Just another WordPress.com site

The Martyr’s Song


1"Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. 2In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. 3And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am. John 14:1-3 

 

"No eye has seen,
      no ear has heard,
   no mind has conceived
   what God has prepared for those who love him"
1 Corinthians 2:9

 

Sing oh son of Zion

Shout oh child of mine

Rejoice with all your heart, and soul and mind

 

I’ve been waiting

To dance with you in fields full of colours you have never seen

And I’ve been waiting

To show you a beauty you have never dreamed that’s always been in you

And I’ve been waiting

To see you tremble as you’re embraced by a world saturated with my love

And I’ve been waiting for the day when at last I get to say

My child, you are finally home

 

Sing oh son of Zion

Shout oh child of mine

Rejoice with all your heart, and soul and mind

For you are finally home

 

I’ve been waiting

To watch you realize what all your longing was for

And I’ve been waiting

To show you the thread of grace that ran through all your pain

I’ve been waiting

To let you drink the water of which the greatest joy on earth was just a taste

And I’ve been waiting for the day when at last I get to say

My child, you are finally home.

 

Sing oh son of Zion

Shout oh child of mine

Rejoice with all your heart, and soul and mind

Sing oh daughter of Zion

Cry out oh child of mine

Dance with all the strength that you can find

 

Every tear you cried dried in the palm of my hand;

Every lonely hour was by my side.

Every loved one lost, every river crossed,

Every moment, every hour was pointing to this day,

Longing for this day… 

 

I’ve been waiting

To dance with you in fields full of colours you have never seen

And I’ve been waiting

To show you a beauty you have never dreamed that’s always been in you

And I’ve been waiting

To see you tremble as you’re embraced by a world saturated with my love

And I’ve been waiting for the day when at last I get to say

My child, you are finally home.

 

Sing oh son of Zion

Shout oh child of mine

Rejoice with all your heart, and soul and mind

Sing oh daughter of Zion

Cry out oh child of mine

Dance with all the strength that you can find

For you are finally home

 

Words and music by Todd Agnew and Ted Dekker

 

I have been playing this song over and over and weeping tears of joy and longing. Oh how I long to be home. Oh how I long to run into the arms of my Daddy, my King, my Friend. I want to dance with Him and run through those fields and discover the things which He has prepared for us who are His. Those of you who know me realize that I can neither run nor dance because of disability, so for me the day when I put on my new body, I am going to dance and run with my Lord as I have never run or danced before. There is nothing in this world that compares with our Saviour. Nothing in this world holds me here except that there is so much work to be done. So many souls yet to be reached. Soon, so very soon my brothers and sisters we will all be home. Our King is coming for us.

If you have never known the Lord and His love, my prayer for you is that this day you would come to know and love Him. There is no greater love than His. Many of you are hurting and long to belong and have purpose in your life. You need to know that He gave His life for you. He knows you by name and knew you even before you were in your mother’s womb.

The bible says that we all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. Romans 3:23. There is none righteous no not even one. Romans 3:10. Come to Jesus and ask His forgiveness, believe in Him and confess Him as Lord and Saviour. Salvation that comes from trusting Christ–which is the message we preach–is already within easy reach. In fact, the Scriptures say, "The message is close at hand; it is on your lips and in your heart."9For if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. 10For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved. Romans 10:8-1

1Then I saw a new heaven and a new earth, for the first heaven and the first earth had passed away, and there was no longer any sea. 2I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband. 3And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, "Now the dwelling of God is with men, and he will live with them. They will be his people, and God himself will be with them and be their God. 4He will wipe every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things has passed away."

    5He who was seated on the throne said, "I am making everything new!" Then he said, "Write this down, for these words are trustworthy and true."

    6He said to me: "It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To him who is thirsty I will give to drink without cost from the spring of the water of life. 7He who overcomes will inherit all this, and I will be his God and he will be my son. Revelation 21:1-7

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

 

Comments on: "The Martyr’s Song" (28)

  1. That is a very vivid impression of hope. I am sorry to hear that while on earth your disability restricts you from dancing and running with the Lord. I hope you recieve what you wish for and find peace that God knows you are already there with Him in your heart.That is a beautiful song and a lovely vision of hope for those who feel lost or sad in this world.

