Just another WordPress.com site

Self-help


Human beings are the most selfish of all God’s creation. All you hear from some people is me, me, me. We live in a self oriented society. You hear things like self-help, self-respect, self-awareness. There are more books in Christian bookstores on how to help yourself than on the majesty of God or helping others. Pastor’s today send Christians to psychologists or counsellors instead of the Word to get help.

The Bible tells me that the Holy Spirit is our Helper. Romans 8:26-27 In my walk with God I had a very good example of how God views us going to others than to His Spirit or Word for help. I was attending group therapy sessions. This group offered self-help for those who were having trouble dealing with their past. For a year or so I had been seeking the baptism in the Holy Spirit and had as yet been unsuccessful. One day I had a very strong impression in my spirit that I was to stop relying on seeking help from these sessions and that I was to rely on God and His Word for my help. I went to one last session and shared with the group my love for Christ and what He had done in my life. I told them I wouldn’t be returning as I had found my help. As I was going home on a crowded city bus I received the baptism. Tears streamed down my face and yet I could feel such joy in my spirit. When I got home I fell to my knees at the edge of my bed and that beautiful heavenly language just gushed out. What I have learned is that when I take my eyes off myself and focus on Christ, there is such joy and trust in Him. I worry for nothing. My rest is in Him and I sleep well at night. When my eyes are off Him and on myself I tend to head towards depression and look for help in other

Am I saying that it is wrong to love yourself, not at all. The Bible tells us that we are to love our neighbours as we love ourselves. Matt 22:37-39 Loving yourself means filling yourself up with the Word of God and realizing who you are in Christ and then going out and serving others. God’’s Word promises us that He would meet our needs. Matt 6:25-24

There is a special feeling of fulfilment when you take your focus of your needs and focus on another’s and go out of your way to help them. There is a real joy in knowing you have helped another. Listen to the reward you will receive, "When the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the holy angels with Him, then He will sit on the throne of His glory. "All the nations will be gathered before Him, and He will separate them one from another, as a shepherd divides his sheep from the goats. "And He will set the sheep on His right hand, but the goats on the left. "Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: ‘for I was hungry and you gave Me food; I was thirsty and you gave Me drink; I was a stranger and you took Me in; ‘I was naked and you clothed Me; I was sick and you visited Me; I was in prison and you came to Me.’ "Then the righteous will answer Him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see You hungry and feed You, or thirsty and give You drink? ‘When did we see You a stranger and take You in, or naked and clothe You? ‘Or when did we see You sick, or in prison, and come to You?’ "And the King will answer and say to them, ‘Assuredly, I say to you, inasmuch as you did it to one of the least of these My brethren, you did it to Me.’ Matt 25:31-40. So take your eyes off yourself today. Look around and do unto other’’s as you would have them do to you.

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

 

Comments on: "Self-help" (85)

  1. Unknown said:

    hey =) yeh its great to help other people! I get so much Joy out of seeing God acting in others lives then mine =) It is so awesome to see people touched by Him. god blesslove claire

  2. Hi,Do you know anything about spiritual transformation in the present rather than after death?Also, the way things look now from our collective insanity, humans must suffer: Socially, physically, mentally to become awake in God. Look at Jesus, he is the great example of this. He is the absolute manifistation of suffering which drives most people mad. So, knowing this Truth, we have to deny thy self and disolve into the reality of our condition. Life is not ment to make you happy but to become awake to God.Peace and long suffering.Love Darren

  3. Shaylah said:

    i think it\’s awesome that ur out doin\’ this in the open…i come from living waters christian assembly and i\’m just totally blown away with the idea of doin\’ this for everyone on msn to see..it\’s awesome!! keep it up!! shay

  4. Hi DarrenSpiritual transformation takes place daily as we submit ourselves to God\’s Spirit and His word. Romans 12:1-2 says; I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. 2And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.Nice to hear from you again!

  5. Christopher said:

    so what do u have to say about us middle people who believe in niether god or devil but chose to believe in the big bang theory?

  6. Selfishness is a virtue

  7. Yes , thats right…my blog is almost familar to yours… we need to go to God for comfort if we feel lonely , sad or hurted, go through the valley of death etc ….Keep praying for my husband and my family in the strength of God

  8. TheOriginalMouseJockeyIf selfishness is a virtue than so is stupidity.

  9. themiddleguyThere is no middle ground. You either believe or you don\’t. God created the universe. He is the author of the big bang.

