Just another WordPress.com site


Parental Guidance Warning – Graphic description of Christ’s death.

The central story of the Gospels is the death and resurrection of Jesus. But what if He faked His death as many people say? Paul said in 1 Corinthians 15:12-19, "But tell me this–since we preach that Christ rose from the dead, why are some of you saying there will be no resurrection of the dead? For if there is no resurrection of the dead, then Christ has not been raised either. And if Christ was not raised, then all our preaching is useless, and your trust in God is useless. And we apostles would all be lying about God, for we have said that God raised Christ from the grave, but that can’t be true if there is no resurrection of the dead. If there is no resurrection of the dead, then Christ has not been raised. And if Christ has not been raised, then your faith is useless, and you are still under condemnation for your sins. In that case, all who have died believing in Christ have perished! And if we have hope in Christ only for this life, we are the most miserable people in the world." (NLT)

After stating the above Paul says the following in verse 20, "But the fact is that Christ has been raised from the dead. He has become the first of a great harvest of those who will be raised to life again"

Earlier in 1 Corinthians 15 Paul said this; "Now let me remind you, dear brothers and sisters, of the Good News I preached to you before. You welcomed it then and still do now, for your faith is built on this wonderful message. And it is this Good News that saves you if you firmly believe it–unless, of course, you believed something that was never true in the first place. I passed on to you what was most important and what had also been passed on to me–that Christ died for our sins, just as the Scriptures said. He was buried, and he was raised from the dead on the third day, as the Scriptures said. He was seen by Peter and then by the twelve apostles. After that, he was seen by more than five hundred of his followers] at one time, most of whom are still alive, though some have died by now. Then he was seen by James and later by all the apostles. Last of all, I saw him, too."

Did Jesus really die on the cross? Was His death faked? Let’s look at the medical evidence. In Lee Strobel’s book The Case for Christ he interviews Dr. Robert J. Stein and Alexander Metherell, M.D., PH.D. In these interviews some facts that only medical doctors could see surface.

The torture that would end on the cross actually began in the garden of Gethsemane. The Bible says in Luke 22:41-44; "And He was withdrawn from them about a stone’s throw, and He knelt down and prayed, saying, "Father, if it is Your will, take this cup away from Me; nevertheless not My will, but Yours, be done." Then an angel appeared to Him from heaven, strengthening Him. And being in agony, He prayed more earnestly. Then His sweat became like great drops of blood falling down to the ground."

There is a medical condition called hematdrosis. It is a condition associated with a very high degree of psychological stress. What happens is that severe anxiety causes the release of chemicals that break down small blood vessels in the sweat glands. As a result there is a small amount of bleeding occurs and the sweat comes out tinged with blood. It also has the effect of making the person’s skin extremely fragile so that when Jesus was flogged by the Roman soldier His skin would have been very, very sensitive.

Roman flogging was very brutal and though the sentence given was usually 39 lashes, the prisoner frequently received more depending on the mood of the soldier giving out the punishment. They would use a whip of braided leather thongs with metal balls woven into them. When the whip would strike the flesh, these balls would cause deep bruises or contusions, which would break open with further blows. And the whip had pieces of sharp bone as well, which would cut the flesh severely. The back would be so shredded that part of the spine was sometimes exposed by very deep cuts.

One physician who has studied Roman beatings said, " As the flogging continued, the lacerations would tear into the skeletal muscles and produce quivering ribbons of bleeding flesh." A historian by the name Eusebius who lived in the third century described it saying. "The sufferer’s veins were laid bare and the insides of his body were laid open to exposure"

Many people were known to have died from a beating like this before they were crucified. At the very least the person would suffer a tremendous amount of pain and go into hypovolemic shock which is a condition brought on by loss of a large amount of blood.

Because of the terrible effects of the beating Jesus received there is no question that Jesus was already in a critical condition even before the nails were driven through His hands and feet.

