Just another WordPress.com site

Diamonds


"Dear friends, don’t be surprised at the fiery trials you are going through, as if something strange were happening to you. Instead, be very glad – because these trials will make you partners with Christ in His suffering, and afterward you will have the wonderful joy of sharing His glory when it is displayed to all the world." 1Peter 4:12-13

"Dear brothers and sisters, whenever trouble comes your way, let it be an opportunity for joy. For when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be strong in character and ready for anything." James 1:2-4

The Christian walk is not an easy one. You are swimming against the current in this world and you are bound to hit some pretty big waves. Jesus said that because the world hates Him it will hate you as well, (John 15:18-19) because you belong to Him. Jesus never promised to remove our problems but promised He would be there with us through them. They come to make us strong. They come to purify us. They come to make us like Jesus.

The Lord showed me that a process that takes place in nature is what takes place in a Christians life. A lump of coal is one of the dirtiest rocks you can find. If you handle it, it leaves black marks on your hands and clothes. But if you take that lump of coal and apply heat, pressure, and time, a transformation takes place and that lump of coal becomes a diamond. A precious jewel.

When Christ first found us, all of us were like that lump of coal. We were dirty with sin. He picked us up and washed us with His blood and then using the pressures of this world and the cost of serving Him, in time He lovingly created diamonds. People who have counted the cost and say no matter what I will serve Him. Like Job they say; "He knows the way that I take; when He has tested me, I shall come forth as gold." Job 23:10.

People are looking for real hope and real joy. They are watching us, seeing if our faith will sustain us. Many souls have been won to the kingdom simply because they saw the joy with which Christians faced trials.

How do you face your trials? Do you do it with groaning and complaining? Or do you count every trial as an opportunity to grow, to draw nearer to our Saviour? Do you persevere? Jesus says this in Revelation 3:10-13; "Because you have obeyed My command to persevere, I will protect you from the time of great testing that will come upon the whole world. Look I am coming quickly. Hold on to what you have, so that no one will take away your crown. All who are victorious will become pillars in the Temple of My God, and they will never have to leave it. And I will write God’s name on them, and they will be citizen’s in the city of My God – the new Jerusalem that comes down from heaven from My God." And they will have a new name inscribed upon them." Amen. Lord, we look froward to that day.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

  

Comments on: "Diamonds" (28)

  1. heyi am learning french at uni – just for fun. ITs a beautiful language.Sarah

  2. It is amazing to see what God can do with what we think is a bad situation. I have learned over the past 7 or so years about complaining and how to look at something that just doesnt go my way. I have learned that no matter what I will rely on His guidance and know that He is there for me 100% leading me and keeping me in His will even though it seems to be a really sucky situation for me. Blessings, and thank you for your encouraging words from God word.Bethany.

  3. Hi! Thank you very much for that piece of encouragement! I just asked the Lord to give a promise that I can meditate on today and the last verses written on your blog were right what I needed! God bless you and keep pressing towards Jesus because He IS using so much!:)

  4. I will Declare God where I go.Pro 2:8 He keeps the paths of judgment, and guards the way of His saints. Pro 3:6 In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths. Free Bible Downloads Has Everything!!!!http://www.e-sword.net/"Praise God" May His Glory Shine in you…

  5. this is a very strengthening sermon, may we all be changed in jesus thank you.

  6. Happy Thanksgiving Gerry. God bless you and your family.

  7. Have a Happy ThanksgivingErika

  8. Yes its true, not only do they make you stronger, but bring you closer to Him. I see it is as "bringing us down to bring us up"Happy Thanksgiving!

  9. Many Blessings Gerry, How precious your ministry on faith as precoius as Diamonds, So truthful and full of Gods Glory, May your weekend be a joy and full of his love as you share Thanksgiving with your wonderful Family, Happy Thanksgiving, Hugs Verna!

  10. Gerry,Your thoughts and comments would be appreciated at a new space I have created with the Bible as the focal point. It is found at http://spaces.msn.com/members/new-testament-letters. Please let me know what you think. I also have posted a blog at WAWA asking about how to add music to a space. Could you help me out with that as well?Philo

  11. Gerry,I am getting the idea that this is the Canadian time for the Thanksgiving Day tradition. If I am reading this correctly, I wish you all the best of what God has to offer. The empowerment to utter a word of thankfulness is a gift only he can offer, or make real. As he inspired in 1 Thessalonians 5, in everything give thanks, and that takes a lot of grace.Philo

  12. Hi Gerry`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨::::::(\\_(\\::::::AMBROSIA THE FAIRY::::::(\\_(\\::::::::::::::(=\’ :\’):::::PASSED ALSO HERE::::::::(=\’ :\’):::::::::::::(,(\’\’)(\’\’):::CIAO FROM ITALY.kISS ::::((\’\’)(\’\’):::::¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•

  13. this doesn\’t really have anything to do with your blog since i didn\’t really read it (lol) but today is sunday and my family was going to go to church but we didn\’t because we forgot to set our alarms, and this is what happened last week too. is it bad not to go to church? i know you don\’t have to go to church to be a christian and everything but does God get mad when you don\’t? thanks.:Kaitlin:.

