Just another WordPress.com site


Today there is a teaching going around saying that Christians can be possessed by demons. Paul said in Galations 1:6-8; "I marvel that you are turning away so soon from Him who called you in the grace of Christ, to a different gospel, which is not another; but there are some who trouble you and want to pervert the gospel of Christ. But even if we, or an angel from heaven, preach any other gospel to you than what we have preached to you, let him be accursed."

No where in the Word of God is there an example of a believer having to be delivered from demonic possession. We can be oppressed but not possessed. When we ask for forgiveness for our sins and invite Christ to be our Lord we are changed. 2 Corinthians 5:17 says; "Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new." We become a temple in which the Holy Spirit dwells 1 Cor. 3:16. God will not share His temple with another 1 Cor 6:14-16.

The problem today is that everyone want to find someone to blame for their sin instead of putting the blame on whom it squarely belongs. Like the American comedian, Flip Wilson used to say, they say; "The devil made me do it." So who is to blame? It is our own flesh. Our old man.

The Word says in Galations 5:17;"The old sinful nature loves to do evil, which is just opposite from what the Holy Spirit wants. And the Spirit gives us desires that are opposite from what the sinful nature desires. These two forces are constantly fighting each other, and your choices are never free from this conflict."

And in Galations 5:19-21; "When you follow the desires of your sinful nature, your lives will produce these evil results: sexual immorality, impure thoughts, eagerness for lustful pleasure, idolatry, participation in demonic activities, hostility, quarreling, jealousy, outbursts of anger, selfish ambition, divisions, the feeling that everyone is wrong except those in your own little group, envy, drunkenness, wild parties, and other kinds of sin. Let me tell you again, as I have before, that anyone living that sort of life will not inherit the Kingdom of God." 

I know Christians that call these works of the flesh, demons. They will say that they have a demon of lust rather than accept responsibility for their actions.

Have you ever noticed the relief you feel when you are able to shift the blame for something you have done to another. Like Adam in the garden we point to someone else as the cause for our rebellion. Satan is laughing because he has all these people bound up with the belief that they will be changed if they can just get rid of those demons instead of dealing with their own sinful nature. Can Christians be possessed? No! The Word says that those whom the Son sets free are free indeed. John 8:36. How do we defeat the flesh? Through renewing your mind by reading God’s word and spending time in prayer.

Romans 12:1-2 says; "And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice–the kind he will accept. When you think of what he has done for you, is this too much to ask? Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will know what God wants you to do, and you will know how good and pleasing and perfect his will really is."

The more time you spend with Jesus the more you will become like Him. We can trust God that there is coming a day when we will be free from this flesh and it’s passions. Praise You Lord, we look forward to that glorious day!

 

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

 

I encourage you to join Awesome MSN Spaces and let your faith be shown!

 

 

Comments on: "Christians and Demonic Possession" (17)

  1. Wow Gerry! Awesome and very inspiring!Keep up the great work soldier!Lawson

  2. Nice space!

  3. Hi Gerry!Have a great day!Kim

  4. Yes its right but being oppressed is not pleased! Satan tries everything to throw the heavy things on the mind like trouble, fear and break down the energy because they feel threatened that we are getting closer to the Lord… however we claim the freedom in Christ , right… have you experienced to be free from oppressed? I concern how to solve " oppressed"… thank you

  5. Benjamin Scott said:

    Umm.. Very religious space I guess..

  6. Hi LisaDemons have no power over Christians. Oppression happens when we allow sin into our lives that gives them an open door. The only way out is to repent turn from them. Also by following the principels in Roman 12:1-2.We must renew our mind daily in God\’s word and in prayer.

  7. Thanks for the advise about the bible lego.. i delated it ….

  8. What would you say is going on with believers who have committed sins like child molestation?

  9. Melissa said:

    Hey, it\’s me again. You said to ask for a prayer request for direction in my life, but really is that all I have to ask?? It doesn\’t seem a lot to say. Well anyways you have an awesome space, keep up the good work. God Bless Ya!

  10. Hi Amber – ConfidentKnowItAllAnybody who commits child molestation should be tried in a court of law and pay for the crimes they have commitied. If you mean does God forgive someone like that. Yes He does if they sincerely are sorry for the things they did. But that person still has to pay the consequences through the law.