After He arrived at Golgotha, they bound Him to a cross. They fastened him to it by driving spikes that were 5 to 7 inches long through His wrists just below the palms. This is where the median nerve runs. This is the largest nerve going into the hand and it would have been crushed by the spike. The pain that this would have produced would be like someone taking a pair of pliers and squeezing and crushing that nerve. Imagine the pain of a dentist accidently hitting a nerve in your mouth but instead of the pain leaving, it stays. He was then hoisted up and spikes were driven through His feet, producing the same pain He received in His hands. This is just the beginning of what He suffered. Next because of the weight of His body on the cross His arms would have stretched and His shoulders would have become dislocated.

Crucifixion is essentially an agonizingly slow death by asphyxiation. The reasons for this is that the stresses on the muscles and diaphragm put the chest into an inhaled position and to exhale the person must push up on his feet so that the tension on the muscles would be eased for a moment. Each breath was complete agony. Every time the person would struggle to breath their battered back and spine would rub against the rough wood of the cross and the spikes would tear deeper into their flesh. Eventually exhaustion would set in and they would go into a condition called respiratory acidosis. This eventually leads to an irregular heartbeat and to finally a heart attack. This is the manner in which Jesus died.

How do we know He actually died and didn’t faint? When a person dies their blood stops flowing and in Jesus case because of the hypovolemic shock which contributed to the rapid heartbeat and failure, there was a collection of fluid in the membrane around the heart and as well as the lungs. So when the Roman soldier thrust the spear into Jesus side blood and water flowed out. This can only occur if a person’s heart has stopped beating and is dead.

Jesus died in a way that exacted the most pain that a human being could endure and He did it all with you in mind. Jesus was not killed, He gave His life willingly and became the ultimate sacrifice bridging the gap that sin had made between us and God.

But He didn’t stay dead. Christ is risen! He is risen Indeed!

Coming;  Part 6 – His resurrection from the dead.

Comments on: "Who Is Jesus? – Part 5 – His Death" (40)

  1. inspiring… although I\’m not sure I believe in..well… whatever,.. I fell as though there may be more to life, of what it may be .. I\’m not sure… But its nice to know others have found theirs.

  2. Dear Gerry.Why must you hate me? you make me cry. I JUST WANT TO BE PERFECT FOR YOU AND YOUR FAITH!I just want help in finding the Lord, Gerry… If He can love me, why cant you?Jenna.

  3. Good morning, Gerry!Have a great day!Kim

  4. Hi Gerry!I do have a couple Hillsongs cds at home…don\’t ask me which ones, though, my house looks like a record store! In fact, I\’ve kind of been making a list in my head of the songs I want to send to you! I was lost last night at home without my computer lol, didn\’t know what to do. I never write things out by hand anymore!One of my most favourite songs that Delirious? does is Did you feel the mountains tremble? I LOVE that song. I wish I could play all the songs on my webspace, but most are too big for the hosting site.Kim

  5. Hi, Gerry!I just emailed you a link for a band called Downhere. It\’s a great band. What It\’s Like, Iliad and Starspin are my favourite songs by them. Starspin is the one I think you\’d like best.Kim

  6. Danielle said:

    Hi Gerry! It\’s great that you have found your calling. I suggest that if you try listening to Marty Haugen or David Haas… They have some really inspiring songs, I think you would like them. Have a great day and God Bless!

  7. How do we actually klnow for sure that the lord was actually …….ever alive?

  8. Read the other four parts of Who Is Jesus. Also read the Case For Christ by Lee Strobel.

  9. please email me I have info in regards to your site. Thanks,Krista

  10. Michael said:

    THE BIBLE IS THE BEST FICTION BOOK EVER!!! JESUS IS MY FAVORITE SUPER HERO!!! AND A VIRGIN HAVING A BABY!!! WHAT TYPE OF SORCERY IS THAT!!! look for it in your local libary under fiction sub-heading: fantasy…

  11. Again read chapter 4 of Who is Jesus? – Why the Bible is Reliable.

  12. Just a thought, it your previous blog there you said you have to iether love god and hate satan. But isn\’t "hating" an "evil" emotion? Jut curious. Personally I beleive in Jesus yes, but I beleive he was here to say to us you too can be like me, we just have yet to evolve. He didn\’t want followers, he wanted you to have your own mind and to use it and I mean ALL 100 percent of it. He was just trying to let us know that we are capable of being completely pure of heart.But isn\’t that our journey? To learn how? We still have a long way to go but we will. It is like school, life that is. Some fail some move on. Jesus was just a graduate is all. Em

  13. Richard said:

    JESUS IS NOT REAL why cant you just except it and move on with your life.

