Just another WordPress.com site


Dedicated to my wife, who was my lover and best friend whom I lost to mental illness in 1993. We were knit together in the palm of His hand. No one can take your place, ma ti’ coulombe. 

 

September 1st 1984

 

Prelude

Guests are being seated.

Recorded music: "For the Bride" by John Michael Talbot

 

Welcome and Announcements

1) No confetti to be thrown on the premises.

2) No photographs to be taken during the ceremony except for the official photographer.

 

Sermon (In French only) – Pastor Daniel St. Laurent

Pastor Ken Bombay leads the congregation in the Lord’s Prayer. (Pastor St. Laurent leads in French)

 

Processional

1) Recorded – Song of Songs by John Michael Talbot

(Procession to be simultaneous down two centre-side aisles.)

Men stand on the organ side of the platform and the women on the piano side.

2) Groom proceeds down the right aisle and remains at the front waiting. Then the Pastor Ken Bombay shall say:

"Do you Gerry Allen Desjardins, as you approach the alter of God, purpose that the home you now establish shall be a Christian home? Do you pledge that the Lord Jehovah shall be your God? Do you seek by His grace to be a man who in all of the relationships of life will conduct himself as a servant to his Lord Jesus Christ? If so, answer "I do.""

 

The Bridal Entrance

Recorded music – Arise by John Michael Talbot

Pastor says: Shall we rise?

Bride proceeds to the front pew on the arms of her father. Mother of the bride joins them.

Pastor says: The congregation may be seated.

After asking the parents of the bride and groom if they consented to this marriage, the bride and the groom proceed to the alter together.

 

Vows

Pastor Ken Bombay says: "Please join your right hands."

Gerry, repeat after me: "Elaine, I love you with all of my being. I promise to be loyal and true to you, the Lord being my Helper. To sustain you in all the challenges of our life together. To strive to make our marriage a living example of Christ’s love for the church. To endeavour to acknowledge Jesus as Lord of our Union and to keep you uppermost next only to Him all the days of our lives."

Pastor St. Laurent says:

Elaine répéte après moi. Gerry, je t’aime de tout mon coeur. Je te donne toute ma vie et tout ma loyauté. Je tenterai de me soumettre à toi aussi longtemps que tu suivras Jésus Christ. Je tiendra ta main quand tu tombaras et réjouirai quand tu réussiras. Je te garderai toujours au premier plan de ma vie seul, après notre Seigneur Jésus Christ à l’egard de Son nom et de Sa grace tous les jours de notre vie.

 

The Word

A) Georges Forbes – Ephesians 5:22-29

22Wives, submit to your husbands as to the Lord. 23For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. 24Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.

25Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, 27and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. 28In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. 29After all, no one ever hated his own body, but he feeds and cares for it, just as Christ does the church——

B) Pina Constantini – 1 Corinthians 13

1If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. 3If I give all I possess to the poor and surrender my body to the flames, but have not love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10but when perfection comes, the imperfect disappears. 11When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put childish ways behind me. 12Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

C) Pastor Ken Bombay brings short message to the couple and the congregation.

 

Tokens

Pastor Ken says: "Do you have the rings?"

(The bride and groom exchange rings)

"May your union be as endless as the circle of these rings. May your union be blessed by Him whose Word fashioned the elements in these rings."

"Join your left hands."

Gerry repeat after me:

With this ring – I thee wed

With my body – I thee honour

With my love – I thee bless

With my possessions – I thee endow

In the name of our Lord Jesus Christ. Amen.

 

Pastor St. Laurent then says:

Elaine répéte après moi:

Avec ses anneaux – je t’épouse

Avec mon corps – je t’honore

Avec mon amour – je te bénis

Avec mes possessions (biens) – je t’en dote

Au nom du Seigneur Jésus Christ.

Ne me presses pas de te laissr, de retourner loin de toi!

Où tu iras j’irai, où tu demeureras je demeurerai;

To peuple sera mon peuple, et ton Dieu sera mon Dieu;

Où tu mourras je mourrai, et j’y serai enterrée. Ruth 1:16

Amen!

 

Declaration of the Union

Pastor Ken then says:

"Because you have first presented yourselves to Christ as Lord and Saviour, and because you have consented together in Christian marriage and because you have pledged your love and faith in the sight of God and before family and friends, by the authority vested in me as a minister of the gospel, by our sovereign lady Queen Elizabeth and the laws of the province of Quebec, I now declare that you are husband and wife in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ. Amen.

Pastor St. Laurent then repeats the same thing in French.

 

Communion

1) Elaine prays in French

2) Gerry prays in English

3) Both pastors impose their hands and pray for the couple.

