Just another WordPress.com site

Hope


Life for many is not easy. We live an average of 75 years on this earth and then that’s it we are gone. In a few generations many of us are forgotten completely. Just a name on a tombstone. King Solomon the writer of the book of Ecclesiastes in the Bible says in chapter 1 verses 2 to 4 "Meaningless! Meaningless!" says the Teacher. "Utterly meaningless! Everything is meaningless." What does man gain from all his labor at which he toils under the sun? Generations come and generations go, but the earth remains forever." Then he says chapter 1 verse 14 "I have seen all the things that are done under the sun; all of them are meaningless, a chasing after the wind." Solomon was one of the richest rulers of his time. He had all anyone could want. All kinds of pleasure was available to him. He tried them all and yet felt empty. Nothing in this world satisfied him. In chapter 12, verses 13 and 14 He ends with this; "Now all has been heard; here is the conclusion of the matter: Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole [duty] of man. For God will bring every deed into judgment, including every hidden thing, whether it is good or evil."

To try keeping God’s commandments in your own strength is impossible. Hebrews 9:27 says; "it is appointed for men to die once, but after this the judgment," So after leading a meaningless life, unable to keep God’s commandments, we are judged. Our destination is Hell. You have to ask the question next. If God is supposed to be a loving God, wouldn’t He provide a way around this? Where is the hope?

I had a dream one time where I was in a prison and about to receive a most horrible punishment. I knew I deserved it and what I faced terrified me. As the torturer was about to carry out my sentence a man stepped forward and said he would take my place.

Now here is the good news. He has provided a hope and escape for you. His name is Jesus! He was God in the flesh and came and lived for a short period amongst us. He was willingly crucified on a cross for you and I. He took all our sins and punishment upon Himself and then 3 days later rose from the dead to show that He had conquered sin and death. (For a good account of His life read the book of John in the Bible). So how can He help you, you ask? First, admit you are a sinner. Romans 3:23 says; "for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God." Next confess your sins and ask Jesus to become your Savior. Romans 10:9-10 says; "if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is by believing in your heart that you are made right with God, and it is by confessing with your mouth that you are saved." That’s it! Jesus did it all for you. Your life now has meaning. Tell others what Jesus has done for you today. I recommend now that you find a Bible, start reading it and find a good Bible-believing Christian church.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

 

Comments on: "Hope" (25)

  1. Hi Gerry, I liked reading your entry today. Jesus is the blessed hope of our salvation. To know Him is to love Him, in everyway, through good times and bad times. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18 \’Rejoice always; pray without ceasing; in everything give thanks; for this is God\’s will for you in Christ Jesus.\’ (NASB). Thanks for love of Jesus and your words of hope. Tammy

  2. hi nice site 😀 plz visit mine xx take care xx Jess xx

  3. Hey there Gerry, im really sorry opened up the comment and deleted it the other day in a rush before i read any others properly :S i hope this hasnt affected anything. Its a shame to see that one indivdual is so hateful. just goes to show how important your space is. Hope you and your family are well. Blessing sxxx

  4. Teresa Dawn said:

    Hey Gerry, sent you an email. Sorry I haven\’t come by lately, I have been really busy with my new site and also withother computer stuff. (I am transferring my VHS tapes to computer files since the tapes are getting old and worn sitting on the shelf for so long and I don\’t want to loose them) I hope you are having a great week. I am flying to Toronto next Sunday for nine days so please pray for a safe flight for me 🙂 I am just going to visit family :)God Bless, Teresa Dawn

  5. Craig Junkyard Dog said:

    Hey Love Your Blog.Great Job 🙂

  6. OK, please dont delete my comment, because I am serious about this question. Me and my friends were talking the other night about if Jesus smoked Weed. Is this possible? or does this go against his teachings. Because God did create Cannabis, so is there anything wrong with Jesus smoking it? Some find smoking the sticky every once in a while is deeply religious. Just wondering if this is blasphemous or not. If you dont keep this up on your page, please answer on mine. In Jazz, -= Jazz Moondragon =-

  7. Hi Gerry,Ecclesiastes is the coolest book! One question only… why this shade of green? It\’s blinding!But otherwise awesome site! Take care, and God bless you!

  8. Hey Gerry good blog today really enjoyed reading it so did my my husband:) havea grate nightJen and Mike D

  9. No unfortunately for all of you out there, I am not an "anti-Gerry\’ man. I\’m an anti being an idiot about yourself kind of a person. Now firstly, If any of you happen to post on my site I will not delete the comments, so go for your life, unless you spam, which can get annoying. Secondly never pray for me.Respectfully James.

  10. BlackFog0 To late! Your already being prayed for. Don\’t worry I\’m not into spamming either and will not delete your comments as long as they are clean and respectful.

  11. wow….ur a religous guy huh?