  2. Thank you for sharing the beautiful song. I can\’t wait to finally go home too…. it will be mind-blowingly AWESOME!!

  3. Wow. The undercurrent I received from that – and maybe wasn\’t intentional, Jerry – but I\’m quite happy revelling in the joys of being here – even amidst shams and broken dreams. No offense, but it almost seems ingrateful – like I can hardly wait for this "crappy" existence that I\’ve been given to end, so I can have dessert. The journey IS the journey, no?

  4. Mr. DesjardinsAs i so often do, when checking my stats, I click on attached liks to see who has been viewing my space. Your space have moved me like no other! Very well put together. I do not practice religion, however, I do know and feel His spirit withing me. I live by a set of rules and values that were taught to me by my Nana, and when time comes that I am judged, i know i will be standing beside Him…. Thank you for visiting my space…as i never would have found yours!. The song is beautiful. I appreciate it as I am a musician as well. I would like to know how you uploaded that to your space….if you have the time, could you please email me and give me directions on how to do this? I am very new to this.Thank you for your time. wolfie5150ca@hotmail.com

  5. hey guys i havent been here in a very long time and i was wondering whats been going on herealways peace and love, Jeff

  6. HydrovitaeIf you knewGod and tasted a piece of heaven as believers have, you would understand why we feel the way we do. Paul said it best in describing how we feel in Philippians 1:19-26: For I live in eager expectation and hope that I will never do anything that causes me shame, but that I will always be bold for Christ, as I have been in the past, and that my life will always honor Christ, whether I live or I die. 21For to me, living is for Christ, and dying is even better. 22Yet if I live, that means fruitful service for Christ. I really don\’t know which is better. 23I\’m torn between two desires: Sometimes I want to live, and sometimes I long to go and be with Christ. That would be far better for me, 24but it is better for you that I live.It is not ungreatful at all to feel this way as the Father longs for us as much as if not more than we long for Him.

  7. une trace de mon passage en toute amitié

  8. Gerry,Thank you. I respect your views as well – (or why would I come here, right?)

  9. Gerry,I would consider it an honor. Your response to my second comment is acknowledged with accolades. Keep up the good work, which, I am glad to add, has the character of the One who does not change like shifting shadows. Regarding WAWA, my shortened nickname for Philo\’s Place, it is not as directly evangelical as yours, and hopefully the concepts I present will be used for Kingdom purposes as well. If you would like to email me at any time, feel free to do so at barnabas1956@hotmail.com.Philo

  10. Gerry, Perhaps I have misread what may be happening at this stage with one of your contacts. If I spoke hastily, and without taking into consideration the progress you may have made within the context of your dialogue, I apologize. There was no intent to jump to conclusions, or to cause offence. Sometimes I have a tendency to do the latter, by route of the former.Philo

  11. God bless you GerryExcellent post about proper judgement. I know your heart and your love for the truth so making people upset is nothing new. I will dance right along beside you. I also want to thank you for your boldness and mostly your obedience to the Lord. Hey, guess who came to my space?, did –come here yet.?

  12. i hate death. i hate it because it gets us all in the end. If Jesus really was God, why did he have to die like the rest of us? please answer this question. its been on my mind for so long.

