Just another WordPress.com site

Pray!


"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land." 2 Chronicles 7:14

Prayer is something that should be as natural as breathing. We are told in 1 Thessalonians 5:17 to; "Pray continually." and yet for many of us the most we pray is kind of like this; "Lord bless my family, bless my pastor, and bless my boss, Amen!" Sound familiar. I’m sure many of us at the end of a tiring day have prayed like that. And then we wonder why things are not going well in our lives, our families and our churches. We wonder why we find it so easy to sin and so hard to read God’s Word. Why we lack power and can’t hear His voce anymore. Why many of our needs are not being met.

Isaiah 59:1-2 says; "Surely the arm of the LORD is not too short to save, nor his ear too dull to hear. But your iniquities have separated you from your God; your sins have hidden his face from you, so that he will not hear." Lack of prayer is sin.

In 1 Samuel 12:23a Samuel in talking to the children of Israel says; "As for me, far be it from me that I should sin against the LORD by failing to pray for you." Jesus commanded us to pray. In Luke 18:1 says; Then Jesus told His disciples a parable to show them that they should always pray and not give up. Paul in Ephesians 6:18 after telling us to put on the full armour of God says; "And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints."

Praying is not something that is left up to the pastors or leaders in the Church. Every Christian needs to pray! We can’t let the intercessors do all the work. Prayer plugs you into the power source who is God. Today we have many powerless Christians walking around and the church in North America has stopped growing and has become weak It is us who don`t pray who are to blame. We find all kinds of excuses as to why we don`t have time to pray and why we can`t attend prayer meeting. I know that even in reading this some of you will make excuses. Our example is Jesus. He never stops praying for us. Romans 8:34 says; "Who is he that condemns? Christ Jesus, who died, more than that, who was raised to life is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us." Jesus says in Revelation 3:16-17 in talking to the church of Laodicea says; "I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm–neither hot nor cold–I am about to spit you out of my mouth." We have become lukewarm. Some of us, if not all need to repent and get on our knees. I don`t know about you but I surely don`t want to be one of those that gets spit out of Jesus`mouth. Stop making excuses. Humble yourself and ask God for forgiveness. Seek His face, pray and watch what He will do.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

 

Comments on: "Pray!" (22)

  1. I don\’t know about Jesus being dead…. as I was told, didn\’t some girls see Jesus alive and go up to heaven to be with god? Just trying to let whoever was arguing about "dead jesus" know that he\’s not dead… he came back, didn\’t he? I was reading all these crazy comments and I got so confused! It seems that some people, (not everyone) is just trying to prove the non-christians wrong… by throwing bible verses at them and trying to make them "see the light"… I know some of these people personally, I\’m not sure if they\’re christians, I never really asked, but they aren\’t interested in reading about how they are going to hell if they don\’t love Jesus right now. I am a christian, no doubt about that, but I can see where they are coming from… they\’re confused and probably somewhat embarassed, like me sometimes, I can admit to that… but I would just accept what they say and if you feel like telling them what they\’re doing wrong, go ahead, but they probably don\’t care. And they might not become christians until hey\’re older, I know a lot of people at my church who turned into christians when they were forty or fifty. So I guess if it makes you guys feel any better, they could be "saved" yet.

  2. Also, I don\’t know how to make my msn space available to those who want to read it…. maybe if you want to read it that bad, give me better directions. I am technically challenged.

  3. You are doing a wonderful job Gerry. I have been reading through some of the comments from other posts. Man! You sure do bring on a lot of people who are so against God, so against you. I love the ones that tell you that you shouldn\’t use the MSN spaces for your religious beliefs…and then you respond with why is it okay to talk about drugs, drinking, and every other immoral thing you can think of. It is a free space to post at will. I support you completely. Keep it up!~Val~

  4. I don\’t think you get the point, Val pal guy.. or girl…. It doesn\’t impress anyone when someone tells someone else off, it\’s not cool. Sorry for being a hypocrite, kids.-Aprilp.s. I figured out how to let you guys see my blog, have a hoot reading it.

