Just another WordPress.com site


Children are a gift from the LORD;
they are a reward from Him.
Psalm 127:3

In society today many children are treated as if they are a burden instead of a blessing. An inconvenience for a woman’s career or lifestyle. Between the years of 1973 and 2000 there were 39 million reported abortions performed in the United States. So come on out all of you who think that it is a woman’s right to murder a child. Let’s call it what it is, murder. We talk about war and death in other countries, when there is a holocaust going on right in our very midst.

A new born child has always produced in me a sense of awe and wonder. A child is a miracle of the creative power of God. A new heart, which has never before beat on earth has been born. Each child is unique. They are given their own personality and appearance. Each one has a genetic code that nobody ever had before.

Scientists not too long ago finished for the first time in the history, a map of the genetic code of the human body and declared that the paper pile produced by this data would be taller than the Washington Monument.

Psalm 139: 13-18 says this;

You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body
and knit me together in my mother’s womb.

Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex!
Your workmanship is marvelous–and how well I know it.

You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion,
as I was woven together in the dark of the womb.

You saw me before I was born.
Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out
before a single day had passed.

How precious are your thoughts about me, O God!
They are innumerable!

I can’t even count them;
they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up in the morning,
you are still with me!

I remember the birth of my daughter. My wife was in labour for 37 ½ hours. We started to wonder whether the baby was ever going to arrive. (Later I learned that one of daughter’s character traits is that she likes to take her time and this was her way of showing us that she was not going to be rushed). When the time of the birth was near, she got caught in the birth cannel and was strangling. The doctors had to work quickly to get her out. I cannot endure the sight of blood, but that day it didn’’t bother me. I wanted only that my wife and my child were healthy and safe.

The doctor announced that it was a girl and I let myself go. I cried like a baby and at the same time I praised God for his goodness. It was the first time in my life that I had witnessed the miracle of birth. Melodie-Joy was perfect. I remember when they put her in my arms. I had never seen anything as beautiful as this child. She cried but whenever I spoke and comforted her, she would stop and look at me with her big eyes. I was bound to that child that day. I thank God each day for her. We gave her name Melodie-Joy because the day after her birth she made musical noises while she was feeding and she had brought such joy into our hearts.

Two years later, Gabriel Adam came along and once again I was blessed to take part in this miracle. My two children are unique as is each child. They are such an incredible blessing to me. Sometimes I even wonder if they are angels in disguise. God knew them before they were born. He gave them the breath of life and for this reason, I am eternally grateful.

Melodie-Joy and Gabriel – Thank-you for being who you are! Though I have raised you as a single dad for the last 10 years, Not once have you ever been a burden. You are wonderfully and awesomely made. I love you both. I thank God for the priviledge of being your father.

Have a great weekend everyone! Worship and dance, dance, dance before the Lord with all your heart. He deserves all the Glory.

Comments on: "The Miracle of a Child" (23)

  1. Phil - personal acct said:

    Great word today. You are so right, and I pray that everyone will learn to appreciate the gifts that God gives them.Have a great day and I pray you have great service(s) this weekend.Phil

  2. melissa said:

    have a good day

  3. Jonathan said:

    interesting but im jewish

  4. What a great article on this topic of mtv but……………..I have to disagree with you on one thing Gerry, and it is the comment that "these people are leading our children to hell, with a comment like that we may lead people to believe that it is the outside things we do or watch, or certaian actions we take that puts us in Hell when in actuallity in the light of God\’s word that is not the case, Romans 3:23 For all have sinned and fallen short of Gods Glory while I do agree that Mtv and many tv, movies and programs influence our children causing them to be insesitive to the choices they make, and the way they think The issue at hand is this……We are simply destined to Hell based on the acceptance or rejection of Christ, we have broken God\’s laws and justice must be served, If we accept Christ as the payment of our debt and begin to live and trust in Him we are no loger destined for hell Thank God that he has paid our debt!!!!! Lets attack the real issues at hand in all we say and do and write smother the Gospel in everything we do for the sake of these lost and dying souls because all the rest is secondary your sister in Christ Joanne

  5. Murder? Well, maybe. You have to remember that not everyone in the world is as lucky as you and your wife. If a 14 year old prostitue hooked on meth becomes pregnant, chances are the baby won\’t survive anyway. If it does, it is born into a life of violence, poverty, and neglect, and has very little chance for survival. This is why people have a choice.

  6. It\’s a good thing they didn\’t have abortion factories in Jesus day. Mary was only 13 – 14.

  7. I agree I think parents shouldn\’t act as though their child is a burden, nothing but a pain.

  8. meredith said:

    thank you so much for what you said here, it\’s right on. i\’m part of a pro-life group in my area, and it\’s just a blessing to know that there are more of us out there spreading the message on a widespread scale, God bless ya man. peace.

  9. Moonunit said:

    your stories are extremely interesting and truthful. and i do enjoy reading them alot. keep posting, never give up, and all that good stuff! God Bless

  10. im curious of what god would think of me if i choose not to have a religion?? would i go to hell?

  11. Let\’s put it this way. If you broke the law you would expect to be punished wouldn\’t you. What if, just as the judge was about to give the guity verdict when somebody stepped up and said they would pay the penalty. Then you were free to go without even a record that you had ever commited a crime.Well sin is breaking God\’s law and it demands a punishment. But this is this is the good news, somebody paid the penalty on your behalf. His name is Jesus. He took your sins upon himself. All you have to do is admit that you are a sinner, turn from that sin and accept Him as Lord of your life. Jesus died for all mankind. He said come unto me all you who are weary and I will give you rest. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light. Christianity is not a religion. It is a relationship with a living being who understands our hearts better than we know them ourselves.

