Just another WordPress.com site

Unity


Behold, how good and how pleasant it is For brethren to dwell together in unity! It is like the precious oil upon the head, Running down on the beard, The beard of Aaron, Running down on the edge of his garments. It is like the dew of Hermon, Descending upon the mountains of Zion; For there the LORD commanded the blessing; Life forevermore. Psalm 133 (NKJV)

"I do not pray for these alone, but also for those who will believe in Me through their word; that they all may be one, as You, Father, are in Me, and I in You; that they also may be one in Us, that the world may believe that You sent Me.. "And the glory which You gave Me I have given them, that they may be one just as We are one: "I in them, and You in Me; that they may be made perfect in one, and that the world may know that You have sent Me, and have loved them as You have loved Me. John 17:20-23 (NKJV)

I have never felt as loved and welcomed in a church as much as I feel now. The church we belong to is unique. English and French join together and we see no difference in each other. There is so much love especially from my French brothers and sisters in Christ. I love them and I love their language (Lord help me to learn it quickly!) and culture.

It was not always this way for me. My father was raised a Roman Catholic. My grandfather was French and my grandmother Irish. When my father met my mother, a Protestant, and wanted to marry her, he was told by the priest that he would be excommunicated and would go to hell for marrying an English Protestant. After he married my mother, his family turned his back on him. He turned against his culture and refused to speak French at home and turned to alcohol. My brothers and I were sent to an English school and lived in Verdun, which at that time was mostly English. My friends and I were constantly fighting with the French and trying to prove how much better we were than them. As I grew up I became prejudiced and thought why should I learn French, no one was going to force it upon me. Even as a Christian I used to enjoy arguing the politics of the land, it was us and them. But oh how wrong I’d been.

If you say you love God and hate your brother, you are a liar. How can you not love your brother whom you can see and say you love god whom you can’t see? 1 John 4:19 In Christ there is no us and them. We are all foreigners in this world. We are citizens of heaven. Jesus prayed that we be one. We are to be examples to this world. In Heaven we will all speak the same language, a heavenly language. Forgive me my brothers and sisters for my past views and ignorance. We as Christians need to work together to bring Christ to Quebec and we can only do this by tearing down the cultural barriers of the past that said it was us and them. Let us, through Christ’s love be an example to Quebec and Canada.

Brothers and sisters around the world. Please pray for Quebec. It is one of the least evangelized places in the world. It seems strange as it being in the middle of North America and all. But it is. Out of a population of just over seven million and only .04 percent of those are born again Christians. Never in it’s history has it known a sustained move of God. Will you pledge to pray for this great province of Canada. You don’t know how much it would be appreciated. – Gerry

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog. Turn your space settings from private to public.

 

Comments on: "Unity" (37)

  1. Hey Gerry!Thats awesome bro! Unity is so important for us as Christians! People may bagg us out because of our different "denominations" but we are all living, serving and preaching the same Jesus!Unity in our schools, families, work-places, and even in our web-spaces will see salvation increase!I just noticed you have the \’10 myths about christianity\’ site. How awesome are they!!! They really answered some questions I had! Tell me what you think about it when you get the chance!Your doing awesome things Gerry!Love Lawson

  2. Hi, Gerry!!!!Have a great day!Kim

  3. What does \’Maranatha\’ mean?

  4. Maranatha means The Lord is Coming. It is a greeting that early Christians used to give each other. It has made a comeback in these last days.

  5. The-Country-Cowboy said:

    Gerry, Thanks for the explanation, I was curious my self as to what Maranatha meant.