  10. To themiddleguy:Hey man.. Did you read \’Zero\’ by Charles Seife? I loved it! It will give you a new perspective on nothing. :-)The Big Bang is one way to look at the Universe. How many thousands of years has it taken the human mind to figure that out? All there is is now. The big bang is a theory. A man made form for the universe. The universe is much bigger than that. ChowDarren

  11. Wow. You have the most religious blog i\’ve ever seen.

  12. Unknown said:

    i am a young christian(13) and i was so excited to find this page and i really admire you! god bless and keep up the good work!

  13. Unknown said:

    Assuming God caused the big bang (or you know, did it carefully in 7 days), how is the big bang even an issue? What of the possibility that God decided on all the rules for the Universe to obey. (You know, all those scientific things like gravity and such) And then he just lined up his pool cue and gave it one almighty whack? I don\’t see why both sides of the argument can\’t be satisfied.One: God is to many a literal figure, whereas to others a way of saying \’we don\’t know\’.Two: Science (and indeed scientists) needn\’t profess to explain everything. As every theory ends at some point. The next step is then (and has been) explained away as \’the rest was God\’. Maybe not openly, but nevertheless consistently.Three: An Atheist has just as much faith as a Christian.The only difference in this case is the therapeutic value of a literal God.

  14. Passive: God is a person, not a concept. Much like you are to me. Haven\’t met Him? Sorry to hear that. Want to meet Him? I didn\’t think so.Bye!Jason

  15. Unknown said:

    But then I get to thinking about the power of the mind. And the idea that Christians (or any creator based religion) underestimate themselves. That maybe the human mind really is powerful enough to create a God. And it is really the conclusion that provides the feeling of enlightenment. The burden that is removed once you have reached the ultimate conclusion. Simply putting an end to speculation, would give a human the ultimate release.I know I have experienced such euphoria when I sense that I might be coming to a conclusion. Maybe not the final conclusion, but something of great magnitude. My recourse is then to keep striving to find the one that fits me. Unless I can accept my lot as being the eternal speculator? Would I then sacrifice my own conclusion in favour of continuous speculation? And then, is that my conclusion?I move onto speculating that the answer you come up with does not matter in the slightest. That each and every answer is the correct answer because the ultimate result is spiritual enlightenment. Not in a sense that you actually know the truth, but that you feel you know the truth. This would be why all followers of a given religion know that they are followers of the truth. And it would also be why it would not matter which religion you belong to if it weren\’t for one thing.With any given religion, the spritual "placebo" effect is ruined if you accept that someone else might be right. If you give any weight to another truth, then your truth loses all credibility, and you lose your own enlightenment.

  16. Unknown said:

    And Jason, that would apply to you too. Please flat-out deny this. Please.

  17. Unknown said:

    Also Jason, you are no more real than a fictional character in a book to me. You are a name on a screen. A concept.

  18. PassiveSo what planet are you from? I most emphatically deny this and I\’m sure Jason will as well. Your assumptions are all wrong. You give sinful human beings to much credit.Like Jason said you should try meeting the King of Kings one day, believe me He is real more real than even you. One just doesn\’t experience God because he is euphoric, but because of a relationship with Him. We are open to a whole range of emotions. Thoughts that are not are own. He really does walk with us and talk with us. But of couse the god of this world has blinded you so that you can not see. It takes more faith for an athiest to believe that there is no God than a person who believes.

  19. Unknown said:

    But concluding the train of thought: the believer will then adamently and sometimes violently defend their truth. Anger and frustration that anyone could possibly disagree. This anger is either controlled or not. It is dealt with in vastly different manners depending on the person.

  20. Unknown said:

    I agree that an Atheist has vast amounts of faith. Possibly more because there is no church down the road for them to join. Despite Atheism being quite common, there is nothing to draw Atheists together to get a story straight. To come up with a unified decision on why and how and what.Perhaps it\’s not necessary to suggest that you know about my personal experience better than I do.

