Just another WordPress.com site


I don’t know if you have noticed, but this world is not getting better as some would have you believe. We pay more taxes than ever and yet have less services. More people than ever are suffering from some form of mental illness. Depression is the number one problem and suicides are on the rise. Parents have been killing their children because they don’t know how to cope. So many are trapped in sexual sin and believe there is no way out. Alcohol and drug abuse are rampant. Marriages break up simply because one persons love has grown cold.

What do you say to the young man who has lost everything because his wife decided he was not good enough for her? What do you say to a homosexual so lost in perversion that almost all traces of who he or she used to be are gone? What about the mother with 4 young children abandoned by here husband and left with no support? What do you tell a person so distraught over their drug habit that they think the only way out is suicide or the young teenage girl who ran away from home and found herself trapped in prostitution?

Jesus said in Matthew 11:28-30 "Come to Me, all you who labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light."

Jesus is the only true hope for this world and we as Christians are His representatives. Yet many of us keep that hope hidden from those who need it. Jesus also said in Matthew 5:14-16 "You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven."

What are you going to do? Jesus died to give hope to those of every colour, every nation and every language. Are you willing to bring that hope to someone who needs it? Are you willing to give up your own personal comfort to see that the homeless have a place and are fed and clothed? A person who has been given hope changes.

The Group Newsong wrote a song about that and the chorus says; "Let’’s take the hope of Christ lift it up and hold it high, because hope changes everything. Let’’s take this faith we wear to hurting people everywhere, because hope changes everything. No matter how dark or troubled someone’’s life may seem, I do believe with all my heart that hope does change everything."

Comments on: "Hope For a Hopeless World" (40)

  1. Unknown said:

    Personally, I fail t0 see how that helps with anything at all.God has never helped me, ever.Infact, All i get are dirty looks a hushed insults from your so called "Representatives of God".

  2. I am sorry that some of those who would call theselves Christians would treat you like that. Not everyone who says they are a Christian follow the teachings of Christ.I can assure you that God does love you. No matter where you have come from and what you have done. Many have found that hope and you can too.

  3. Unknown said:

    As a representative of god yourself, let me ask youWhy did he create women?

  4. God created woman as a companion for man. Not to be ruled over or stepped on, but as his equal.

  5. Unknown said:

    I suppose he didn\’t mean for them to rule over and step on men then either?Well, he got that wrong.

  6. This world is a mess because man allowed sin to enter in. Not many things are as it should be. It sounds as if someone has hurt you? I\’m sorry if that has happened. I could much better help you if you give me your email. I will delete the post right after you give me it. It will be much better to talk that way than through the comments on the blog.

  7. Krys Simone said:

    Hi,As a fellow christian, I\’ve been one for 10 yrs now and growin up in this world has never been easy for me. There are days I feel quite lonley, but I know God is always with me. How do I keep going knowin that things may seem hopeless to me, I do pray, but it just seems like it\’s not enough..Also am at a stage in my life where I\’m lettin go of everythin that has no real use in my life anymore and I\’m also tryin to get out a routine, like tryin to meet and make new christian friends without lossin the old and gettin a new job and quittin the old, plus completing my education?As for christian men, the few that I have met say they are christian and they serve the Lord but yet they act like a totally different person outside the church, more like the world we are in now? I\’m far from perfect, but isn\’t that kind of living a lie?I would like to know what your responce to these questions, when you get the chanceSimoneJtrain

  8. Hi SimoneThe Lord never said it would be easy serving Him. You are right there are a lot of pepole that are one thing in church and another thing outside. People forget that being a Christian is a 24 hour thing. There is no place for hypocracy and those who are, will be judged.My daughter and I have a running joke that the man she meets has to walk on water or else forget it. Seriously what we mean is that he has to live by the Word of God in all aspects of his life. That is the type of man I know you are looking for as well. They are out there and when it\’s God\’s time you will meet him. Just keep praying and seeking to serve God with all you are and He will take care of the rest.

