Just another WordPress.com site

Motivation


According to the grace of God which was given to me, like a wise master builder I laid a foundation, and another is building on it. But each man must be careful how he builds on it. For no man can lay a foundation other than the one which is laid, which is Jesus Christ. Now if any man builds on the foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw, each man’s work will become evident; for the day will show it because it is to be revealed with fire, and the fire itself will test the quality of each man’s work. If any man’s work which he has built on it remains, he will receive a reward. If any man’s work is burned up, he will suffer loss; but he himself will be saved, yet so as through fire. 1 Cor. 3:10-15 (NASV)

What is your motivation? What drives you? Do you strive to be the better in every area of your life than your peers? Is it your desire to be noticed by others, to be recognized for your achievements in life by men?

At one point in my Christian walk this is the way it was for me. I had recorded a cassette and I’d love hearing it played on the radio or hearing my name announced on it. I loved being in a position where people could see me. I would get angry or upset when others were chosen over me. My motivation was for self. Was Christ Lord in my life? Yes in most areas, but I held back in this area of my life. I craved attention. Jesus had to take me through some hard lessons in order for me to give it up.

I remember singing in Pennsylvania at a talent search. I knew in my spirit God didn’t want me doing this and yet I went ahead with it. I sang my best song and bombed badly. I couldn’t seem to sing in tune. It was one of the most embarrassing moments of my life. I thought I could win that contest hands down. Oh boy was I wrong. In spite of myself God still used me to touch people’s lives in the many of the concerts I sang in. I sometimes wonder how many more lives could have been touched had my motivation been different. Will the works I did during that time burn up? If they were done in the flesh, definitely they will. All I’ve done will be judged one day and only what I’ve done for the furtherance of God’s kingdom will stand. It will be terrible thing to see all that you spent your life trying to attain burn up before your eyes while others receive rewards because what they did was for Christ. So tell me, what is your motivation?

Thanks to Launa of Launa’s Little Piece of Heaven for creating the Take a Stand For Jesus banner for me. Let everyone know you are taking a stand and copy and paste it into your latest blog.

God bless

Gerry

Comments on: "Motivation" (36)

  1. Thanks Gerry, I needed that message today. It\’s so easy to fall into that trap because the rewards of the here and now are just so convenient! Time for me to realise that Jesus offers rewards far better than anything I can imagine in this world!

  2. Well done Gerry! Sick all day yesterday and you didn\’t miss a beat (although we did miss you last night). You live what you say in showing your motivation constantly and persevering through all your pain and your daily trials. These guys who bother you have no idea that they are up against a giant simply because Christ reigns in you. Here\’s to our motivation of Christ\’s love. Amen!

  3. Psychedelic Pariah said:

    Why do think God would care whether or not you sang in that particular talent search? You say you knew he didn\’t want you to, why? Are you saying it was because he knew you were going to sing badly? Or that it would turn out to be one of the most embarassing moments of your life and that God would\’ve wanted to spare you that humiliation?I just don\’t understand how you can attribute this sort of caring to God. I\’m interested in your reply.

  4. Hi Gerry, I\’ve seen your space and I can appreciate what your doing. I just have to share a pet peeve of my and it has to do with this "Banner for Jesus" idea. You know in my walk I\’ve seen so many people with their little Jesus fish on the back of their cars driving like maniacs. Driving by people and giving them the finger all the while this "representation of their salvation" on the back of their car is stinging our Master eyes. Jesus never need to carry a banner. He never had to proclaim himself or his lifestyle — it spoke for itself. As a matter of fact many times he told people he delivered to tell no one. Living for Christ is NOT a lifestyle. It\’s a heart transformation. The evidence of it is not on paraphenelia, it\’s written on the tablet of our hearts, and that speaks for itself to the world. Please let\’s not walk in assumption and assume that because we\’ve got the T-Shirt, or the Banner on our BLOG, that we are a true representative for Christ. Please keep this in mind.Bless you in this ministry,Jason

  5. Psychedelic_Pariah: Your knower knows. It\’s called being Spirit led. And just because the Spirit didn\’t want him to do it, doesn\’t mean it had anything to do with his singing. Sheesh. It just means God wanted to do something different. What and why? We\’ll never know because Gerry says he missed it but he\’s learned from the experience and is now sharing so that maybe when your knower knows not to do something, you\’ll obey and not miss it. Try to read what he\’s saying in context instead of searching for the fault and you\’ll be blessed.