 

Candle Lighting

 

Signing

Songs sung by Richard Loder and Mrs. St.Laurent as the couple are seated.

 

Benediction

24 "The LORD bless you and keep you;

25 the LORD make his face shine upon you and be gracious to you;

26 the LORD turn his face toward you and give you peace." Numbers 6:24-26

 

Presentation

 

Recessional – Holy is His Name – John Michael Talbot

 

Wedding service written by Gerry and Elaine Desjardins

 

Marriage is the union of one man and one woman before God to the exclusion of all others.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

 

Comments on: "The Way of a Fool – Part 13" (23)

  1. It really seemed like a beautiful wedding, I\’m really sorry about your loss…God bless you in every way!

  2. Yesterday was hugfest, so i stopped by to give you someHugs are not only nice they are needed…Hugs can relieve pain and depression.. make the healthier happier, and the most secure even more so.. Hugging feels good and overcomes fear. Stopped by to give you some.♥(¨`•.•´¨)♥♥ `•.¸(¨`•.•´¨) ♥.♥ . .. `•.¸.•.♥ Rowana

  3. Nice wedding, and I really love the bridesmaids dresses…just kidding, mine were\’nt any better..well maybe they were…don\’t ya love 1984..our sermon at the wedding was all about George Orwells book, I did\’nt listen to a word..so what happens next in your soap?

  4. I\’ve never been married, Gerry, but I am always reverent of that promise made. It\’s a beautiful promise and I am full of faith for those that make it. It\’s a sad testimony to a fast moving society that ultimately believes in nothing ,that we have turned marriages into a full return/exchange policy. In your case, I am saddenned that yours ended sooner than it would have. From reading all I\’ve read about your faith, I believe, had tragedy not intervened, your marriage would have happily endured. I am sorry.

  5. HydrovitaeThank-you for your comments. As much as I miss the person she was, I have found my satisfation in Christ. I can honestly say I am content. Who knows God, may even restore her mind one day. With Him all things are possible.Take careGerry

  6. Ella Mae Granny said:

    Oh do I remember that day. You both were so happy. She was a beautiful girl. She loved you so much. Oh how mental illness can wreck havoc. Love the pictures it showes how happy you and her were.

  7. Wow, just want to say that I kept checking out christian personal spaces from around the world and yours is a link on pretty much every single one of them. Great work and God bless you!Cath 🙂

  8. A beautiful ceremony… you will see her again in heaven… I am sure she is looking forward to seeing you again too… God bless!

  9. Hi GerryIt\’s amazing knowing what you have come through and where you are now. I believe as you testify here that Jesus is your all in all.he fills you Gerry and I know you are content in Him. God bless your heart.

  10. Gerry, you\’ve been through a lot and yet your faith keeps growing. That\’s awsome. God bless you for all you\’ve done. I just wanted to let you know that I reopened a prayer blog that I had before with Dave and Debbie. Stop by sometime and check it out. Take care and God bless. ^_^

  11. Phil - personal acct said:

    I know that the Canadian government has re-written the meaning of marriage in Canada on a human level, but I also know that God had a plan and he had a purpose when he created marriage.Thank you for sharing this with me and the others, and I pray that God will shield and protect you from the attacks of the world. I know we weren\’t promised that it would be easy, but knowing that God will be with us every step of the way, we need to stand firm and believe. We need to make sure that it is faith that people see, not fear nor doubt.Stand firm my brother. May God Bless and Protect you in Jesus\’ name. Amen.

  12. Lovely 🙂 Je parle francais aussi :)Sarah

  13. Hi Gerry, I am saddened a little reading your entry today. I am sad that you lost your wife Elaine to mental illness so many years ago. But the hope is that you will be reunited in Heaven with her on that glorious day coming soon. I too suffer with mental illness and it\’s a battle that I face each day. I do know that God\’s love has brought me through some of the darkest moments of my bipolar disorder. Your entry of your wedding ceremony, touched me by how beautiful and loving the vows and committment were. Thank you for sharing such a precious and special part of your life. In Christ, Tammy K

