Just another WordPress.com site

How Long Oh Lord?


"How Long Oh Lord? Will You forget me forever? How long will You hide Your face from me? How long must I wrestle with my thoughts and every day have sorrow in my heart? How long will my enemy triumph over me? Look on me and answer, O LORD my God. Give light to my eyes, or I will sleep in death; my enemy will say, "I have overcome him," and my foes will rejoice when I fall." (13:1-4)

I can picture David writing this psalm with tears running down his face. Because of circumstances in his life, he felt as though God had left him. It is a cry of despair from a broken heart. A heart that longs for the fellowship he once had with God. He was on the verge of falling into a depression and all he could see was defeat.

All believers at one time or another pass through a dark tunnel where there seems to be no hope. God feels far away as we pass through it. Even Jesus when He was on the cross faced that despair. Sometimes it is brought on by rebellion. The bible tells us that sin separates us from the Father (Isaiah 59:1-2) and the only way back is to repent and turn back to God again. (1 John 1:9). Sometimes it is to build character and bring us to our knees. To discipline us in areas of our lives that need changing. (Hebrews 12:6-7) Sometimes it is brought on by tragedy and we question how God could of let it happen. If you don’t know God’s promises found in His word you can find yourself falling deeper and deeper into despair until it leads to depression.

At the end of the Psalm David turned his thoughts around. He remembered God’s promises and he begins to worship. He says in verses 5 and 6; But I trust in your unfailing love; "My heart rejoices in your salvation. I will sing to the LORD, for he has been good to me."

The greatest promise that we have as Christians is this, no matter how dark it seems, no matter how far we feel God is, we can rest upon the promise that He gave us in Hebrews 13:5. I like the description in the Amplified version. "Let your character or moral disposition be free from love of money [including greed, avarice, lust, and craving for earthly possessions] and be satisfied with your present [circumstances and with what you have]; for He [God] Himself has said, I will not in any way fail you nor give you up nor leave you without support. [I will] not, [I will] not, [I will] not in any degree leave you helpless nor forsake nor let [you] down (relax My hold on you)! [Assuredly not!]" Wow! All I can say is GLORY! Like David we need to trust the Lord’s unfailing love. He has never broken a promise. Joshua 23:14 says; "And you know in all your hearts and in all your souls that not one thing has failed of all the good things which the LORD your God spoke concerning you. All have come to pass for you; not one word of them has failed. Take courage turn your thoughts around today. Look up and worship. God cares and He is always there no matter how you feel.

Tomorrow I will continue with Who Is Jesus – Part 4 – Is the Bible Reliable?

Please don’t forget to leave your prayer requests in the box to right. We would like to pray for you.

Comments on: "How Long Oh Lord?" (6)

  1. Good morning, Gerry! I hope you\’re having an awesome day today! I was listening to The Elms on the way into work. Have you heard of them? I think they play music with a message ;)Kim

  2. Unknown said:

    Hello I was just browsing the new spaces and happened on yours .I just want to say I really like your space and you have some great things on here and I enjoyed reading your blog today! Danielle

  3. Michael said:

    Greetings Gerry,I was browsing through random msn spaces and came across yours. I must say that I feel it is quite admirable that you share your faith and purpose so confidently. I, too, and a believer in the Lord Christ, but I can tell by just a brief read through your Blog that your style of devotion is perhaps a more traditional and refined style than mine. Either way, as Robert Duval\’s character Sonny said in the movie The Apostle, "You do it your way, I do it mine. Either way, we both get it done".Mike Walker

  4. Hello!I guess as with all the rest of the comments here, I too was searching random spaces where I saw yours. It was really wonderful reading! Myself I\’m a close follower of Christianity, the bible, and of course, Christ. Always has been quite admirable of those who are as devote as you are. Awesome! Good reading and keep it up :)-Andy

  5. Unknown said:

    im happy to kno you are a christain as i am!!!my school im in doesnt have any christains so i feel pretty lonleythanks for giving me comfidence

  6. Shelley said:

    Hello GerryHow true. God has never failed me no not ever. He is our hiding place and our source and our truth. God is all in all. I love the Lord soooo much. Your site is inspiring and thought provoking. The Lord is touching lives. GLORY!!!God bless you and your family Gerry. Til next time.

Leave a Reply