  9. Hi KarazystreetballerI deleted your comment because you took the Lord\’s name in vain.In answers to your question did God help you? Well because I a disabled if I fall I can\’t get up and serious damage can be done. I cannot count the times when I have stumbled and been heading to the ground when something righted me and put me on my feet.He healed my jaw and hands after they had been detroyed and mishapened by arthritis. He recently brought a baby back to death when the doctors said there was no life there.My friend was travelling with his family in their van during a winter storm, when they found themselves heading for a ditch. Something righted the car and stopped it from swerving. Does God exist? Yes! Yes! Yes! The fool says in his heart there is no God. He still loves you even if you don\’t believe.If you don\’t like what you read, nobody is forcing you to visit this place.

  10. AMEN Brother meet you at the cross

  11. Teresa Dawn said:

    Wow great post! Thank you. I love reading the posts here.

  12. Pray for me, for my lack of faith. I abstain, not by choice but as I can\’t find it. I was born into a house of the word of god but grew away from it in cold cynicism, consequences of my interpretation on life.

  13. We will pray for you my friend.

  14. nothing said:

    hi i wanted to say i really dont know where to start but im impressed with the space you have made Im a firm believer of God. We wouldnt be anywhere without him and really hoping the this site will help others see the good work you are doing for the lord.tina

  15. Nothing is wonderful in the world,but we can make it better. That is why we are called human being.hehe,but I agree with you because I don\’t like the heavy tax here in Canada either. In general, we get less than we have paid, but that is the life,isn\’t it?

  16. SpazzyTorri said:

    I don\’t belive in God.

  17. That\’s your choice but there will be Hell to pay!

  18. يμήϊ said:

    I am not a Christian, but I believe in God. There is someone out in there. Wherever we are, whatever we do, He is the one that makes good come out of all that is bad. I agree with you about all the chaos going on, but we cann all change this. No matter how small you do may seem, if everyone did something to change for the better, we could work past this. The Saviour will come, be he Christian, Muslim, Hindu, Sikh, Jew, Buddist or anything else, but we, our civilization and this Earth, cannot wait until this day.

  19. I\’ve got bad news for you. The bible says that it is only going to get worse. There is only one God and you can believe in another god as much as you want he won\’t answer you. It connot save you. Your only hope is Jesus!

  20. Krys Simone said:

    Hello again..I would like to thank you for your insightful wisdom and encouragement :D, I will continue to pray and study the word. As well I will pray for you and your family, plus that this site remains posted for all to see christian/non-christian, also new christians.So that they know that the Lord is always watchin, weather they believe or not.God BlessSimoneJtrain

  21. I do not wish to start a debate on this site, for that would be against the rules, however, I find it interesting that a worshipper of God can so quickly cast away those who choose to worship a different God in a different manner. Did not Jesus himself speak of the acceptance of others? did not he say that you do not hit your enemies but bring them closer? You have clearly gone against the teachings of Jesus in many ways and I personally feel, as a Christian that you have offended both myself and this great religion.

  22. You are intitled to your opinion. You obviously don\’t read the bible very much do you.Jesus said I am the way, the truth, and the Life, no one come to the Father but through me. Salvation comes by no other name except Jesus. Hell is a very real place. If you saw people running into a burning building wouldn\’t you warn them. Then again you seem like the type who wouldn\’t and let them perish.

  23. It\’s quite sad, but true, the state this world is in. The culture of death is on the rise, people seem to be willingly doing the things that harm them most, and loving God is politically incorrect. At my school, I have been challenged on many occassions about my faith. Specifically, why I believe in God, and the questioning of God in general. And this is a Catholic school! Not only are people unreligious, a good portion of them are actively anti-religious, attacking those of us who believe in God. It\’s quite scary when I think about it, that people actively act against God. I just pray for more people to change.