  21. Passive: Thanks for the taunt but I can\’t say that I haven\’t explored these thoughts. That I have some kind of higher consciousness of myself or something that I\’ve strangely tapped into. It only lasted for so long as I realized that the influence is external to me. It is not originating from me, but it originates outside of me. How do I know that? The wisdom and the confirmation of His Word, which in many cases, I had never read yet, speaks of the consistency of a person who is of a single mind external to my own. The thoughts, plans, purposes and intents are much higher than my own. I have had God speak very private things to me, then had a brother or sister come to me, and speak to me knowingly or unknowingly the same thing too many times. He confirms Himself to me and I can\’t not notice it. I can\’t say that I know everything about Him, but I know WHO He is. Over time I have met people that know this God, (my wife included), who have all bore witness to his multi-faceted personality, and have all confirmed knowingly and unknowingly to me that they know the same God I know. Not for my personal sense of sanity, but through the facts of their encounters and experiences bearing witness of the same person. I even once met a Sikh, who had been in car accident the week before and nearly died. He told me he saw someone open a book and start to read every intimate detail of his life to him. He was in terror, but he was given a second chance at life. I didn\’t feel released to explain to him what it was, but coming from an unbeliever, it was confirmation of God\’s realm. The bottom line is you haven\’t met Him so I don\’t expect you to understand. If you live the rest of your life just hearing about Him, I don\’t expect you to believe in Him. As a matter of fact, I respect that stance more than those the pretend to know Him. You\’re doing the best that you can having not known Him. But I assure you He exists. Assuming that what I\’m saying is true, why would you not want to explore this realm first before claiming He doesn\’t exist? What if you\’re completely wrong?Jason

  22. viking rainbow said:

    hi… sry im 2 lazy 2 read all ur bloggs but ya i can c that ur very god worshipy or w/e but i was just wondering wut makes u believe in "god" so much and y??? how do u feel about other religions and… how do u feel about those hu dont believe in god nor the devil but r just kinda in between… ya so u can reply on my space just leave a comment on the most recent blog… ya thnx

  23. Tsk Tsk Passive. To say I am a concept and not a person invalidates your sanity: christian or no christian. As intellectual as you sound, God aside, not a smart thing to say if you\’re hoping to "enlighten" us.Jason

  24. Unknown said:

    Assuming that I haven\’t already explored, and continue to do so, what makes you think yours is the only path? Having known those of varied paths I will not settle on a particular direction any time soon.What if I am completely wrong? Then I am completely wrong. I have no fear of being wrong. (big opening for jab here) I\’d ask you the same question but your answer is predictable. You of course, are NOT wrong. How could YOU possibly be wrong? (Oh, if your answer is different. Sorry)Your story about the near death is not in the slightest bit convincing. (Not that I don\’t believe it happened.) I am not unfamiliar with such stories. Neither am I surprised your wife is of a similar faith. Your God is the same as in most religions. Yes. Of course it is. Because your God is the one that \’created\’ the Universe. So your God is the same God as every similar religion. Maybe not the same as a Greek God or a Pagan God. But then, Pagan God\’s are facets (the word you used) of an overall conclusion.You don\’t know my experience, as I do not know yours. Assumptions are asinine.

  25. Unknown said:

    Oh Jason, calm down. I came in asking a question about the difference between creationism and the big bang. I am trying to come to a conclusion myself. Don\’t bring up insanity. Belief in things that aren\’t there? Insanity is not a word you should be able to use.

  26. Passive: Ok, let\’s do it your way. What in YOUR PERSONAL EXPERIENCE have you empirically done to prove if the person of God exists or not? I\’m interested in your answer. As far as saying God is the same as all of the other gods because they all claim the same thing etc. That\’s like me taking credit for inventing the light-bulb. Sure I can say that I did, but did I really? And because I\’ve claimed that I did, does that make Edison, Swan, Davy and myself the same person? Come on, you can do better than that. Until you meet Him you can\’t speak for Him as I cannot speak for you.Jason

  27. Passive:"Insanity is not a word you should be able to use."I will cherish that compliment forever.Jason

  28. Unknown said:

    I specifically said I had NOT proof, nor assumption. No one has proof, least of all you or I. I specifically said that I may never find the answer. Did you not read my posts?

  29. I\’v been gone have you noticed me and my love went on a trip she wants me to start going to church i when yesterday and i dont know. Even if i wanted to recindle my love for god (if there is such a thing) i think i would rather do it from home, but is not going to church a sinGerry i want to hear what you have to say NOT the bible.*~~*^$CRONIC-PAIN$^*~~*

  30. Unknown said:

    Well since you brought up the subject of insanity, you can have that one.

  31. Unknown said:

    Does anyone here want to discuss calmly?

