Just another WordPress.com site

Give Me Jesus


In the morning when I rise,

In the morning when I rise,

In the morning when I rise

Give me Jesus

 

Give me Jesus, Give me Jesus

You can have all this world,

But give me Jesus

 

When I am alone,

When I am alone,

When I am alone

Give me Jesus

 

Give me Jesus, Give me Jesus

You can have all this world,

But give me Jesus

 

When I come to die,

When I come to die,

When I come to die

Give me Jesus

 

Give me Jesus, Give me Jesus

You can have all this world,

You can have all this world,

But give me Jesus

 

Then Jesus said to the disciples, "If any of you wants to be my follower, you must put aside your selfish ambition, shoulder your cross, and follow me. If you try to keep your life for yourself, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for me, you will find true life. And how do you benefit if you gain the whole world but lose your own soul in the process? Is anything worth more than your soul?" Matthew 16:24-26

Yesterday after the service was over I sat in the sanctuary and listened to this song a few times. It is a traditional Afro-American song. It is so simple and yet it touched me deep to the core of my heart. Oh how I love Jesus. At times I think how great a disappoint to Him I must be. But the truth is as a blood bought child of His, He looks beyond my imperfections and loves me anyway. None of us deserves His love. He didn’t have to go to the cross for us and yet He did. He could have just wiped us all off the face of the earth and yet He showed us mercy. I stand in awe of that love and mercy, of His grace. There is not a single thing that any of us could ever do to make up for what He has done for us. There is not a thing this world could offer me to make me turn from Him. There is not one thing that anyone could say that would deter my faith and the love I have for Him. Oh how I long to see Him face to face finally. I want to run into His arms. I want to leap and dance before Him with the joy that His salvation has brought me. I am a worshipper because I have known the depth of pain, depression and loss. I also know the heights of being in His presence, of hearing His voice telling me how much He loved me when I felt unlovable. In the midst of the storms I have passed through He has been my anchor and my peace. You can have the whole world and all it has to offer. I don’t want it. Just give me Jesus. That’s this worshipper’s heart. I will follow Him in life and I will follow Him in death. I love you Jesus, my King, my Redeemer, my Saviour, and my Friend. Lead on, I will follow.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

 

Comments on: "Give Me Jesus" (15)

  1. Hey!What an amazing and very true song! I wrote a song too! But to the tune of "you Are Mighty"…if you\’d like to see the lyrics, you can check it out on my space.Marcus

  2. Wow! Bless you for sharing His touch on your life!Jason

  3. awesome

  4. Again I am constantly encouraged by your website. I check in every now and again. May the Lord bless you as you equip others through your website. Taking a stand for Jesus! I pray the Lord would continue to use you in a powerful way to reach the lost through MSN spaces. God Bless you! Chris

  5. always a pleasure to come here 🙂

  6. Amen. May we never lose the awe and passion for Jesus… how amazing that finding Jesus can be so thrilling – and years later it\’s even more thrilling than when we began. Keep on spreading His Word!

  7. even as a non-believer, I can feel the love pouring out from your site, … is there a suggestion for me, someone who is trying, but still can\’t accept the Lord? … I\’ll come back and visit your site later.

  8. KG-HasekawaThere is a great site I go to that has many great answers to skeptics. It\’s called Rational Christianity. Here\’s the address, http://www.rationalchristianity.net/index.htmlFeel free to drop by anytime.

  9. Teresa Dawn said:

    What a great song. Just stopping to see how you are keeping 🙂 God Bless You and your familyTeresa Dawn

  10. It\’s quite interesting to see the comments people leave on your space Jerry. Do you ever get extremely annoyed at the ignorance of some people?

  11. Gerry has got a big heart. A much bigger heart than I have for the lost. Ignorance is to be expected from the lost, and what I see Gerry doing is being like Jesus, "Forgive them Father, they know not what they do". Ignorance should be met with compassion, mercy and wisdom and might. Really it\’s not about us, wouldn\’t you agree?Jason

  12. The-Country-Cowboy said:

    Gerry,All I have to do is think of what my savior went through and I know I can never worship him enough.

  13. Atta boy,Gerry. . .you\’ve found a crutch that won\’t buckle under mundane stresses and strains. . .a crutch to ward off evil and with which to push forward.I am a Christian,but frankly Gerry,I regard religion,per se,as no more than a crutch.God Bless CanadaJGM

  14. DodgerJGMThere is no better one to lean on than Jesus. I hope I am misunderstanding you, because faith in Christ is not a religion, it is a relationship. It is recognizing that without Him you are completely lost. This world really has nothing to offer us. Not a single thing compares with the relationship that believers have found in Christ. I hope you have that.

  15. THANKS!

Leave a Reply

