Just another WordPress.com site


Come, let us sing to the LORD!
       Let us give a joyous shout to the rock of our salvation!

    Let us come before him with thanksgiving.
       Let us sing him psalms of praise.

    For the LORD is a great God,
       the great King above all gods.

    He owns the depths of the earth,
       and even the mightiest mountains are his.

   The sea belongs to him, for he made it.
       His hands formed the dry land, too.

   Come, let us worship and bow down.
       Let us kneel before the LORD our maker,

   For he is our God. We are the people he watches over,
       the sheep under his care. Oh, that you would listen to his voice today!
Psalm 95:1-7

 

I always wanted to sing. It was in me. My dad was a singer with a rich voice. He was a crooner like Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin. So I inherited a good set of pipes as well.

I used to listen to the radio a lot singing all the songs and when my cousin June would come over we would pretend that we were singers singing into broomsticks My dad had an album by this new singer called Tom Jones that I would play over and over. I had the words to every song on that album down pat and could sing them from memory.

As I grew into my teenage years my interest in music began to grow even more. I discovered FM music which in the 70’s was very experimental and commercial free. My first 2 albums that I got for Christmas when I was about 15 were Led Zeppelin III and The Guess Who’s Share the Land. I wore out those albums playing them over and over. Led Zeppelin went on to become my favourite band. To me the music of the late 60’s and 70’s was some of the best stuff ever written. It was raw. The music today has lost something and it no longer has that edge. There is so many technical ways today to make a singer or a band sound better than they really are. They didn’t have that then and so the musicians tended to be of better quality.

After I graduated highschool and started working I started going to many concerts downtown at the old Montreal Forum. I remember waiting in line for Led Zeppelin tickets for 4 hours, but it was worth the wait as I walked away with 4 tickets to in my opinion then the greatest band on the face of the earth. All other bands paled compared to them. Their show was something I will never forget. I wanted so much to be like Robert Plant the lead singer.

I must have gone to a least 60 to 70 and had a record collection of over 500 albums. That’s how much I loved music. I loved just about every style that was out there at the time with the exception of some kinds of jazz, opera and reggae. But when I came to Christ, I had to let go of all that. Music had become my god and groups like Led Zeppelin and Genesis were it’s high priests. When I came to the Lord I had to let it all go. One thing that really disturbed me was finding out that Jimmy Page the guitarist and main song writer for Led Zeppelin got a lot of his inspiration from Alister Crowley, a big time satanist. It was time let go of that music.

My brother Gary had left an album by a man called Keith Green at my house and it had sat there for over a year. Not once did I listen to it until the day I came back to Christ. When I put that album on it seemed that on every song that man was singing to me. His songs touched me deeply and I began to ask my brother for more like Him. I had to get rid of my old record collection and start a new one. I couldn’t even put on the other music anymore. It seemed so empty and meaningless, whereas the Christian music had meaning and was full of hope and life.

I began to sing all the songs we would learn in church. Where ever I would go I would be singing. I loved to sing the new songs God had put in my heart. It was because of my singing all the time that my friend suggested that God was calling me into music ministry. The confirmation was when the director of the youth choral asked me to join without me asking him.

After Pastor Johnson left and Pastor Ken Bombay took over there were some changes that took place in the church. The director of the youth choral stepped down and a woman took his place. Now when I say youth choral, it really wasn’t as the ages of the people were between 17 to 26. The new director decided we should give ourselves a name and we came up with Living Fire. I had a great time singing with that group and singing with the church choir. It was through the experience with these groups that I learned how to sing harmony. It almost came naturally as if it had always been there. If you know me you know I can’t read notes, but I can pick up a melody and the harmony almost immediately. I thank God for building that in me.

The first time I ever sang solo was on a Wednesday evening. I was so nervous I felt like I was going to throw up. I hated standing in front of people, but I knew this was what God wanted me to do so I persevered. Pastor Ken Bombay loves to play the piano and he can pick up any tune given to him within a matter of minutes. He is another that can’t read notes, but boy when he sits down at the piano and plays, such an anointing comes into the place. The song I had chosen was "Oh Lord You’re Beautiful by Keith Green. I sang it to Pastor Ken before the service and he picked it up no problem. When I got up, I felt so week, I felt like my knees were going to buckle and I was going to fall. As Pastor Ken began to play I sang and God’s presence surrounded me like a warm blanket. Pastor Ken had me sing it again and after I went and sat down, he continued to play the melody on the piano. God’s presence filled the sanctuary like I had never felt before. Many people fell to there knees and many were weeping and just loving God. It went on like that for an hour and a half. We never got to that night’s bible study. God just wanted to minister to His children.