  32. So then without proof or experience you think it\’s ok to write us off as a group of people that have chosen this "literal God" as their therapy? Sounds to me like you\’re making some assumptions of your own. Jason

  33. Unknown said:

    Proof. Not experience.Are you unable to recognise speculation? Especially when it is plainly written that it is speculation? That I never claimed it was fact, and explicitly said I was SPECULATING.QUOTE:"I move onto SPECULATING that the answer you come up with does not matter in the slightest. That each and every answer is the correct answer because the ultimate result is spiritual enlightenment. Not in a sense that you actually know the truth, but that you feel you know the truth. This would be why all followers of a given religion know that they are followers of the truth. And it would also be why it would not matter which religion you belong to if it weren\’t for one thing."UNQUOTE.

  34. Unknown said:

    And yes, I used the word \’literal\’ in reference to your God to separate it from a \’metaphorical\’ God that exists (as a concept). If you take offense at the word \’therapy\’ I apologise, but do not retract it.

  35. Jason "Insanity" is a word when spelt right.*~~*^$CRONIC-PAIN$^*~~*

  36. "The only difference in this case is the therapeutic value of a literal God." You\’re a funny person. Intelligence can\’t hide the insult. "Speculating" or not, it\’s still assumption. Jason

  37. Unknown said:

    Pardon Jimmy?

  38. Unknown said:

    No, that is not an assumption about you at all.

  39. Unknown said:

    Was there a typo somewhere Jimmy?

  40. MadCatz said:

    Good bye to those who mocked meDon’t even bother to say to me that Jesus still loves me or god still cares or that I am going to die in hell. I will not have my own opinions be insulted by people who wont even listen to them. You people make me sick, you cant even let two people love each other. God is about smiting those who wont listen. You say god is love, but why doesn’t he love those who make mistakes, so they don’t make those mistakes? Why didn’t he stop innocent people from dying? You say it is because man did these things. But didn’t he interfere many times in peoples lives in the bible? I don’t think Christianity will last, for there will be new adaptations of it, and the whole religion war will start again. Its already taking place in Ireland so just you wait. You can insult and disbelieve me all you want but this one moment is true, and my speech is correct. Only by insults will you make my fury harsher and only by mocking me do you Doom your self.

  41. Unknown said:

    And how would that be an insult if it were to be a specific assumption about you?That sentence means Atheism has NO inherent therapeutic value. Should I have used the word \’comfort\’ instead?

  42. This is partly a response to Jason who said that God is not a concept he is God. Well, sorry to let you down. But, everything is a concept. If it were not a concept you would not identify with it.The only truth we know is that we are here now, and that we do not feel connected to this world. The collective we try to destroy our world we don\’t love it, we try to beat it into submission. For revenge at not continously giving us what we think we want – or being stuck in this aweful dream.The arguements over the big bang and how we spell G_d are simple arguments either believe them or don’t.What is it that we are looking for? We are searching for future concepts of ourselves. When we get to the place we think we are going we are usually let down. Or we have a false sence of hope, but we do not enjoy it.. we move on to what we think is the next better thing. What if, after we die God takes the form of a Bum or a dispicible form of life? We are taught to love even the lowliest of lows.. Will you not feel let down? My initial reaction would be "bummer.." What next. God would say to me "Well that\’s it get over it or suffer". We are a large mass of concepts concepting. Argueing over definitions, getting bogged down in our own distorted self images. From my perspective, preaching seems to be the re-arrangemnets of spiritual experiences to bring comfort to everyone who is currently ignoring the present moment and giving you an opportunity to wait until you find the time to stop thinking and be. Oh, we are such a poor and sick lot. Hurry up and get well.We are totally immersed in the things we are preaching not to be immersed in. My-self included. It is very hard to stop thinking and just be. When we think we are being, a voice in our heads reminds us that we are being and at that moment we stop being. Nice talking with all you fellow concepts. Sorry if it offended anyone but while I was writing this it seemed like the truth.ChowDarren

  43. Passive: Therefore that statement also implies that God is our therapy, does it not? I think you need to give your halo a rub… it\’s looking a little rusty. I know you\’ll squirm to the bitter end, so this is it. You\’re "speculation" discounts the existence of something (God) without having sought it\’s (God) existence and therefore is unfounded and null. Carry on.Jason

  44. Unknown said:

    Darren, that\’s the first intelligent response I gotten here. Pity it wasn\’t from a believer (I assume – yes, as assumption).