  14. I guess your name says it all! Read all of Who is Jesus? If you don\’t like this space don\’t visit.

  15. Dear Em. I\’ve heard that one before. Become like Jesus and you to can become god. Sorry the Bible says there is only one God, triune, Father, Son and Spirit. As for following, I guess you haven\’t read your bible our else you would realize that Jesus said; "Follow me and I will make you fishers of men,"

  16. I don\’t recall saying that he said we too can become god. All I meant was That we are all capable of becoming pure.He was and was trying to tell us that we can be also. That is our journey is it not? I do believe in god we are all apart of him as was jesus. As for followers What i meant by that is of course try to stay on the straight and narrow path but also to be able to make your own decisions and not follow just to follow. You know what I mean? We are all made individually we are not clones or drones. Life is all about choices. If you choose to be hurtful and mean then that is your choice but you won\’t progress you will just fall back and have to repeat until you figure it out. I\’m not undermining what you are saying at all. I\’m just voicing my opinion on the subject. I could be wrong just as everyone else can too. Isn\’t that wonderful though? This is what life is all about, trying to figure out what is right and what is not. cheers 🙂

  17. Sorry Em if I misread you. I apolagize. You are right God has given us a precious gift and that is the right to choose. It\’s up to us to make that right choice. I know that I have made the right choice, but I cannot force others to believe as I and other Christians do. It\’s a choice. The Bible shows us the way. Jesus said narrow is the road to salvation and few are they that find it. We must choose wisely.

  18. Thank you :)And good luck with your journey to enlightenment 🙂 cheers 🙂 Em

  19. W. E. Samuel said:

    woh pal your rules are crazy. This really makes church look like a bunch of rules and church is about breakin the rules. Who are you trying to reach . ??? think about it

  20. If you saw some of the comments I get here, ytou would understand why I have to put rules. If people don\’t like it they don\’t have to come back. It\’s your choice.

  21. Unknown said:

    Sir, I appreciate that you are trying to guide young people, and you are entitled to establish rules as to the content of this site. Indeed, your rules seem fair, considering that you say children read this site and it is family-oriented. However, I fail to see how can you make this claim when you describe Jesus\’ death in such a detailed and gruesome way. My child came across this site and has been deeply affected by your description of the crucifixion of Christ. We must teach our children, not frighten them into faith. If you refuse to discuss sexuality and temptation in an honest and straightforward way because you fear that children will be corrupted, then I suggest you take the same stance on violence, for delving into these sensationalist descriptions only demonstrates a lust for violence.

  22. Richard said:

    Hey dude now hold on befor you delet this comment just read it I want to ask you a question and I am not trying to make a joke out of it or anything this is a serius question I want to ask you how do you know that thier realy is a god and that all of this stuff is true and not just makebalief ?I am just asking because I have been brought up in the catholic church and I am just wondering how you feel and just send me a comment on my space to anwser this question to me because I am just wondering.

  23. Dear Mrs. Foster, The death and resurrection of Jesus is at the core of the gospel and it was gruesome. People need to know just what our Lord suffered on the cross for us. His crucifixion as depicted on paintings and most movies don’t even come close to showing what He suffered. The point of all this is to prove Jesus really did die on the cross. If your child was bothered by that, I am truly sorry. But I will not take down this post. What I will do is post a parental guidance warning at the beginning.