  6. To Psychedelic_PariahI had a lot of pride and God had to deal with that. My motivation wasn\’t right and I wanted to make a big name for myself. God has given me an enormous talent but that was not the path I was to go on.I have found that path now and I am much more satisfied as a worship leader than I was as a soloist.Am I saying that talent searches are wrong. No. Just be careful that\’s what God wants and not you. Pride comes before a fall.

  7. Hi JasonYears ago I read a pamphlet by Keith Green that taked about the merchandising of Jesus. So I know where you are coming from and I agree with you. But not in this case. My motivation is not what you think. Just to have another banner floating around. I have so many teens that visit my space saying I like your space, I want to stand up for Jesus like you are doing. Unfortunatly they have their space as private. God touched my heart and I began to see the potential of these spaces in letting non christians see into our lives. That\’s where this banner idea came from.Here\’s the blog that will further explain where I am coming from.http://spaces.msn.com/members/Worshippersplace/Blog/cns!1p3p07F58mVESo7nfxXbJtxw!1563.entryGod bless

  8. Thanks for the response Gerry and I see your heart now. Thanks for letting me vent!Jason

  9. Hi GerryActually, yes, I was wondering if maybe I had forgotten to put on my deodorant or something! I hadn\’t heard from you but I saw you had visited some other sites so I thought maybe I offended you in some way.Anyway, now that I\’ve had my monthly bath :P, glad to see you were able to come back!Hey, I do like the banner and I will put it on my blog. Gerry, do you want me to tell you how to make it big on your blog and so that the go public shows? It\’s a cool animated gif. Not sure if you\’re aware how to do this. Have a great day!Kim

  10. great post like always man.I\’m feeling a lil bit better today. My meds make me sicker so I decided not to take em today.I leave for Chicago today at 11:15. so that\’ll be fun. I get to see a very close friend. Then I go to Michigan and I get to see my dad and my new step-mom. I get to celebrate fathers day with my dad. it\’s gunna be loads of fun. anyway.God Bless,Love Peace And Chicken Grease.~Randy

  11. Psychedelic Pariah said:

    Do you think God led me to your site, Gerry?

  12. I believe that there is no such things as coincidences in life. So yes I would say that God led you here. It\’s what you decide to do with it that really counts.

  13. Gerry…upload the image to http://www.photobucket.com. Then edit your blog entry in html and insert the tag generated by photobucket. If you don\’t understand that then email me at kimverrall@hotmail.com and I\’ll send you better instructions.Kim

  14. HI can you please explain what John 15 means about the true vine, and branches… i wan tot make sure if i understand it correctly…if the branches dont bear fruits… are these branches also the christians who stops doing His will? i want to make sure and i can correct my comment to someone… i already answeed but i want to check it with you… thanks..

  15. Psychedelic Pariah said:

    This is not meant as a debate, so please don\’t take it as such. But I\’m curious. What would God lead you to say to me?

  16. He\’d say what are the 2 greatest commandments? I\’ll wait for you answer.

  17. Psychedelic Pariah said:

    I don\’t know, Gerry. Tell me.

  18. Jesus replied, "You must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your mind.\’This is the first and greatest commandment. A second is equally important: `Love your neighbor as yourself.\’All the other commandments and all the demands of the prophets are based on these two commandments."Do you think you could obey all that God\’s law demands?

  19. Psychedelic Pariah said:

    No, I don\’t. But what does that have to do with the price of tea in China?I know you\’ve read my blog. You know what I\’ve written about over the past two days. Is that the best you can offer – a commandment to love God and my neighbor?It\’s empty. It contributes to the turning away. It is an answer which is turning away those who seek something more than pious platitudes upon which to hang their questions.Empty, is what I\’m left feeling after hearing your answer.