  45. Unknown said:

    sorry, typo: "…response I\’ve gotten…"

  46. Unknown said:

    How so? Would I be wrong? Is God not a comfort?

  47. Darren,Concept: A general idea derived or inferred from specific instances or occurrences. Something formed in the mind; a thought or notion. See Synonyms at idea. A scheme; a plan: “began searching for an agency to handle a new restaurant concept” (ADWEEK). If I am a concept then I do not actually exist, but I am being formulated. If I do not exist, we can\’t be having this discussion. If we are not really having the discussion then we must be in the Matrix or something. Sorry, not sure where you\’re coming from, but good luck with it.Jason (former concept)

  48. Unknown said:

    Darren.See, you\’re right. Here we are arguing over semantics.

  49. Unknown said:

    Jason,Once something exists physically, it also exists as a concept. Permanently, even after if stops existing physically.

  50. Unknown said:

    Although, a concept also requires a mind – such as yours or mine. But only for it\’s initial \’conception\’ (if you will).

  51. Unknown said:

    The reason I called you a concept, is because I have no direct experience of your physical existence. We would have to meet in person for me to have that. It was a bit facetious, and honestly not meant to be taken seriously.

  52. Unknown said:

    In any case, that\’s just more speculating. And beside the point.In regards to my question, I don\’t think I will get a straight answer.

  53. Thanks for the discussion folks. What is energy? If you have a flashlight you do not see the energy that is behind the flashlight you see the light. I am saying you are more than a concept and why defend a concept? I would not try to offend you or damage you. But I can and feel compelled to challange the concept of you because it is not really you. Right. You are in essence pure energy that connot be harmed. Your physical body will disolve into this space and time but your energy.. Well shine on those around you.Well I have band practice now.. Go for it!Love Darren

  54. Unknown said:

    Darren you crazy kid. You blow in here, wow us, and then disappear. What up with that?

  55. Ok… this is getting wastefully tiresome. If you want to abstract your life to believe that you and I are nothing more than a concept more power to you. Carry on with your conceptual existence. The truth is God is a supernatural person that cannot be proven, but experienced. If you only exist within your rationale, and do not give yourself to the spiritual you can never understand. Our mind cannot process the spiritual. Our heart and soul is what understands it. The entrance to the realm of God is through your heart. If this sounds like blabber to you, then you are definitely operating within your mind and have limited yourself.Jason (former concept)