  12. valerie said:

    dear gerry,God is using u in amazing ways. may you be blessed in everything you do!!god bless you.valerie.

  13. I beleive in the freedom of choice. I have two beautiful children and i\’m very proud and happy and yes they are a blessing. But there are people out there who are not as fortunate and Sometimes it is better to not go thru with it rather than have some poor child sitting in a crack house being sexually abused because the mother was too young and hopped up on too many drugs to be a mother. That makes me even more sad and sickens me.

  14. Natalie said:

    I have 3 children of my own… and I love them to bits! I would do anything for them! they are the greatest things that have ever happened to me!… im only 19, and it\’s hard at times, but I wouldn\’t trade them for anything in the world!

  15. Miranda said:

    Well everyone woman in this world has a choice in my opinion. What if someone to whom were close to you were rapped beaten and come to find out they were pregnant. Would you still want them to have the baby, or give it up for adoption so sometime later on in life they could find you and ask them why would you give me up?I don\’t think anyone has the right to say what we should do as people, just because another person doesn\’t think it\’s right. I\’m Roman Catholic and I know all about the lord and his teachings, but I\’m sure god would also like us to make descions for ourselves. I personally don\’t feel I should be a follower, I would like to go my way about things, as should everyone else!

  16. Go ahead make your choices, but in the end you\’ll have to answer for every action and every deed. Calling yourself a catholic doesn\’t give you a free pass from judgement. Your only hope is through turning to Jesus.

  17. Elizabeth said:

    I agree with some of your points, but in other cases, abortions and adoptions are for the best. I would rather see a baby abortion or adoption than a chaild that is neglected and abused.Turquoise Tinkerbell

  18. Ok. Here\’s my opinion.1. Murder is murder. Killing an unborn child is just as, if not more, evil as killing anyone else in this world.2. Adoption is the better choice. It allows the child to live a full life in a better condition.3. In most cases, the woman made the choice to have sex. A good rule that I learned over my Challenge was this: if you\’re not in a relationship where you can have children, you shouldn\’t be having sex. In the case of rape, I have the utmost pity for the woman. She had no choice in what happened to her. However, that does not justify her killing that child.~digitrev

  19. Well said. Amen!

  20. A women\’s right to choose is something very important for our society. People spend their time worrying about what "God" will think and try to make it illegal, What these people fail to realise is that the U.S., Canada and many other enlightenned nations accept people from all nationalities and faifths, the U.S. constitution states that you can be free in America and do not have to be forced to follow someone else\’s faith. Furthermore, studies have shown that in States where there are a high number of abortions there is a lower crime rate. This does not mean, that people should kill people and disrespect life, however, there is a clear difference for me between potential and personhood, take this scenerio for instance;You and your son are sitting in a fertility treatment clinic, when the fire alarm goes off, you have a choice between grabbing you son and rushing with him out the door, or, grabbing a freezer with 100 fertilized eggs in it.I would guess that you would, grab your son. This, is what illustrates the difference between potential to be a person, and personhood is.

  21. hey gerry,i was just wondering what it is you exactly get out of preaching like crazy in response to others who question what you believe in. people who do not believe in god will not change their mind after you spit some lines from the bible, so why do you bother? it seems kind of pointless to me. do you really think you are powerful enough to convert anyone or change anyone\’s ideas or ways? if not, then aren\’t your efforts just completely futile?another question, i\’m all for living a somewhat selfless life, but we as humans are instinctively selfish at times. do you not find it completely tiring and exhausting to devote so much of your aging life to faith, an idea, a belief? i mean, seriously.. you are a pastor, and then you spend likely hours on msn spaces writing out long entries and then further defending your faith in your extensive comments sections. why? you appear to be fully consumed by religion and faith. i am honestly interested in how else you spend your time. the way you represent yourself here leads me to believe that you don\’t spend a second of the day not thinking about god. seriously, guy, it\’s not a sin to think about yourself sometimes. i honestly hope that in real life you are an ordinary person. this is my opinion, of course, but if you were someone who speaks about god every time you open your mouth, i would find that very suffocating. ALSO, if this is true (that you eat, sleep, breathe god every second of the day) i would find that actually selfish (so perhaps my comment about selfishness before is wrong). by acting this way you are limiting yourself to people who believe in the same thing as you. constantly throwing out your faith on people who do not feel the same is absolutely alienation. i truly doubt you have friends who are nonbelievers. well, we are people to.but to each his own, i suppose. if you could shed any light on my thoughts (at my space or yours, it\’s up to you) that would be appreciated.

  22. Miranda said:

    You know what….yes we all have to pass judgement, but we don\’t have to sit here while people like yourself pass judgement on those who are faced with these choices, unless you were in that particular situation, it should be your place to say what is right or wrong, I was never in that situation but I have friends that were, and I feel that made the right decsions in having an abortion because who wants to see there child grow up in that…..You shouldn\’t say whats is right or wrong, it\’s not your place, never was and never will be!

  23. I don\’t have to judge anyone. The bible says that this world has already been judged. Murder is murder and the word of God says that only He has the right to take a life. Murder requiers justice and it will be served one day by a Holy God. He is the ultimate judge. There is no higher court. No appeals to be made.The good news is that He has provided a way out. Through Jesus. The bible says that all manner of sin will be forgiven to those who seek His forgiveness. He loves you and your friends. It\’s not too late to come to Him.

Leave a Reply