  24. To My name has no meaningTo get a good understanding, you need to read this entire series. But I can add a few more things as to why I believe in a nutshell.Creation. If you look at the universe in all it’s wonder. How everything fits so perfectly together. Everything runs like clockwork. Did you know that every single star has it’s own frequency. That no 2 are alike. That no two single snowflakes are alike a swell. Even Albert Einstein one of the most brilliant man that ever lived declared that he saw the hand of God in creation. There are many things that science just can’t prove.Miracles. They do happen. I am an example of one. My jaw was closed to within a quarter of an inch and my hands were like claws because of Rheumatoid Arthritis. Today they are normal and the doctors have no explanation for it. The blind see, the deaf hear, the lame walk and even the dead are raised.Changed lives. To see people who have been so bound by alcohol, drugs, and other addictions set free. To see abusive husbands become gentle and loving towards their wives. To see lives turned around and given hope. Change where change couldn’t take place before. Hope where there was none and love where there used to be a lack.Relationship. Christianity is not a religion. It is all about relationship. When Christ comes in He makes Himself real to you. He becomes your best friend and confident. He said that His sheep would recognize His voice. Of course only you can make up your mind. The choice is yours to believe or not.

  25. Albert Einstein could not believe the probalistic worldview of quantum mechanics. He said \’God does not play dice with the world\’. I hate to rip on one of the greatest physicists ever, but Einstein was occasionally wrong. He fudged his own equations to suit what he believed, and when Hubble proved them wrong, he called his mistakes the greatest blunder of his life. I would definetly have to disagree with the comment about science not being able to prove everything. Although there are things that science can\’t predict with 100% accuracy, science will someday understand everything (although the hows might be theoretical); that\’s what science is. Our inablility to predict things is not due to \’intelligent design\’, but rather the nonlinear dynamics of nature. Even a simple pendulum is nonlinear. As our mathematics and natural sciences become more advanced, our understanding of nature will only increase. There are reasons for stars emitting electromagnetic radiation of different frequencies (I assume that\’s what you mean), and there are reasons for why snowflakes are always different.

  26. I honestly don\’t see how everything runs like clockwork. If science has told us anything, it is that nature is inherently chaotic. Mathematics are typically 100 years or so ahead of their application. 1000 years ago, we were extremely unintelligent by todays standards. "What the Bleep Do We Know" is an excellent movie about quantum physics in our universe and within ourselves. Many scientists of the 1900s and 2000s (Einstein, Feynman, etc.) refer to god as a last resort. Basically what I\’m getting at is that God (regardless of whether or not he exists) is not responsible for everything.

  27. Do not deceive yourselves. If any one of you thinks he is wise by the standards of this age, he should become a "fool" so that he may become wise. For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God\’s sight. As it is written: "He catches the wise in their craftiness" and again, "The Lord knows that the thoughts of the wise are futile." 1 Cor. 3:18-20

  28. Hey, its me, Hilary again. i left a comment a little while ago..i dunno if you missed it, or maybe just didnt read it, but it was asking for your help. ive been asking God ever since i left that comment, that you would reply or something, and i could just ask you some stuff about faith, and how to keep a strong bond between me and God. well, if you dont have msn, you can send me an email, or leave a short blog, or leave a comment on my space, it doesnt matter. i hope that you can find some way to contact me, because i think i really need your helpthanks a bunch!hilary

  29. Michael JW said:

    Hello brother! I\’ve read all of the comments/attacks made against you, and all of this is as Jesus said it would be (only in this case, in a less-than-physically-violent way).Be strong in Christ, brother! Many are praying for you.Matthew 24.9-14:"Then they will deliver you up to tribulation and kill you, and you will be hated by all nations for My name\’s sake. And then many will be offended, will betray one another, and will hate one another. Then many false prophets will rise up and deceive many. And because lawlessness will abound, the love of many will grow cold. But he who endures to the end shall be saved. And this gospel of the kingdom will be preached in all the world as a witness to all the nations, and then the end will come.~May the Lord bless you

  30. Tainted said:

    Hmm…..I dont understand how ppl can base thier lives on fiction. Is thier solid proof that this "god" character exists? Can you give me solid evidence that Jesus was real? Religion is the opiate of the masses…..and you bought it.

  31. I keep repeating myself. Read the rest of the series and you will find the evidence. Also watch for chapter 6 – The Resurrection.

