Just another WordPress.com site


"I know very well how foolish the message of the cross sounds to those who are on the road to destruction. But we who are being saved recognize this message as the very power of God. As the Scriptures say,

"I will destroy human wisdom
and discard their most brilliant ideas."

So where does this leave the philosophers, the scholars, and the world’s brilliant debaters? God has made them all look foolish and has shown their wisdom to be useless nonsense. Since God in his wisdom saw to it that the world would never find him through human wisdom, he has used our foolish preaching to save all who believe. God’s way seems foolish to the Jews because they want a sign from heaven to prove it is true. And it is foolish to the Greeks because they believe only what agrees with their own wisdom. So when we preach that Christ was crucified, the Jews are offended, and the Gentiles say it’s all nonsense. But to those called by God to salvation, both Jews and Gentiles, Christ is the mighty power of God and the wonderful wisdom of God. This "foolish" plan of God is far wiser than the wisest of human plans, and God’s weakness is far stronger than the greatest of human strength.

Remember, dear brothers and sisters, that few of you were wise in the world’s eyes, or powerful, or wealthy when God called you. Instead, God deliberately chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And he chose those who are powerless to shame those who are powerful. God chose things despised by the world, things counted as nothing at all, and used them to bring to nothing what the world considers important, so that no one can ever boast in the presence of God.

God alone made it possible for you to be in Christ Jesus. For our benefit God made Christ to be wisdom itself. He is the one who made us acceptable to God. He made us pure and holy, and he gave himself to purchase our freedom. As the Scriptures say,

"The person who wishes to boast
should boast only of what the Lord has done."
1 Cor. 1:18-31 (NLT)

"You are stupid! You can’t do anything right and will never amount to anything! What a dummy you are!" Those were words that were spoken to me often as a child. They were spoken by my father, who was an alcoholic and had a poor view of his own worth. I grew up believing them as true and struggled in so many areas of my life because I had no confidence in who I was. This came across in everything I ventured to do. I would easily get discouraged and give up on many things. I struggled to believe that I was lovable at all. I had only one hope in my life. I was introduced to Jesus at a very young age through my mom and grandmother. But even there I had trouble believing that He actually loved me. I would sing "Jesus Loves Me" with the other children in Sunday school but struggled to believe that it meant me too. I was a very lonely and confused child who prayed and wondered if his prayers were even heard. By faith I gave my heart to Christ when I was eight years old. I became His  at that time whether I felt like it or not.

One day my father stopped us from attending church. He used the excuse that he believed my mom was seeing another man. (which was never true). At this point my focus shifted to trying to fit into the world. This didn’t work for me as either and no matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t be as cool as I thought the others were. I tried to smoke and would get sick and drinking and drugs just weren’t for me. It’s not that I didn’t try them, they just didn’t do anything for me. In school, I was always just barely passing the grade. I also had a very bad case of acne which only added to my misery of trying to fit in. Because of shyness and a lack of confidence I didn’t have my first girlfriend until I was 18, which had many of the other teens whispering rumours about me because of course if you hadn’t had a girllfriend by then you just weren’t normal. After that I went from relationship to relationship with women, not finding the satisfaction I was looking for.

It was during my teenage years I discovered my love for music and singing. I loved the group Led Zeppelin and wanted desperately to be like Robert Plant their lead singer. I even grew my hair as long as his. My friends and I made all kinds of plans to form some kind of group but it never worked out.

When I was 18 my parents divorced. I hated my dad with such a passion. I found myself wishing for his death. If I was to see him walking down the street, I would cross to the other side to avoid meeting him. The hatred I had for him began to eat away at me to the point it began to affect my health. When I was 19, I began to experience extreme anxiety attacks. I would panic for no reason at all. I had this fear that I was going to drop dead at any moment I also was afraid of being in a large group of people or an enclosed space. It was totally irrational and I began going to see psychiatrists because of it. Then at 24 I developed Rheumatoid Arthritis. It started in my right middle finger which swoll up to 3 times it’’s size. It then spread to my jaw, neck, legs, and arms. My jaw was almost swollen shut and for a period I could only eat liquids. I lost about 60 pounds within the space of 3 months. My family and I thought I was going to die. But Christ was about to break through into my life as He never forgets those who are His.

I’ll continue more with the way of a fool tomorrow.

Comments on: "The Way of a Fool – Part 1" (2)

  1. DarkArchon said:

    Hey, I noticed you had Piercing the darkness and This present darkness on your book list. I love those books!!! I am currently reading "Habits of the Heart: Individualism and Commitment in American Life" by Robert N. Bellah, Richard Madsen, William M. Sullivan, Ann Swidler, and Steven M. Tipton. I am quite enjoying it so far, it\’s a great book for sure! Anway, that\’s about it for now. Nice to see a fellow disciple of Christ\’s page!

  2. Unknown said:

    hey buddy =) Was just about to write my own story up in my space when I noticed your, so im reading it, sounds like u and me have a few things in common. love claireGod bless

Leave a Reply