  12. as always great post! *high five*God bless,keep on rockin\’ for Christ~Randy Jayer

  13. Hey Gerry!I hope all is well! Always love popping in and catchin up with all your blogs! I especially loved the \’strange fire\’ entry!Hehe anyways, I hope you bought the new hillsong cd \’God he reings!\’ Thanx 4 your never-ending encouragement!God blessLawson 🙂

  14. hey gerry I \’ve been by a few times.You have alot of great insight on things.Keep up the good word…Jan

  15. Hi all! Just wanted to tell you that I appreciated the banner "Take a Stand For Jesus." Its copied onto my site that I would like for anyone to visit. One last thing…prayers are answered no matter how trivial you think they may be. God has definitely been answering mine. I will post the details on the Answers section. Thanks to MSN for allowing this site to be A Top Space. In a world that is trying to do away with the Lord\’s name and anything holy and of merit, it is nice to see that someone recognizes substance when they see it. You probably have no idea how many people are saved through this website. Thank you again.

  16. Oh Gerry, you poor thing, what a razzing you take, tell all the athiests Darwin became a Christian in the end beause he could not prove God did not exist, and he tried….Bless you and all your work for the Lord.

  17. x-Mind Funk-x said:

    Hello, just seeing how you are. Hope your okay and well :). Have you been up to anything nice recently? Keep the site up, it\’s really good.Stay safeJes x

  18. Craig Junkyard Dog said:

    I like your blogGreat Job 🙂

  19. HI, GERRY. JUST STARTED USING A COMPUTOR, LIKE TO HAVE MORE BELIEVERS TO TALK TO ON SPACES. I HAVE BEENA BELIEVER SINCE THE LAST DAYS OF 1999. WHENI HAD A PERSONAL EXPERIENCE WITH CHRIST MYSELF.I NEED TO BUILD FAITH WITH OTHERS LIKE MYSELF,FOR WE ARE CHOSEN TO DO THIS, FOR HIS SAKEIN THIS DARK AGE GOD BLESS THIS SITE!!!

  20. Ok wise guy, so you deleted my comment from yesterday. Guess that means you don\’t have an answer.Hope u can live with this.

  21. LuciferAnybody who leaves a name like that on my space doesn\’t deserve an answer. I already know where you are coming from. Try using your real name next time.

  22. My apologies for using the "L" name on your space. I\’m still not using my real name because frankly, I\’m scared. Scared of religious zealots who will not accept any view other than the one they hold dear.The point is not who asks the question, but the question itself. If a question is valid, it must be considered in its own merit. It is easy to avoid the truth by focusing on who speaks it rather than the truth itself.Believe me, I have been through this Christian thing before…at one time in my life, I was obsessed with the Bible. I even kept it under my pillow when I went to sleep. But then, something inside me snapped. There was a part of me that knew that something didn\’t add up. And I couldn\’t spend the rest of my life believing in something like that.Lets talk about the original sin. That one that\’s supposedly haunting us even today. I am a parent myself and by no means perfect. But I will never intentionally give my child access to something that I know is harmful for him. And if by some chance, my child does get access to that harmful thing, the last thing I will do is punish the child. I\’m sure that God is a much more perfect parent than I can ever be. Then why for God\’s sake, would he give Adam access to the apple and then punish him for eating it? And if, like you said, nothing happens unless He allows it, did Adam really deserve to be punished?Fine. Now even if I accept that Adam deserved to be punished, why the hell should everyone else be punished as well? Just because they descended from him?. Everyone also descended from God (He\’s the Father, right?). Doesn\’t His glory override Adam\’s "sin"?Now coming to dear Jesus – on what basis is it said that he died for our sins? Even sins we haven\’t yet committed? Its like a blank check. Even assuming he did, why do I need to "believe" in him to derive the benefit? I didn\’t have to "believe" in Adam to derive the benefit of his sin.And where in the Bible, does Jesus himself say that he\’s dying for our sins? Its always someone else who says that.Also, there is no definite date mentioned for Jesus\’ return. "Quickly" is not good enough.What do I believe?I believe that God does not judge. You can only judge something that is external to yourself. And since God is everywhere and in everything, there is nothing that is NOT God. And there is NOTHING that God does not control – including "Lucifer". Even implying that "Lucifer" can do undesirable stuff means that God is not almighty – something I cannot accept.Please feel free to delete this comment as I my intention is not to disturb anyone\’s beliefs..if I have done that, please accept my sincere apology.