  24. hehe, Gerry…now why would you say that? :PI did like the mad cow…I added it to my too funny list!Oh, and hey, did you get the songs I emailed you?Talk to you later! Have a great night!Kim

  25. Kirsten said:

    HelloThis is from someone you have never heard of, I\’m from Manitoba… My friend jsut gave me this blog.. he jsut came across it.. i jsut wanted to tell you taht i\’m a huge Christian.. and i\’m having trouble with my friends not respecting me for that.. and telling me that it\’s not worth my time… and they are hurtful.. they are non Christians.. but i pray for them everyday in hope that one day they will see where i come from… I jsut wanted to let you know that your website has reall inspired and helped me! Thank-you.. i look foreward to checking this out frequently

  26. I know what you mean Gerry, most of the world is blinded. They think it is getting better, the more bigger and better technology, the happier everyone says they will be or are. Well I don\’t see it. They also say that people live longer. Its not true, people don\’t live longer, we prolong death, we don\’t extend life. And people cry out \’Peace\’, but stab their neighbors in the back or don\’t let you in when you need to get off an exit. lol… thats the funniest part, is for example they say one thing and do another. Peace, and getting along together, well I have lived in my house for almost 3 years, and I know but 2 or 3 neighbors, none says hi, noone smiles. I work at Microsoft, and do you know I have been there for 4 months and no one looks at you in the eye, noone says hi, one or two people besides me has even struck up a conversation with me. And when I do it, they look at me like I\’m weird or something. True peace and love comes from God, and the more people go away from him, the more they have no peace, and no love for one another, only them selves. 🙂 Don\’t know why I wrote all this, but I guess its been on my heart.God Bless you Gerry!Launa

  27. Carswell said:

    Dear Gerry, I commend you. A lot of people seem to attack this space. But stand firm brother, dont give up. I\’ve been a christian for a while and i know what its like to take the abuse from the world and stand up against it. Just remember, "If the world hates you, remember that it hated me first." ~ John 15:18"If you are insulted because of the name of Christ, you are blessed, for the Spirit of glory and of God rests on you." ~ 1 Peter 4:14God Bless,~ ChrisOne Love, One God, One Way

  28. Charlie said:

    Wow, you have made me realize that there are far greater problems in this world than i am having right now. I am 16 and right now i am feeling alone in this world, however i know that God is there for me and is watching over me at all times. Some days he gives me the strength i need to carry on. But hey wht do i know i am only 16.

  29. DoghouseTV said:

    It must be nice to have such blind faith in Jesus. I personally can\’t get past man made religion, so why bother choosing one?

  30. It is nice to have faith, but our faith in Jesus is not blind. "Amazing grace, how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me. I once was lost, but now I\’m found. Was blind, but now I see."Christianity is not about religion. It is about relationship. A relationship with a risen Lord.

  31. Hi Gerry, A little encouragement, Love your site and all you are doing for his kingdom And His Glory!***** My prayers for you today! Stand firm Dresses In The Full Armor of God! To fight the battles of The Darkness Of this World, God truly give you courage and Strenght and Protect you as he Promises! We Trust In him**** Our Rock Our Savior and Prince of Peace, Ya Be of Good courage ! My prayers always Verna!

  32. يμήϊ said:

    I don\’t want to start anything, however, I think we should respect all religions. I respect Christianity very much, as well as other religions. And, I have prayed, but to Gods of my religion, and prayers do come true, no matter who you pray to, as long as you pray and have good in your heart, and no sins on your mind.

  33. Yes, satan answers prayers as well. But the thing is he can\’t do many of the things God does. The bible says that he comes as an angel of light. While I do respect other\’s rights to believe in whatever they want, just make awesome sure you have made the right choice because the consequences are eternal.

  34. Wow, awesome site. I haven\’t read much yet but what I\’ve seen is amazing. In conection to your hell\’s best kept secret link, you migh want to check out The Way of The Master. It is pretty much the same thing but they go a little more in depth. Once again great site, God bless.

  35. This world is in no worse a state then it ever was before. Sorry, but people always think the times they live in are the worst, but this is no worse then the cold war, no worse then WWI or WWII. And before that, wasn\’t there that whole thing with the people dying… oh yes, the millions of wars, assasination, exicutions, political uprisings, and race related killings, since basically the dawn of strutored civilization and eariler. Saying things are so horrid now, is a sad dilussion, created by the goverment, media and yes, somtimes the church. Why you ask, because when people are scared they are more likly to suspened their freedoms, more likly to consume in the capitialist manner our country is built on, oh, and when your scared, your more willing to beleive… in anything someone sudjests, just so you can wrap yourself in a big blanek of denial thinking that things may be bad now, but if i commit my soul to a beleif, i\’ll live happily ever after in heaven. Basically things are fine now, not perfect, but that\’s humanity for you, i don\’t seem to think WWIII is on the horizon, so i\’m not to worried