  5. Bethany said:

    Pink Ranger 5 – I am not sure if you get it either. Christianity is not just something you say you are, it is not a fad or something, it is a choice of lifestyle, or better yet an after life style. I remember a song by Michael W. Smith a while back that was about wearing a cross, what does it mean, is it just a fashion thing or does it actually hold some meaning to you? You must love the color pink, your blog has it plastered all over it and you call yourself the pink ranger. Say that the color pink was the one and only true color out there amongst the millions of different ones. Your passion for that color and for your friends and family would make you want to tell them about the color pink, instead of them liking or believing in say blue or green, still nice colors but not the true color. then one day you\’re sitting on the bus and happen to see someone wearing a pink bow with an outfit and take the chance to ask them if they believe in the color as the one true color. they just chuckle and say naw, i just like it cuz it goes with my outfit.wouldnt you want to take the opportunity to tell them about the color pink then?that is what as a Christian you should have, a passion for Christ and telling others about Him, he isn\’t something that sits on a shelf just waiting until something bad happens and you need a quick prayer, just like how much you like the color pink, you need to use Him daily with every little thing, good or bad. Just like Gerry has said with prayer, to be constantly in prayer, otherwise we will be spit out of Jesus\’ mouth at our judgement.

  6. Hey Gerry,Hmm, interesting comments so far in this blog. By the way, I echo your thoughts on prayer! Through prayer and reading God\’s Word (The Bible), those are the only two ways that we can communicate with Him and have a relationship with Him.Remember, all we can do is show people the truth that we\’ve come to know…if they reject it, we\’ve done all we can do and it\’s up to the Holy Spirit to touch their hearts and to help them see the truth. Harping on the fact and trying to convince those that don\’t believe repeatedly (Not saying you\’re doing that Gerry but just throwing that out there) will lead nowhere.SiYa LaTeRRyan

  7. Kirstin said:

    Hey Gerry..Its kirstin again… I was just wondering how is it that you have music playing on your sight? would you be able to tell me how to do that. I would love to put music on my sight! thanks!

  8. Kirstin said:

    to Jimmy wanabe..I must say that the bible in NOT just " some book" as you would so like to call it. The bible IS the mind of God given to us so that we could learn his ways and srive harder to be like him. That is what being a christian is all about. Trying our hardest to be "christlike" The bible is living in our hearts and minds if we so chose to read it. Hear it. Apply it and live it. How do you know it is some book? Have you ever read it?

  9. prayer\’s the only weapon we really have against Satan. thanks for the reminder Gerry! =)

  10. Valarie said:

    Pink Ranger….I am a girl…thanks! My comments to Gerry were to encourage him to keep getting the word out and also to comment about how people think it is okay for them to blast their beliefts and lifestyles across the http://WWW…but if a Christian puts a site up and tells others about Christ…we are told to "get a life". Well…we have…it\’s a life with Jesus…and we are called to GO…Go and make disciples of all Nations…what better way than to use the one tool that spreads across the World in such a quick way! Gerry isn\’t telling anyone off…he is simply responding to the comments made on his site with truth. If people are offended…then maybe they just shouldn\’t keep coming back for more! ~Val~

  11. Moonunit said:

    good topic. prayer is really important in life, i mean, it\’s how we communicate with god! it\’s how we have a relationship with our creator and savior! cool no? i would reccomend you read some stuff written by St. Teresa of Avila, she wrote a lot about prayer, and growing in prayer, and you might ifnd it interesting. look for her one book, "The Interior Castle" that says a lot about prayer, and growing in spirit and your relationship with God.

  12. Good topic – great reminder. We were just talking about prayer a couple Sundays ago in my Sunday school class, and how powerful it is. Wow…we had some awesome stories about answered prayer. It\’s hearing things like that, that really make me stop and realize what power there is, if only we would tap into it. I\’m one of those people who struggles to have a constant prayer life. I think I\’ve improved with the Lords help over the last year or so, but I know I\’ve got a long ways to go yet. Reminders like these are needed and appreciated.Keep up the Good work. 🙂

  13. Dear, "bp"(or any one who can relay this mesage)There is alot of facts to the argument that says that god is real. There are books that may have proven the fact *but* i can right a book about a man that flys around with his oun wings that dosent make it so. What are loyers most famouse for there great lieing abilitys but then again they have also proven that man evolved insted of just being droped on this earth. He was first a water life creature then a amphibious creature then through time and experences he grow\’s to the form of virus that we are today. If there was a god he would not pleg his earth with a thing such as human life. We have distroyed every animal habitat, and we have destroyed eachother. Im not trying to disprove your fath i am merly trying to understand why you give your life for some thing that MAY not be real.peace and love yall,