  20. I checked your space, but I didn\’t read your blog. The fact that you can\’t keep the commandments means you are a sinner. The Bible says that all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. The punishment for sin is death as God is holy and sin can not abide in His presence. So that means you are lost my friend.But the good news is that God has made a way through His Son, Jesus Christ John 3:16 says; "For God so loved the world that he gave his only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life. All you have to do is turn from your sins, accept what Jesus did for you on the cross and follow Him.Romans 10:9; For if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. Now about sin. Jesus said that all manner of sin would be forgiven man except that which is against the Holy Spirit.Peter asked Jesus one day, how many times He should forgive his brother a day if he sins against him. Jesus repliled and said 7 times 70. That\’s a lot of forgivness in one day. How much more does our Heavenly Father forgive us if He asks that of us.Jesus paid the penalty for our sins, past present and future and if we ask Him to He is more than willing to forgive us. That\’s were grace comes in. Grace covers a multitude of sin. But it doesn\’t give us a license to go on sinning because sin brings death. If we do God will chastise us. Read my blogs on sin and repentance for more.

  21. Unknown said:

    God doesent exsist .

  22. Oh but he does exist and He loves you. You can deny it say He doesn\’t exist a million times but it doesn\’t change anything. He is more real than the air we breathe.

  23. Many have made a trade of delusions and false miracles, decieving the stupid multitude-Leonardo

  24. See your pastor Paul\’s comments about JOhn 15…. http://spaces.msn.com/members/mvanburen/ i feel better to know that i gave a right respnse to a question.Lisa

  25. satellitedown – The one who has been decieved is you and by the devil. Although there has been a fair share of tricksters who have posed as Christians, miracles are real. The things we talk about are real. People don\’t want to face that because they don\’t want to face the consequences of sin which are real as well. I have been healed that\’s how I know they are real. I have met Jesus and He is real as well.Jesus is there for you, come to Him. He loves you and has taken the consequences for you.

  26. Psychedelic_Pariah: I don\’t know why Gerry humours your attacks. Give it a rest and stop being a pain. If you are expecting a man to get you closer to God then your gravely mistaken. It\’s not his responsibility, it\’s yours. Know God for yourself, and if you\’re not willing to do that, don\’t punish others that are trying. If you truly are looking for deeper answers, then ask God and then maybe you won\’t feel so "empty". PS: The turning away is inevitable. No one can stop it.

  27. First off, Jesus was a teacher.He has not suffered for me, He has taught me a way of life.False miracles are in reference to the ressurection. The church expects me to accept that for a single moment in space and time the natural process (life and death) was reversed. Going against all that God stands for; Symmetry and balance. The scriptures you so eloquently quote and use are tainted with political implications and motives. Why are the words of Matthew Mark Luke and John the only gospels included in the new testament? Especially when Mary Magdalene was the companion of the saviour?Ever since Peter stole his thone, and was propped up by these false miracles, God has left us. He will return when people finally open their eyes and understand their religion has lost its way. We have taken a gift and exploited its power against our fellow man

  28. Hello Gerry, thank you for such enlightment readings. I look forward to more again.

  29. Hey Gerry, just wanted you to drop by my site and check out my blog entry "God and the Penguin"… it is a wonderful poem and a nice light-hearted read to get away for a second from all the debates :)take a breather… keep on keeping on brotherJoseph Miguel Aka Baby Boy

  30. Apocryphon: God has not left us. I know Him personally. I struggled with accepting the authenticity of the Bible. I still scrutinize because that is my analytical nature and I do not trust in mankind, but God Himself confirms His Word to me. This being said, if you don\’t know God, I understand your perspective: but you\’re wrong. He is alive and well. I can tell you as well that if you meet with God, He Himself could teach you His thoughts and purposes, untainted by man and their political agendas, without the Bible by the Spirit. However, I\’m glad for the Bible, because not many of us have the earnestness and passion enough to strive for that close a relationship with Him.