 

Oh Lord, you’re beautiful,

Your face is all I seek,

For when your eyes are on this child,

Your grace abounds to me.

I want to take your word and shine it all around.

But first help me to just, live it Lord.

And when I’m doing well, help me to never seek a crown.

For my reward is giving glory to you.

Oh Lord, please light the fire,

That once burned bright and clear.

Replace the lamp of my first love,

That burns with Holy fear.

 

I want to take your word and shine it all around.

But first help me to just, live it Lord.

And when I’m doing well, help me to never seek a crown.

For my reward is giving glory to you.

Oh Lord, you’re beautiful,

Your face is all I seek,

For when your eyes are on this child,

Your grace abounds to me.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

 

Comments on: "The Way of a Fool – Part 7" (34)

  1. Hi… I just wanted to say that i really believe in God, but sometimes i wanna die, and i cut myself… is it an offense to God? Plz answer me… thx

  2. LostGod loves you. You need to let somebody know what\’s going and and get help for this as soon as you can. It\’s not healthy to want to cut yourself like you do. Usally it stems from a sense of a lack of worth in one self and with others. You need to know that no matter what you may think of yourself, God has created you special. There is no one else like you. You are His creation, His child and He loves you more than you could ever think or imagine. I\’d like you to read Psalm 139 and ask God to reveal His heart of love towards you. Talk to your pastor or minister and get some counselling as soon as you can.Lord I pray right now for this person that you would help them to see that life is worth living. Help them to see the special gifts and talents that you have placed in them and see the great and awesome love You have for them. Give them the boldness they need to ask for help as well Lord. I ask this in Jesus name. Amen!

  3. Nice Its cheers me up to see that im not alone loving JesusDont stop working for himbless usebastien

  4. i love you, you love me…jesus rox my worlddd!!!!!

  5. Phil - personal acct said:

    Blessings my brother. I pray the Lord will bless you and protect as we continue our journey until our Lord and Savior returns.Phil

  6. Malcolm said:

    How did you become religious?

  7. Shalom, my brother Gerry,Pray all is well with you and yours! I wish I could sing, but some of us are like birds and some like frogs, I guess!Ha-ha-ha!Anyway my brother, keep up the fantastic ministries the Lord has bestowed upon you!Love, your brother in <Christ><Winston

  8. If God truely Loved everyone like it says too Love your enemy then Y does he say to hate Pagans?You and me and everyone else in the world that ever lived created everything in this world. Even us cause we give birth to the life. that lives..We are all Gods and Goddesses but the real Lord God Almighty is a women and she couldnt be all the good if she wants to be the only True God of the world cause we all are GODS! And the proof of God being a women is in the bible that we read. read it for yourself. it is Revelation 21:9 and 21:22

  9. Did God create the stars too and does the aliens believe in the same God?When God comes in the flesh, does she not bleed?who do you think would mary this person that calls themself God when she comes, dont you think everyone would say this person is crazy for calling themself God?and if you met God in the flesh you wouldnt know it cause you got your face jammed to deap in that bible of yours. and who is God to judge us anyways this world belongs to everyone even the Devil .

  10. Oh ya and another thing. I love God and believe in Jesus Christ is our Lord and savoiurbut God is a WOMEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!read the bible since you belive every word so much.and even in the bible it talks about everyone being Gods and Goddesses too I just cant find it. I found it once befor so i know its there.May God bless everyone even the devil cause God loves her enemys right!

  11. JenGiggles2Boy have you got it wrong! The bride the bible talks about in Rev. 21:9 is the church not God. Jesus Christ and God are one and the same.Ephesians clearly lays out who the bride is;And you husbands must love your wives with the same love Christ showed the church. He gave up his life for her 26to make her holy and clean, washed by baptism and God\’s word. He did this to present her to himself as a glorious church without a spot or wrinkle or any other blemish. Instead, she will be holy and without fault. In the same way, husbands ought to love their wives as they love their own bodies. For a man is actually loving himself when he loves his wife. No one hates his own body but lovingly cares for it, just as Christ cares for his body, which is the church. And we are his body. As the Scriptures say, "A man leaves his father and mother and is joined to his wife, and the two are united into one."This is a great mystery, but it is an illustration of the way Christ and the church are one Ephesians 5:26-32The other verse you are misquoting is John 10:34-36 Jesus answered them, "Is it not written in your Law, \’I have said you are gods\’? If he called them \’gods,\’ to whom the word of God came—and the Scripture cannot be broken— what about the one whom the Father set apart as his very own and sent into the world? Why then do you accuse me of blasphemy because I said, \’I am God\’s Son\’?Jesus is referring to Psalm 82:6. It has to do with judges and the law.I have met God and He is nothing like what you know but exactly like Jesus. If you see Jesus, you see the Father. Him and the Father are one. Jesus is also the creator and sustainer of all things.Christ is the visible image of the invisible God. He existed before God made anything at all and is supreme over all creation.Christ is the one through whom God created everything in heaven and earth. He made the things we can see and the things we can\’t see–kings, kingdoms, rulers, and authorities. Everything has been created through him and for him. He existed before everything else began, and he holds all creation together. Col. 1:15-17Yes God loves pagans, but He cannot accept what they practice. It is an abonimation to Him. He wants them to come out of it and find salvation through Christ Jesus. He is the only way to God. There is no other.

