Just another WordPress.com site

Darkness and Light


Do not be unequally yoked together with unbelievers. For what fellowship has righteousness with lawlessness? And what communion has light with darkness? And what accord has Christ with Belial? Or what part has a believer with an unbeliever? And what agreement has the temple of God with idols? For you are the temple of the living God. As God has said: "I will dwell in them And walk among them. I will be their God, And they shall be My people." Therefore "Come out from among them And be separate, says the Lord. Do not touch what is unclean, And I will receive you." "I will be a Father to you, And you shall be My sons and daughters, Says the LORD Almighty." 2 Corinthians 6:14-18 (NKJV)

One of the greatest dangers in the body of Christ is the chance that many take of getting into a relationship with a non-believer. This goes in marriages, friendships, and business relationships. Many Christians choose to ignore the warnings found in the Bible. They use the excuse that they are lonely or that they are trying to win that person to Christ. I have seen two examples in my own family. My mother chose to marry a non-Christian in spite of the warnings of her family. My dad was a very good looking guy. He promised her the world. He even went to church with her, but didn’t make a commitment to Christ. After they were married he stopped going and began to drink. He would beat her regularly and stopped her and the children from attending church. She really believed she could change him but never was able to. Our family went through a lot of sorrow.

A friend came to know Jesus as his Saviour about 18 years ago. I remember the joy he had. His was at church every Sunday. His fiancé wouldn’t accept Christ and even though the pastor warned him about marrying her unless she received Christ he went ahead anyways. He has not attended church in about 16 years and has lost the joy he once had.

I had a Christian friend who created a business with a Muslim. At first it was successful. But there was constant quarrels between him and this man. The business failed and the Christian almost lost everything.

Light and dark can not dwell together. It is usually the Christian that suffers and falls in these type of relationships. Many who have had callings on their lives lost that calling because they gave into the thrill of dating some good looking woman or man. Satan’s biggest tactic is doing just that and he is often very successful at this because Christians choose to ignore God’s warning. Then they suffer the consequences which are sometimes life long. God gave us brothers and sisters in Christ. Are you so sure that God can’t provide you with the right one that you need that you need to look outside the body. Yes Christian relationships fail too, but only because one or the other has taken their eyes off Jesus. If you wait and trust in God, He has the perfect one for you.

Comments on: "Darkness and Light" (11)

  1. Morning, Gerry! Happy Thursday!I will email you those songs again. I also found some more I think you\’ll like ;)Oh, and there\’s a nice slideshow on my blog today that I think you\’ll like, too.Have a spectabulous day!Kim

  2. I have heard too many relationships end because of cultural insecurity. And then each side blames it on the culture of the other side. You can bet that Muslim man\’s friends are warning each other to never trust a Christian.

  3. يμήϊ said:

    Not every tree in the forest is the same.

  4. Not exactly sure if this way of thinking is being a so called "Christian"

  5. يμήϊ said:

    I agree, but again, I don\’t want to start anything.

  6. JingleJangle said:

    Hi thereI have browsed through your site a couple times and I noticed you were getting some awfully negative comments. I\’m sure they don\’t dishearten you but I jus wanted to say that I really enjoy your posts. You\’re just speaking what the bible says as far as i can see.God Bless

  7. Caroline said:

    Hi, I think you\’re right when you talk about getting into a relationship with somebody who doens\’t accept Christ. In th beginning it will just be discomfort, but if that person doesn\’t want to get any closer at all to Him, you eventually will become quite unhappy, and yes, in some cases the relationship will come to an end, and people may get scarred by it. That\’s why, with every step you take, you should ask for His guidance, and ask Him to show you His will. That is the only way. He will show you if there\’s a future for you with that person.God bless you,Caroline

  8. your telling Christians not to be friends with non believers????!!!!! how completely ignorant, rude and discriminatory.

  9. Pauline said:

    Hi I was just checking out your site and even though this particualar entry is a little dated I felt compelled to post a comment. I am a newcommer to the Christian church, for about 2yrs and I must admit that I was not necessarily in the Christian frame of mind. I was dating a Christian(and remember I wasn\’t) and by visiting the church with him and getting involved I really started to turn around. I don\’t think that God would want us to judge those who are not like us, for examples none Christians, for if that had happened I may not have ever wandered into our church. And as for the Christians who made business deals with non-christians and failed it may have been bad sense on both parts and nothing to do with religious belief. I now sing with our praise and worship team, help run our summer camp and am currently in the process of taking over our Sunday School program. I may be Christian, but I am not perfect. As a Christian I choose to accept those around me and to help guide them regardless of their faith.

  10. Hi PaulineThank-you for posting your comments on my site. In no way amd I saying that Chrsitians should avoid non-christians completely. How else could we witness. What I am talking about is in relationships that go far deeper than a casual friendship. I only repeat what God\’s word says about it in 2 Corinthians 6:14 "Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness?" I have known the lord now for over 40 years and time and time again I have seen young Christians fall for someone who didn\’t believe and fall away from thier relationship with God including my own brother.Our Lord knows the hearts of men better then we could ever know them. His word is true and when He gives us a warning in His word. We need to listen and heed what He says. "Do not be misled: Bad company corrupts good character." (1 Corinthians 15:33)

  11. Pauline said:

    thank you for your response, it did clarify some things for me. I was perhaps not a none believer, but maybe one who had strayed, and my love( who is a Christian) helped me find the path. I often see especially after meeting this man how everything happens for a reason and it was not by accident that I met him and was led to God. Everything since finding my faith has seemed to affect every other aspect of my life, like my teaching Sunday school and singing with the praise and worship team.

Leave a Reply