  6. Gerry you\’re already in my prayers. Just a thought, please weigh this for yourself:As you seek God more, you can\’t help but have unity with those who love and know Him. Just wanted to say too, regarding those that strive with you, that you really want unity with: Don\’t have unity with them just for unities sake, have unity with them in that you both ultimately have submitted to the truth of God. Don\’t compromise brother or that unity will just be a timebomb of strife that you\’re constantly defusing. Just because there is not unity does not mean you don\’t love that brother, but we can only drink from one cup.This just came up. Please judge it yourself.Jason

  7. Rosemary said:

    Your site is great Gerry, keep it up and don\’t let the negative comments get to you, they are such sicko\’s ….Saten is preety crafty and now has such a media tool to do his work…don\’t let him \’poke\’ at you. I love your site , its refreshing…but like when do you have the time to blog so much??? lol Thanks for my morning devotions….

  8. I really like your site. I\’ve been interested in seeking more knowledge about religion.. and Jesus seems like the path for me. I was wondering if people are invited to your church freely, or do you need an appointment. This site is so positive… I\’m so excited! Good job Gerry.. I hope God blesses you and your family forever! 🙂

  9. Rosemary said:

    Satan posted me and said I spelled his name wrong….I think he really likes your site cause he reads it all the time…sorry about spelling your name wrong Lucifer, I don\’t use it too much or think about it alot…

  10. hmmm i was wondering…since one of your rules for this blog is that the lord\’s name not be taken in vain, and ALSO since you have such a narrow, dare i say BAD taste in music – ("What I\’m Listening to Now" section says it all)…would you consider the title of one of the greatest songs ever concieved, "God Only Knows" by the Beach Boys (listen to it…please), to be taking the lord\’s name in vain?-A Curious Visitor

  11. Why is it that you have to come in and make insults? Most of the music that is produced out there in the world is garbage compared to music that glorifies God. Believe me I have listened to a lot of music, I mean a lot. The thing that offends you about Christian music is it is about God and it is God that offends you. Your view is a very narrow one indeed. I bet you haven\’t even listened to what I have listed, but of course you wouldn\’t admit that. As far as the other question is concerned it is utterly stupid. I can tell you that God knows where you are headed unless you get your life right with Him. Jesus is your only hope and He loves you inspite of yourself.

  12. Hey Gerry my name is eric Dolan and i am 13 and i want to know what is your opinion of family traditions? my brother always makes me do these stupid things and my mom says i cant wear my hair like this or like that all because of family tradition. i mean what is the big deal with family tradition?!!!!

  13. Well Eric this is what I call tell you. The bible says; Children, obey your parents because you belong to the Lord, for this is the right thing to do. "Honor your father and mother." This is the first of the Ten Commandments that ends with a promise. And this is the promise: If you honor your father and mother, "you will live a long life, full of blessing." Ephesians 6:1-3Obey your parents Eric. I doubt they are making you do anything that is contray to the teachings of Jesus. Obey them and you will be blessed.

  14. Unknown said:

    p.s:and i AM looking for truth so i\’d like an answeroh and sorry for swearing i didnt see the thing on the side

  15. ShiroiYou need to go and read my series on Who Is Jesus? If you have more questions come back and ask again. I hope you find the truth.

  16. I was reading through your comments…i do like your music taste…there is a really good song I heard entitled He\’s Alive. I cant remember who it is that sings it but its a really good song. You should check it out some time.God BlessNicole

  17. Rosemary said:

    Thanks Gerry for getting back to me…I know my site is not as much to the Glory of God as yours is…mmmm does\’nt mean I don\’t love the Lord as much…I DO!!! oh and Satan responded…such a character…love those teens that spend too much time on the computor…I do just delete, but first get a good chuckle out of it..he asked me if I was scared??? ya with the host of angels around me? and Jesus behind me?? ya I am terrified…..lol specially of a teen who spends too much time on line….I will pray for you every day..and please be careful, there is one comment on your page that also was sent to me by the same guy…I will call him .\’Richard??\’ I just have this feeling…calling…gut thing………its not right….its too easy…after what he sent me the same time he sent you asking about Jesus and your religion…just be careful..I deleted him..