  23. Scared ScepticI will try to answer many of your questions as best I can.Some people object that the doctrine of original sin is unjust, for it holds other people responsible for Adam\’s (and Eve\’s) sin to the extent that they\’re condemned to hell for something they themselves didn\’t do. In particular, the objectors say, infants who die are condemned to hell as a result, even though they have not yet consciously sinned.This version of the doctrine is not held by all evangelical Christians and is not an essential belief of Christianity. Calvinists appear to believe that people deserve hell in part because of original sin, but many believe that infants who die are among the "elect" and are therefore saved by God\’s grace. Other Christians, including myself, believe that we suffer the effects of Adam\’s sin – we are born with a sinful nature and will experience physical death – but we\’re not individually condemned to hell because of Adam\’s sin, for, "The soul who sins is the one who will die. The son will not share the guilt of the father, nor will the father share the guilt of the son" (Ezek 18:20). Why didn\’t God create the Garden of Eden without the tree of knowledge of good and evil in it, since he didn\’t want Adam and Eve to eat from it? Wouldn\’t all the subsequent problems have been avoided if Adam and Eve couldn\’t get to the tree? If God had constructed the Garden of Eden so that there were no rules and no way for Adam and Eve to do wrong, then Adam and Eve would be effectively forced to obey God. In order for us to be free – which in this case refers to the freedom to follow or ignore God – we have to be able to make choices. Adam and Eve couldn\’t have chosen to follow God if they literally had no other choice. Why did God punish Adam and Eve so severely for simply eating a fruit? This question is rather like asking, "Why do people get sent to jail for life just for moving a small lever?" Someone who points a gun at another person and shoots them is, in a simplistic sense, merely moving a piece of metal and pulling a small trigger. The difference betwen this action and an ordinary action is that it results in injuring or killing another person. Adam and Eve ate a fruit that God had warned them would cause death – essentially, they were drinking from a bottle labelled "Poison" and passing it around. Furthermore, Adam and Eve were disobeying a direct command from God and distrusting what he had told them about the tree. By distrusting what God had said, they were disrespecting someone they owed respect to, as well as foolishly disregarding the instruction of someone wiser and more knowledgeable than themselves. By disobeying a perfectly good God, they were choosing to follow evil instead of good. The simple answer is that we suffer the consequences of Adam\’s sin, we are not punished by God for Adam\’s sin.We are judged and punished for our own sin, not Adam\’s.(Rev 20:12-13 NIV) And I saw the dead, great and small, standing before the throne, and books were opened. Another book was opened, which is the book of life. The dead were judged according to what they had done as recorded in the books. {13} The sea gave up the dead that were in it, and death and Hades gave up the dead that were in them, and each person was judged according to what he had done. To talk about Christ’s sacrifice and why He had to die for our sins is a lengthy one and I have provided you with link that should answer many of your questions.http://www.rbc.org/ds/q0202/You need to believe in Christ, because salvation is found only through Him and what He did for you on the cross. As I said we suffer the consequences of Adam’s sin but are held accountable for our own.Sin required a sacrifice. That sacrifice had to be blameless and pure. Jesus was that sacrifice. He did say talk about how he die for our sins at the last super in Matthew 26:28; This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins. The prophecy in Isaiah 53 goes into great detail about what Christ accomplished on the cross.Isaiah 53 Who has believed our message? To whom will the LORD reveal his saving power? 2My servant grew up in the LORD\’s presence like a tender green shoot, sprouting from a root in dry and sterile ground. There was nothing beautiful or majestic about his appearance, nothing to attract us to him. 3He was despised and rejected–a man of sorrows, acquainted with bitterest grief. We turned our backs on him and looked the other way when he went by. He was despised, and we did not care. 4Yet it was our weaknesses he carried; it was our sorrows that weighed him down. And we thought his troubles were a punishment from God for his own sins! 5But he was wounded and crushed for our sins. He was beaten that we might have peace. He was whipped, and we were healed! 6All of us have strayed away like sheep. We have left God\’s paths to follow our own. Yet the LORD laid on him the guilt and sins of us all. 7He was oppressed and treated harshly, yet he never said a word. He was led as a lamb to the slaughter. And as a sheep is silent before the shearers, he did not open his mouth. 8From prison and trial they led him away to his death. But who among the people realized that he was dying for their sins–that he was suffering their punishment? 9He had done no wrong, and he never deceived anyone. But he was buried like a criminal; he was put in a rich man\’s grave. 10But it was the LORD\’s good plan to crush him and fill him with grief. Yet when his life is made an offering for sin, he will have a multitude of children, many heirs. He will enjoy a long life, and the LORD\’s plan will prosper in his hands. 11When he sees all that is accomplished by his anguish, he will be satisfied. And because of what he has experienced, my righteous servant will make it possible for many to be counted righteous, for he will bear all their sins. 12I will give him the honors of one who is mighty and great, because he exposed himself to death. He was counted among those who were sinners. He bore the sins of many and interceded for sinners.The bible says that to the Lord 1000 years is as a day and a day as 1000 years. Time is irrelevant to God. It exists only in creation and no where else. Jesus could return anytime.God has the right to Judge because He is God.The bible says that God is everywhere, but it never says He is in everything. The devil has been given free roam of this earth, but he still has to answer to God and there is nothing that the devil can do without God’s permission (see Job). Even so the devil tries to circumnavigate this. His whole desire is to take the place of God and destroy God’s crowning jewel of creation; Humans. But his time is short.You need to come to a place where you know Christ. You see to know of Him is not enough. To know Him is to love Him. He loves you. I will be praying for you.Blessings

  24. Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions. Your answers make a lot of sense…it will take me a while to digest though. Maybe someday soon, I will join you in your journey.Thanks once again.

  25. Want to get back into the church someday soon. Hubby and I just had twins and want them to grow up knowing the lord. Great blog I\’ll be back 🙂

Leave a Reply