  13. anonymousIf Jesus\’ sole mission was to come to earth to die for our sins, he could have been killed as an infant and gotten it over with. But he came to do more: "The Spirit of the Lord is on me (Jesus), because the Lord has anointed me to preach good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted…to comfort all who mourn, and provide for those who grieve in Zion — to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes, the oil of gladness instead of mourning, and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair." (Isaiah 61:1-3) Jesus came to preach, to heal, and confront evil. His outspoken, courageous stand against the hypocrisy, arrogance, and corruption of established religious leaders led to an inevitable showdown. Jealous of his power and popularity, they put him to death. He knew it would happen, but didn\’t take the easy way out, though he prayed hard about that option. (Luke 22:42) The Bible repeatedly states that it was God\’s purpose to sacrifice his son so that all who put their trust in Christ — now alive — will have eternal life. (John 3:16; Isaiah 53:10-12) Why couldn\’t God simply grant eternal life without the death of his son? It seems grotesque that a Father would indirectly put his own son to death. For an answer go back to the beginning. Adam and Eve were apparently meant to live forever, according to Genesis. (Genesis 2:9,16,17; 3:22) Their sins caused their eventual deaths and they were expelled from the Garden of Eden, and cursed. Their descendants — us — have inherited their mistake-prone (sin) nature. None of us are perfect. If we don\’t actually steal, we sometimes covet; if we don\’t actually commit adultery and fornication we\’d sometimes like to; if we don\’t actually murder, we sometimes hate and seethe in the privacy of our thoughts. We\’re a mixture of good and evil thoughts and intentions, the good probably outweighing the bad in most of us (if our attitudes could be measured). Like Adam and Eve, we die too. So an immortal person (Christ) came to earth, born as a mortal, and died a painful, humiliating death in our place — a perfect person dying for the imperfect. Still, why did he have to do that? Why couldn\’t God simply forgive our failings and grant us a renewed spirit in this life and eternal life after we die? Here\’s the Bible\’s answer: "In fact, the law requires that nearly everything be cleansed with blood, and without the shedding of blood there is no forgiveness…But now he (Christ) has appeared once for all at the end of the ages to do away with sin by the sacrifice of himself…so Christ was sacrificed once to take away the sins of many people…" (Hebrews 9:23-28) There must be a cosmic principle in force that even the Creator cannot violate or negate: Death is a result of sin (or moral error in more modern language) and can only be reversed when a perfect person dies in place of sinners. Christ had to die in order to save us. There was no other option…unless he saved his own neck and let us die a second death in hell. (Revelation 2:11; 20:6,14,15; 21:8) But he would have missed us; he would have grieved over the permanent loss of so many people he knew and loved. So he did what he had to do: lived (as a human) for us; died for us; and lived for us again as the conqueror of death and source of eternal life. God didn\’t put his son to death for a twisted, insane reason. What human father would sadistically cause his own son\’s death? He sent Jesus to earth as a soldier is sent into intense battle to save other lives. God and Christ knew the outcome would certainly be death, just as our service men and women in Iraq know that they face the possibility of death every day. In Christ\’s case the outcome was as definite as a G.I. advancing into the line of fire. But he had to do it to reach his goal. ("who for the joy set before him endured the cross", Hebrews 12:2) Only in that sense, I believe, did God send his son to earth to die for us. Since Jesus died for us and has paid for our past sins by his death, do we now have carte blanche to sin? No way. If I\’m caught going 60 mph in a 45 mph zone, I\’m ticketed and pay the fine. I\’m not now free to flout the law, go through red lights and violate speeding laws; the fine didn\’t pay for future offenses. It\’s similar to Christ\’s payment of the "fine" against our past mistakes or sins. We still need to make an effort to live right, and God\’s Spirit and our conscience provide the motivation (Galatians 5:22-25). The difference between the traffic fine and Christ\’s payment for our sins is that when we unintentionally commit future sins, Christ covers those sins as well (1 John 1:8-10). However, Paul warns us: "Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows." (Galatians 6:7) If you overeat, indulging in junk food, you\’ll eventually "reap" ill health. Jesus isn\’t going to magically make your obesity and sickness go away. (King David\’s sins of murder and adultery teach the lesson of reaping what you sow. David was an Old Testament "Christian," so to speak: he was given the Holy Spirit. He grossly sinned, deeply repented, and was forgiven by God. But he still suffered the consequences of his actions later in life. Read the sordid story in 2 Samuel 11 and 12.) John says on one hand that we deceive ourselves if we claim to be without sin. (1 John 1:8-10) It\’s in our nature. But he also says that having Christ\’s Spirit in our lives will result in a life relatively free from sin: "No one who is born of God will continue to sin, because God\’s seed remains in him; he cannot go on sinning, because he has been born of God." (John 3:9) Christ not only has paid for our past sins; he also lives in us, motivating us to live good lives, fulfilling lives with more meaning than before: "I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly." (John 10:10)Hope this answers your questionTake care

  14. Some songs just breathe into my spirit. This is one of them. Excellent choice.Philo

  15. Without death, there is no such thing as life.

  16. Greensboro NC Christian said:

    Gerry,Me too, brother, me too. I can\’t wait. Brother Joel.