  56. How can Christians be so sure they\’re right and everyone else is wrong? Isn\’t that arrogant? Logically, it\’s not possible for all the major world religions to be valid ways to God. As seen in the verses above, Christianity states that the God of the Bible is the only true God and salvation is only possible by accepting Christ as Savior and Lord. Judaism states that the God of the Torah/Old Testament is the only true God, but that Jesus is not the Messiah, putting it directly at odds with Christianity. Jesus either is the Messiah, or he is not. If he is, Judiasm is not a valid way to God; if he is not, Christianity is not a valid way to God. The mutual exclusion only grows when other religions are added: Islam says that Allah is the only true God, and that anyone who says Christ is the Son of God will be condemned (Qur\’an, 5:72, 9:30). Furthermore, if religions other than Christianity are valid ways to God, then one of Christianity\’s basic principles is false; in that case, can it still be said to be a valid, trustworthy religion? (See also 1 Cor 15:14-19.) No matter what belief system you adopt, you will be saying that your system is right and that the billions of people who don\’t accept it are wrong. If Islam is correct, the billions of non-Muslims are wrong; if Orthodox Judiasm is correct, the billions of Gentiles are wrong. If it is correct to approve of multiple belief systems because they\’re all valid ways of acheiving spiritual enlightenment, the billions of Christians, Jews, Muslims and others who belive in exclusive religions are intolerant and therefore wrong. How can Christians be sure their religion is the right one? Being born into a Christian family or growing up in a Christian community doesn\’t make one a Christian; culture and ethnicity don\’t determine one\’s relationship with God. Instead, people become Christians because they are convinced of the truth of Christianity and/or have had experiences with God – in short, they have good reasons for believing Christianity to be true. (See the testimonies of people who have become Christians.) Also, Christians are not saying that their personal ideas are true, but that the Christian God exists, and his words are true. Furthermore, Christianity is unique among religions because it addresses the fact that we can never be good enough to be in the presence of a perfect, holy God. In order to be perfectly good, we would have to be doing good all the time. If we do something wrong, we can\’t undo it, and we can no longer be considered perfect. Nor can we do more good to make up for our wrongs, for perfection requires doing the most good possible at all times – we can\’t be more than perfect to make up for when we\’re less than perfect. Other religions teach that we can somehow do enough good to earn heaven or nirvana, but they don\’t address the fact that we continually make mistakes. Christianity teaches that our sins were paid for by Jesus\’ death on the cross, and that by accepting his payment and believing in him we can be forgiven; we don\’t have to earn our way into heaven, which is a good thing, because we can\’t do it. Christ is the only way to God, because without the forgiveness that comes through his death and resurrection, there\’s no way for us to be able to stand before a holy God. Saying that Christianity is right does not mean that Christians themselves are right about everything, or that they are innately superior to non-Christians. What Christianity teaches is that both Christians and non-Christians "have sinned and fall short of the glory of God" (Rom 3:23) and need salvation, which comes only by the grace of God, not the individual\’s actions or merits (Eph 2:8-9, 1 Cor 1:26-31). Christianity is intolerant of other beliefs Is refusing to call a belief false always the right thing to do? For instance, is it right to say that racism and Nazism are simply alternate belief systems that we shouldn\’t pass judgment on, or should we condemn these beliefs as being morally wrong? If someone believes they have the right to rape or kill whomever they please, should we accept their beliefs as an alternate lifestyle, or denounce them? Tolerance is an admirable virtue in many circumstances, but tolerating wrong by refusing to say it\’s wrong is in itself wrong. If Christianity is true, then there is only one God and salvation comes only through Him, and religions that deny this are not merely alternate forms of spiritual expression, but systems of belief that prevent their adherents from obtaining salvation. If Christ is in fact the only way to God, then to claim that he\’s not is both false and dangerous. If someone has a fatal disease, telling them that they don\’t need to seek medical treatment is wrong. If someone can only have salvation by accepting Christ as their Savior, telling them they don\’t need to accept Christ is even more wrong, no matter how tolerant or well-meaning it may seem to be. Christianity is exclusive – those outside the church aren\’t saved First of all, would a religion that taught that everyone goes to heaven be a good religion? We would all like to think that we and our loved ones will go to heaven. Yet if everyone automatically goes to heaven, this includes evil people as well as good people. Should an unrepentant killer go to heaven? Should someone who enjoys torturing people, or who molests children and feels no guilt, go to heaven? If not, then there are cases when it\’s morally right for people to be excluded from heaven. Christianity does not teach that only Christians deserve to go to heaven. Rather, it teaches that no one deserves to go to heaven, because we have all done wrong during our lives (Rom 3:23). We can gain admittance to heaven by repenting of our wrongs, accepting Jesus Christ\’s death as payment for our wrongs and deciding to follow and worship him as Lord. The principle is that Jesus is the only way to God, not any particular church or denomination (Jn 6:40). Thus, salvation is accessible to everyone and is intended by God for everyone: Turn to me and be saved, all you ends of the earth. (Is 45:22) I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone…This is good, and pleases God our Savior, who wants all men to be saved and to come to a knowledge of the truth. For there is one God and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave himself as a ransom for all men. (1 Tim 2:1, 3-6) (See also Is 49:6, 52:10, Rev 5:9). Indeed, there are people "from every nation, tribe, people and language" who will be saved (Rev 7:9). Thus, far from being exclusive, Christianity is inclusive. Anyone who chooses to accept Christ as Lord and Savior is a Christian and has equal standing with all other Christians before God. You are all sons of God through faith in Christ Jesus, for all of you who were baptized into Christ have clothed yourselves with Christ. There is neither Jew nor Greek, slave nor free, male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. (Gal 3:26-28)

  57. Jimmy It is not a sin not to go to church. But it is a place where believers are to meet together. Actually it just takes 2 beleivers meeting together to make a church.

  58. Unknown said:

    I guess that\’s that. Bye.

  59. Unknown said:

    Whoa! I spoke too soon.

