Timothy 2:15), makes a careful study of the Bible can identify false doctrine. For example, a believer who has read the activities of the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit in Matthew 3:16-17 will immediately question any doctrine that denies the Trinity. Therefore, “step one” is to study the Bible and judge all teaching by what the scripture says.Jesus said “a tree is known by his fruit” (Matthew 12:33). When looking for “fruit,” here are three specific tests to apply to any teacher to determine the accuracy of his or her teaching:1) What does this teacher say about Jesus? In Matthew 16:15, Jesus asks, “Whom say ye that I am?” Peter answers, “Thou art the Christ, the Son of the living God,” and for this answer Peter is called “blessed.” In 2 John 9, we read, “Whosoever transgresseth, and abideth not in the doctrine of Christ, hath not God. He that abideth in the doctrine of Christ, he hath both the Father and the Son.” In other words, Jesus Christ and His work of redemption is of utmost importance; beware anyone who denies that Jesus is equal with God, who downplays Jesus’ substitutionary death, or who rejects Jesus’ humanity. First John 2:22 says, “Who is a liar but he that denieth that Jesus is the Christ? He is antichrist, that denieth the Father and the Son.”2) Does this teacher preach the gospel? The gospel is defined as the good news concerning Jesus’ death, burial, and resurrection, according to the scriptures (1 Corinthians 15:1-4). As nice as they sound, the statements “God loves you,” “God wants us to feed the hungry,” and “God wants you to be wealthy” are NOT the complete message of the gospel. As Paul warns in Galatians 1:7, “There be some that trouble you, and would pervert the gospel of Christ.” No one, not even a great preacher, has the right to change the message that God gave us. “If any man preach any other gospel unto you than that ye have received, let him be accursed” (Galatians 1:9).3) Does this teacher exhibit character qualities that glorify the Lord? Speaking of false teachers, Jude 11 says, “They have gone in the way of Cain, and ran greedily after the error of Balaam for reward, and perished in the gainsaying of Core.” In other words, a false teacher can be known by his pride (Cain’s rejection of God’s plan), greed (Balaam’s prophesying for money), and rebellion (Korah’s promotion of himself over Moses).For further study, review those books of the Bible that were written specifically to combat false teaching within the church: Galatians, 2 Peter, 2 John, and Jude.Hope that helps you

  11. •δαмbεяяίεѕ said:

    you are so devoted, i wish i can be like you!!in His graceSam

  12. Hi Gerry,I was roaming my friends space and the heading of your space caught my eyes.Wow! I\’m amazed by you work on your space; I love to see people who fear God and preach His word, gospel and salvation enthusiastically.I love the song you put on; it not only gives a peaceful feeling to me but also remembers me to give prasie to God of mercy while I\’m listening to it.What is the name of the song? And how do you put it on to your space? I also want to put song like that on my space.

  13. God bless you GerryIt is so vital that we hide the word in our hearts. The very thing satan uses to deceive and manipulate. he is a stratigist who goes about deception slowly and then deceiving with cunning craftiness. I like what the Apostle Paul said .." Lest satan should get an advantage of us; for we are not ignorant of his devices"..2 Corinthians 2:11. This is for every teacher or leader of ministry. To know the devices of satan. It\’s sad to see many fall prey for a watered down version of the word.

  14. Dear Gerry, I have read your guidelines, rest assured. I hope I can word this in a curous manner and one that does not come across as, derogitory. I was once a christian but I have lost my faith long ago. My mother is still a devote christian and we often talk about it; however, it is usually unresolved. I am not here to bait you into an argument. I am not an atheist. One only has to look at the world of biology on a cellular level to understand that the perfectness of life and its high organizition could not have come randomly from amino acids cooling on the surface of a new planet. I also find myself looking to the ten commandments since loosing my faith, they make sense and I wish everyone was able to follow them, it would sure make this world pleasant. However, I do get angry at people coming to my door step and being very pushy with their views and to me that does not seem a good way to further a faith, should people not welcome it rather than be coerced? I am never rude to those who knock on my door, but they cannot answer my questions and I find I can see through their intent. I watch these tele-evangilists (spelling?) and the people crying in the stadium… and who am I to say that these people are wrong, yet it seems such a scam to me. From what I know of the bible it would seem wrong that God would act through a person to "heal" like Jesus did when he walked the earth. I shake my head, and think how different is that from the temples of old in jerulselum when Jesus stormed them and over turned their tables of gold? I am a little off topic. I look at the muslim religon and see they are just as devoted as christains to their faith, I am not talking about the fanaticals who have twisted the Koran to their will for power. When I was a christian, i was taugh that muslims where wrong and that christianity was the true faith. I am not a muslim, just to let you know this comment will not head that direction. However, I admire my mum through all my questions he still has faith, she believes truely and undoubtably and i feel guilt after i question her. Like a pillar of stone, her faith stands strong. However, I cannot, I see religon as religon, i see it as a tool of power to control the minds of others instead of teaching faith. I am agnostic and I have come to the believe that religon is a human construct, maybe thats why he said to moses that people will not worship idols, that i get, but then i wrestle with the symbol of the cross and pictures of saints and what not, are these not idols? however maybe thats the limitations of the human mind on the bible? You can see i struggle, I am searching for answers… yet i look up the word faith: Belief that does not rest on logical proof or material evidence. How do you do it? Like my mother, how to people have faith in today\’s world? I fail to understand it. I am not here to say your wrong, I admire that you can just believe, not believe, but know that there is with out solid proof (my point of view only, i realize there is proof enough to those who believe). Am I saving my soul by asking this? Is it selfish to wonder and question about life after death. Is it selfish to ask, is it enough that i try to follow the ten commandments and at the end of my life, I let what ever it is judge me for the events that transpired about me?Trying to understand.