  12. hello, Gerry It seem\’s iv been here less and less me and my girlfriend (soon to be wife) have figured that it would be better for our kids to have some kind of fath insted of none so i have started to go to church even tho i dont like it i love her and respect her wishes so i guess im in a way like you people but i\’ll never give up on real music.

  13. Funny how to didn\’t answer my last comment…I\’m guessing that maybe I was a little bit right in saying one doesn\’t need god in their lives? Or maybe you were thrown off at the fact that I don\’t care to ease another\’s suffering. Ahh well.

  14. After perusing through your links to websites, I came across the Exodus International site. This is just plain wrong, and I am going to be writing them a letter also. Look at how many people are following your word like a flock of mindless sheep! No wonder we have so many redneck Christian KKK members beating up gay people. I\’m a bi-sexual female…and if any Christian told me I was a sinner for how I felt…they would definitely regret having said that. I believe that you are breeding hate towards minorities…you and your followers are probably racists and bigots also. Yes, I said it, and I don\’t care how many of you come over to my site and tell me off. Now, I know, that I\’m being ironic…showing displeasure in you religious folk, but I\’m sick of the preaching and the lack of understanding. People shouldn\’t be forced to hide their sexuality, just as you people shouldn\’t be forced to hide your belief in god. It\’s pretty much the same thing. I don\’t care whether you\’re religious or not, but when you combine religion and hate (or science too, thinking that people can CHOOSE to be homosexual, and then reverse it), that\’s where you are wrong and an ignorant human being. Gerry will probably erase this comment, but I don\’t care. I\’m so full of anger right now anyway, I don\’t think anything can make it any worse.

  15. Spin_Sugar_SpinBut you are a sinner as are we all. The only difference is that I have recognized that fact and have found the forgiveness in Christ. Beause a person is a sinner doesn\’t mean believers hate you. If they do that is wrong and they are not true followers of Christ.Sin is sin no matter how you dress it up and give it pretty names. You can try and be good all you want but it will never buy you salvation. It can\’t be bought. Exodus international and other groups like them are doing a great job in bringing joy and light to those that have been lied to by this world. They do\’t hate homosexeuls as well.They bring hope.

  16. Michael said:

    well, to start let me just open this by saying i haven\’t gone to church in over a year. now that we\’re comfortable…if you think modern music has lost its edge then you should check out the White Light Rock And Roll Review by Matthew Good. it was recorededraw and wasn\’t screwed around with after recording. take a lookpersonally, i think organized religion has become hypocritical. it was only created as a means of controlling the population. now, in a time that it is no longer needed, it only serves to divide the population. look at the middle east look at president bush, who claims he\’s doing god\’s work by killing 112,000 innocent Iraqi civillians.have a nice day.feel free to visit my siteTHE DUNGEONWhere Evil Lurks And Shadows Lie

  17. I personally couldn\’t care if I sin, and I will continue to sin. All I\’m saying is that you are sending people who are ignorant into a larger misunderstanding of gays through websites such as that. I don\’t understand how people like you and them can think that you can reverse homosexuality…it is just not possible. It is like a child putting all of his toys and clothes under the bed and then saying his bedroom is clean, so he can go outside and play…and the world is alright once again. Just sweep it all under the rug, Gerry, and keep convincing yourself…I guess that\’s easier than facing certain truths.

