Just another WordPress.com site

Rise Up!


Bless the LORD, who is my rock.

He gives me strength for war

and skill for battle.

He is my loving ally and my fortress,

my tower of safety, my deliverer.

He stands before me as a shield, and I take refuge in him.

He subdues the nations under me. Psalm 144:1-2 (NLT)

David was a man who was pressed on every side by enemies, even some in his own household. But David knew who he was. He was anointed by God to be King of Israel and he was a warrior. He knew that it was God who gave him his strength. It was God who trained him. God was his ally and his shield and fortress. If things looked bad he always ran to the one who created him. Yes David failed at times, but he always got back up, repented and went on. He was a man after God’s own heart.

Like David, Paul was also pressed on all sides and this is what he wrote through the Holy Spirit in 2 Corinthians 4:8-12 "We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed and broken. We are perplexed, but we don’t give up and quit. We are hunted down, but God never abandons us. We get knocked down, but we get up again and keep going. Through suffering, these bodies of ours constantly share in the death of Jesus so that the life of Jesus may also be seen in our bodies. Yes, we live under constant danger of death because we serve Jesus, so that the life of Jesus will be obvious in our dying bodies. So we live in the face of death, but it has resulted in eternal life for you." (NLT)

And in Romans 8:31-39 "What can we say about such wonderful things as these? If God is for us, who can ever be against us? Since God did not spare even his own Son but gave him up for us all, won’t God, who gave us Christ, also give us everything else? Who dares accuse us whom God has chosen for his own? Will God? No! He is the one who has given us right standing with himself. Who then will condemn us? Will Christ Jesus? No, for he is the one who died for us and was raised to life for us and is sitting at the place of highest honour next to God, pleading for us. Can anything ever separate us from Christ’s love? Does it mean he no longer loves us if we have trouble or calamity, or are persecuted, or are hungry or cold or in danger or threatened with death? (Even the Scriptures say, "For your sake we are killed every day; we are being slaughtered like sheep."No, despite all these things, overwhelming victory is ours through Christ, who loved us." (NLT)

The victory is ours! We have been made kings and priests and the bible tells us we are seated in high places with Christ. We need to rise up and seize the day! The things and cares of this world should never keep us from being what we truly are in Christ. We are warriors trained by the King himself. Rise up my brothers and sisters, mighty men and women of valour and let’s move forward taking what the Lord has promised us.

 
Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness,
      for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you. Matthew 5:10-12

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

 

Happy Canada Day Everyone!

Comments on: "Rise Up!" (14)

  1. AMMEEEENNN!!! Happy Canada day !!

  2. Rosemary said:

    Happy Canada day to you too Gerry….don\’t even respond to all the negative comments, they are just teenagers with too much time on their hands..and not enough parental supervision….God Bless you!

  3. Teresa Dawn said:

    Hi Gerry 🙂 Yes I saw the person posting as you as well last night, but it was fairly obvious to me that it wasn\’t you.God Bless,Teresa Dawn

  4. Miranda said:

    To call me \’\’unchristian\’\’ is very rude, just because I have different veiws than yours. Yes I belive in god and jesus, yes, I do sin now and again, but who the heck doesn\’t. I imagine you have done something wrong in your life, but to say that I\’m an insult to other christians is wrong, very very wrong, what gives you the right to say that, and your a paster? This will be my last entry in the site, I don\’t think I have ever been so appauled in my entire life by anyone saying I\’m in christian and I\’m an insult to christians everywhere because I belive in the UNIVERSAL DECLARATION OF HUMAN RIGHTS! I know being catholic is now excuse for my comments, but yourself, you should be brought down for yours. Telling people the beliveing in homosexuality is insulting is not the way to get your word of god out. By you putting the fear of god into kids, you will be sining as well. Well…I think so anyways, I\’m going to go to the preist running my church and I\’m going to ask him beliveing in human rights unchristian or is it not? I\’m not homosexual, but I belive in everyone and I mean everyone being treated the same as everyone else. Have a nice day!

  5. Happy Canada Day To You Too!!!!!bye!momo

  6. This chickThe Bible superceeds the UNIVERSAL DECLARATION OF HUMAN RIGHTS! It is the ultimate charter of rights. If you say you are a follower of Jesus Christ then you will follow what the bible teaches. If you call what the bible very clearly says is sin normal then you can\’t be. Isaiah 5:20-21 says; Woe to those who call evil good and good evil, who put darkness for light and light for darkness, who put bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter. Woe to those who are wise in their own eyes and clever in their own sight. Jude 3b-4 says; God gave this unchanging truth once for all time to his holy people. say this because some godless people have wormed their way in among you, saying that God\’s forgiveness allows us to live immoral lives. The fate of such people was determined long ago, for they have turned against our only Master and Lord, Jesus Christ.Go to your priest. If he truley follows the teachings of the Catholic church he will agree with me if not God help those in that church.Again we don\’t hate homosexuls, but we could never agree with their sin. They are allowed to say what ever they want. It is a free country. We are allowed to state what we believe as well and if that freedom is ever taken away, God help us all.

  7. You hypocrite.

  8. Raoul-Duke-III It\’s one thing to have free speech it\’s another to act like complete idiot like you did yesterday.Think on theseA wise man fears the LORD and shuns evil, but a fool is hotheaded and reckless. Proverbs 14:6A fool finds no pleasure in understanding but delights in airing his own opinions. Proverbs 18:2It is to a man\’s honour to avoid strife, but every fool is quick to quarrel. Proverbs 20:3Do not speak to a fool, for he will scorn the wisdom of your words. Proverbs 23:9He who trusts in himself is a fool, but he who walks in wisdom is kept safe. Proverb 28:26Even as he walks along the road, the fool lacks sense and shows everyone how stupid he is. Ecc. 10:3

  9. Judge not, lest ye be judged. An opinion is a judgement. It if for God to decide all things, not us. Live therefore in peace with all whom you know and meet wherever you may travel.

  10. laurent said:

    i\’m french speaker and i would like congratulate you for your site!can you give me site where i can hear music christian free (without pay).i vould like te change the music of my site.God bless you!

  11. Gerry, guess what? Raoul-Duke-III (http://spaces.msn.com/members/afterbirthsoup/), he challenges me, but i just left the few verses and several sentences in their comment…. take a look at what he does to me… i don\’t care how he tries me, and i will keep delating his comments… save myself from arguing with the fools like them!

  12. NicoleI went back to your space and re-read what you wrote. I mis-read it and I now realize that you were quoting another author. I apoligize.But that doesn\’t excuse you from twisting the scriptures to say that homosexuality is accepted by God. It never will be. You are the one who is in error. I don\’t care what degrees you have. If you don\’t have the wisdom of the Spirit, you don\’t have truth. I take the teachings of Jesus and Paul at par because it was the Spirit who authoured the Bible through men.

  13. Unknown said:

    great again Gerrylove claire

  14. Unknown said:

    Oh, Gerry thanks for the comment on my page, yes I would love to be linked with the others taking a stand for Christ :)God bless!

Leave a Reply