  60. Passive,as you could probubly tell im not like the other people here i dont beleve in god and i\’v already tryed to get them to explain it to me. It\’s a lossing battle man your fighting some body elses beleves, it is fun to see what they say to the questions and you can learn things from some that dont quote the bible

  61. ""Actually it just takes 2 beleivers meeting together to make a church.""rilly? is that by law

  62. Unknown said:

    Actually. That WAS helpful. But wasn\’t the answer to my particular question. In fact, I\’m not sure who\’s question that answered. But it was helpful nonetheless.Just one thing:"If it is correct to approve of multiple belief systems because they\’re all valid ways of acheiving spiritual enlightenment, the billions of Christians, Jews, Muslims and others who belive in exclusive religions are intolerant and therefore wrong. "– Not necessarily. In that case it would be okay to be intolerant of other religions. You are stuck on ultimate right and wrong. (Which I know you believe in – that\’s not the subject at the moment). If each religion WERE a legitimate path to spiritual enlightenment, right and wrong wouldn\’t need to be taken into account. Possibly, the individual would decide their own fate. Who knows?

  63. Unknown said:

    In a sense, that happens while you are still alive too.It\’s up to you to make peace with yourself. This can definately happen without God.

  64. Shalom, my dear brother Gerry,I thank God for you! I cannot believe the comments you receive. I\’ll say this for you, God gave you a lot of patience!But I believe you are doing just what He wants you to do.We were just talking today about how that Satan uses deceitfulness to fool those that don\’t believe, in other words he is no more than a magician who uses the slight of hand to fool people and I see a lot of folks being deceived!If folks could just understand:H eO nlyL eftY ouB asicI nstructionsB efore L eaving E arth !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Love you, your brother in <Christ>< Winston

  65. Michelle said:

    hi my name is michelle and i have some questions i wanted someone to answer…i was just reading all the comments and i was relieved to hear that its not a sin to not go to church, because i dont. But does it make a less of a person?i was reading some books that had a different opinion on God. These books aren\’t philosophical- it was just a small mention in the books, but i was curious to find the answer. THe first book said that God had chosen to hate her, but in the other it said that there was no devil, God loved all living things. I m not a genius on the Bible and such, so could you please give me an answer? Also, i was reading a book where it said God died a hundred years ago. Im not making any conclusions, but why are they left to believe that? One reason was given that so many people had died in wars and such and yet life kept going. could you please give me an answer? thanks

  66. Michelle said:

    could you also tell me if i\’m saying/believing anything wrong aganist God? i really never had discussions about God.

  67. Passive, What are you still doing here? Your maturity level is degrading by the second. Jason

  68. Unknown said:

    Pretty soon I\’ll be down to your level.

  69. Passive, Sorry, it seems you\’ve wasted away your preeminence. Now you\’re just wandering around poking at christians for some kind of geeked out pleasure. Get out and go for a jog or something. If all else fails, get a life.Now we say bye ;-)Jason

  70. Unknown said:

    Jason. You came out swinging from the beginning. Your first comment had a derogatory tone to it. I can\’t be blamed for responding as such. I did hold out as long as I could. You know, I\’m starting to wear down. No one even tried to answer my specific question, instead choosing to respond with quotes that were irrelevant or posing questions back at me.You want to talk about maturity. I\’m not sensing a lot coming from you. I never claimed that I was mature. I came here with a question. Not answers. You seem to have answers, yet never to the actual questions being asked.

  71. "Now we say bye ;-)"Im sorry to say jason but you are no god you dont speek for evey one here i know you dont want to hold up the thought that all cristeans are kind harted but you need to chill try to let the led out man melow outgo listen to "dazed and confused" and most other Zeppelin tunes youll melow right out peace and love, Jeff

  72. PassiveAs far as I can see you are talking complete nonsense. And Jimmy this is my blog and I am putting an end to this discussion because it is going nowhere.Either you believe in God or you don\’t it\’s as simple as that. Jesus said plainly; I am the way, the truth and the life, no one comes to the Father but by me. Take it or leave it it\’s up to you, but it does affect where you\’ll spend eternity.This is a Christain space not a newagers forum and you\’ve had your say.

  73. MichelleYou\’re not affending me. If you want to learn the truth about God I recommend going to the source, the Bible. Your not going to learn the truth about Him in those books. I recommend starting with the book of John first.

  74. JimmyI am going to quote scripture to you now. Jesus said where ever 2 or 3 of you are gathered in my name, there I am in the midst. That is a church. It is not a sin not go to a church, meaning a building, but the bible also tells clearly not to forsake the gathering of ourselves together. Believers need each other. We are a body and when one part is cut of from the rest it can die.

  75. Hi Gerry, thanks for the welcome you left on my space. It\’s good to be back as part of his heavenly lord\’s flock.Later,Stuey.