  18. Hi my name is James and this is my first time on this blog. I am a new member of the church, not your church but one in Toronto, called Trinity Streetsville. I have always been quite shy and have not been much for talking to people about religion, but the internet gives me a chance to comment with out have to talk face to face. Anyway i had a few questions which i was wondering if u could help me with:1. (which is actully a question already asked by a "Lucifer") Why does God not like gay people? I thought God loved all his children.2. Why are there people say things like "God hates us all" that not true is it?3. If God created this world why did he make it with so many problems?Anyways i hope u can answer these questionJames

  19. heyI just wanted to say this site is awesome…i LOVE jesus…and i think its about time we acknowledge the fact that he DIED for our salvattion!! AMAZING WORRRK!SMILE….JESUS LOVES U!

  20. Hey Hey. I am very happy to see christ has been crossed over onto the would web media. Gerry, keep up the good work. You\’re a good man! 🙂

  21. Hi JamesFirst. God does not hate anyone. But He can\’t tolerate sin. Homosexuality is a sin. God is holy and sin can not abide in His presence. The bible says that all have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God. That means you, me and everybody on this planet are sinners. Sin requires judgement and that judgement is eternal seperation from God. But John 3:16 says that God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son that whosoever should believe in Him should not perish but have eternal life. Jesus died on the cross and took every sin ever commited upon Himself. The bible says that He who knew no sin became sin Himself for our sake. He took our penalty upon Him. All God asks now is that we repent and turn from our sins. if you confess with your mouth, "Jesus is Lord," and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. Romans 10:9I have answered you second question in my first answer.Third. We live in a fallen world. When Adam and Eve sinned they allowed sin into creation which is why we have many problems today. But another reason for problems is that they serve to make us strong.

  22. Shar Shar said:

    holosexuality is not a sin. it is a way of life for some people. how in the world is it a sin. that is the most ridiculous thing. this is offensive.

  23. Oh but is a sin whether you believe or not. As with any sin it will be judged along with those that practice it.For although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened. Although they claimed to be wise, they became fools and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images made to look like mortal man and birds and animals and reptiles. Therefore God gave them over in the sinful desires of their hearts to sexual impurity for the degrading of their bodies with one another. They exchanged the truth of God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator——who is forever praised. Amen. Because of this, God gave them over to shameful lusts. Even their women exchanged natural relations for unnatural ones. In the same way the men also abandoned natural relations with women and were inflamed with lust for one another. Men committed indecent acts with other men, and received in themselves the due penalty for their perversion.

  24. Nice site, looks like alot of work has went into it.

  25. number1_led@hotmail.comyou will notice that my e-mail addy is the first thing so if you dont like what im saying im always glad to read constructive critisisum. you might also notice i cant spell but right to the point "If you say you love God and hate your brother, you are a liar. How can you not love your brother whom you can see and say you love god whom you can’t see?" this is point less you can love some thing you can\’t see more than a family member I personaly dont beleve in god as you can tell from the name but to each his oun. "god said love me and love will be returned worship me and you will have a place in hevean by my side, the devil said hate me and you will be closer yell into the fire and i will hear folow me and there will be no pain" I like this cause it shows how a great man can be evil too you dont have to be good to be loved and to love.well thats my two cents hope I didnt afend any one but >atheist< *~~*^$CRONIC-PAIN$^*~~*

  26. i\’m sorry but this has no real relevence to this blog but i need to say it.i\’ve had a long run with God. its had more ups and downs than an overworked yo-yo. i just cant stop thinking about God. probly like once or twice every hour i think about him and just pray. it might sound weird, but i\’m like, addicted. i hope thats not a bad thing. the other night i was having real trouble sleeping. i was havin bad dreams and stuff after watchin this copper show. it was 1:30am or something and i was really prayin hard to get to sleep. but i had this urge……just to literally SAY somethin to the Lord. So i cried out, "Jesus u r the Lord." DUDE! I got to sleep like so much better without the bad dreams and all! this is an awesome site you got here. i gotta thank u so much for showing me that i\’m not the only one addicted to Jesus ;). your faith is showin all these people that God is awesome! We think we know so much about him but hes so much like a mystery! We could die any day, any hour, any minute, any second. yet us chrsitians just hang on because we know JESUS IS LORD!!!!i applaud u again.i hope u read my whole comment (hint ;).thanksGOD BLESS YOU SOOOO MUCH!!!!!from pen