  11. I\’m feelin better every time i come here!

  12. The-Country-Cowboy said:

    Gerry, I am reminded of the verse that says we can\’t serve two masters. We can\’t serve God and a "demon", therefore I would agree with you, it is our old man and we are responsible for our sin.

  13. I am not here to insult anyone, nor I am wanting to. My Apologies if I do.I am a none believer, I have been for my entire life, and I am very sure I will continue to be. I find it interesting to read what very dedicated religious people have to say on certain issues, and I find it sometimes very offense how I am dealt with as in regards to my non-belief. ( IE I was told I was going to hell by someone once, when I told them I didn\’t believe in God)Wha tI am trying to say, is that I hope anyone who reads this or Gerry himself can share with the normal reader\’s is that understanding is something that will free you as much as your faith as (if I have heard correctly from some of my Christian friends) one of Christ\’s teachings was that of understanding and accpeting people for what they believe. Yes I know there are many arguements you wish to present, and please I need not hear them, as I have been told them with a certain amount of authority before. All I wish to do is to advise you to please be accpeting if you aare not already of others who are not religious and respect and listen to their opinions and beliefs and they have spent time listening to yours. Please do not push your religious belief upon them but if they wish to accept your faith then allow them to with open arms. The way of Faith is not the only way to salvation and self revelation, nor savior. Yes it is one, but there are many others and peopel are far to different to accept one belief, or one system of beliefs. If one respects all people and accepts all people, then there should really be no issue in their choice of faith. WE all have to spent our time together on this relatively small planet, and WE are all one race, and there is no "them" or "us", there is just WE. I have not deleved into the depths of your BLOG, nor will I but I wish to share this with you as I felt as though I must. Cherish yourselfs and your freedoms of belief, as not everyone has that. Be thankful for everything you have and live your life how you wish, and a long the way let people live their lives. Please I understand you will have certain arguements to present and I know them well, I have heard them as I have said before. I am going wrap this up I hope I have not offended anyone, and just wished to shaer my feelings and thoughts with you all.

  14. Even – Wehr_01 You said "one of Christ\’s teachings was that of understanding and accpeting people for what they believe"No where in the Bible does Jesus ever teach that. He said the He is way the truth and the life no one comes to the Father but by Him. He told His disciples that when they witnessed about Him to others that If anyone will not welcome you or listen to your words, shake the dust off your feet when you leave that home or town. I tell you the truth, it will be more bearable for Sodom and Gomorrah on the day of judgment than for that town. Mathhew 10:14-15.You came to my space. This is what I believe. That there is only one way to salvation and that is through Jesus.I can\’t force anyone to believe. That is the work of the Spirit and an individual\’s choice. People come to my space and make their own decisions. But don\’t tell me that I am forcing my veiws on others. Now if I went around to others spaces and started pushiing my views on their spaces that would be a different story wouldn\’t it. But many who come here seem to have no problem in pushing what they believe on here and then they say I am the one pushing my veiws on them. ????? It is my blog,If people don\’t like what I have to say then go elsewhere. But if you want to continue to here the truth and about how Jesus loves keep on coming.

  15. Unknown said:

    This is another example why I am not open to people about my faith…

  16. Unknown said:

    heya Gerry, You Rock =)Just thought Id pop by and let you know =)gr8 blog once againlove clairegod bless you all sooo muchand then some more

  17. Gerry, As I said before, I don\’t believe that you are pushing your views upon others at all. I just wanted to share with you, whom I believed to be understanding and accepthing what I think. I never once said YOU were pushing your views upon anyone person. I respect you and your preachings it is clear you work hard, I repsect that. I just felt like sharing with you as you are with us. Like I said I apologize very much for offending you if I did. Also as I said, I was only speculating on the teachings issue, I was totally not sure and I was wrong.The only reason I came on here and said what I said was because you are respectable and you don\’t push your beliefs, so I was just sharing with you experiences and I was hoping that you could preach the same, as you have and that is all I was doing. As I have said I am sorry if you misread me, or I just didn\’t say it clear enough.

Leave a Reply