  32. Unknown said:

    parental advisory ahahah….i believe jesus was a great guy, but i dont believe he was the son of god..i believe God wants us all to accept each other–and yes that means homosexuals too, my homophobic friend–and that witchcraft is NOT evil, but just a different state of mind. you say there is only one way…i believe there is many. i have chosen the way of Protestantism (I am United) because they accept people of any genre, sexual orientation and age. I pray that you will someday understand what i mean. peace-Helen

  33. Yes they have accepted the way of comprimise. Their leaders will have a lot to answer for. Sin is still sin, God does not change. Big repentence is needed in the United Church. They have been judged and found wanting.

  34. Unknown said:

    You realise homophobia means being uncomfortable with being heterosexual? The United Church does not need anythin at all, especially uptight people like you. You say homosexuality is a sin….so basically you are afraid of gay people, because they are different than yourself…Which is the same as racism…to get to the point, YOU ARE RACIST. God will not punish you for this sin, he will forgive you. By knowing this, i have a better relationship with God than you ever will.Chew on that one for a while.-Helen

  35. You are a touchey one aren\’t you. I must have touched a nerve. I am extemely comfortable with being a hetrosexual. The only one I fear is God. But I can see you don\’t. Homosexuals need Jesus just like anyone else. Thry have to come through the cross. Don\’t make them out to be saints, Helen.The United Church in general, I say in general because there are some that still follow the true gospel, has invented for themselves an idol a false God.This what Jude said about your leaders who comprimise the Gospel in verse 4; For certain men whose condemnation was written about[b] long ago have secretly slipped in among you. They are godless men, who change the grace of our God into a license for immorality and deny Jesus Christ our only Sovereign and Lord. This is what the Lord Himself says to a church like that;To the angel of the church in Laodicea write: These are the words of the Amen, the faithful and true witness, the ruler of God\’s creation. I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other! So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth. You say, \’I am rich; I have acquired wealth and do not need a thing.\’ But you do not realize that you are wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked. I counsel you to buy from me gold refined in the fire, so you can become rich; and white clothes to wear, so you can cover your shameful nakedness; and salve to put on your eyes, so you can see. Those whom I love I rebuke and discipline. So be earnest, and repent. Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me. To him who overcomes, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on his throne. He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches." Revelation 3:14-22God does love but the Bible says the wrath of God abides upon you unless you repent and turn from sin.

  36. Unknown said:

    oh really now? tell me, Gerry, if the bible said that homosexuality was reccomended, would do it? probably, considering YOU dont think for yourself, the holy book of lies does. you may have forgotten, God himself did not write the Bible, men did thousands of years later. The events in the bible are metaphors, blown up stories to represent a smaller event that happened. Jesus is a man, not a magician. Now i have said this and i will say it again, LOVE THY NEIGHBOOR AS THYSELF. try that for a change.-Helen

  37. Is that what you believe Helen, read the previous chapter to Who Is Jesus? – part 4. As for the bible being from men; For prophecy never had its origin in the will of man, but men spoke from God as they were carried along by the Holy Spirit. 1 Peter 1:21All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness. 2 Timothy 3:16Woe to those who call evil good and good evil, who put darkness for light and light for darkness, who put bitter for sweet and sweet for bitter. Woe to those who are wise in their own eyes and clever in their own sight. Isaiah 5:21-22I would be very careful about calling God a liar. He is real and so is His word. The only relationship you have is with the father of lies the devil.I urge you to come into the light, Helen before it is too late. There is great mercy and grace found in Christ.

  38. Helen, I have given you the truth. The Lord loves you and His arms are open wide for you. He died for you. Jesus was fully God and fully man. I have witnessed His miracles and been touched by His hand. No amount of denial will change the fact that unless you repent you will perish. I will not argue with you in endless circles. If you want honest sincere help and have sincere questions, I will take time for you. Search your heart and come into the light.

  39. Unknown said:

    whatever. *rolls eyes*….you obsessive-compulsive with Jesus or something?? woah…-Helen

  40. Hallelujah!!!! I am obsessed with Jesus! There is no one like HIm. Helen HIs arms are open wide for you.

Leave a Reply