  18. did you really ditch zeppelin? come on man zeppelin rules

  19. ~ Blue Star Mom ~ said:

    Yesterday, Today and TomorrowThere are two days in every week that we should not worry about, two days that should be kept free from fear and apprehension. One is Yesterday, with it\’s mistakes and cares, its\’ faults and blunders, its\’ aches and pains. Yesterday has passed, forever beyond our control. All the money in the world cannot bring back yesterday. We cannot undo a single act we performed. Nor can we erase a single word we\’ve said….yesterday is gone!The other day we shouldn\’t worry about is Tomorrow with its\’ impossible adversaries, its\’ burden, its\’ hopeful promise and poor performance. Tomorrow is beyond our control. Tomorrow\’s sun will rise either in splendor or behind a mask of clouds….but it will rise. And until it does, we have no stake in tomorrow, for it is yet unborn.This leaves only one day….Today. Any person can fight the battles of just one day. It is only when we add the burdens of yesterday and tomorrow that we break down. It is not the experience of today that drives people mad….it is the remorse of bitterness for something which happened yesterday, and the dread of what tomorrow may bring.Let us, therefore, live one day at a time!Matthew 6:34 "So don\’t be anxious about tomorrow. God will take care of your tomorrow too. Live one day at a time."

  20. Hi Gerry, boy you get a lot of comments, lol… couldn\’t even find this to publish mine, lol.Hope you are well, I havent been by for a while.God Bless,Launas ♥ Peace of Heaven† Grace Be with all who have Undying Love for Our Lord Jesus Christ †

  21. last-ghetto-astronaut So why did you leave church? I agree with you, religion is responsible for many wars and problems. But a relationship with Christ, a true relationship with Christ never started a war. That\’s not Jesus was all about. However when it comes to defending your home it\’s a different thing. Bush is doing something that other countries like Canada are to cowardly to do, which is standing up to these terrorists.Come back to the Light. Jesus loves you!

  22. Spin_Sugar_SpinThey say ignorance is bliss. I have been on both sides of the fence and I have seen what is real and what is not. I do hope your eyes open and see the truth.Thousands will disagree with you about not being able to change. With man it may look impossible, but with God all things are possible to them that believes. God is good and will never turn anyone away.

  23. No, actually allpraiseandworship your wrong! you should read the revelution again. God comes in flesh.And Gary your wrong for erasing peoples thoughts, what are you afraid of? The truth?and spin spin surger your right God Loves you no matter who you are. The bible is a book and is just a guide and way back then people didnt have the technology that we do now, that is why Jesus saved us. When God comes, he is going to make everything new… thats cause we have the technology! Heaven should be a place for everyone to live.

  24. JenGiggles2 You are making no sense at all. I have studied Revelations many times. It doesn\’t even come close to what you\’re taking about. But of course if you don\’t have the Holy Spirit in you you would have trouble understanding anyway.Of course God loves everyone, but He cannot accept our sin. That\’s we He came in the flesh as Jesus, to die for sins. All you have to do is turn from your sins ask and Jesus to be Lord. Technology can\’t save man. It will be his downfall.

  25. WHO IS GOD TO JUDGE WHAT A SIN IS?AND HOW DO YOU THINK GOD IS GOING TO PUSH THESE RULES ON US WHEN HE COMES, WHAT IS HE GOING TO HAVE… SPEICAL POWERS LIKE SUPERMAN? OFCOURSE ITS TECHNOLOGY USE YOUR BRAIN!

  26. but then hey I could be wrong and go to hell but why would I go to hell God loves everyone!

  27. WE ARE ALL THE FACE OF GOD.

  28. JenGiggles2God is God, He answers to no one. You seem pretty messed up with your beliefs. I don\’t think you really know what you believe. Yes God loves everyone, but as I said sin can not abide in His presence. He is holy. He knows that if you come into His presence with sin you will be destroyed. Jesus provided a way around that. But it still means that you have to confess that you are a sinner, confess Christ as Lord and turn from your sin.If you make Him Lord He will open up your eyes so that you may see God\’s truths.

  29. JenGiggles2:You said: "USE YOUR BRAIN" Jesus isn\’t interested in your brain. He wants your heart. What\’s that? I didn\’t think you\’d want to understand. Just a quick question: Did God use technology to create the Universe, the Earth, the animals… you and I? Did God use technology to stop the sun for a day? Did God use technology to flood the Earth? Did God use technology to send fire from heaven? Why all of a sudden would he need something man created to accomplish his purposes? I seriously doubt you can merit your answer, without resorting to bratty insulting tactics. Surprise me.Jason

  30. I think if there really WAS a God, then he wouldnt be araid to show his face.

  31. Slaughtertheinnocent_666 Aah, but He did show His face. Jesus is the exacte representation of God. If you seek Him you will find Him, if you seek Him with a sincere heart.

  32. Slaughtertheinnocent_666: What if there really is a God, and you\’re too afraid to seek His face.Jason

  33. I\’d like to read the this page but please get rid of the yellow on blue. my eyes can only take about 5 minutes at a time.thanks.

  34. Well Edwardo, All I can say is turn down the contrast on your screen a bit and that should help. God bless

Leave a Reply