  76. Im sorry if it sounded like i was provocing but i asure you i wasent i was only saying that it was funny and i gave constructive critisiumpeace and love, Jeff

  77. Unknown said:

    Michelle, I don\’t think it makes you less of a person not to go to church, but I think it can really help us grow in our faith to attend. I myself have been unchurched for quite some time but have hit a wall where I realize I really need to find a church to settle into because its going to help me greatly in growing spiritually.I do believe that God wants us to worship together at times, because it brings us closer to one another and closer to Him as we grow together in faith. A relationship with God is personal above all else though, no one else can save you but yourself. But coming together in church environments brings people of common goals and interests together which is a positive thing. Like a club or group, it is a social activity, a teaching/learning activity, and in this case a deeply spiritual activity to top it all off.~ ~

  78. Gerry,I thought it is a sin for not attend the church, are you sure? Because i use4d to feel guilty for not go to the church since my van is not fit for every of us as a family and i could not go… i thought i was kind of not obey God as a sin for not go to the church. I do talk with Tim, m husband about the word of God… and read bible .. etc .. but i really need to go out for fellwoship at the church that d give me the impression of the strength. I ask you a question… if i could not go to the church because of a problem with the van that won\’t carry all of us… can we teach and talk about God\’s word at home with my fmaily and friends instead go out to the church if stucked? I felt terribly guilt for not show up the church till i read your comment… wait a min.. is it not a sin? it confuses me .. boy!

  79. What about the Lord\’s supper-communion to remember His blod and body.. i could not do them at home.. it means we ahve to go to the church to take some for remembing Him. If not take them is a sin?

  80. Natalia said:

    Hi,First I want to let you know that I clicked on your space by accident BUT I think it is amazing!!! There are not alot of people in the world who cannot stand and say it loud and proud that they love Jesus Christ, and thounsands of others who never stop to think about what happends to them the day they die. Although you are a minister, I truly believe by the way you write is God in your heart, and even though I do not know you, GOD BLESS YOU!!I will read your space more often, I hope I can talk to you someday.~ Me ~

  81. Unknown said:

    hey everyone Id like to encourage you all to go to http://www.live8live.com/list and add your name to support live8 \’s cause!! And also pray that the leaders take notice and most importantly action, to help all those people. love claire god bless

  82. i already soport live8 clairebear

  83. Unknown said:

    !!!!!!!!GOD IS!!!!!!!!*love* *love* *love* *love* *love* *love* *love*you*love* *love*you*love* *love*you*love* !!!!!!!!GOD IS!!!!!!!!……*love**you* …*love*…..*love* .*love*………*love* *love*………..*love* *love*………..*love* .*love*………*love* …*love*…..*love* ……*love**you* !!!!!!!!GOD IS!!!!!!!!*love*……………*love* .*love*………….*love* ..*love*………..*love* …*love*………*love*….*love*…….*love* …..*love*…..*love* ……*love*…*love* …….*love***you* ……..*love**you* !!!!!!!!GOD IS!!!!!!!!*love**you**love* *love**you**love *love* *love* *love**you**love* *love**you**love* *love**love**love**you**love**love**you**love*!!!!!!!!GOD IS!!!!!!!!◦ĢØĐ◦ßζ€ڴڴ◦ ❤†❤^.^

  84. Hi LisaThere are times when we just can\’t get out to church. God understands that. There is no condemnation in that. The reason for church is that we learn and grow. We need the fellowship and the teaching. Without the body we will wither up and die. On those days you can\’t get out it is okay to have church with your family. As Jesus said; For where two or three come together in my name, there am I with them.Matthew 18:20You could also take communion at home as well, but make every effort to be with the rest of the body.

  85. Ernesto said:

    GAY MARRIAGE IS A DIRECT ATTACK AGAINST HUMANITY!!!!HOW ARE WE TO POPULATE THIS PLANET??? BUT THE FATHER DOES RESPECT OUR FREEDOM, ALWAYS,,,FOR THE SAKE OF OUR FUTURE AND THE FUTURE OF THE STRUCTURE OF THE FAMILY,THOSE WHO ARE AGAINST IT SHOULD NEVER EVER GIVE UP VOICING HOW WRONG IT IS FOR OUR GLOBAL SOCIETY…AND FOR THOSE WHO DON\’T AGREE, YOUR FUTURE GENERATIONS WILL AGREE WHEN THEY EXPERIENCE THE RESULSTS OF THIS GRAVE MISTAKE!

Leave a Reply