  14. Hi, GerryI sincerely hope you are having a blessed day. Those who are truly searching for the truth are continually blessed by God\’s revelation of truth, as rightly interpreted, (I know you know what I mean by rightly interpreted.) As my wife and I have just celebrated our 20th anniversary, just a little over a month ago, I am reminded of the vows we placed at the physical altar that day. But more importantly, I am reminded of the vows we placed at an altar well hidden from human eyes – where only three of us met alone, well in advance of the baptism we underwent at the wedding ceremony.This is the epitomy of marriage, no matter what the world wants to make its definition today. That just as we received Jesus as Lord and Saviour, we are receiving our spouse, as co-heirs in Him, fellow sources of life, opportunities for blessing to be multiplied both in the home and elsewhere. A marriage is an event of the unique link between three entities, and without Jesus the marriage is but a social contract, with only the outward symbolism, and without the spiritual empowerment to make it real. Having never made claims to be anything but human, I must confess that I have not been as excellent in some of my responsibilities to my family as I would have hoped. I have nagging thoughts about how to get back to where we should have been. Life tensions, anger, and doubts about what may occur tomorrow have eaten away at some of what I know Jesus had hoped to build in our marriage.I sincerely appreciate having linked up with you. God also knew that when the timing was right for a positive change, a very intimate message from you would set it in motion. This is the very heart of what the Body of Christ on earth is all about. And also, this is what many need to see in action, whether they be honest cynics, with justified cynicism, or outright rebels with a penchant for finding opportunities to abuse the family of faith. When the time is right, even they will know what Jesus meant when He said "When you give a luncheon, or a dinner, do not invite your friends, or your brothers or your relatives of rich neighbors, lest they also invite you and repayment comes to you. But when you give a reception, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind, and you will be blessed, since they do not have the means to repay you, for you will be repaid at the resurrection of the righteous." God has more sympathy for the honest and open cynic, than for the righteous Pharisee, and you will be blessed because you saw this aspect of His nature, and have accepted the calling to use it for the benefit of many. It would be better in God\’s sight to be a devout sinner willing to understand and accept salvation, than to be a devout believer in some aspect of Christianity, while losing contact with the Head, by whom we are built up in the faith, which is missing in the latter, but growing in the former. As we are aware, we look at the external, but He looks upon the heart.Philo

  15. Hi Gerryhave a great THANKSGIVING, and enjoy!!!. God bless you and your family. have a good weekend. O\’h I finally got to hear "Hillsong for the first time. WOW!!!> I was at the christian bookstore , so I ordered their "Delierious" CD .Keep singing. Thanks for being such a blessing to us all here.

  16. Hey, hows it going … 😮 i hope its great. haha well i really like ur space i mean wOw nice nice 😛 well i\’m a drifter and i intend to write in everyones space that i come across…..that is if they have a blog… 😐 well i guess i gotta go to the next one….come on bye my space, sign my guestbook, pin urself on my guest map….comment who knows w/e well hope u have an awesome day…leaving now cause i wrote too much….bye bye.

  17. Greensboro NC Christian said:

    Dear Gerry,I am wanting to build a “suggested links” list on my blogsite of maybe 20-25 Christian sites all within the NSN Spaces network. I’m not sure what I’ll call the list but I’ll come up with something decent. I get to name the site, give the URL, and say something about it. I would like to link to sites across various denominational lines, but of folks holding to what I might call classic Christian Orthodoxy – you know, Apostles Creed type stuff. If you don’t mind either comment back on my site or e-mail me at jsgillespie@mindspring.com. You may want to do the latter if you want to steer me away from anywhere! Thanks for your help. Joel.

  18. Hi Gerry, those are so great pictures. I love the bilingual script too (but maybe Im biased because I speak eglish and french) I just updated my blog now, you certainly have permission to link 🙂

  19. Praise God Gerry! Praise God that He put ya together, and praise God for the faithfulness He is given you. Freedom isnt always in happiness Brother, but its always in Joy…(thanks for stopping by my site by the way, I\’ve been prayin\’ for you!Sittin\’ in Abba\’s lapCass

  20. hinice space!visit my space

  21. Hah, I love the bow ties; my Dad and his groomsmen had them at their wedding. Except they were bigger and baby blue. Yeah, gotta love the 70\’s. Jazz the Amazing Moondragon

  22. Hi,Gerry is the name?I\’ve been through your site before…feeling kinda\’ shy I didn\’t wanna write anything.I go to UPC church in Saint-Laurent.Your entries have touched me in so many ways. I am sorry for your wife but I know she\’s awaiting you in Heaven.I\’m 13 and a worship leader in our Sri Lankan ministry at church.May God bless you truly,very amazing site,mine isn\’t this good,but I\’m getting to it.You can visit my space with most certain permission;).http://spaces.msn.com/members/chrishnifrancis/http://spaces.msn.com/members/babyblue9410/Those two spaces are mine.May God continue to bless you in struggles and in victories.You can be sure that I\’ll be back surfing through this site again.Count me in on being a fool for Christ!Chrishni

  23. I will stand!Take your garbage somewhere else. This space is not for you to post on . Yes, you will stand one day most definetly before the throne of God on judgement day unless you come to Christ and repent of your sin.

Leave a Reply