  27. I am a gay man…sometimes…I do not appreciate gay bashing…the way…the way you feel when your inside a woman, thrusting, and kissing her puffy lips…now pretend the only way, the only way you can feel that way is with another man…how do you fight that….try and put yourself in my shoes…-richard

  28. JimmyWho said anything about hating homosexuals. Never have I ever said that. What God hates is the sin. God is Holy and those who practice any sin cannot enter into His presence. They are destined for hell. That\’s why we warn them, because we do care about their souls. Those who call themselves Christians and say they hate anyone are not true Christians.On your little saying about the devil and no pain. As the weeds are pulled up and burned in the fire, so it will be at the end of the age. The Son of Man will send out his angels, and they will weed out of his kingdom everything that causes sin and all who do evil. They will throw them into the fiery furnace, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth. Then the righteous will shine like the sun in the kingdom of their Father. He who has ears, let him hear. Matthew 13:40-43Hmmm sounds like there will be quite a bit of pain to me. Don\’t believe the devil\’s lie. There is a way out and it\’s through Jesus.

  29. r. mortanchild If you call warning people to turn from their sins because of hell gay-bashing that\’s up to you. But we care where your soul winds up. You at one time in your life where told a lie and you believed it. There is hope for you. You can change. Many have and will testify as to what God did in their lives.Jesus loves you. If you ask forgiveness of Him, He will forgive you. But He would also say go and sin no more.

  30. Christine said:

    I think we are just going to have to agree to disagree on this topic. Because, I could go on all day and I\’m sure you both could go on all day too. I Love my kids more than anything, and I would do anything for them and weather or not I stay home, I know they will love me just the same.

  31. this is mister Jimmy again by the way my name is Jeff its Jimmy as in Jimmy Page(Led Zeppelin)"As the weeds are pulled up and burned in the fire, so it will be at the end of the age. The Son of Man will send out his angels, and they will weed out of his kingdom everything that causes sin and all who do evil. They will throw them into the fiery furnace, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth. Then the righteous will shine like the sun in the kingdom of their Father. He who has ears, let him hear. Matthew 13:40-43Hmmm sounds like there will be quite a bit of pain to me. Don\’t believe the devil\’s lie. There is a way out and it\’s through Jesus."this is what the bible says but yet didnt i tell you i was athyist look close im sure i did this is were i becum adjitated i dont care what you prech to god, jesus, buda it could be a rock for all i care just dont preach it to me the point of my quote was not to say the devil is the giver of truth my point was dont forget about the bad cause in all bad there is goodthis is why i dont like when people quote the bible because every one see\’s what it sais in a differnt way think abou that for a wile.

  32. Hi Gerry, I wondered if I could add a blog to my site, with the graphic, asking people to add it to their blogs, and point them back to your site! Just want to help spreading your Stand. Blessings,~♥~ Launa ~♥~

  33. Hi Gerry! I finally got a space! Check it out!http://spaces.msn.com/members/lovingitall01/

  34. bLAHHShittaakki. said:

    do you not have a life?

  35. noname Yes I do have a life His name is Jesus. Hope you meet Him.

  36. children should be raped and killed they are deliscious and easy to kill.

  37. Unknown said:

    just wanted to ask u to pray for me. I have developed a very bad skin infection that is eating away at my arms. I have had this infection for about 8 months and my doctor said if it doesnt clear up soon that there is a possibility the infection will or has gone into the bone and that my Right arm may have to be amputated. I am right handed.thank u in advance for ur prayers.

Leave a Reply