  36. for the record my misister friend the bible and magesteruim says nothing regarding homosexuals to be perverted and saying so is in violation of "thou shall not kill". saying these things about other human beings is a disregard of thier dignity and rights. The commandemt in which i quoted is saying that anything detremental to another person is condidered killing. the only thing the church says is for homosexuals to remain chaste. i used to belive in God and the religion in which you are following but it is this lack of respect for others thats kills me. you cannot pick and choose what you are and are not going to follow. its such a contridiction i just dont see it anymore nor will i ever again. please in future posts understand the bibles teaching before you go calling things perverted. i am not saying your beliefs are wrong. everyone is entitled to believe whatever they would like to i am i firm supporter of that. i am suicidal, unchaste, hurt myself on many occasions. like rock and roll and far from perfect as are you. does this make you anyless of a person then them. this is not so much about your comment about gays then your narrow view on the bibles teachings. there are literal readers and then there are contextual readers there is only one way to read any historical book that is contextually. please do not get me wrong this is not an attack on you personnaly it is just my opinion on a system of beliefs that has gone wrong. all religions have it. it is this that is more dangerous then the so called smut on the television or mtv. all people have a right to have thier own God. and in my opinion the church is useless other then a way of controll. jesus him self said that the kingdom of god is inside you not in houses of stone and wood(it went something like that). i may be going to hell if thier is one but at least i will know that i did not run away from persecution becuase of my beliefs which ironically is in accordance with one of the beatitudes so i probabaly got no where with this. i am just asking that you let people believe and do what they wish. as long as you are following your beliefs who are you to condemn others for thiers…..feel free to e mail me i am interested in dicussing these matters with someone such as yourself who seems to be passionate and willing to engage in a discussion not a debate about these things instead of giving an anwer such as "because god said so"

  37. Romans 1:18-32The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of men who suppress the truth by their wickedness, since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them. For since the creation of the world God\’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse. For although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened. Although they claimed to be wise, they became fools and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images made to look like mortal man and birds and animals and reptiles. Therefore God gave them over in the sinful desires of their hearts to sexual impurity for the degrading of their bodies with one another. They exchanged the truth of God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator—who is forever praised. Amen. Because of this, God gave them over to shameful lusts. Even their women exchanged natural relations for unnatural ones. In the same way the men also abandoned natural relations with women and were inflamed with lust for one another. Men committed indecent acts with other men, and received in themselves the due penalty for their perversion. Furthermore, since they did not think it worthwhile to retain the knowledge of God, he gave them over to a depraved mind, to do what ought not to be done. They have become filled with every kind of wickedness, evil, greed and depravity. They are full of envy, murder, strife, deceit and malice. They are gossips, slanderers, God-haters, insolent, arrogant and boastful; they invent ways of doing evil; they disobey their parents; they are senseless, faithless, heartless, ruthless. Although they know God\’s righteous decree that those who do such things deserve death, they not only continue to do these very things but also approve of those who practice them.

  38. Hey Gerry! This is so true!How awesome is our God- we can give all our worries and burdens to him because of Jesus!

  39. Mental illnesses, including depression have maintained a steady level since their first recording. The scope of what consitutes depression is enlarged however by increasingly selfish pharmaecutical companies who would have a docroe prescribe an antidepressant for a fly bite if they could.The world is, however getting worse. Let\’s worship the Earth, the Universe, collective goodenss and ourselves (that is God, isn\’t it?) by practicng conservation, being less selfish (i.e. pay more taxes if it helps poor people) and resisting the urge to want to pay less and less for things. The money we\’re savinf is ultimately coming from someone else\’s pockets. Real solutions. I mean, I have nothing against praying, but God wants us to point our own way too, doesn\’t S/he?

  40. I luv ur space its touching thank u 4 not being afarid 2 show ur religion

Leave a Reply