  31. Hi Jason, be careful there. We are told that the only revelation we have of God is found in what he has revealed to us through his Word. We cannot know him outside of the Bible. The Spirit gives us greater and deeper understanding of God through this Word. The Spirit teaches but we can only understand God as he has revealed himself in this way. It is not to say that that is all there is to God but that is all he has chosen to show us. And we are warned not to add to it. Just a note of caution from a heart of love.

  32. GodsJackOfAllTrades: Gods Word is a light to our path and confirms our steps sure. It is eternal and powerful and is Living and a vital piece of our walk with God. But I never met God through the Bible. I know Him through a relationship. I hear your warning and I concur with adding and removing from His Word and the associated curses. But again, there are underground churches in Africa and China having powerful moves of the Spirit with 1/2 a page of the Bible as their only Word. They are raising people from the dead. RAISING PEOPLE FROM THE DEAD. When is that last time you raised someone from the dead? Put that in your theological pipe and smoke it. The statement "we cannot know God outside of the Bible" is a horrible lie. How did Paul know God without the New Testament and not having walked with Jesus. How did Moses meet with God on a mountain without having recieved the commandments? How did Enoch walk with God Himself? This same relationship that these people had with God is available to us!! He is the same yesterday, today and forever more. Sorry, God is more than a mental exercise but a living breathing real-time always connected relationship. There are cults and businesses out there built using the the same Bible you and I both read that have totally perverted it\’s meaning. How? They did not have a connection with God. I could read your biography, your daytimer and your diary — but I unless I KNEW you, it\’s just my own, (and most likely convenient), interpretation. You missed my point entirely concerning validating the authenticity of the Bible. Please re-read the context of the message I was replying to. This is why we MUST know our God and not assume we know Him because we\’ve studied His Word, or have learned from man. I\’m sorry, but never ever EVER limit God. It is an insult to Him. And it is a hinderance to those learning of Him!!! Do not be a hinderance to God\’s children.Just a note of caution from a heart of love.

  33. I agree that God should be your motivation. But we are also to be the head and not the tail. Be the best in everything you do, not because you want to leave others behind but because you want to represent Him in the best possible way. God is a God of quality, whatever you do for Him do it your best, it might not be a lot but if that\’s is the best you got… So indeed i agree, you should not try to be better than everybody else for your own sake, because with the talents God gave us we are you lift up HIS name, not our own. Everything we achieve in life which carries Gods approval is because of Gods grace and mercy and the strength to use the talents He gave us. By the way, if you do it for God: it will not be in vain so the Word says. We may not see the fruits of that in this life because it is not always measuerd by succes in this world, but when Jesus comes back to take us home, we might see someone saved who wouldn\’t have been there had we not let God use us for His grace. (Ofcourse you can only get to heaven by the grace of God but by being a light to the world someone might be motivated to start looking for that God that makes our smile so bright!)btw: thanks for visiting my space and leaving a comment!God bless!!!

  34. I know that the last comment on this was a while back but I just had a point for Jason. It\’s a quick and simple point so please don\’t take it offensively. I just wanted to refer back to your comment stating that: "There are cults and businesses out there built using the the same Bible you and I both read that have totally perverted it\’s meaning." Truthfully I am certain that some do that but I would like if in the future you would use your words more carefully. The word cult, for instance, has been twisted and defined wrongly by the media. The same type of media that you are dismissing. The definition of cult; if you actually took the time to look it up; actually is: Cult: 1. a system of religious worship 2. great admiration for a person, thing, idea, etc. 3. a group showing such admiration; worshippers. Therefore many religions can be defined as cults. Truthfully some branches of Buddhism are proudly defined as cults. So again I urge you that next time you decide to pass along your opinion, don\’t forget that many words are corrupted by the media and therefore should be checked in the best possible resource we have to avoid mistaken meanings; the dictionary. Thanks and have a great day ^^

  35. _0__0_Katie_0__0_: Interesting point concerning the word \’cult\’. I think most people understand what I mean though but I\’ll keep what you said in mind.Thanks,Jason

Leave a Reply