  14. Certifiablylovable,Yes i have read the bible it is a very good fiction. but tell me this would you trust someone who came up to you on the street and said "god has spoken to me you have all sined take this blade and be forgiven" no you wouldnt and why cause he is just a man god him self did not right the bible a human rote the bible and as i can remember human nature is to fail and learn from mistakes no human is perfict so is there ANY posible way that you have been fooled think about it, that crack dealer on main street was once a good person to peace and love

  15. the one below was me oops

  16. ValPal819,even tho i soport gerry doing his thing on msn i dont think you have the right to sugjest that anything done in these spaces is emoral. why must there be arguments between us cant we have a loyal dibate about belifes not a rolay rumble these are not cosher coments and AGE DOSNT MATTER i am 17 and i have indured more than you will in your life, i know more about the way the world works cause i see it first hand just cause i cant spell (witch you may have noticed) dosent mean i have less experencepeace and love, Jeffif you dont like it or want to know how i know all this stuf i seem to spread id love to hear from you number1_led@hotmail.com

  17. im sorry but this has to be said"(50 cent and Eminem are good artists..i dont worship them. i do enjoy their music.. Published By CoolGirlJade)"in no way shape or form dose rap count as an art all rap is, is slandering women and tellin the world oh much bling you have it is nothing but discusting and it is a insult to all man kind wile you put your hands in the air think about what this music has done what are they promoting violance, opretion, drugs and gangs i can live with other music i actuly listen to alot of country even tho i try to keep up this rocker image but rap is something i will never exept peace and love, << i can exept that

  18. Bethany said:

    Jeff/Jimmywannabe,What if it is real? in most every other religion out there, theres no harm no foul for believing in it or not believing in it. In Christianity the is a really great price to pay if you don\’t believe, and I am not willing to pay that price for anything, or anyone else. You have said that you have read the Bible, well that is great. That doesn\’t mean that you understand it. I can go and read a car or bike manual on how to put one together, but thats not going to happen anytime soon. It would take months or honestly years of study before I could even attempt to build a bike or car. So what makes you so sure that the Bible is fiction? and that you understood it from front to back and back to front? What is your evidence that it isn\’t truth?I don\’t know your life, for all I know you may have been to hell and back, so now that you are here, why would you want to go back?Bethany.

  19. GO HARD FOR GOD!!!! :Dlove geoffgar 😀

  20. Valarie said:

    Wow Gerry, I am truly sorry. I come on your site to give you words of encouragement…and then I open up this whole debate thing. Folks…if you don\’t like what I have said…then come visit my site…and leave your comments to me. This is Gerry\’s site and he does have some guidlelines. Read those at the top left of this page. There is nothing wrong with telling people that you are thankful that they have chosen to stand up in a world of lost and hurting people. Jeff/Jimmywanabe…I shall visit you and discuss your comment about me personally. As I later did with the pink ranger. (only to get a nasty response placed on my site…but you know, Satan goes to greak lenghts to get us riled up…if you take the bait…then sad for you.) I will not be told off by a teenager…no matter how much life they say they have lived. My only point here was to say that Gerry has a right to post his beliefs and thoughts without people telling him he shouldn\’t do it…just as you or anyone else have a right to take your site…and use it to your Will. Gerry chooses to follow God\’s Will and be obedient to his calling.~Val~Once again, Sorry Gerry.

  21. Jimmy Wanabe, You know I\’ve come to this space for a while now, and I\’ve observed you nit-picking at christianity for quite some time. (Gerry is a much more loving soul than me.) But I have to wonder. Why do you come so close to the line, but refuse to cross? As I read your questions, searching for proofs, and questioning peoples temperments and characters, I am lead to believe that in your heart of hearts, you want to believe in God. But unless your mind is completely convinced, you won\’t allow your heart to have it\’s way. This is completely free Jimmy, and it won\’t cost you a thing: Our mind gets in the way of all of us to serve the Living God from our heart. I encourage you to start following what you feel in your heart, and not follow your mind for a trial period, and see where it ends you up. Take it or leave it.Jason

  22. how\’d u get sound on ya blog? can u leave a msg on my blog n tell me?? thanks!!GOD BLESS Jade

Leave a Reply