  14. wow,I really needed to read that…keep it up bro!*high five*~RandyHappy Thanksgiving!~

  15. Happy Thanksgiving Gerry!Love,Rob

  16. Gerry,With all of my heart I ask for you to help us set up a prayer chain for my mother who I just found out will undergo open heart surgery all day tomorrow, starting at 7 AM. She is 75, but has had a very robust health, with the exception of injuries due to falls over the past year and a half. We don\’t have the financial means to travel the 1000 miles we are from her, should anything unforeseen occur. But I believe she will be delivered again, for the sake of her wonderful love to all of us. I hope so, anyway.Philo

  17. Love to see people share their faith Jesus is it He is the way, the truth & the life

  18. hai, I add you . i also Christian 我在中国问候你,主内的朋友*-)I come from Shanghai.

  19. thank you 🙂

  20. Hello, Your words are inspiring for people with the christian belief… are you a pure dedicated christian? I have a question… they say that you can only be saved by letting jesus into your heart… well what about those kids that grow up in a distant land unaware of anything related to jesus.. does that mean they go to hell? Christianity is a pretty weird concept. By the way, it doesn\’t say anywhere in the bible that you should believe in the bible.. so that means that everything said about the lord could be interpreted as only being fictional. Do any of you often do debates? I am curious to know why people believe in faith.

  21. Happy Thanksgiving Gerry! Jazz the Amazing Moondragon

  22. Let\’s just say that church is more our benefit than for God\’sChurch gives you opportunity to, and to meet fellow Christians and to serve . I have learned through experience that you can\’t be isolated Christian. We need each other. I find What other place can we can find other more easily? I also find that studying the Bible in a group is much more interesting because I benefit from the different prespectives. I have heard some lively debates in the groups that I have attended

  23. Sly,For your second question:Some reason for the Bible historical reliablity The NT was written in short time after Jesus\’ death, before any legends could develop.There are many manuscript for the NT than all other surviving literature of AntiquityThe Gospel are accurate on all major details ( It is important to remmeber, that they are selective biographies and the writers had different purpose for them. Therefore, they inculde only certain details about Jesus)The writer of NT could have not gained anything for fabcraiting a lie about Jesus. The Jew would have been too happy to disprove them. They were presecuted and killed and wen through servere hardshipWomen were the first to see Jesus In Jewish culture of the first centuries women testomies were not vaild. Therefore, the writers , who were male would have not inculded this account unless it were true.The Bible does assert its own authority most notably in 2 Timothy 3:16."16All Scripture is God-breathed[inspired] and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness,For your first questionAt the end during the period between when t church is taken away and Jesus return called the tribulation , everyone will have a chance to hear and respond to message In Romans2:14-16 Paul talks about the law written on the human heart God will judge them by their conscience. (i.e. instinctive knowledge of God\’s requirements, the law referring to the Jewish law ) 14(Indeed, when Gentiles, who do not have the law, do by nature things required by the law, they are a law for themselves, even though they do not have the law, 15since they show that the requirements of the law are written on their hearts, their consciences also bearing witness, and their thoughts now accusing, now even defending them.) 16This will take place on the day when God will judge men\’s secrets through Jesus Christ, as my gospel declares.IIf you are having some intelecutal problems with Christainity Here are some books you can read that will sum up the arguments better than I canHandbook of Christain Apologetics Peter Kreeft and Ronald TacelliThe Case For Christ and The Case For Faithby Lee Storbel I hope my answer helped you

  24. The-Country-Cowboy said:

    Gerry, I know many people that read your blog get a laugh from my Pip and Squeak blogs, I hope you don\’t mind if I let everyone know via your site that I have posted a new one.Thanks,Isaac Pip and Squeak release their new show: Sayings. Now available for reading on my blog.

  25. Yes it\’s right… i am going through the hard time to deal with the warfare over my mind and emotions… i know God teaches me how to overcome them.. but God also has a good purpose for me to go through the trials is getting me closer to God more and more! God led me to a christian counsellor in my church last sunday…. we will make the apointments for him to be my counsellor how to deal with my mind and emotions… God is so good for me… because He knows i really need help and He led this counsellor coming to my church till i found him….he is very good in helping me and to tell me many verses . I praise Him for meet my need…. he said in positive, " weakness is good.. it causes us to trust in God!"; " Satan\’s job is to make us strong in God!", " satan push you away, you move closer to God!" Alway remmy, when something is strange in your trial, just think that Jesus walks with you in every rough time , God really does! God is in you and He sees how you face .. know how you feel…. but let Jesus carry you through…. taht\’s what i am going through the trials now….pray for me please.. till i have HIs victory…

  26. Virtual Potluck BBQ! You\’ve been officially invited to my virtual potluck BBQ! It will be 6pm today(Wednesday) mountain time. This is a potluck so be creative and bring a dish or two that\’s your favorite and drop it off at any time. Lets see what we end up with on our bbq menu…Everyone welcome!

  27. Gerry your blog entries are always great!I want to add a little quote here "Calm sea\’s don\’t make sailors". I dunno, I think that\’s a pretty good idea of how God shapes us through our trials. Take care, and by the way I hope you had a good Thanksgiving (turkey day!)Max

  28. Gloria <3 said:

    This blog is great. God bless you.I have a question, though. How did you get the Windows Media Player Module? I would like to do that as well.

Leave a Reply