  15. Hi Gerry… I know what you mean. At a youth meeting the other week, we were having a discussion about loads of stuff (amasing considering the kids aren\’t "heavily" churched). One lad asked about the Second Coming. We spoke of the fact that nobody knew when Jesus would return… but the lay reader who is in charge of the group also said that we don\’t know "how" either (when asked if he\’d come back as a baby or a man). I gently pointed out that the Bible\’s pretty clear that Jesus is coming back "in like manner as he disappeared" i.e. on the back of the clouds. I pointed out the scripture in Acts. She replied to me that "yes but that one\’s a bit dodgy" WHAT?????!!!!!!! I thought to myself. Totally dodgy, but the trouble is that we don\’t have an authority figure in the church at present… and because of the ways of men it may be quite some time. Please pray for our church… it is a hard season.BTW congrats on being one of the MSN top sites (listed on what\’s Your Story?)Blessings in the name of The LORDN

  16. lil chi chi said:

    to gerry, i feel traped all the time in life and i can\’t stand the feeling it gives me. i feel like i don\’t have a meaning or a purpose. but my grandma says every one of gods chilldren have a pupose. dose this mean that our purpose is to finde one? sencerly: joline

  17. Princess_esora said:

    all these comments. . . Joline, I wish ur site wasn\’t restricited. I would love to talk to you about purpose. . . and I wish and pray that everyone that visits places like this would see the Love reflecting off of us. God is so faithful in Showing himself. we can\’t test him and say move that curtain if u are real… we have to trust and wait for him to answer. I know with out a doubt that Jesus is real, and that he is good, and that He suffered so stinken much for us. he took all the junk we did and took it upon himself to take the punishment WE deserve! there is no greater gift than that.

  18. Hi Gerry!Long time no comment, I know I know, I\’m sorry I havn\’t been around lately. I have been busy these days 🙂 I started homeschooling Cassidy this year. Yay Kindergarten lol She is doing really well, already read her first book wich consisted of 9 words the other night. I\’m such a proud mama lol Anyways I hope you are doing well and I LOVE the new look of your space! Totally rockin! Oh and a very nice picture of you 🙂 Cheers:)Em

  19. Teresa Dawn said:

    Wow great post Gerry, I really enjoyed reading it. And oh so very true. God Bless You,Teresa Dawn

  20. Hi Gerry..just popping in to say hi and God bless. Excellent blog..we are in the last days and the lies of Satan are coming fast and furious..his days are growing shorter and many are being deceived. My prayer is that those who are being drawn by the Holy Spirit will read these blogs and be led to find the Truth. God Bless

  21. Hey GerryI haven\’t been here in a while, so i wanted to come say hi while i have the time.I love the space, and it was a great post! There is a lot of false teaching, especially in the church nowadays. I find the worst is making the great commission a non-priority! It was the the biggest and most emphasized of what Jesus said, and the great commission (going into the world and telling everyone the Gospel) is the most important!Have a great week, and keep on this good work!

  22. Ciao Gerry,I read your blog and it is wonderful and so true, and I also see that you had a few comments on it…great!!I pray that God will guide and bless you in all that you do and say…your are a wonderful man of the Lord, and keep up the Great Blogging for the work of the Lord….The Lord is Awesome…..I love the Lord with My Whole Heart.Say a Big Hello to Pastor Paul and his wife, and congrat them on their soon to arrive baby…that is so wonderful…I am very happy for them, they look like such a happy family of God…I pray that Pastor Paul will get his site up and running soon as well.All is well with us here in Italy, we have found a good church to go to, and attend it often. God answers prayers in His perfect timming, and I am so Thankful for all His Blessings that he has given to me.Have a Great Weekend Gerry.God Bless You My Brother In the LordLoveShelleyxXx

  23. I am happy there are Christains on msnkarissa

Leave a Reply