  17. hey its me again. thanks for your answer. but i need to ask another thing.its like i\’m living in two worlds. theres the christian one, with all my friends from youth and church, and it makes me feel great, no matter what mood i\’m in.and then theres the skool life. its getting worse and worse every day and it just seems unbearable. it seems like God isnt there.help!?!?

  18. Good morning from GA, GerryI hope you have a very blessed day, and I will be praying, in the spirit of Ephesians 3, for your ministry today.Philo

  19. Hi anonymousGod has promised never to leave you nor to forsake you. He is always there. Don\’t rely on your feelings. They will always fool you. Just know that He there with you in school. I know it may not seem like it, but he is. Remember that He said that because the world hated Him first it will also hate you, John 15:18, but He also said be of good cheer because He has overcome the world. John 16:33God blessGerry

  20. Hello brother in Christ! God bless you for spreading the word!Cath 🙂

  21. Ciao Gerry, I love your entry today…wonderful. May God Bless You and keep you. Say Hi to Pastor Paul for me, I tryed to view his site and read his entry because I always find them so fulfilling, but I am not able to open his site today for some reason …??… anyway, Keep up the wonderful work for the Lord….the Lord is awesome….I love him with all my heart. God Bless YouLoveShelleyxXx

  22. Hi Gerry,Thank you for sharing…that is the cry of my heart too…to finally see my King face to face….what a day that will be!God bless!

  23. Gerry, Sorry I\’ve been MIA. Life is just bustling with things to do right now… October tends to be a busy season. Loved these messages too!Blessings, annointing and peace to you and your family.Jason

  24. You are an really excellent preacher. I feel like for the people I evangelize to that are too shy to go to church — I will send them to this website in its stead. I do not know you but I will happily link this site because it is laced with the word of my God.I have a question; "(King David\’s sins of murder and adultery teach the lesson of reaping what you sow. David was an Old Testament "Christian," so to speak: he was given the Holy Spirit. He grossly sinned, deeply repented, and was forgiven by God. But he still suffered the consequences of his actions later in life. Read the sordid story in 2 Samuel 11 and 12.)"He reaped what he sowed, but he still has been experienced salvation and will receive an eternity in heaven, correct?I\’m also mulling over something I read in Raggamuffin Gospel about how Manning says he wants to be in heaven with the "deathbed convert" who raped the earth his whole life, and indulged every whim, only to repent it all on his deathbed and ask God into his heart… would love to hear your thoughts! :)Thanks a lot for this ministry.

  25. Hi, GerryI just thought you may be interested in this other space I have up and running, and I want to invite your fellowship to expand its horizons with a wonderful company. Many Christians are experiencing the value of what Shaklee has to offer, and supporting different ministries with the income it provides, and our health is not a bad to improve either. You may place a link to it on your space, if you wish. It could be a wonderful blessing for us if you did.OptimizedHealth (AKA Philo)

  26. Hi Gerry, thanks for stopping by. I come here quite often but never get through your posts (they\’re quite long). But I can see the impact you make on so many people. Keep living for God and doing His work. God bless.

  27. hey thanks heeps for your help.but, sorry, i\’ve got one more question.you know how God made the garden of eden and all that on the first seven days, well, whats was before that?? its hard to imagine, hey. i dont get it. why would he just make something ? what was before the creation?i\’m muddled.

  28. Hi anonymousI personally believe that the earth was very old before the creation account in Genesis, Many believe like me that there was a gap between Gen. 1:1-2 and verse three. But that theory is just one of many and you can read the accounts for yourself at this link. Only God knows the truth.http://www.rationalchristianity.net/creation_evolution.html

Leave a Reply

